DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Amendment filed 09/09/2025.
Claims 1, 11 and 21 have been amended, and no claim has been canceled or added. Currently, claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (see Remarks, pages 9-11) with respect to the Rejection of Claims Under §101 that amended claim is not directed to a judicial exception, the claims are integrated into a practical application, the claims recite significantly more than a judicial exception, the examiner’s mental process characterization is inapplicable, and other additional arguments based on improved computer functionality disclosed in the Specification, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the amended claim 1 and similarly applied to independent claims 11 and 21, the recited limitation “an object-storage service” as broadly recited can be broadly interpreted as a storage device or a storage system. Any device/system providing storage functionality can be interpreted as an object-storage service as recited. The step/limitation of storing table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object-storage service recited at a high level of generality is directed to a generic computer function of storing data in different regions (i.e., partitions) of a storage device or in different storage devices (i.e., partitions) of a computer/storage system, which is insignificant extra-solution activity or well-understood, routine, conventional activity for implementing the abstract idea or mental processes of generating a change tracking entry, generating a change tracking stream (i.e., a collection of changes), and updating a second table version to include the change tracking stream. It should be noted that “a partition” is broadly interpreted as a portion or a part, and “a partition file” being not defined/disclosed in the Specification can be broadly interpreted as a collection/set/stream of data, which does not further specify the feature “change tracking stream” (i.e., a collection of changes/modifications). Similarly, limitation “lineage of executed transaction” is a lineage/sequence of changes/modification, which also does not further specified the feature “change tracking stream”.
As discussed, the amended claim 1 as currently presented is not effective to overcome the 101 rejection for being directed to abstract idea without significantly more because it broadly recites a concept and/or abstract idea of generating a change tracking entry, generating a change tracking stream, and updating a second data version to include the change tracking stream. The claimed invention as broadly recited fails to realize a practical application and/or improved functionality/technology as disclosed in the Specification as stated (e.g., there is no recitation of how to use immutable partitions and partition files in object-storage service as indicated, how “a first table version” and “a second table version” are related/different to in view of “partitions”, etc.).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, page 11) with respect to the Rejection of Claims Under §103, in reference to the “storing functionality, that neither Vig nor Bhatnagar teaches or suggests that the partitions reside in an “object-storage service”, and/or storing database partitions as objects in an object-storage service, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It should be noted that the term “object-storage service” as broadly recited can be broadly interpreted as equivalent to any storage device/system. The recitation of “storing…table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object-storage service” is not necessary interpreted as storing database partitions as objects in an object-storage service as stated. Vig et al. recited a system including a plurality of storage nodes which are allocated for storing partitions of a table (see [column 5, line 53 to column 6, line , wherein the system including a plurality of storage nodes can be interpreted as equivalent to an object-storage service as broadly recited, wherein each storage node can be interpreted as a partition residing in the object-storage service as recited.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, pages 11-12) with respect to the Rejection of Claims Under §103, in reference to the “generating” functionality, that neither Vig nor Bhatnagar teaches or suggests generating a change tracking stream as a partition file, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The term “partition file” being not defined in the Specification can be interpreted as just a file or any unit of data stored in the system. Vig et al. teaches a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table (see [column 6, lines 20-30]), wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or a partition file as recited.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, pages 11-12) with respect to the Rejection of Claims Under §103, in reference to the “updating” functionality, that neither Vig nor Bhatnagar teaches or suggests the specific mechanism of updating a table version by atomically referencing a new set of immutable partition objects and a partitional file in an object-storage service, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The arguments appear to be invalid since the claimed invention does not recited any relation between a table version and a new set of immutable partition objects and a partition file in an object storage service as stated. Vig et al. teaches a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table (see [column 6, lines 20-30]), wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or lineage of executed transactions as recited. It should be noted that when a change occurred in a table, table data changed from a first version to a second version, wherein table data associated with the first version is interpreted as a first table version, and table data associated with the second version is interpreted as a second table version. In addition, the journal can be seen as metadata associated with the table or metadata/data of the table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “partition file” in line 11 being not disclosed or mentioned in the Specification raises new matter issue.
