DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 12,537,630, Wang hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 6, Wang discloses a method and terminal device comprising: a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program (Figure 12) which, when executed by the terminal device, causes the terminal device to: determine a first time unit for transmission of first feedback response information according to configuration information, wherein deferral transmission of the first feedback response information is supported (Column 4, lines 41-59, “a terminal device is configured with an SPS configuration with one slot periodicity, slot based HARQ feedback, and a HARQ timing value K of 2 in an activation Downlink Control Information (DCI).” In this example, based on the value K the terminal determines a time slot for sending HARQ feedback. However, if the terminal next determines that the slot is configured for downlink, then it may drop the HARQ feedback transmission. Column 7 next discloses an example in which deferral is supported); and transmit in a second time unit second feedback response information or transmit in the second time unit both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information, in the case where no available transmission resource is in the first time unit and first information instructs the terminal device to retransmit in the second time unit the second feedback response information (Column 7, lines 1-30, in this example the same occurs as in the first example above. Wang discloses “the terminal device 120 is configured with an SPS configuration #1.A HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS configuration #1 is indicated as 2.” and “Based on the HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS configuration #1, the terminal device 120 determines that a HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in a slot n is to be transmitted in a slot n+2. However, based on a TDD configuration (not shown), the terminal device 120 determines that the slot n+2 is configured for downlink transmission. Thus, the terminal device 120 determines that the slot n+2 is unavailable for transmission of the HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n. In this case, the terminal device 120 postpones the transmission of the HARQ feedback.”. Finally Wang discloses “Based on the HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS PDSCH, the terminal device 120 determines that a HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in a slot n+2 is to be transmitted in a slot n+4. The terminal device 120 multiplexes the postponed HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n with the HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n+2. In turn, the terminal device 120 transmits the multiplexed HARQ feedbacks to the network device 110 in the slot n+4.”); wherein the first time unit is the second time unit (Column 8 lines 28-52, discloses bundling feedback into a single bit in a single slot in order to reduce overhead), or the first time unit is no later than the second time unit (In the example in Column 7 above, the first slot is n+2, the second slot is n+4. The first slot precedes the second slot where the postponed feedback from the n+2 slot is ultimately transmitted along with feedback normally set for n+4).
RE claims 2 and 7, Wang discloses the method of claim 1 and the terminal device of claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein: a priority of the first feedback response information is the same as a priority of the second feedback response information (Column 7 lines 47-48 disclose the first and second HARQ feedback have the same priority); or the terminal device supports multiplexing transmission of uplink control information (UCI) with different priorities (Column 10 lines 1-5, postponed HARQ feedback having high priority is multiplexe3d with feedback having a low priority).
RE claims 4 and 9, Wang discloses the method of claim 1 and the terminal device of claim 6 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein the computer program executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to transmit in the second time unit both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information is executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to: determine a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource in the second time unit according to the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information (Table 1, slot n+k1, the claimed first time unit, is for HARQ feedback PUCCH transmission, if not available, find the minimum integer m>0 such that n+K1+m, the claimed second time unit, has PUCCH resource available for feedback transmission.); and transmit on the PUCCH resource both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information (Table 1, the postponed feedback from slot n+k1 is multiplexed with the feedback in slot n+k1+m and are both transmitted over that corresponding PUCCH).
