DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 8/19/2025 for application 18/427,679.
Claims 1-18 and 31-42 have been examined and are pending. Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 12-14, and 18 have been amended. Claims 31-42 have been added. Claims 1, 7, 13, 31, and 37 are independent claims. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The double patent rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 and 31-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claims be further amended and details in the specification be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record. Should the Applicant desire an interview to further clarify the claim interpretation/rejections, please contact the Examiner at (571) 272 5368 to schedule an interview.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 31-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,097,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-18 and 31-42 of the instant application are encompassed by limitations recited in claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,097,538 (see table below).
Instant Application 18/427,679
U.S. Patent No. 10,097,538
Claim 1 (Currently Amended): A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device;
receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device;
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array;
receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to
.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device;
storing, at the server, a list of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of authorized client devices, wherein the trusted client computer device has an IP address included in the list or the trusted client device is coupled to the server using a Universal Second Factor (U2F) key;
requesting, by the server, from the trusted client computer device, a user-supplied memorable image file to be selected from a plurality of image files available to the user of the trusted client computer device including image files created by the user and image files not created by the user, and an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), and a phone number for a mobile device;
receiving, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number of the mobile device;
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number of the mobile device;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file to a first byte array by renaming a file containing the user-supplied memorable image file to a .txt file;
associating, by the server, in the memory, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number, with the login credentials of the user;
generating, by the server, a one-time activation Personal Identification Number (PIN);
requesting, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file and login credentials from the mobile device of the user;
receiving, by the server, the mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
activating the mobile app in response to the user entering the PIN in the mobile app; and
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to the login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the stored login credentials of the user, without requiring the PIN after the mobile app has been activated.
Claims 1-18 and 31-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-18 and 31-42 of the instant application are encompassed by limitations recited in claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,311 (see table below).
Instant Application 18/427,679
U.S. Patent No. 11,265,311
Claim 1 (Currently Amended): A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device;
receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device;
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array;
receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to
.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device;
storing, at the server, a list of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of authorized client devices, wherein the trusted client computer device has an IP address included in the list;
requesting, by the server, from the trusted client computer device, a user-supplied memorable image file to be selected from a plurality of image files available to the user of the trusted client computer device including image files created by the user and image files not created by the user, and an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), and a phone number for a mobile device;
receiving, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number of the mobile device;
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number of the mobile device;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file to a first byte array by renaming a file containing the user-supplied memorable image file to a .txt file;
associating, by the server, in the memory, the user-supplied memorable image file, the IMEI, and the phone number, with the login credentials of the user;
generating, by the server, a one-time activation Personal Identification Number (PIN);
requesting, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file and login credentials from the mobile device of the user;
receiving, by the server, the mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
activating the mobile app in response to the user entering the PIN in the mobile app; and
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to the login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the stored login credentials of the user, without requiring the PIN after the mobile app has been activated.
Claims 1-18 and 31-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,924,197. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-18 and 31-42 of the instant application are encompassed by limitations recited in claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,924,197 (see table below).
Instant Application 18/427,679
U.S. Patent No. 11,924,197
Claim 1 (Currently Amended): A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device;
receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device;
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array;
receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to
.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server, the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device, and
the trusted client computer being coupled to the server using a Universal Second Factor (U2F) key;
storing, at the server, a list of Internet Protocol (IP) addresses of authorized client devices, wherein the trusted client computer device has an IP address included in the list;
requesting, by the server, from the trusted client computer device, a user-supplied memorable image file to be selected from a plurality of image files available to the user of the trusted client computer device including image files created by the user and image files not created by the user;
receiving, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file; storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied memorable image file;
converting, by the server, the user-supplied memorable image file to a first byte array by renaming a file containing the user-supplied memorable image file to a .txt file;
associating, by the server, in the memory, the user-supplied memorable image file with the login credentials of the user;
generating, by the server, a one-time activation Personal Identification Number (PIN); requesting, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file and login credentials from the mobile device of the user;
receiving, by the server, the mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array;
activating the mobile app in response to the user entering the PIN in the mobile app; and
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to the login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the stored login credentials of the user, without requiring the PIN after the mobile app has been activated.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: on lines 15-16, the phone number lacks an antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 31, 32, 34, 37, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US20170171200), filed March 2, 2016, in view of Chin (US20170083750), filed September 3, 2016, and Kamiya (US5040223), filed February 17, 1989.