Regarding claim 11, the term “partition file” in line 12 being not disclosed or mentioned in the Specification raises new matter issue.
Regarding claim 21, the term “partition file” in line 11 being not disclosed or mentioned in the Specification raises new matter issue.
Other dependent claims are rejected as incorporating and failing to resolve the deficiency of the rejected independent claims 1, 11 and 21 upon which they depend correspondingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of analyzing data without significantly more.
The claims recite abstract idea(s) of generating a change tracking entry, generating a change tracking stream and updating a second table version to include the change tracking stream, which are broadly recited steps/concepts that can be mentally performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of pencil and paper and directed to mental processes grouping of abstract ideas . This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because other additional elements including generic computer, genetic computer components and common computer functionality (e.g., accessing, storing, displaying, etc.) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering) for implementing the abstract idea are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because additional elements include only generic/common computer components (e.g., memory, processor, program instructions, etc.) and generic/common computer functions (e.g., accessing, storing, displaying, etc.) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering), which are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea.
Abstract idea analysis as follows:
Step 1:
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant claims, claims 1-10 are directed to a method (i.e. a process), claims 11-20 are directed to a system comprising one or more processors (i.e., a machine), and claims 21-30 are directed to a non-transitory computer-storage medium storing instructions (i.e., article of manufacture). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Step 2a Prong 1 (claims 1, 11 and 21):
The following limitations recited in claims 1, 11, and 21 are abstract ideas that fall under mental processes:
generating,…, a change tracking entry based on executing a transaction on the table data, the change tracking entry including information on at least one modification made to a first table version storing the table data (the step of generating a change tracking entry as broadly recited can be mentally performed by the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper),
generating, …, a change tracking stream as a partition file associated with the at least one modification (the step of generating a change tracking stream as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper; it should be noted that the limitation contains “a change tracking stream” based on the specification, [0018]), the stream is no more than a collection of changes),
updating,…, a second table version to include the change tracking stream, the second table version including modified table data based on completing execution of the transaction on the table data in the first table version, the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data, the lineage comprising metadata columns indicating an action type and update status for the at least one modification made to the first table version (the step of updating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper).
All the limitations above are mental steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Step 2a Prong 2 (Claims 1, 11, and 21):
The following limitations in claims 1, 11 and 21 are additional elements:
performed by at least one hardware processor configured as a change tracking manager in a database system functions comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
storing, by a table data component of the change tracking manager, table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object-storage service (this step of storing as broadly recited is directed to generic computer function or insignificant extra-solution activity),
by a transaction data component of the change tracking manager (wherein “a transaction data component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of generating a change tracking entry)),
by a change tracking component of the change tracking manager (wherein “a change tracking component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of generating a change tracking stream)),
by the change tracking component (wherein “a change tracking component” recited at high level of generality is directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of updating a second table version to include the change tracking stream)),
one or more processors configured as a change tracking manager (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
data storage containing instructions executable by the one or more processor to perform operations comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
a non-transitory computer-storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processor configured as a change tracking manager, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
These are a generic computer and/or generic computer components used to perform generic computer functions or insignificant extra-solution activity, such that they amount to no more than components used to execute mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(s).
Step 2b (Claims 1, 11 and 21):
The following limitations in claims 1, 11 and 21 are additional elements:
performed by at least one hardware processor configured as a change tracking manager in a database system functions comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
storing, by a table data component of the change tracking manager, table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object-storage service (this step of storing as broadly recited is directed to generic computer function or insignificant extra-solution activity),
by a transaction data component of the change tracking manager (wherein “a transaction data component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of generating a change tracking entry)),
by a change tracking component of the change tracking manager (wherein “a change tracking component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of generating a change tracking stream)),
by the change tracking component (wherein “a change tracking component” recited at high level of generality is directed to no more than mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (i.e., the mental step of updating a second table version to include the change tracking stream)),
one or more processors configured as a change tracking manager (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
data storage containing instructions executable by the one or more processor to perform operations comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea),
a non-transitory computer-storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processor configured as a change tracking manager, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (these elements are directed to generic computer components and mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
These are a generic computer and/or generic computer components used to perform generic computer functions or insignificant extra-solution activity, which are directed to well-understood, routine, conventional activity, and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 22, claims 2, 12 and 22 depend on claims 1, 11 and 21 respectively. As such, claims 2, 12 and 22 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1, 11 and 21.
