This is in response to communications filed on 12/23/25.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haebler et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0063126), and further in view of Wyatt (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0125125).
For claim 1, Haebler et al teach the following limitations: A device (105 in Fig 1 including 110 and 115), comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig 2; [0029]); and a power transmission logic (115 in Fig 1), configured to: receive a license authorization signal ([0049] – master power controller 125 determines whether to authorize the device; [0027] mentions that 125 and 115 communicates via wired connection 101; thus the signal is received from 125; [0056] master power controller 125 manages power controller 115 and 115 is assigned to threshold power; thus 115 receives signal authorizing license to use a particular power) indicative of one or more power utilization licenses generated by a licensing server (120 is the licensing server; [0049][0056][0057] – 125 assigns a particular power authorization license to 115); transmit power to one or more user devices associated with the one or more power utilization licenses (115 transmit power to 110; [0057]- 115 provide device 110; device 110 is associated with 115 – Fig 1[0025]); monitor a power consumption of the one or more user devices (step 505 of Fig 5; [0060][0061] – determines the amount of power the device consumes) in response to receiving the license authorization signal (Fig 5 is in response to step 410 of Fig 4); and generate a signed utilization signal indicative of the power consumption of the one or more user devices (step 515 and step 520 of Fig 5; [0063]-[0066] – bill for consumption by electronic communications, display device’s power consumption; “billing period” mentioned in [0063] and [0065]; thus the utilization signal is signed with a time period; also signed with category and manufacture as mentioned in [0065]), inform the licensing server if the one or more user devices consume power in excess of a power consumption threshold (step 525 and step 530 of Fig 5; [0067]-[0069] – determines whether power consumption threshold exceeded; [0059] mention that Fig 5 is performed by master power controller 125 and other devices – thus, the licensing server 125 is informed) and receive a cut off signal indicative of terminating the power transmission to the user devices (step 535 of Fig 5; step 425 of Fig 4; [0071] – receive shut off instruction by power access controller from master power controller 125), wherein the cut off signal is provided to the device by the licensing server ([0071] [0051]) if the power utilization licenses are expired, suspended, or terminated (authorization is based on location and power is shut off when user left home; thus power utilization is suspended or terminated if location is changed [0051][0071]).
For the limitations “signed utilization signal”, Haebler et al mention that the utilization is accompanied (i.e., signed) with other information – category, time period and manufacture ([0065]), but do not explicitly mention “signed”. For further clarification, Examiner mentioned Wyatt that teaches signed utilization signal ([0093][0083]-[0086] – ECC data packets include power data and is signed by key/certificate). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a signed utilization signal in the system of Haebler et al by the signature service as taught in Wyatt ([0083]), since this increases security in the system. Haebler teaches displaying the information on the user display ([0065], emailing bill to the user ([0064]). This information can further be protected with the signature technology.
For claim 2, Haebler teaches wherein the one or more user devices are connected to one or more ports of the device (Fig 1; 103 connects 115 and 110, [0025]).
For claim 14, Haebler et al teach the following limitations: A device (120 in Fig 1), comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig 2; [0029]); and a power management logic (115 in Fig 1), configured to:
generate one or more power utilization licenses ([0049] – master power controller 125 determines whether to authorize the device; [0027] mentions that 125 and 115 communicates via wired connection 101; thus the signal is received from 125; [0056] master power controller 125 manages power controller 115 and 115 is assigned to threshold power; thus 115 receives signal authorizing license to use a particular power) using a licensing server (120 is the licensing server; [0049][0056][0057] – 125 assigns a particular power authorization license to 115) corresponding to a power consumption threshold ([0046][0047][0052][0053] mention various power thresholds for authorization to access power); transmit a license authorization signal indicative of the one or more power utilization licenses ([0056] master power controller 125 manages power controller 115 and 115 is assigned to threshold power; thus 115 receives signal authorizing license to use a particular power; [0057]-[0058]); receive a signed utilization signal (step 515 and step 520 of Fig 5; [0063]-[0066] – bill for consumption by electronic communications, display device’s power consumption; “billing period” mentioned in [0063] and [0065]; thus the utilization signal is signed with a time period; also signed with category and manufacture as mentioned in [0065]); and generate a synchronization response signal based on the signed utilization signal (Fig 5 shows either step 535 is reached or loop back to 505; [0071] mention that location can be tracked [0070] mention that peak power is exceeded or power consumption exceeded expected consumption; the response can be denying step 535 or continuing in step 505); inform the licensing server if the one or more user devices consume power in excess of a power consumption threshold (step 525 and step 530 of Fig 5; [0067]-[0069] – determines whether power consumption threshold exceeded; [0059] mention that Fig 5 is performed by master power controller 125 and other devices – thus, the licensing server 125 is informed); and receive a cut off signal indicative of terminating the power transmission to the user devices (step 535 of Fig 5; step 425 of Fig 4; [0071] – receive shut off instruction by power access controller from master power controller 125; user ma send the signal to master controller), wherein the cut off signal is provided to the device by the licensing server if the power utilization licenses are expired, suspended, or terminated (authorization is based on location and power is shut off when user left home; thus power utilization is suspended or terminated if location is changed [0051][0071]).
For the limitations “signed utilization signal”, Haebler et al mention that the utilization is accompanied (i.e., signed) with other information – category, time period and manufacture ([0065]), but do not explicitly mention “signed”. For further clarification, Examiner mentioned Wyatt that teaches signed utilization signal ([0093][0083]-[0086] – ECC data packets include power data and is signed by key/certificate). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a signed utilization signal in the system of Haebler et al by the signature service as taught in Wyatt ([0083]), since this increases security in the system. Haebler teaches displaying the information on the user display ([0065], emailing bill to the user ([0064]). This information can further be protected with the signature technology.
For claim 15, Haebler teaches wherein the license gap is indicative of the power consumption of the one or more user devices in excess of the power consumption threshold ([0070] – peak power consumption is 100W and the tolerance is 5%; the 5% is the license gap).
For claim 16, Haebler teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to generate one or more temporary power utilization licenses (Fig 4 and Fig 5 – the access grant/deny (i.e., license) is changeable (i.e., temporary)) corresponding to a temporary power consumption threshold greater than the power consumption in excess of the power consumption threshold based on the license gap ([0070] – 5% tolerance is the license gap and peak power is the threshold; therefore, the temporary threshold is 105%; license or access grant corresponds to temporary threshold 105%).
For claim 17, Haebler teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to generate the synchronization response signal indicative of the one or more temporary power utilization licenses ([0070] – access grant (i.e., license) is temporary and Fig 5 shown deny access/continued access; the deny signal shown in step 535 of Fig 5 indicates the exceed of the license grant).
For claim 18, Haebler et al teach the following limitations: A method, comprising:
receiving a license authorization signal indicative of one or more power utilization licenses ([0049] – master power controller 125 determines whether to authorize the device; [0027] mentions that 125 and 115 communicates via wired connection 101; thus the signal is received from 125; [0056] master power controller 125 manages power controller 115 and 115 is assigned to threshold power; thus 115 receives signal authorizing license to use a particular power), wherein the one or more power utilization licenses are generated using a licensing server (120 is the licensing server; [0049][0056][0057] – 125 assigns a particular power authorization license to 105); transmitting power to one or more user devices associated with the one or more power utilization licenses (115 transmit power to 110; [0057]- 115 provide device 110; device 110 is associated with 115 – Fig 1[0025]); monitoring a power consumption of the one or more user devices (step 505 of Fig 5; [0060][0061] – determines the amount of power the device consumes); transmitting a signed utilization signal indicative of the power consumption of the one or more user devices (step 515 and step 520 of Fig 5; [0063]-[0066] – bill for consumption by electronic communications, display device’s power consumption; “billing period” mentioned in [0063] and [0065]; thus the utilization signal is signed with a time period; also signed with category and manufacture as mentioned in [0065]); receiving a synchronization response signal (Fig 5 shows either step 535 is reached or loop back to 505; [0071] mention that location can be tracked [0070] mention that peak power is exceeded or power consumption exceeded expected consumption; the response can be denying step 535 or continuing in step 505); and transmitting power to the one or more user devices based on the synchronization response signal (step 535 of Fig 5 denying access based on response or looping 505 (i.e., continue providing power) based on response); inform the licensing server if the one or more user devices consume power in excess of a power consumption threshold (step 525 and step 530 of Fig 5; [0067]-[0069] – determines whether power consumption threshold exceeded; [0059] mention that Fig 5 is performed by master power controller 125 and other devices – thus, the licensing server 125 is informed; [0070]); and receive a cut off signal indicative of terminating the power transmission to the user devices (step 535 of Fig 5; step 425 of Fig 4; [0071] – receive shut off instruction by power access controller from master power controller 125; user may send the signal to master controller), wherein the cut off signal is provided to the device by the licensing server (authorization is based on location/threshold and power is shut off when user left home or power threshold is crossed; thus power utilization is suspended or terminated if location is changed [0051][0070][0071]).
For the limitations “signed utilization signal”, Haebler et al mention that the utilization is accompanied (i.e., signed) with other information – category, time period and manufacture ([0065]), but do not explicitly mention “signed”. For further clarification, Examiner mentioned Wyatt that teaches signed utilization signal ([0093][0083]-[0086] – ECC data packets include power data and is signed by key/certificate).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a signed utilization signal in the system of Haebler et al by the signature service as taught in Wyatt ([0083]), since signature technology increases security and provides additional information to the system. Haebler teaches displaying the information on the user display ([0065], emailing bill to the user ([0064]). This information can further be protected with the signature technology.
For claim 19, Haebler teaches receiving a cut off signal; and terminating power transmission to the one or more user devices based on the cut off signal (step 535 of Fig 5; step 425 of Fig 4; [0070][0071] – receive shut off instruction by power access controller from master power controller 125; user ma send the signal to master controller).
Claim(s) 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haebler et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0063126), and further in view of Wyatt (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0125125), in view of Vanich et al (US Patent Application Publication 20190327099)
For claim 3, Haebler in view of Wyatt does not explicitly teach PoE. Haebler teaches wired connection carrying power and data ([0025]; Haebler) and the wired connection can be Ethernet ([0057]; Haebler). Therefore, is likely that Haebler used the power over Ethernet technology to power the device. PoE is a known technology in the art (Fig 1; [0003]-[0007]; vanich). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use PoE for providing power in the system, since PoE is popular and better choice for providing a ready power in the system without using complicated wiring.
For claim 4, Haebler et al teach wherein each power utilization license of the one or more power utilization licenses is indicative of a power consumption threshold ([0056] -assigned threshold).
For claim 5, Haebler teaches the power consumption threshold corresponds to a peak power allowable for consumption by the one or more user devices ([0046] – device profile includes peak power; [0052] – threshold for peak power consumption). Haebler in view of Wyatt does not explicitly teach PoE. Haebler teaches wired connection carrying power and data ([0025]; Haebler) and the wired connection can be Ethernet ([0057]; Haebler). PoE is known in the art (Fig 1; [0003]-[0007]; vanich). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use PoE for providing power in the system, since PoE is popular and better choice for providing a ready power in the system.
For claim 6, Haebler teaches wherein the power consumption threshold corresponds to a maximum power allowable for consumption in a predetermined time period by the one or more user devices ([0052] [0061] – updates are periodically submitted).
For claim 7, Haebler teaches wherein the power transmission logic is further configured to periodically transmit the signed utilization signal to a licensing server (step 515 and step 520 of Fig 5; [0063-][0065]; [0059] Fig 5 is performed by 125 and other devices; 125 receives the signal periodically as shown in Fig 5).
For claim 8, Haebler et al teach wherein the power transmission logic is further configured to receive a synchronization response signal in response to the signed utilization signal (Fig 5 shows either step 535 is reached or loop back to 505; [0071] mention that location can be tracked [0070] mention that peak power is exceeded or power consumption exceeded expected consumption; the response can be denying step 535 or continuing in step 505; thus a synchronization signal is received in response to utilization signal).
For claim 9, cited art teaches wherein the signed utilization signal is indicative of one or more of: a cryptographic proof of freshness corresponding to the power consumption of the one or more user devices (Wyatt ([0093][0083]-[0086] – ECC data packets include power data and is signed by cryptographic key/certificate); one or more existing power utilization licenses corresponding to the device (Haebler; power profile in step 405 in Fig 4; [0046]-[0053] license authorization scenario; Fig 5 generates bill corresponding to profile).
For claim 10, Haebler teaches wherein the license gap is indicative of the power consumption of the one or more user devices in excess of the power consumption threshold ([0070] – peak power consumption is 100W and the tolerance is 5%; the 5% is the license gap).
For claim 11, Haebler teaches wherein the synchronization response signal indicative of the one or more temporary power utilization licenses corresponding to the license gap (Fig 5 and [0070] – access grant (i.e., license) is temporary and Fig 5 shown deny access/continued access; the access grant corresponds to license gap of 5% [0070]; the deny signal shown in step 535 of Fig 5 indicates the exceed of the license grant).
For claim 12, Haebler teaches wherein each temporary power utilization license (Fig 4 and Fig 5 – the access grant/deny (i.e., license) is changeable (i.e., temporary)) is indicative of a temporary power consumption threshold greater than the power consumption of the one or more user devices in excess of the power consumption threshold ([0070] – 5% tolerance is the license gap and peak power is the threshold; therefore, the temporary threshold is 105%; license or access grant corresponds to temporary threshold 105%).
For claim 13, Haebler teaches wherein the power transmission logic is further configured to transmit power to the one or more user devices based on the one or more temporary power utilization licenses (Fig 4 and Fig 5 – the access grant/deny (i.e., license) is changeable (i.e., temporary)).
Claim 20 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haebler et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0063126), in view of Wyatt (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0125125) further in view of Kowalczyk et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0241583).
For claim 20, Haebler et al teach receiving historic power consumption data from one or more
Cited art does not explicitly mention that the user devices are air gapped. Using air gapped device is a known technology ([0004]-[0005] Kowalczyk). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use air gapped device to enhance the security of the system. Air gapped device provides added security in the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAHMIDA RAHMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-8159. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 10 AM - 7 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Jung can be reached at 571-270-3779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAHMIDA RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175