DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Due to the amendment filed on 8/10/26, claim 18 is now a dependent claim in which it depends from claim 1. Thus, the Election/Restriction mailed on 6/10/2026 is hereby withdrawn and all claims (1-20) will be examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 15 is not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 2, line 4, change “second subportion portion” to –second subportion--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 11, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2022/0239041 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Hu et al. discloses a lead assembly (see fig. 3) comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements 22 arranged along a longitudinal direction X, each of the plurality of conductive elements 22 comprising a mating contact portion 221, a mounting tail 2222 opposite the mating contact portion 221, and an intermediate portion (see annotated drawing below) joining the mating contact portion 221 and the mounting tail 2222, the mounting tail 2222 comprising:
a connecting portion 223 extending from the intermediate portion,
a mounting end (see annotated drawing below) opposite the connecting portion 223, and
a main portion 2221 joining the connecting portion 223 and the mounting end, wherein:
the mounting end has a diminishing longitudinal width in a mounting direction Z, and
the main portion 2221 is narrower than the connecting portion 223 in the longitudinal direction X.
In regard to claim 2, Hu et al. discloses the main portion 2221 comprises a first subportion (see annotated drawing below) extending from the connecting portion 223 and a second subportion (see annotated drawing below) extending from the mounting end; and the first subportion is wider than the second subportion portion in the longitudinal direction X.
In regard to claim 3, Hu et al. discloses the main portion 2221 comprises a transition subportion (see annotated drawing below) joining the first subportion and the second subportion; and the transition subportion tapers from the first subportion to the second subportion in the longitudinal direction X.
In regard to claim 4, Hu et al. discloses the first subportion is longer than the second subportion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction X (see annotated drawing below).
In regard to claim 5, Hu et al. discloses the first subportion is at least twice as long as the second subportion (see annotated drawing below).
In regard to claim 10, Hu et al. discloses the plurality of conductive elements 22 comprise a plurality of first-type conductive elements and a plurality of second-type conductive elements alternately arranged along the longitudinal direction X; and the mounting end of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed farther from the mounting end of the mounting tail of a first adjacent first-type conductive element than the mounting end of the mounting tail of a second adjacent first-type conductive element (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 11, Hu et al. discloses the connecting portion of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of first-type conductive elements extends from a first side of the intermediate portion of a respective conductive element 22; the connecting portion of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements extends from a second side of the intermediate portion of a respective conductive element 22; and for the intermediate portion of each of the plurality of conductive elements 22, the first side and the second side are opposite in the longitudinal direction X (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 13, Hu et al. discloses an electrical connector 2, comprising:
a housing 21 comprising a mating surface having a slot (see fig. 2) extending in a longitudinal direction X and a mounting surface opposite the mating surface;
a plurality of first-type conductive elements 22 aligned in the longitudinal direction X, each of the plurality of first-type conductive elements 22 comprising a mating contact portion 221 curving into the slot and a mounting tail 2222 opposite the mating contact portion 221 and extending beyond the mounting surface, the mounting tail 2222 having a mounting end (see annotated drawing below); and
a plurality of second-type conductive elements 22, each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements comprising a mating contact portion 221 curving into the slot and a mounting tail 2222opposite the mating contact portion 221 and extending beyond the mounting surface, the mounting tail 2222 having a mounting end (see annotated drawing below), wherein:
each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed between respective first and second adjacent first-type conductive elements; and
the mounting end of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed farther from the mounting end of the mounting tail of the respective first adjacent first-type conductive element than the mounting end of the mounting tail of the respective second adjacent first-type conductive element (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 14, Hu et al. discloses each of the plurality of first-type conductive elements 22 comprises an intermediate portion (see annotated drawing below) joining the mating contact portion 221 and the mounting tail 2222; and for each of the plurality of first-type conductive elements: the mounting tail 2222 comprises a connection portion 223 extending from the intermediate portion and a main portion 2221 joining the connecting portion 223 and the mounting end, and the main portion 2221 is narrower than the connecting portion in the longitudinal direction X.
In regard to claim 15, Hu et al. discloses each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements comprises an intermediate portion (see annotated drawing below) joining the mating contact portion 221 and the mounting tail 2222; and for each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements: the mounting tail 2222 comprises a connection portion 223 extending from the intermediate portion and a main portion 2221 joining the connecting portion 223 and the mounting end, and the main portion 2221 is narrower than the connecting portion 223.
In regard to claim 16, Hu et al. discloses the main portion 2221 comprises a first subportion (see annotated drawing below) extending from the connecting portion 223 and a second subportion (see annotated drawing below) extending from the mounting end; and the first subportion is wider than the second subportion portion in the longitudinal direction X.
In regard to claim 17, Hu et al. discloses the first subportion is longer than the second subportion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction X (see annotated drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (second subportion)][AltContent: textbox (transition subportion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (first subportion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (mounting end)][AltContent: textbox (intermediate portion)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (1st subportion length)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd subportion length)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by tang et al. (US 2022/0247107 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Tang et al. discloses a lead assembly (see fig. 9) comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements 20 arranged along a longitudinal direction (see annotated drawing below), each of the plurality of conductive elements 20 comprising a mating contact portion 21, a mounting tail 23 opposite the mating contact portion 21, and an intermediate portion (see annotated drawing below) joining the mating contact portion 21 and the mounting tail 23, the mounting tail 23 comprising:
a connecting portion (see annotated drawing below) extending from the intermediate portion,
a mounting end (see annotated drawing below) opposite the connecting portion, and
a main portion (see annotated drawing below) joining the connecting portion 223 and the mounting end, wherein:
the mounting end has a diminishing longitudinal width in a mounting direction, and
the main portion is narrower than the connecting portion in the longitudinal direction.