In addition, claims 2, 12 and 22 include additional elements:
storing, by the table data component, the table data in immutable micro-partitions configured as the plurality of partitions (this step of storing as broadly recited is directed to generic storing function of a generic computer).
These are additional elements directed to generic computer function or insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 23, claims 3, 13 and 23 depend on claims 1, 11 and 21 respectively. As such, claims 3, 13 and 23 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1, 11 and 21.
In addition, claims 3, 13 and 23 include additional elements:
generating, by a metadata component of the change tracking manager, a first metadata file including metadata information of the first table version (this step of generating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the elements “a metadata component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of generating)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 24, claims 4, 14 and 24 depend on claims 3, 13 and 23 respectively. As such, claims 4, 14 and 24 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 3, 13 and 23.
In addition, claims 4, 14 and 24 include additional elements:
generating, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, a second metadata file including metadata information of the second table version (this step of generating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the elements “a metadata component” or “the change tracking manager” recited at high level of generality are directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of generating)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 25, claims 5, 15 and 25 depend on claims 4, 14 and 24 respectively. As such, claims 5, 15 and 25 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 4, 14 and 24.
In addition, claims 5, 15 and 25 include additional elements:
configuring, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, the metadata information of the second table version to further include metadata of the at least one modification made to the first table version (this step of configuring as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the elements “a metadata component” or “the change tracking manage” recited at high level of generality are directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of configuring)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 6, 16 and 26, claims 6, 16 and 26 depend on claims 4, 14 and 24 respectively. As such, claims 6, 16 and 26 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 4, 14 and 24.
In addition, claims 6, 16 and 26 include additional elements:
detecting, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, the metadata information of the second table version is non-overlapping with the metadata information of the first table version (this step of detecting as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper through mental processes of observation and comparison, wherein the elements “a metadata component” or “the change tracking manage” recited at high level of generality are directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of configuring)),
deleting, by the metadata component, the first metadata file based on the detecting (the step of deleting as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, such as thinking and planning on what to do, and wherein the element “the metadata component recited at high level of generality is directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 7, 17 and 27, claims 7, 17 and 27 depend on claims 1, 11 and 21 respectively. As such, claims 7, 17 and 27 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 1, 11 and 21.
In addition, claims 7, 17 and 27 include additional elements:
detecting, by the change tracking component, the at least one modification includes a plurality of modifications performed on the table data in the first table version, the plurality of modifications corresponding to a plurality of executed transactions (this step of detecting as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the element “the change tracking component” recited at high level of generality is directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of detecting/determining)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 8, 18 and 28, claims 8, 18 and 28 depend on claims 7, 17 and 27 respectively. As such, claims 8, 18 and 28 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 7, 17 and 27.
In addition, claims 8, 18 and 28 include additional elements:
updating, by the change tracking component, the change tracking stream in the second table version to include a lineage of the plurality of executed transaction (the step of updating as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the element “the change tracking component” recited at high level of generality is directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of updating)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 9, 19 and 29, claims 9, 19 and 29 depend on claims 8, 18 and 28 respectively. As such, claims 9, 19 and 29 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 8, 18 and 28.
In addition, claims 9, 19 and 29 include additional elements:
configuring, by the change tracking component, the change tracking stream as a column in the second table version (the step of configuring as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper, wherein the element “the change tracking component” recited at high level of generality is directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of updating)).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding claims 10, 20 and 30, claims 10, 20 and 30 depend on claims 8, 18 and 28 respectively. As such, claims 10, 20 and 30 recite the abstract idea as presented in claims 8, 18 and 28.