RE claim 11, Wang discloses a network device, comprising: a transceiver; a processor coupled to the transceiver; and a memory storing a computer program (Figure 12) which, when executed by the processor, causes the network device to: transmit configuration information, wherein the configuration information is used by a terminal device to determine a first time unit for transmission of first feedback response information, wherein deferral transmission of the first feedback response information is supported (Column 4, lines 41-59, “a terminal device is configured with an SPS configuration with one slot periodicity, slot based HARQ feedback, and a HARQ timing value K of 2 in an activation Downlink Control Information (DCI).” In this example, based on the value K the terminal determines a time slot for sending HARQ feedback. However, if the terminal next determines that the slot is configured for downlink, then it may drop the HARQ feedback transmission. DCI is transmitted by the network device. Column 7 next discloses an example in which deferral is supported); transmit first information, wherein the first information is used for instructing the terminal device to retransmit in a second time unit second feedback response information (Column 7, lines 1-30, in this example the same occurs as in the first example above. Wang discloses “the terminal device 120 is configured with an SPS configuration #1.A HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS configuration #1 is indicated as 2.” and “Based on the HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS configuration #1, the terminal device 120 determines that a HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in a slot n is to be transmitted in a slot n+2. However, based on a TDD configuration (not shown), the terminal device 120 determines that the slot n+2 is configured for downlink transmission. Thus, the terminal device 120 determines that the slot n+2 is unavailable for transmission of the HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n. In this case, the terminal device 120 postpones the transmission of the HARQ feedback.”. Finally Wang discloses “Based on the HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS PDSCH, the terminal device 120 determines that a HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in a slot n+2 is to be transmitted in a slot n+4. The terminal device 120 multiplexes the postponed HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n with the HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n+2. In turn, the terminal device 120 transmits the multiplexed HARQ feedbacks to the network device 110 in the slot n+4.”); and receive in the second time unit the second feedback response information, wherein the second feedback response information is transmitted by the terminal device in the case where no available transmission resource is in the first time unit and the first information instructs the terminal device to retransmit in the second time unit the second feedback response information or receive in the second time unit both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information, wherein both the first feedback response information and the second time unit are transmitted by the terminal device in the case where no available transmission resource is in the first time unit and the first information instructs the terminal device to retransmit the second feedback response information in the second time unit Wang discloses “Based on the HARQ timing value K1 for the SPS PDSCH, the terminal device 120 determines that a HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in a slot n+2 is to be transmitted in a slot n+4. The terminal device 120 multiplexes the postponed HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n with the HARQ feedback for the SPS PDSCH in the slot n+2. In turn, the terminal device 120 transmits the multiplexed HARQ feedbacks to the network device 110 in the slot n+4.”); wherein the first time unit is the second time unit (Column 8 lines 28-52, discloses bundling feedback into a single bit in a single slot in order to reduce overhead), or the first time unit is no later than the second time unit (In the example in Column 7 above, the first slot is n+2, the second slot is n+4. The first slot precedes the second slot where the postponed feedback from the n+2 slot is ultimately transmitted along with feedback normally set for n+4).
RE claim 12, Wang discloses the network device of claim 11 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein: a priority of the first feedback response information is the same as a priority of the second feedback response information (Column 7 lines 47-48 disclose the first and second HARQ feedback have the same priority); or the terminal device supports multiplexing transmission of uplink control information (UCI) with different priorities (Column 10 lines 1-5, postponed HARQ feedback having high priority is multiplexe3d with feedback having a low priority).
RE claim 13, Wang discloses the network device of claim 11 as set forth above. Note that Wang further discloses wherein the computer program executed by the processor to cause the network device to receive in the second time unit both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information is executed by the processor to cause the network device to: receive, in the second time unit and on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, both the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information(Table 1, the postponed feedback from slot n+k1 is multiplexed with the feedback in slot n+k1+m and are both transmitted over that corresponding PUCCH), wherein the PUCCH resource is determined according to the first feedback response information and the second feedback response information (Table 1, slot n+k1, the claimed first time unit, is for HARQ feedback PUCCH transmission, if not available, find the minimum integer m>0 such that n+K1+m, the claimed second time unit, has PUCCH resource available for feedback transmission.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0399978, Gao hereafter).
RE claims 3 and 8, Wang discloses the method of claim 1 and the terminal device of claim 6 as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to perform the following in the case of transmitting in the second time unit the second feedback response information: deferring transmission of the first feedback response information, in the case where the second time unit is no later than a maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information; or dropping the first feedback response information, in the case where the second time unit is the maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information or the second time unit is later than the maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information.
However, Gao teaches deferring transmission of the first feedback response information, in the case where the second time unit is no later than a maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information; or dropping the first feedback response information, in the case where the second time unit is the maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information or the second time unit is later than the maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information (Paragraphs 143 -146 teach that a maximum number of deferring slots is predefined or configured. If that range in exceeded, meaning the next available slot is later than the maximum number of deferring slots, then the feedback is discarded).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and terminal of Wang with the teachings of Gao in order to prevent transmission of outdated deferred feedback thereby avoiding unnecessary signaling.
RE claims 5, 10 and 14, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, the terminal device of claim 6 and network device of claim 11 as set forth above. Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second time unit is a maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information, or the second time unit is no later than the maximum feedback deferral position corresponding to the first feedback response information (Paragraphs 143 -146 teach that a maximum number of deferring slots is predefined or configured. If that range in exceeded, meaning the next available slot is later than the maximum number of deferring slots, then the feedback is discarded. As such it is suggested by this teaching the deferral slot may be up to and including the maximum deferral slot in the predetermined or configured range. If a feedback deferral exceeds this maximum it is discarded and thus the “second time unit” cannot be more than the maximum taught by Gao.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and terminal of Wang with the teachings of Gao in order to prevent transmission of outdated deferred feedback thereby avoiding unnecessary signaling.
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461