Regarding claim 1, Bao discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate (Bao, paragraph 0058, client application server 230 may communicate a request to authenticate user device 210 to network authentication server 220);
a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device based on a mobile device number; paragraph 0049, registering for the authentication support service and providing client credentials to network authentication server 220);
the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0039; paragraph 0049, “this may include informing network authentication server 220 that user device 210 has requested and authorized network authentication server 220 to assist with logging in user device 210 via the two-factor authentication service required by client application server 230. In some implementations, registering for the authentication support service may also include client application server 230 providing one or more types of information identifying user device 210”);
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device; paragraph 0016, authenticating a user device);
in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the stored login credentials of the user (Bao, paragraph 0058, authentication server 220 may validate client credentials).
Bao does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file; receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user.
However, in an analogous art, Chin discloses receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device (Chin, paragraph 0047, third party device 14 receives registered fingerprint data from the fingerprint database 12. Comparison result send by third party device to fingerprint identifying apparatus for completing the authentication after the third party device 14 compares the fingerprint combination with the registered fingerprint data to generate the comparison result);
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file (Chin, paragraph 0061, registered fingerprint stored in the third party device 14);
receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user (Chin, fingerprint identifying apparatus 10 sends fingerprint to third party device 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chin with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao to include receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file; receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user to provide users with the benefits of an effective and complicated fingerprint identifying schemed providing a high level of security (Chin: paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Bao and Chin do not explicitly disclose converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array.
However, in an analogous art, Kamiya discloses converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels”);
converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory”);
in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array (Kamiya, col 8, lines 3-5, verification executed in two stages; col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamiya with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao and Chin to include converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array to provide users with the benefits of a high overall verification rate and a low rate of incorrect rejections of input fingerprints (Kamiya: col. 3, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 2, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the image file is created without use of a camera (Chin, paragraph 0046, pre-stored registered fingerprint data).
Regarding claim 4, disclose the method of claim 1 and further comprising authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user only if the second byte array matches the first byte array identically (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint, within a second range. If the degree of correlation found in this second stage is above a specific threshold value, then the input fingerprint is accepted, while if it is below that threshold value, the input fingerprint is rejected.”).
Regarding claim 7, Bao discloses a server configured to receive, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate (Bao, paragraph 0058, client application server 230 may communicate a request to authenticate user device 210 to network authentication server 220);
a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device based on a mobile device number; paragraph 0049, registering for the authentication support service and providing client credentials to network authentication server 220),
the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0039; paragraph 0049, “this may include informing network authentication server 220 that user device 210 has requested and authorized network authentication server 220 to assist with logging in user device 210 via the two-factor authentication service required by client application server 230. In some implementations, registering for the authentication support service may also include client application server 230 providing one or more types of information identifying user device 210”),
the server including a processor; and a memory for storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the server to: (Bao, paragraph 0150, processor, memory, FIG. 1A shows server);
authenticate the mobile device of the user (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device; paragraph 0016, authenticating a user device);
in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials (Bao, paragraph 0058, authentication server 220 may validate client credentials).
Bao does not explicitly disclose receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user.
However, in an analogous art, Chin discloses receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device (Chin, paragraph 0047, third party device 14 receives registered fingerprint data from the fingerprint database 12. Comparison result send by third party device to fingerprint identifying apparatus for completing the authentication after the third party device 14 compares the fingerprint combination with the registered fingerprint data to generate the comparison result);
store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file (Chin, paragraph 0061, registered fingerprint stored in the third party device 14);
receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user (Chin, fingerprint identifying apparatus 10 sends fingerprint to third party device 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chin with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao to include receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user to provide users with the benefits of an effective and complicated fingerprint identifying schemed providing a high level of security (Chin: paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Bao and Chin disclose authenticate the mobile device of the user, but do not explicitly disclose convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials.
However, in an analogous art, Kamiya discloses convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels”);
converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; and (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory”);
authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials (Kamiya, col 8, lines 3-5, verification executed in two stages; col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamiya with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao and Chin to include convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials to provide users with the benefits of a high overall verification rate and a low rate of incorrect rejections of input fingerprints (Kamiya: col. 3, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 8, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the server of claim 7 and configured to receive an image file created without use of a camera (Chin, paragraph 0046, pre-stored registered fingerprint data).
Regarding claim 10, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the server of claim 7 and configured to authenticate the mobile device of the user only if the second byte array matches the first byte array identically (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint, within a second range. If the degree of correlation found in this second stage is above a specific threshold value, then the input fingerprint is accepted, while if it is below that threshold value, the input fingerprint is rejected.”).