In addition, claims 10, 20 and 30 include additional elements:
detecting, by a query component of the change tracking manager, a query on the lineage of the plurality of executed transactions for a pre-configured time period (the step of detecting as broadly recited can be mentally performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper (e.g., receiving a query and determining the query is about a particular thing), wherein the elements “a query component” or “the change tracking component” recited at high level of generality are directed to mere instructions for implementing or applying the abstract idea (e.g., the mental step of updating)),
outputting, by the query component, a delta in response to the query, the delta comprising a subset of the plurality of executed transactions executed during the pre-configured time period (the step of outputting as broadly recited is directed to mere data gathering or outputting at high level of generality, or insignificant extra-solution activity).
These are additional elements directed to a mental step (i.e., abstract idea) and mere instructions or insignificant extra-solution activity for implementing the abstract idea, which do not integrate the judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea) into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, 20-21, 23-25, 27-28 and 30 (effective filing date 12/07/2018) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vig et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,853,182, effectively filed date 12/21/2015), and further in view of Bhatnagar et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0278320, Publication date 10/01/2015).
As to claim 1, Vig et al. teaches:
“A method” (see Vig et al., Abstract) comprising:
“performing by at least one hardware processor configured as a change tracking manager in a database system functions comprising” (see Vig et al., Fig. 18 and [column 30, lines 29-35] for logging/tracking change records of a table T1, wherein a system for managing the table and logging change records of the table as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a change tracking manager as recited; also see Fig. 3 for Journal manager 322):
“storing, by a table data component of the change tracking manager, table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object storage service” (see Vig et al., [column 5, line 53 to column 6, line 2] for storing data of a table into partitions stored in four storage nodes (i.e., partitions) of the system (see Fig. 1) (i.e., an object-storage service), wherein any code/module for storing table data into partitions as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a table data component as recited);
“generating, by a transaction data component of the change tracking manager, a change tracking entry based on executing a transaction on the table data, the change tracking entry including information on at least one modification made to a first table version storing the table data” (see Vig et al., [column 4, lines 44-48] for generating change records with respect to committed transactions, wherein each change record as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking entry as recited; also see [column 4, lines 15-20] for change records of the particular table, wherein any code/module for logging/generating change records can be interpreted as equivalent to a transaction data component as recited);
“generating, by a change tracking component of the change tracking manager, a change tracking stream as a partition file associated with the at least one modification” (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-30] for a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table, wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or a partition file as recited; also see [column 12, lines 53-55] for generating a stream specification to access change records via a stream-oriented API, wherein the stream-oriented API for accessing change records can be interpreted as equivalent to a change tracking stream as recited; also see [column 13, line 65 to column 14, line 15] for generating a chain/stream of change records for each partition of a table).
In addition, Vig et al. teaches the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-30] teaches a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table, wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or lineage of executed transactions as recited
However, Vig et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for storing change records in a table as recited as follows:
“updating, by the change tracking component, a second table version to include the change tracking stream, the second table version including modified table data based on completing execution of the transaction on the table data in the first table version, the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data, the lineage including metadata columns indicating an action type and update status for the at least one modification made to the first table version”.
