Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 13, 16 and 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson et al. (US 7106581 B2), hereinafter Olson in view OLARIG et al. (US Pub. No. 20180074984), hereinafter Olarig.
Referring to claim 1, Olson discloses a motherboard (monitor housing with internal chassis; Fig. 2, monitor housing 12 and computer interior chassis 26), comprising:
a basic computing unit (logic module 24, Fig. 3) as a first daughter board of the motherboard (logic module 24 containing processor 36, memory module 38, fixed disk drive 40, internal power connector 39, and internal data connector 41, which is removably affixed within monitor housing 12 and acts as the main computing module, Fig. 2–3; col. 4, lines 40–67), provided with a basic component and a first external interface, wherein
the basic component comprises a component (component, e.g. processor 36, memory module 38 or fixed disk drive 40, shown in Fig. 3) comprised in a minimum system (minimum system shown in Fig. 3) that provides a general computing capability (general computing capability via logic module 24 includes processor 36, memory module 38 and fixed disk drive 40; Fig. 3), and
the basic computing unit is coupled to a second external interface (second external interface 41, Fig. 3) of an extension unit (extension unit 40, Fig. 3) through the first external interface (power connector 39 and data connector 41 mate with connectors in the monitor housing when the logic module is inserted—i.e., interfaces between logic module and other internal subsystems; Fig. 3–4);
and the extension unit as a second daughter board (second daughter board inside housing 12, Fig. 1) of the motherboard (monitor housing 12 including power supply 28, monitor screen 14, and associated video electronics, which electrically interfaces with logic module 24 through power connector 39 and data connector 41 to extend its function, Fig. 1–3; col. 4, lines 40–67), configured to extend a function of the basic computing unit, wherein the extension unit comprises the second external interface (Monitor housing 12 and internal chassis 26 with integrated display, power supply 28, fan assembly 30, optional auxiliary drive 16—functions extend beyond base logic processing, providing I/O, user interface, and power—see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, col. 4:1–55).
Olarig discloses, what Olson lacks, wherein a baseboard management controller (Baseboard Management Controller (BMC 125), [0049]) is disposed on the extension unit (chassis (105) that interfaces externally with other systems via network connectors and control-plane communication ([0044]–[0046]), and further discloses a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC 125) disposed within the chassis on the motherboard (310) ([0046], [0049]), where the chassis functions as an extension unit housing management logic and providing external interface connectivity).
Olson and Olarig are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely computer chassis architectures and modular computing systems that provide external interfaces and management functionality for computer hardware assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Olson and Olarig before him or her, to modify the logic module / modular chassis of Olson to include a baseboard management controller disposed on an extension unit as taught by Olarig.
The suggestion and motivation for doing so would have been to improve system manageability, serviceability, and autonomous configuration of modular computing hardware.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Olarig with Olson to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 2, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the basic computing unit is coupled to an extension component of a computing device (logic module 24 is coupled to chassis/monitor housing that includes video display, power supply, auxiliary drive, etc.; Fig. 2), wherein the extension component is configured to extend a function of the basic computing unit and comprises a functional unit (extension components like video display, audio I/O, DVD drive, power supply extend the functions of the logic module; Fig. 2, Fig. 3), and
the functional unit comprises at least one of an input/output (I/O) unit, a storage unit, an acceleration unit, or a memory expansion unit (I/O: external connector panel 46 includes USB, Ethernet, audio jacks; storage unit: auxiliary drive 16 and hard drive 40; Fig. 3, Fig. 5),
wherein the I/O unit is configured to implement communication between the computing device and a component or a device outside the computing device (USB jack 52, Ethernet jack 54, audio jacks 48/50 enable external communication; Fig. 5), and
extend an I/O capability of the computing device; the storage unit is configured to extend a storage capability of the computing device (auxiliary drive 16 and hard drive 40; Fig. 3);
the acceleration unit is configured to provide a system acceleration component expansion and interconnection function; and the memory expansion unit is configured to provide a system memory bandwidth expansion function and a system memory capacity expansion function (while not explicitly shown, expansion card slot 58 supports functional units such as GPUs or memory cards; Fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the first external interface comprises a management interface (power connector 39, data connector 41 between logic module and monitor housing; Fig. 3),
wherein the management interface is configured to implement transmission of a control signal between the basic computing unit and the extension unit (data connector 41 transmits data/control signals for video and other subsystems; Fig. 3); and
the data interface is configured to implement data transmission between the basic component and the extension component (data connector 41 interfaces between logic module and display; Fig. 3).