In regard to claim 10, Tang et al. discloses the plurality of conductive elements 20 comprise a plurality of first-type conductive elements and a plurality of second-type conductive elements alternately arranged along the longitudinal direction; and the mounting end of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed farther from the mounting end of the mounting tail of a first adjacent first-type conductive element than the mounting end of the mounting tail of a second adjacent first-type conductive element (see fig. 9).
In regard to claim 12, Tang et al. discloses the connecting portion of each of the plurality of first-type conductive elements is bent, with respect to a respective intermediate portion, in a first transverse direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction; and the connecting portion of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is bent, with respect to a respective intermediate portion, in a second transverse direction opposite to the first transverse direction (see fig. 10).
[AltContent: textbox (mounting end)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (main portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (connecting portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (intermediate portion)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (longitudinal direction)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al..
In regard to claim 6, Hu et al. does not disclose the second subportion has a longitudinal width between 0.17mm and 0.23mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the longitudinal width, to the extent that Hu et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the longitudinal width would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 7, Hu et al. does not disclose the first subportion has a longitudinal width between 0.22mm to 0.28mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the longitudinal width, to the extent that Hu et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the longitudinal width would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 8, Hu et al. does not disclose the mounting end has a length between 0.15mm and 0.25mm in a vertical direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the length, to the extent that Hu et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the length would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 9, Hu et al. does not disclose a tapered tip of the mounting end has a longitudinal width between 0.05mm and 0.15mm.
Regarding the particular dimensions of the longitudinal width, to the extent that Hu et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the longitudinal width would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 18, Hu et al. discloses an electronic system comprising: a printed circuit board 3 comprising a plurality of pads and a plurality of through-holes (see fig. 5), each of the plurality of through-holes passing through a respective pad of the plurality of pads; and an electrical connector of claim 1, the electrical connector 2 mounted on the printed circuit board 3, the electrical connector 2 comprising: a housing 21 comprising a mating surface having a slot and a mounting surface opposite the mounting surface, wherein for each of the plurality of conductive elements 22, the mating contact portion 221 curves into the slot, and the mounting tail 2222 extends beyond the mounting surface into a respective through-hole of the plurality of through-holes.
However, Hu et al. does not disclose the plurality of conductive elements 22 configured to transfer data signals at rates in the range of 10Gb/s to 150Gb/s and the through-holes sized in the range of 0.35 mm to 0.45 mm.
The recitation that “the plurality of conductive elements configured to transfer data signals at rates in the range of 10Gb/s to 150Gb/s” has not been given a significant patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding the particular dimensions of the through holes, to the extent that Hu et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the through holes would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 19, Hu et al. discloses the plurality of conductive elements 22 comprise a plurality of first-type conductive elements and a plurality of second-type conductive elements disposed alternatively; and the mounting end of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed farther from the mounting end of the mounting tail of a first adjacent first-type conductive element than the mounting end of the mounting tail of a second adjacent first-type conductive element (see fig. 3).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al..
In regard to claim 18, Tang et al. discloses an electronic system comprising: a printed circuit board 200 comprising a plurality of pads and a plurality of through-holes (see fig. 5), each of the plurality of through-holes passing through a respective pad of the plurality of pads; and an electrical connector of claim 1, the electrical connector 100 mounted on the printed circuit board 200, the electrical connector 100 comprising: a housing 10 comprising a mating surface having a slot and a mounting surface opposite the mounting surface, wherein for each of the plurality of conductive elements 20, the mating contact portion 21 curves into the slot, and the mounting tail 23 extends beyond the mounting surface into a respective through-hole of the plurality of through-holes.
However, Tang et al. does not disclose the plurality of conductive elements 20 configured to transfer data signals at rates in the range of 10Gb/s to 150Gb/s and the through-holes sized in the range of 0.35 mm to 0.45 mm.
The recitation that “the plurality of conductive elements configured to transfer data signals at rates in the range of 10Gb/s to 150Gb/s” has not been given a significant patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding the particular dimensions of the through holes, to the extent that Tang et al. does not specify exact dimensions, at the time of the invention, workable dimensions of the through holes would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
In regard to claim 19, Tang et al. discloses the plurality of conductive elements 20 comprise a plurality of first-type conductive elements and a plurality of second-type conductive elements disposed alternatively; and the mounting end of the mounting tail of each of the plurality of second-type conductive elements is disposed farther from the mounting end of the mounting tail of a first adjacent first-type conductive element than the mounting end of the mounting tail of a second adjacent first-type conductive element (see fig. 9).
In regard to claim 20, Tang et al. discloses the plurality of through-holes comprise a plurality of first through-holes and a plurality of second through-holes; and each of the plurality of second through-holes is disposed farther from a first adjacent first through-hole than a second adjacent first through-hole such that the plurality of first through-holes receive the plurality of first-type conductive elements and the plurality of second through-holes receive the plurality of second-type conductive elements (see fig. 8-10).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
9/9/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834