On the other hand, Bhatnagar et al. explicitly teaches a feature for storing change records in a table as recited as follows:
“updating, by the change tracking component, a second table version to include the change tracking stream, the second table version including modified table data based on completing execution of the transaction on the table data in the first table version, the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data, the lineage including metadata columns indicating an action type and update status for the at least one modification made to the first table version” (see Bhatnagar et al., [0009] for generating/updating a shadow audit data table (i.e., a second table version) that replicates all or portion of a main data table and is populated with corresponding data that indicate whether the data in the main table has been deleted, inserted, updated (i.e., indicating action type or update status as recited), a user identification for the user associated with the deletion, insertion or update of the data, and/or the date/time of the data modification, wherein the main table can be interpreted as the first table version as recited, and the shadow audit data table as disclosed can be interpreted as a second table version (i.e., a second table) as broadly recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bhatnagar et al.'s teaching to Vig et al.’s system by implementing a feature of storing change records stream in a table. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Vig et al.’s system with an effective alternative way to manage change records for a table. In addition, both of the references (Vig et al. and Bhatnagar et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, database system that include a feature for tracking change records of a table/database. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“generating, by a metadata component of the change tracking manager, a first metadata file including metadata information of the first table version” (see Vig et al., [column 10, lines 22-27] and [column 14, lines 19-21] for generating metadata for a given table (i.e., a table version), wherein any storage/structure for storing metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata file as recited, and wherein any module/component for generating/obtaining metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata component as recited; also see [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein journal for a given table can also be interpreted as a metadata file of the given table).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 3 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“generating, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, a second metadata file including metadata information of the second table version” (see Vig et al., [column 10, lines 22-27] and [column 14, lines 19-21] for generating metadata for a given table (i.e., a table version), wherein any storage/structure for storing metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata file as recited, and wherein any module/component for generating/obtaining metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata component as recited; also see [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein journal for a given table can also be interpreted as a metadata file of the given table).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 4 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“configuring, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, the metadata information of the second table version to further include metadata of the at least one modification made to the first table version” (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein a journal storing change records related to a given table can be interpreted as metadata information of the given table, and for each change/modification applied to table data, data of the given table is transformed from a first table version to a second table version, and the journal (metadata information) of the given table is updated with a change record (i.e., metadata) related to the change/modification).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“detecting, by the change tracking component, the at least one modification includes a plurality of modifications performed on the table data in first table version, the plurality of modifications corresponding to a plurality of executed transactions” (see Vig et al., [column 8, lines 57-64] wherein modifications resulting from a committed write-containing transaction directed at a table must be detected in order to generate a change record as disclosed; also see [column 15, lines 23-28] and [column 30, lines 41-45]).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 7 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“updating, by the change tracking component, the change tracking stream in the second table version to include a lineage of the plurality of executed transactions” (see Vig et al., [column 30, lines 41-60] for updating a journal (i.e., the change tracking stream) with change records, wherein a set of change records (see [column 4, lines 56-66] for a restore record set) representing writes to the table can be interpreted as a lineage of the plurality of executed transactions as recited).
As to claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 8 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“detecting, by a querying component of the change tracking manager, a query on the lineage of the plurality of executed transactions for a pre-configured time period” (see Vig et al., [column 16, lines 5-42] for allowing a journal consumer to identify/query for a respective set of changes which were committed to the table at minute-level granularity (e.g., one-minute period)); and
“outputting, by the querying component, a delta in response to the query, the delta comprising a subset of the plurality of executed transactions executed during the pre-configured time period” (see Vig et al., [column 16, lines 5-42] for allowing a journal consumer to identify/query for a respective set of changes which were committed to the table at minute-level granularity (e.g., one-minute period); also see [column 4, lines 48-66] for identifying/outputting a restore record set (i.e., a subset of changes/transactions)).
As to claim 11, Vig et al. teaches:
“A system” (see Vig et al., Abstract and Fig. 18), comprising:
“one or more processors configured as a change tracking manager” (see Vig et al., Fig. 18 and [column 30, lines 29-35] for logging/tracking change records of a table T1, wherein a system including processor(s) for managing the table and logging change records of the table as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a change tracking manager as recited; also see Fig. 3 for Journal manager 322); and
“data storage containing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations comprising” (see Vig et al., Fig. 18 for system memory storing code):
“storing, by a table data component of the change tracking manager, table data for a database in a plurality of partitions residing in an object-storage service” (see Vig et al., [column 5, line 53 to column 6, line 2] for storing data of a table into partitions stored in four storage nodes (i.e., partitions) of the system (i.e., storage service), wherein any code/module for storing table data into partitions as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a table data component as recited);
“generating, by a transaction data component of the change tracking manager, a change tracking entry based on executing a transaction on the table data, the change tracking entry including information on at least one modification made to a first table version storing the table data” (see Vig et al., [column 4, lines 44-48] for generating change records with respect to committed transactions, wherein each change record as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking entry as recited; also see [column 4, lines 15-20] for change records of the particular table, wherein any code/module for logging/generating change records can be interpreted as equivalent to a transaction data component as recited);
“generating, by a change tracking component of the change tracking manager, a change tracking stream as a partition file associated with the at least one modification” (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-30] for a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table, wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or a partition file as recited; also see [column 12, lines 53-55] for generating a stream specification to access change records via a stream-oriented API, wherein the stream-oriented API for accessing change records can be interpreted as equivalent to a change tracking stream as recited; also see [column 13, line 65 to column 14, line 15] for generating a chain/stream of change records for each partition of a table).