As to claim 4, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 3, wherein the data interface comprises at least one of interfaces that support functions of a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe), a compute express link (CXL), a unified bus (UB), a Huawei cache coherence system (HCCS), a serial attached small computer system (SAS), or a serial advanced technology attachment (SATA) (Olson discloses internal data interface supporting fixed disk drive 40 and auxiliary drive 16, which commonly use SATA/SAS; while specific protocol names not stated, structure inherently supports such interfaces; Fig. 3).
As to claim 5, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 3, wherein the extension component is coupled to the data interface, to implement data transmission between the basic component and the extension component (data transmission occurs between logic module and monitor via data connector 41; auxiliary devices such as drive 16 and expansion cards 60 are also interfaced; Fig. 3, Fig. 5).
As to claim 6, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 3, wherein the extension component is disposed on the extension unit (e.g., auxiliary drive 16 and monitor screen 14 are mounted in chassis/monitor housing (extension unit); Fig. 2), and the extension unit is connected to the data interface (data connector 41 makes contact with monitor chassis side; Fig. 3, Fig. 4), to implement data transmission between the basic component and the extension component (as above, via connector 41; Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 3, wherein the first external interface further comprises a first power supply interface (power connector 39; Fig. 3), wherein the first power supply interface is configured to supply power based on a power supply requirement of the basic component and/or the extension component (power supply 28 provides power to both the logic module and other monitor housing components via automatic connection through connector 39; Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
As to claim 8, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 7, wherein the first power supply interface is connected to a power supply unit through a cable (Power connector 39 receives power from power supply 28 via internal cabling; Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
As to claim 9, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the basic computing unit is configured to have a plurality of board body sizes, and one board body size in the plurality of board body sizes is set based on a quantity of configured processors and/or a quantity of configured memories
(Logic module 24 is a removable modular board containing processor 36 and memory module 38; form factor permits scalability and could vary based on CPU/RAM; Fig. 3).
As to claim 10, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 9, wherein a mounting hole is provided on the basic computing unit, and the mounting hole adapts to a fixing structure on a chassis of the computing device
(Logic module 24 includes hook tabs 70 and screw holes 78 used for mechanical mounting into the monitor housing chassis; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
As to claim 11, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 10, wherein the fixing structure is divided into at least one group of fixing structures based on a position relationship, and one group of fixing structures in the at least one group of fixing structures is adaptable to basic computing units of different board body sizes
(Monitor chassis includes tab slots 72 and alignment pin slots 76 that accommodate different mounting configurations; Fig. 2, Fig. 4).
As to claim 12, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the second external interface comprises a second power supply interface, and when the extension unit comprises a component whose power supply requirement is less than a first threshold, the second power supply interface is configured to be connected to the first power supply interface in an inter-board transfer power supply manner, to supply power to the component in the extension unit (Power connector 39 supplies power from power supply 28 to both the logic module and other chassis components; inter-board connection through direct engagement; Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
As to claim 13, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the second external interface comprises a second power supply interface, and when the extension unit comprises a component whose power supply requirement is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the second power supply interface is directly connected to a power supply unit through a cable, to supply power to the component in the extension unit in a direct-connection power supply manner through the cable (Monitor housing components such as display and auxiliary drive 16 receive power directly from power supply 28 via dedicated cabling; Fig. 2).
As to claim 16, Olson discloses the motherboard of claim 15, wherein the baseboard management controller is set as a baseboard management controller card, and the baseboard management controller card is connected to the extension unit through a slot (Slot-based expansion possible via expansion card slot 58; such slots may accommodate controller cards; Fig. 3).
Referring to claim 18, Olson discloses a computing device, comprising a motherboard, wherein the motherboard comprises: a basic computing unit as a first daughter board of the motherboard, provided with a basic component and a first external interface, wherein the basic component comprises a component comprised in a minimum system that provides a general computing capability, and the basic computing unit is coupled to a second external interface of an extension unit through the first external interface; and the extension unit as a second daughter board of the motherboard, configured to extend a function of the basic computing unit, wherein the extension unit comprises the second external interface
(Computing device is comprised of logic module 24 (first daughter board) connected to the chassis housing with display, power, and drives (second daughter board); interconnection via data and power connectors; Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
As to claim 19, Olson discloses the computing device of claim 18, wherein the computing device further comprises an extension component, wherein the extension component is configured to extend a function of the basic computing unit and comprises a functional unit, and the functional unit comprises at least one of an input/output (I/O) unit, a storage unit, an acceleration unit, or a memory expansion unit, wherein the I/O unit is configured to implement communication between the computing device and a component or a device outside the computing device, and extend an I/O capability of the computing device; the storage unit is configured to extend a storage capability of the computing device; the acceleration unit is configured to provide a system acceleration component expansion and interconnection function; and the memory expansion unit is configured to provide a system memory bandwidth expansion function and a system memory capacity expansion function (I/O: USB jack 52, Ethernet jack 54, audio jacks 48/50; Storage: auxiliary drive 16, fixed disk drive 40; Acceleration/memory: supported via expansion card slot 58; Fig. 3, Fig. 5).
