DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 01/30/2024.
The Claims 2-5 7-10 12-15 17-20 have been canceled by the applicant.
The Claims 21-36 have been newly added by the applicant.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21-23, 25-27, 29-31 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240008034).
Regarding claim 1 Huang disclose, a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver para. 23, Fig. “access terminal 116”, receive by link 120 and transmit by link 118; and
a processor para. 34, Fig. 2 “processor 270”, operatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to:
receive physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission comprising first downlink control information (DCI) para. 51, 85 “a UE monitors PDCCH for detection of DCI format… a transmission of a first PUSCH of larger priority index scheduled by a DCI format in a PDCCH reception” , the first DCI indicating first resources for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, at least one signaling para. 51, “a UE indicates a capability to monitor, in an active DL BWP, PDCCH for detection of DCI format that includes a priority indicator field, the DCI format can schedule PUSCH transmissions of any priority”; and
receive a second PDCCH transmission comprising second DCI, the second DCI indicating second resources for a second PUSCH transmission para. 115, 319, “the UE may expect to receive multiple PDCCHs scheduling fully/partially/non-overlapped PDSCHs in time and frequency domain… a UE receives a first DCI scheduling a first PUSCH and a second DCI scheduling a second PUSCH”,
receive a third PDCCH transmission comprising third DCI, the third DCI comprising information indicating a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for reporting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ- ACK) information para. 115, 485, “HARQ-ACK information reporting is associated with a CORESET through a reception of a PDCCH with a DCI format triggering the reporting of the HARQ-ACK information by the UE… A third signal, comprising a first DCI signal and/or a first RRC signal, indicates that the first PUCCH is associated with the first joint/UL TCI state (e.g., the third signal may indicate that the first joint/UL TCI state is applied to the first PUCCH). The UE may receive the third signal”, and
based on the PUCCH resource overlapping the first resources and the second resources para. 101, “a UE would transmit multiple overlapping PUCCHs in a slot or overlapping PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) in a slot and, when applicable as described in clauses 9.2.5.1 and 9.2.5.2, the UE is configured to multiplex different UCI types in one PUCCH, and at least one of the multiple overlapping PUCCHs or PUSCHs is in response to a DCI format detection by the UE", transmit uplink control information (UCI) comprising the HARQ-ACK information in a determined one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission para. 197, “when a UE is scheduled or configured to transmit two concurrent uplink transmissions/channels (with same starting symbol) on a first serving cell, the first concept may be that the UE may determine (e.g., select) the first serving cell for multiplexing UCI… In some examples, UCI may comprise HARQ information associated with a first TRP (i.e., CORESETPoolIndex=0) for one serving cell and/or HARQ information associated with a second TRP (i.e., CORESETPoolIndex=1) for same serving cell or a neighboring cell with additionalPCI or additional PCI index. In some examples, no matter the UCI comprising which TRP's or both TRP's HARQ information, the UE multiplex UCI on both two concurrent uplink transmissions/channels (with same starting symbol)”,
wherein, when neither the first PUSCH transmission nor the second PUSCH transmission carries an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) report para. 508, “In one embodiment, the UE determines whether the first UCI is (i) a first type of UCI comprising periodic CSI (e.g., periodic CSI report) and/or HARQ (e.g., HARQ information, such as HARQ feedback information) or (ii) a second type of UCI comprising aperiodic CSI (e.g., aperiodic CSI report) and/or semi-persistent CSI (e.g., semi-persistent CSI report). The UE determines the selection function based on whether the first UCI is the first type or the second type of UCI. The UE selects the first PUSCH for multiplexing the first UCI according to the selection function”, the determined one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission is a PUSCH corresponds to a coresetPoolIndex having a value equal to a value of a coresetPoolIndex corresponding to the PUCCH resource para. 248. “In some examples, UCI on PUCCH1 may be associated with one or more UCIs associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex or a first (TRP) index…” where para. 508, “the first PUSCH for multiplexing the first UCI is selected according to a selection function”, and
wherein, when one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission carries an aperiodic CSI report, para. 508, “In one embodiment, the UE determines whether the first UCI is (i) a first type of UCI comprising periodic CSI (e.g., periodic CSI report) and/or HARQ (e.g., HARQ information, such as HARQ feedback information) or (ii) a second type of UCI comprising aperiodic CSI (e.g., aperiodic CSI report) and/or semi-persistent CSI (e.g., semi-persistent CSI report). The UE determines the selection function based on whether the first UCI is the first type or the second type of UCI. The UE selects the first PUSCH for multiplexing the first UCI according to the selection function”, the determined one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission is the one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission that carries the aperiodic CSI report para. 301. “the UE may transmit aperiodic (AP) CSI report on both two concurrent uplink transmissions/channels…” where para. 508, “the first PUSCH for multiplexing the first UCI is selected according to a selection function”.