In addition, Vig et al. teaches the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-30] teaches a journal storing a set of changes/writes/transactions performed on a table, wherein the journal including a set/stream of changes as disclosed can be interpreted as a change tracking stream or lineage of executed transactions as recited
However, Vig et al. does not explicitly teach a feature for storing change records in a table as recited as follows:
“updating, by the change tracking component, a second table version to include the change tracking stream, the second table version including modified table data based on completing execution of the transaction on the table data in the first table version, the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data, the lineage including metadata columns indicating an action type and update status for the at least one modification made to the first table version”.
On the other hand, Bhatnagar et al. explicitly teaches a feature for storing change records in a table as recited as follows:
“updating, by the change tracking component, a second table version to include the change tracking stream, the second table version including modified table data based on completing execution of the transaction on the table data in the first table version, the change tracking stream including lineage of executed transactions on the table data, the lineage including metadata columns indicating an action type and update status for the at least one modification made to the first table version” (see Bhatnagar et al., [0009] for generating/updating a shadow audit data table (i.e., a second table version) that replicates all or portion of a main data table and is populated with corresponding data that indicate whether the data in the main table has been deleted, inserted, updated (i.e., indicating action type or update status as recited), a user identification for the user associated with the deletion, insertion or update of the data, and/or the date/time of the data modification, wherein the main table can be interpreted as the first table version as recited, and the shadow audit data table as disclosed can be interpreted as a second table version (i.e., a second table) as broadly recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bhatnagar et al.'s teaching to Vig et al.’s system by implementing a feature of storing change records stream in a table. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide Vig et al.’s system with an effective alternative way to manage change records for a table. In addition, both of the references (Vig et al. and Bhatnagar et al.) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, database system that include a feature for tracking change records of a table/database. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 11 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“generating, by a metadata component of the change tracking manager, a first metadata file including metadata information of the first table version” (see Vig et al., [column 10, lines 22-27] and [column 14, lines 19-21] for generating metadata for a given table (i.e., a table version), wherein any storage/structure for storing metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata file as recited, and wherein any module/component for generating/obtaining metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata component as recited; also see [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein journal for a given table can also be interpreted as a metadata file of the given table).
As to claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 13 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“generating, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, a second metadata file including metadata information of the second table version” (see Vig et al., [column 10, lines 22-27] and [column 14, lines 19-21] for generating metadata for a given table (i.e., a table version), wherein any storage/structure for storing metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata file as recited, and wherein any module/component for generating/obtaining metadata as disclosed can be interpreted as equivalent to a metadata component as recited; also see [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein journal for a given table can also be interpreted as a metadata file of the given table).
As to claim 15, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 14 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“configuring, by the metadata component of the change tracking manager, the metadata information of the second table version to further include metadata of the at least one modification made to the first table version” (see Vig et al., [column 6, lines 20-28] wherein a journal storing change records related to a given table can be interpreted as metadata information of the given table, and for each change/modification applied to table data, data of the given table is transformed from a first table version to a second table version, and the journal (metadata information) of the given table is updated with a change record (i.e., metadata) related to the change/modification).
As to claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 11 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Vig et al. as modified by Bhatnagar et al. teaches:
“detecting, by the change tracking component, the at least one modification includes a plurality of modifications performed on the table data in first table version, the plurality of modifications corresponding to a plurality of executed transactions” (see Vig et al., [column 8, lines 57-64] wherein modifications resulting from a committed write-containing transaction directed at a table must