Regarding claim 13, Bao discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium bearing computer program code which, when programmed into a server having a memory causes the server to (Bao, paragraph 0150, processor memory, FIG. 1A shows server):
receive, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate (Bao, paragraph 0058, client application server 230 may communicate a request to authenticate user device 210 to network authentication server 220);
a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device based on a mobile device number; paragraph 0049, registering for the authentication support service and providing client credentials to network authentication server 220);
the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0039; paragraph 0049, “this may include informing network authentication server 220 that user device 210 has requested and authorized network authentication server 220 to assist with logging in user device 210 via the two-factor authentication service required by client application server 230. In some implementations, registering for the authentication support service may also include client application server 230 providing one or more types of information identifying user device 210”);
the phone number of the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0003, mobile device number (MDN), paragraph 0037, network authentication server may have access to user device MDNs);
authenticate the mobile device of the user (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device; paragraph 0016, authenticating a user device);
in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials (Bao, paragraph 0058, authentication server 220 may validate client credentials).
Bao does discloses the phone number of the mobile device, but does not explicitly disclose receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file, and the phone number of the mobile device; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user.
However, in an analogous art, Chin discloses receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device (Chin, paragraph 0047, third party device 14 receives registered fingerprint data from the fingerprint database 12. Comparison result send by third party device to fingerprint identifying apparatus for completing the authentication after the third party device 14 compares the fingerprint combination with the registered fingerprint data to generate the comparison result);
store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file, and the phone number of the mobile device; (Chin, paragraph 0061, registered fingerprint stored in the third party device 14)
receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and (Chin, fingerprint identifying apparatus 10 sends fingerprint to third party device 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chin with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao to include receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file, and the phone number of the mobile device; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user to provide users with the benefits of an effective and complicated fingerprint identifying schemed providing a high level of security (Chin: paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Bao and Chin disclose authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials, but do not explicitly disclose convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials.
However, in an analogous art, Kamiya discloses convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels”);
convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory”);
authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials (Kamiya, col 8, lines 3-5, verification executed in two stages; col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamiya with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao and Chin to include convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; authenticate the mobile device of the user in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array and in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials to provide users with the benefits of a high overall verification rate and a low rate of incorrect rejections of input fingerprints (Kamiya: col. 3, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 14, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the image file is created without use of a camera (Chin, paragraph 0046, pre-stored registered fingerprint data).
Regarding claim 16, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the computer program product of claim 13 and further comprising code configured to cause the server to authenticate the mobile device of the user only if the second byte array matches the first byte array identically (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint, within a second range. If the degree of correlation found in this second stage is above a specific threshold value, then the input fingerprint is accepted, while if it is below that threshold value, the input fingerprint is rejected.”).
Regarding claim 31, Bao discloses a method comprising: receiving, at a server, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate (Bao, paragraph 0058, client application server 230 may communicate a request to authenticate user device 210 to network authentication server 220);
a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device based on a mobile device number; paragraph 0049, registering for the authentication support service and providing client credentials to network authentication server 220);
the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0039; paragraph 0049, “this may include informing network authentication server 220 that user device 210 has requested and authorized network authentication server 220 to assist with logging in user device 210 via the two-factor authentication service required by client application server 230. In some implementations, registering for the authentication support service may also include client application server 230 providing one or more types of information identifying user device 210”);
authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device; paragraph 0016, authenticating a user device);
in response to (Bao, paragraph 0058, authentication server 220 may validate client credentials).
Bao does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file; receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user.
However, in an analogous art, Chin discloses receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device (Chin, paragraph 0047, third party device 14 receives registered fingerprint data from the fingerprint database 12. Comparison result send by third party device to fingerprint identifying apparatus for completing the authentication after the third party device 14 compares the fingerprint combination with the registered fingerprint data to generate the comparison result);
storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file (Chin, paragraph 0061, registered fingerprint stored in the third party device 14);
receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and (Chin, fingerprint identifying apparatus 10 sends fingerprint to third party device 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chin with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao to include receiving, by the server, a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; storing, by the server, in a memory, the user-supplied image file; receiving, by the server, a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user to provide users with the benefits of an effective and complicated fingerprint identifying schemed providing a high level of security (Chin: paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Bao and Chin do not explicitly disclose converting, by the server, the us; r-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array.
