DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 03-03-2026.
Claim Objections
Claim objections presented during the Non-Final Office Action are withdrawn, in light of the amendment filed on 08-22-2025 by Applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2012/0151162 (hereinafter, “Trantham”).
As per clams 13, 7, Trantham discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program executable by a computer is recorded, the program instructing the computer to execute processing of controlling a magnetic disk device, the processing to be executed by the computer including:
detecting whether or not power cutoff has occurred in either one of a first power source and a second power source, each being provided in an external power source system connected to the magnetic disk device to supply power to the magnetic disk device, the first power source supplying power with a first voltage, the second power source supplying power with a second voltage higher than the first voltage; and, (Fig. 8 illustrates HOST 806 coupled to a magnetic disk 810 via at least Host interface (i.e, SAS, USB, SATA; Fig. 3). Based on Fig. 2, the HOST is configured to provide a first 5V power and a second 12V power. Indeed, ¶ [0022] states “host system power supplies are often designed for drive motors being attached to the +12V rail and the electronics being attached to the +5V rail”. Also, see ¶ [0029] Lastly, ¶ [0029] discloses the detection of a “host power loss”. )
when the detecting detects the power cutoff having occurred in either one of the first or second power sources, causing the other one of the first or second power sources to supply power (inter alia: power (¶ [0029] discloses “When either” the +5V & +12V lines fall below a threshold or “when power loss is detected” the system is capable of “blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”. Stated differently, when a power loss is detected by either power supply, power is made available by the other power supply. This other power supply supplies power to the voltage regulator 112 which allows power to be distributed to the rests of the circuitry, for example, voltage regulators.) to an unnecessary circuit until power down processing is completed in the unnecessary circuit, the unnecessary circuit being a circuit whose power supply is to be stopped. (one example, park the recording heads ¶ [003] or “The power supply circuit is configured to provide shutdown power from a spinning disk motor of a hard disk drive in response to the power loss signal, and the controller includes portions that are selectively depowered in response to the power loss signal” ¶ [0005])
As per claim 1 discloses a magnetic disk device comprising:
a first control device (logic with comparators; ¶ [0029]) configured to detect whether or not power cutoff has occurred in either one of a first power source and the second power source; and (inter alia: ¶ [0029] states “When either or both +5V & +12V lines fall below a threshold (for example, -10% of nominal) outputs of the comparators 215a, 215b are combined via logic block 219 (e.g., AND gate, OR gate, etc.) to assert a power loss detection signal 216” ) each being provided in an external power source system connected to the magnetic disk device to supply power to the magnetic disk device, the first power source supplying power with a first voltage, the second power source supplying power with a second voltage higher than the first voltage; (Fig. 8 illustrates HOST 806 coupled to a magnetic disk 810 via at least Host interface (i.e, SAS, USB, SATA; Fig. 3). Based on Fig. 2, the HOST is configured to provide a first 5V power and a second 12V power. Indeed, ¶ [0022] states “host system power supplies are often designed for drive motors being attached to the +12V rail and the electronics being attached to the +5V rail”. Also, see ¶ [0029] Lastly, ¶ [0029] discloses the detection of a “host power loss”. )
a second control device (switchover circuitry, block FETs, 12V 4V voltage regulator 212; Fig 2) configured, when the first control device detects the power cutoff having occurred in either one of the first or second power sources, to cause the other one of the first or second power sources to supply power (¶ [0030] states “When power loss is detected, the blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”) to an unnecessary circuit (at least motor controller 214 for parking recording heads, cache) until power down processing is completed in the unnecessary circuit, (one example, park the recording heads ¶ [003] or “The power supply circuit is configured to provide shutdown power from a spinning disk motor of a hard disk drive in response to the power loss signal, and the controller includes portions that are selectively depowered in response to the power loss signal” ¶ [0005])
the unnecessary circuit being a circuit whose power supply is to be stopped. (one example, park the recording heads ¶ [003] or “The power supply circuit is configured to provide shutdown power from a spinning disk motor of a hard disk drive in response to the power loss signal, and the controller includes portions that are selectively depowered in response to the power loss signal” ¶ [0005])
As per claims 2, 8, Trantham discloses a magnetic disk device wherein, when power is supplied to the unnecessary circuit, the second control device supplies power for PLP operation from the other one of the first or second power sources to a PLP circuit. (a reserve source of power, such as a still-spinning disk spindle motor, may be used as a generator to provide enough power to retract an actuator that parks the read/write head.; ¶ [0003] or power to power the controller AIC, Motor controller and core power; Fig 2)