Claim 6 recites an apparatus corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 11 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 16 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 6 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 21 Huang disclose, wherein the first PUSCH transmission corresponds to a first coresetPoolIndex value, the second PUSCHtransmission corresponds to a second coresetPoolIndex value, and the first coresetPoolIndex value is different from the second coresetPoolIndex value para. 103, “is provided coresetPoolIndex with a value of 0 for first CORESETs on active DL BWPs of serving cells, and is provided coresetPoolIndex with a value of 1 for second CORESETs”.
Regarding claim 22 Huang disclose, wherein, based on transmitting the UCI comprising the HARQ-ACK information in the determined one of the first PUSCH transmission or the second PUSCH transmission, the UE does not transmit a PUCCH transmission on the PUCCH resource para. 60-61, “the UE does not expect a PUCCH transmission with UCI of first and second priority indexes to overlap with a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information of the first priority index, or with a PUCCH transmission or with a PUSCH transmission of the second priority index when the second priority index is larger than the first priority index [0061] the UE does not expect a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information of larger priority index to overlap with more than one PUCCH transmissions with HARQ-ACK information of smaller priority index”.
Regarding claim 23 Huang disclose, wherein a coresetPoolIndex corresponding to the first PUSCH transmission is a coresetPoolIndex for a control resource set (CORESET) associated with the first PDCCH transmission para. 104-105, “is provided coresetPoolIndex with a value of 1 for second CORESETs on active DL BWPs of the serving cells, and [0105] is provided ackNackFeedbackMode=separate does not expect a PUCCH or a PUSCH transmission triggered by a detection of a DCI format in a PDCCH received in a CORESET from the first CORESETs”, and
wherein a coresetPoolIndex corresponding to the second PUSCH transmission is a coresetPoolIndex for a CORESET associated with the second PDCCH transmission para. 104-105, “is provided coresetPoolIndex with a value of 1 for second CORESETs on active DL BWPs of the serving cells, and is provided ackNackFeedbackMode=separate does not expect a PUCCH or a PUSCH transmission triggered by a detection of a DCI format in a PDCCH received in a CORESET from the second CORESETs”.
Regarding claims 25-27, 29-31 and 33-35 the limitations of claims 25-27, 29-31 and 33-35, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 21-23, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 28, 32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20240008034) in view of Zhu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230379125).
Regarding claim 24 Huang does not specifically disclose, wherein the coresetPoolIndex corresponding to the PUCCH resource is a coresetPoolIndex for a CORESET associated with the third PDCCH transmission. However, Zhu teach, wherein the coresetPoolIndex corresponding to the PUCCH resource is a coresetPoolIndex for a CORESET associated with the third PDCCH transmission, para. 111, “which could be used for the latest PDCCH carrying the common TCI state/beam indication (a third PDCCH) associated with the same CORESETPOOLIndex (value) as that associated with the first PDCCH”.
Huang and Zhu are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu in the system of Huang so the system can accurately determine the time window to transmit. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the UE uses the coresetPoolIndex mapping to determine the precise spatial domain needed for transmission.
Regarding claims 28, 32 and 36 the limitations of claims 28, 32 and 36 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Guo et al. (U.S. Pub. 20250176029) which disclose(s) performing multiple parallel random access procedures.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471