However, in an analogous art, Kamiya discloses converting, by the server, the user-supplied image file to a first byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels”);
converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory”);
in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array (Kamiya, col 8, lines 3-5, verification executed in two stages; col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamiya with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao and Chin to include converting, by the server, the us; r-supplied image file to a first byte array; converting the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array to provide users with the benefits of a high overall verification rate and a low rate of incorrect rejections of input fingerprints (Kamiya: col. 3, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 32, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the method of claim 31 wherein the image file is created without use of a camera (Chin, paragraph 0046, pre-stored registered fingerprint data).
Regarding claim 34, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the method of claim 31 and further comprising authenticating, by the server, the mobile device of the user only if the second byte array matches the first byte array identically (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint, within a second range. If the degree of correlation found in this second stage is above a specific threshold value, then the input fingerprint is accepted, while if it is below that threshold value, the input fingerprint is rejected.”).
Regarding claim 37, Bao discloses a server configured to receive, from a trusted client computer device, a request to authenticate (Bao, paragraph 0058, client application server 230 may communicate a request to authenticate user device 210 to network authentication server 220);
a mobile device of a user, the mobile device bearing a mobile app, the user having login credentials stored at the server (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device based on a mobile device number; paragraph 0049, registering for the authentication support service and providing client credentials to network authentication server 220);
the trusted client computer device being different from the mobile device (Bao, paragraph 0039; paragraph 0049, “this may include informing network authentication server 220 that user device 210 has requested and authorized network authentication server 220 to assist with logging in user device 210 via the two-factor authentication service required by client application server 230. In some implementations, registering for the authentication support service may also include client application server 230 providing one or more types of information identifying user device 210”),
the server including a processor; and a memory for storing computer instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the server to: (Bao, paragraph 0150, processor, memory, FIG. 1A shows server);
authenticate the mobile device of the user (Bao, paragraph 0015, authenticating a user device; paragraph 0016, authenticating a user device);
in response to login credentials of the user from the mobile device of the user matching the user's stored login credentials (Bao, paragraph 0058, authentication server 220 may validate client credentials).
Bao does not explicitly disclose receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user.
However, in an analogous art, Chin discloses receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device (Chin, paragraph 0047, third party device 14 receives registered fingerprint data from the fingerprint database 12. Comparison result send by third party device to fingerprint identifying apparatus for completing the authentication after the third party device 14 compares the fingerprint combination with the registered fingerprint data to generate the comparison result);
store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file; (Chin, paragraph 0061, registered fingerprint stored in the third party device 14);
receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user and (Chin, fingerprint identifying apparatus 10 sends fingerprint to third party device 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chin with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao to include receive a user-supplied image file from the trusted client computer device; store, in the memory, the user-supplied image file; receive a mobile-supplied image file from the mobile device of the user to provide users with the benefits of an effective and complicated fingerprint identifying schemed providing a high level of security (Chin: paragraphs 0005 and 0006).
Bao and Chin do not explicitly disclose convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array.
However, in an analogous art, Kamiya discloses convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels”);
convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory”);
in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array (Kamiya, col 8, lines 3-5, verification executed in two stages; col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamiya with method/ server/ computer program product/ method/ server of Bao and Chin to include convert the user-supplied image file to a first byte array; convert the mobile-supplied image file to a second byte array; in response to the second byte array matching the first byte array to provide users with the benefits of a high overall verification rate and a low rate of incorrect rejections of input fingerprints (Kamiya: col. 3, lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 38, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the server of claim 37 and configured to receive an image file created without use of a camera.(Chin, paragraph 0046, pre-stored registered fingerprint data).
Regarding claim 40, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the server of claim 37 and configured to authenticate the mobile device of the user only if the second byte array matches the first byte array identically. (Kamiya, col. 3, lines 48, through col. 4, line 7, “When verification is required, the input fingerprint is first converted to an array of pixels, and temporarily stored in memory. A judgement is then made as to whether the degree of correlation is within a first range, indicating that the input fingerprint is definitely accepted as identical to the registered fingerprint, within a second range. If the degree of correlation found in this second stage is above a specific threshold value, then the input fingerprint is accepted, while if it is below that threshold value, the input fingerprint is rejected.”).
Claims 3, 9, 15, 33, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US20170171200), filed March 2, 2016, in view of Chin (US20170083750), filed September 3, 2016, and Kamiya (US5040223), filed February 17, 1989, and further in view of Froelicher (US20170264600), published on September 14, 2017.
Regarding claim 3, Bao, Chin, and Kamiya disclose the method of claim 1.
Bao, Chin, and Kamiya do not explicitly disclose wherein the trusted client computer device is coupled to the server using a Universal Second Factor (U2F) key.
However, in an analogous art, Froelicher discloses wherein the tru