As to claim 20, Olson discloses the computing device of claim 18, wherein the first external interface comprises a management interface (Olson discloses a modular computing device where a logic module 24 (first daughter board) connects to a monitor housing (second daughter board) via a first external interface composed of a power connector 39 and a data connector 41; Fig. 3).
wherein the management interface is configured to implement transmission of a control signal between the basic computing unit and the extension unit (Data connector 41 transmits system control and video signals between the logic module and the display/monitor circuitry in the extension unit; Fig. 3) and
the data interface is configured to implement data transmission between the basic component and the extension component (Data connector 41 also carries data between the logic module and other components in the monitor housing, including video data, auxiliary storage, and external I/O interfaces; Fig. 3).
As to claim 21, Olarig discloses the motherboard of claim 3, wherein the data interface comprises at least one of interfaces that support functions of a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe), a compute express link (CXL), a unified bus (UB), a Huawei cache coherence system (HCCS), a serial attached small computer system (SAS), or a serial advanced technology attachment (SATA) (peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe), [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 7,106,581 B2) in view of Olarig and in further view of Yao (EP 4361759 A1).
As to claim 14, Olson is directed to a modular computer architecture in which a basic computing unit (logic module 24) is connected to an extension unit (monitor chassis housing) via data and power connectors (connectors 39 and 41) to provide modular functionality (Fig. 2–3). Olson teaches that the extension unit includes components such as video display, power supply, auxiliary drive, and fan (Fig. 2), and discloses that these components extend the capabilities of the basic logic module. Thus, Olson meets the structural requirements of claim 1 and its dependencies, but does not explicitly disclose that a baseboard management controller (BMC) is disposed on the extension unit.
Olson, Olarig and Yao are analogous prior art because it is in the same field of endeavor—motherboard architecture and computing device management—and solves a similar problem of modularizing hardware while enhancing manageability and interoperability between computing components. Yao teaches explicitly that a BMC 40 is disposed on the extension unit 20, which is connected to a basic computing unit 10 (see Fig. 3; para. [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Olson, Olarig and Yao before them, to modify Olson’s extension unit to include a baseboard management controller as taught by Yao, in order to enhance system-level control, enable dynamic monitoring, and improve modular extensibility. This modification would merely involve incorporating well-known BMC functionality into the extension unit, which is a standard system management practice, particularly in enterprise or server-grade computing environments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yao with Olson and Olarig to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 15, Yao discloses the motherboard of claim 1, wherein the baseboard management controller is disposed on the basic computing unit (Yao also discloses the alternative where the BMC is disposed on the basic computing unit; see para. [0025], which explicitly states: “The basic computing unit is further provided with a baseboard management controller configured to identify and configure the functional unit.”).
As to claim 17, Yao discloses the motherboard of claim 14, wherein a management object template is preset in the baseboard management controller (para. [0027]: The BMC is preset with a management object template), and hardware self-description information corresponding to the management object template is preset in the functional unit; and the baseboard management controller is configured to obtain the hardware self-description information of the functional unit, generate a management object instance based on the management object template and the hardware self-description information (The functional unit stores hardware self-description info. The BMC reads this info and generates a management object instance. para. [0031]–[0032]: The BMC uses this instance to monitor and manage functional units, including temperature thresholds and validity checks), and identify and perform monitoring and management on the functional unit through the management object instance, wherein the monitoring and management comprises at least one of temperature control or validity check (Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 show BMC generation of the management object instance and adaptive temperature control).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barga (US Pat. No. 20160132454) A system and method for facilitating communication. The system includes an adapter card and a first motherboard interface for coupling the adapter card to a motherboard. In some embodiments, the first motherboard interface is configured to transmit data between the adapter card and the motherboard.
Contact Information
/J.C.B/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184