As per claims 3, 9, Trantham discloses a magnetic disk device further comprising a PLP power source supplying the power for PLP operation to the PLP circuit, (a reserve source of power, such as a still-spinning disk spindle motor, may be used as a generator to provide enough power to retract an actuator that parks the read/write head.; ¶ [0003]) wherein, when the power down processing is completed in the unnecessary circuit, (“The power supply circuit is configured to provide shutdown power from a spinning disk motor of a hard disk drive in response to the power loss signal, and the controller includes portions that are selectively depowered in response to the power loss signal” ¶ [0005])
the second control device stops power supply from the other one of the first or second power source to the PLP circuit and starts power supply from the PLP power source to the PLP circuit. ( Supplies to electronic regulators are switched over at step 104 to use back electromotive force (back EMF) energy from the spindle motor as a power source p [0021] and a “a power-switchover” from “the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”) ¶ [0030] )
As per claims 4, 10, Trantham discloses a magnetic disk device 4. The magnetic disk device according to claim 3, wherein the second control device cuts off the other one of the first or second power source after the start of power supply from the PLP power source to the PLP circuit. (inter alia; “Supplies to electronic regulators are switched over at step 104 to use back electromotive force (back EMF) energy from the spindle motor as a power source. Blocking FETs are activated at the same time to prevent the spindle energy from leaking back into the host” ¶ [0021] and “When power loss is detected, the blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”; ¶ [0030])
As per claims 5, 11, Trantham discloses a magnetic disk device wherein the first control device includes a voltage conversion circuit configured to convert a voltage of power supplied from the second power source into the first voltage when power cutoff has occurred in the first power source, and the second control device supplies the power supplied from the second power source to the unnecessary circuit via the voltage conversion circuit. (12V 4V voltage regulator 212 supplies power to power rail of the 5v power supply, which supplies power to 218, core power components and motor controller; Fig 2)
As per claims 6, 12, Trantham discloses a magnetic disk device further comprising a PLP circuit configured to perform PLP operation, (inter alia; “Supplies to electronic regulators are switched over at step 104 to use back electromotive force (back EMF) energy from the spindle motor as a power source. Blocking FETs are activated at the same time to prevent the spindle energy from leaking back into the host” ¶ [0021] and “When power loss is detected, the blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”; ¶ [0030])
wherein the second control device determines whether or not the PLP operation is necessary when the power cutoff has occurred in either one of the power sources, and, (When power loss is detected, the blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”; ¶ [0030])
in response to determining that the PLP operation is not necessary, cuts off power to the magnetic disk device and causes the magnetic disk device to perform restart operation without causing the PLP circuit to perform the PLP operation. (Some sections of the ASIC 300 may not be needed for the power-loss safeguarding, but for various reasons may not be kept on a separate power island. In those cases, it may be desirable to have individual resets, as represented by reset control component 310. When power is lost, the ASIC firmware can send a signal to reset control 310, which can selectively place certain sections in reset, minimizing their power; ¶ [ 0035]-[0036], fig’s 4-7)
Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on 03-03-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to the extent that is applicable to the claims.
I. Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Independent Claims 1, 7 and 13
Claims 1-13 were rejected during the outstanding Non-Final rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0151162 (hereinafter Trantham).
During examination of patent application, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation under the BRI standard. Furthermore, under the BRI, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)” (MPEP p 2100-8, c 2, I 45-48; p 2100-9, c 1, l 1-4).
As per claim 1, Applicants assert that ¶ [0030] of Trantham “merely teaches that both +5V(202) and +12V(204) of host power to supplied to the disk drive device (200) are blocked by the blocking FETs when power loss is either one or both of +5V and +12V”.
The Office respectfully disagrees with the assertion that ¶ [0030] discloses any language that suggest blocking of FETS blocks power to “both +5V(202) and +12V(204) of host power”. To the contrary, ¶ [0030] states “Blocking FET 206 normally connects host-supplied +5V to the regulators 208, 210 that power the electronics”. Therefore, Applicants’ assertion is clear misrepresentation of what ¶ [0030] discloses.
On the other hand, ¶ [0029] discloses “When either” the +5V & +12V lines fall below a threshold or “when power loss is detected” ¶ [0030] the system is capable of “blocking FET 206 is switched to block, and the regulator 212, if enabled via the NVC_ENABLE signal 221 supplies power to regulators 208 and 210 from the +11V rail”. Stated differently, when a power loss is detected by either power supply, power is made available by the other power supply. This other power supply supplies power to the voltage regulator 112 which allows power to be distributed to the rests of the circuitry, for example, voltage regulators. Therefore, applicant assertion that somehow power is supplied via separate +11v power source is a misrepresentation. Rather, the +11V power rail is merely a conduit for carrying power to the rest of circuits.
Dependent Claims
As per dependent claims, these claims do not cure the deficiencies found in each of their respective independent claims, thus are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Conclusion
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov