DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to papers filed 31 March 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 lines 20-24 recites two conditional statements, “when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition or current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition and current time has reached the first start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement.” It is unclear how the conditional statements which are in opposition to each other can be true at the same time. For the purpose of examination of the claims on their merits, the features will be interpreted with “, or” inserted between “measurement” and “when” in line 20 of said claim. A similar lack of clarity exists in lines 20-24 for each of claims 4-6 and 13-16 which will be interpreted with “, or” inserted between “measurement” and “when” in line 22 of said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogedes et al. (US 2024/0063894 A1) in view of ZTE et al. “Discussion on cell selection and reselection in NTN”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113, Electronic, 25th January – 5th February 2021, R2-2101196, hereafter D1.
Regarding claim 1, Vogedes discloses a method for starting neighbor cell measurement, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, target configuration information, wherein the target configuration information comprises time information used to indicate the terminal to start neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] disclosing the UE must be able to measure neighbor cells and is configured with Measurement gap configurations including measurement gap timing advance (mgta) in which the UE starts the measurement mgta milliseconds (ms) before the before the gap subframe occurrence occurring immediately before the measurement gap; [0105] disclosing the UE receives said configurations via RRC measurement configuration messages); and
starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information (Fig. 8 [0082] disclosing the UE starts the measurement mgta milliseconds (ms) before the before the gap subframe occurrence occurring immediately before the measurement gap).
Vogedes does not disclose the following; however, D1 discloses wherein the target configuration information comprises time information used to indicate a time point at which a link switchover stopping a service of a serving cell occurs (Section 1 first bullet, when a cell is going to stop serving the area; Sections 2.1 and 2.1.1, disclosing usage of cell expire time in cell re-selection to trigger cell measurements before the handover triggers of Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fulfilled), wherein the link switchover comprises: a service link switchover (Section 1 first bullet, when a cell is going to stop serving the area) or a feeder link switchover (pg. 3, discussion below Figure 2 disclosing use of said time for feeder links in fixed cell scenario), wherein the terminal is in a non-connected state (pg. 2 Proposal 1, disclosing used by idle mode UE);
and starting the neighbor cell measurement before the link switchover (Section 2.1.1, disclosing usage of cell expire time in cell re-selection to trigger cell measurements before the handover triggers of Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fulfilled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fioiung date of the invention to modify the techniques of Vogedes as suggested by D1 because this can help the UE to select a cell with a longer valid time (pg. 2, first bullet and discussion through Proposal 1).
Regarding claim 2, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target configuration information further comprises at least one of the following:
first time, wherein the first time is used to indicate service stop time of a serving cell (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] Measurement gap length (mgl). Measurement Gap is a term of the art which is when transmissions in a cell are stopped in order for the UE to perform neighbor cell measurements);
a first offset, wherein the first time and the first offset are used to indicate first start time for performing neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0082] Measurement gap timing advance is an offset for starting the measurement);
second time, wherein the second time is used to indicate second start time for performing neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats);
a second offset, wherein the first time and the second offset are used to indicate third start time for performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency or inter-RAT, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0064]; [0406]-[0407] the contrapositive of which must be true);
a third offset, wherein the first time and the third offset are used to indicate fourth start time for performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency neighbors, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0389] normal intra-frequency measurements);
a fourth offset, wherein the first time and the fourth offset are used to indicate fifth start time for performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency or inter-RAT, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0401]-[0405] the contrapositive of which must be true);
third time, wherein the third time is used to indicate sixth start time for performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the third start time);
fourth time, wherein the fourth time is used to indicate seventh start time for performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the fourth start time));
fifth time, wherein the fifth time is used to indicate eighth start time for performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the fifth start time));
a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is used to indicate a signal strength threshold that a serving cell needs to satisfy for starting intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0170] SIntraSearchP);
a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is used to indicate a signal quality threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0170] SIntraSearchQ);
a third threshold, wherein the third threshold is used to indicate a signal strength threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”); or
a fourth threshold, wherein the fourth threshold is used to indicate a signal quality threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 3, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
for higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement throughout (Table 5, SnonIntraSearchP and SninIntraSearchQ this feature is inherent in the field of endeavor of Vogedes which is performed when the srxlev ≤ SnonIntraSearchP and Squal ≤ SninIntraSearchQ); or
when current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when current time has reached the first start time, performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082]; [0064]);
for intra-frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition and current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition or current time has reached the first start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell 9measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition or current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition and current time has reached the first start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the first threshold and signal quality is higher than the second threshold ([0170]; Table ,3 Srxlev and Squal); or
for equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition and current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition or current time has reached the first start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition or current time has not reached the first start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition and current time has reached the first start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]), wherein
the second preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the third threshold and signal quality is higher than the fourth threshold ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency” ; [0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 4, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information further comprises at least one of the following:
for higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement throughout (Table 5, SnonIntraSearchP and SninIntraSearchQ this feature is inherent in the field of endeavor of Vogedes which is performed when the srxlev ≤ SnonIntraSearchP and Squal ≤ SninIntraSearchQ); or
when current time has not reached the second start time, skipping performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when current time has reached the second start time, performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082]; [0064]);
for intra-frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition and current time has not reached the second start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition or current time has reached the second start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition or current time has not reached the second start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement [, or] when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition and current time has reached the second start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the first threshold and signal quality is higher than the second threshold ([0170]; Table ,3 Srxlev and Squal); or
for equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition and current time has not reached the second start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition or current time has reached the second start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition or current time has not reached the second start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition and current time has reached the second start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]), wherein
the second preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the third threshold and signal quality is higher than the fourth threshold ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency” ; [0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 5, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
for higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement throughout (Table 5, SnonIntraSearchP and SninIntraSearchQ this feature is inherent in the field of endeavor of Vogedes which is performed when the srxlev ≤ SnonIntraSearchP and Squal ≤ SninIntraSearchQ); or
when current time has not reached the third start time, skipping performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when current time has reached the third start time, performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082]; [0064]);
for intra-frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition and current time has not reached the fourth start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition or current time has reached the fourth start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition or current time has not reached the fourth start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement [, or] when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition and current time has reached the fourth start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the first threshold and signal quality is higher than the second threshold ([0170]; Table ,3 Srxlev and Squal); or
for equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition and current time has not reached the fifth start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition or current time has reached the fifth start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition or current time has not reached the fifth start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition and current time has reached the fifth start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement , (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]) wherein
the second preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the third threshold and signal quality is higher than the fourth threshold ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency” ; [0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 6, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
for higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement throughout (Table 5, SnonIntraSearchP and SninIntraSearchQ this feature is inherent in the field of endeavor of Vogedes which is performed when the srxlev ≤ SnonIntraSearchP and Squal ≤ SninIntraSearchQ); or
when current time has not reached the sixth start time, skipping performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when current time has reached the sixth start time, performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082]; [0064]);
for intra-frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition and current time has not reached the seventh start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition or current time has reached the seventh start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a first preset condition or current time has not reached the seventh start time, skipping performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a first preset condition and current time has reached the seventh start time, performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0063]; Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0170]), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the first threshold and signal quality is higher than the second threshold ([0170]; Table ,3 Srxlev and Squal); or
for equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency, the starting neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information comprises:
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition and current time has not reached the eighth start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition or current time has reached the eighth start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter*RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]); or
when a signal status of the serving cell satisfies a second preset condition or current time has not reached the eighth start time, skipping performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement, or when a signal status of the serving cell does not satisfy a second preset condition and current time has reached the eighth start time, performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082], [0195], [0197]), wherein
the second preset condition comprises that signal strength is greater than the third threshold and signal quality is higher than the fourth threshold ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency” ; [0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 7, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by a terminal, target configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining the target configuration information by using a system broadcast message;
obtaining the target configuration information by using dedicated signaling (It is inherent in the field of endeavor to receive this via dedicated RRC signalling); or
obtaining the target configuration information by using a historically received message.
Regarding claim 8, Vogedes discloses a method for starting neighbor cell measurement, comprising:
sending, by a network side device to a terminal, target configuration information, wherein the target configuration information is used to indicate the terminal to start neighbor cell measurement based on the target configuration information, and the target configuration information comprises time information used to indicate the terminal to start neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] disclosing the UE must be able to measure neighbor cells and is configured with Measurement gap configurations including measurement gap timing advance (mgta) in which the UE starts the measurement mgta milliseconds (ms) before the before the gap subframe occurrence occurring immediately before the measurement gap; [0105] disclosing the UE receives said configurations via RRC measurement configuration messages).
Vogedes does not disclose the following; however, D1 discloses
to indicate the terminal to start the neighbor cell measurement before the link switchover (Section 2.1.1, disclosing usage of cell expire time in cell re-selection to trigger cell measurements before the handover triggers of Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fulfilled) and,
the target configuration information comprises time information used to indicate a time point at which a link switchover stopping a service of a serving cell occurs (Section 1 first bullet, when a cell is going to stop serving the area; Sections 2.1 and 2.1.1, disclosing usage of cell expire time in cell re-selection to trigger cell measurements before the handover triggers of Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fulfilled), wherein the link switchover comprises: a service link switchover (Section 1 first bullet, when a cell is going to stop serving the area) or a feeder link switchover (pg. 3, discussion below Figure 2 disclosing use of said time for feeder links in fixed cell scenario), wherein the terminal is in a non-connected state (pg. 2 Proposal 1, disclosing used by idle mode UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fioiung date of the invention to modify the techniques of Vogedes as suggested by D1 because this can help the UE to select a cell with a longer valid time (pg. 2, first bullet and discussion through Proposal 1).
Regarding claim 9, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the target configuration information further comprises at least one of the following:
first time, wherein the first time is used to indicate service stop time of a serving cell (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] Measurement gap length (mgl). Measurement Gap is a term of the art which is when transmissions in a cell are stopped in order for the UE to perform neighbor cell measurements);
a first offset, wherein the first time and the first offset are used to indicate first start time for performing neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0082] Measurement gap timing advance is an offset for starting the measurement);
second time, wherein the second time is used to indicate second start time for performing neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats);
a second offset, wherein the first time and the second offset are used to indicate third start time for performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency or inter-RAT, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0064]; [0406]-[0407] the contrapositive of which must be true);
a third offset, wherein the first time and the third offset are used to indicate fourth start time for performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency neighbors, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0389] normal intra-frequency measurements);
a fourth offset, wherein the first time and the fourth offset are used to indicate fifth start time for performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0078]-[0082] mgl and mgta. It is inherent in the field of endeavor that measurement gaps can be configured individually for measurement of inter-frequency or inter-RAT, or one gap can be configured for all types of measurement; [0401]-[0405] the contrapositive of which must be true);
third time, wherein the third time is used to indicate sixth start time for performing higher priority inter-frequency or inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the third start time);
fourth time, wherein the fourth time is used to indicate seventh start time for performing intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the fourth start time));
fifth time, wherein the fifth time is used to indicate eighth start time for performing equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement (Fig. 8, [0081] disclosing Measurement Gap Repetition Period (mrgp) is the period after which the measurement gap repeats (i.e., after the fifth start time));
a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is used to indicate a signal strength threshold that a serving cell needs to satisfy for starting intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0170] SIntraSearchP);
a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is used to indicate a signal quality threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting intra-frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0170] SIntraSearchQ);
a third threshold, wherein the third threshold is used to indicate a signal strength threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0197] ThreshServing, LowP; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Srxlev threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”); or
a fourth threshold, wherein the fourth threshold is used to indicate a signal quality threshold that the serving cell needs to satisfy for starting equal or lower priority inter-frequency or lower priority inter-RAT frequency neighbor cell measurement ([0195] TreshServing,LowQ; end of Table 5 disclosing “This specifies the Squal threshold (in dB) used by the UE on the serving cell when reselecting towards a lower priority RAT/frequency”).
See also [0002] disclosing related technical specifications that define the techniques for neighbor measurement and cell selection/reselection; and pg. 26 Section 5.6, including 3GPP TS 38.133 as relevant to the disclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Vogedes discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the sending, by a network side device to a terminal, target configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
sending the target configuration information to the terminal by using a system broadcast message;
sending the target configuration information to the terminal by using dedicated signaling (It is inherent in the field of endeavor to receive this via dedicated RRC signalling); or
sending the target configuration information to the terminal by using a historically received message.
Regarding claims 11-17, the claims are directed towards a terminal, comprising a processor; and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claims 1-7. Vogedes discloses such implementations (Fig. 18f, 118, [0341], [0357]); accordingly, claims 11-17 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-7.
Regarding claims 18-20, the claims are directed towards a network side device, comprising a processor; and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claims 8-10. Vogedes discloses such implementations (Fig. 18G, [0351], [0357]); accordingly, claims 18-20 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 8-10.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments have effectively overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) for claims 2-3, 9, 12 and 19the lack of clarity in clams ; accordingly, said rejection has been withdrawn. Claims 3-6 and 13-16 require amendment similar to the amendment to claim 3 as set forth in the previous office action and discussed in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TS 38.133 V17.2.0 (2021-06); 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Requirements for support of radio resource management (Release 17), Section 9.1.2.
3GPP TS 38.304 V16.5.0 (2021-06); 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; User Equipment (UE) procedures in Idle mode and RRC Inactive state (Release 16).
3GPP TS 38.331 V16.5.0 (2021-06); 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16), pp 129-131, 448-453.
Ericsson, “Idle mode aspects for NTN”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113 electronic, Online, 25th January – 5th February, 2021, R2-2100347 discloses providing the time remaining before a cell stops serving an area to an idle mode UE.
Sony, “Idle mode enhancement for NTN”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113 electronic, Online, Jan 25 – Feb 5, 2021, R2-2100913 discloses providing the time remaining before a cell stops serving an area to an idle mode UE to allow the UE to decide when to perform cell reselection (i.e., measurements) before the cell actually disappears.
Nokia et al., “Report from [113-e][105][NTN] Idle mode aspects (Nokia)”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113, Elbonia, Online, 25 January – 5 February 2021, R2-2102015 includes disclosure of the amended features as discussed in D1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461