DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s 1-9 and 22-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,944,124 to Armstrong in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2013/0097950 to Hunsaker et al.
Regarding claim 1, Armstrong discloses a first panel (fig. 2: right side where 14 points) capable of attaching to a slab, a side of the first panel is nonlinear (see where 24 points), and a second panel (left side, fig. 2) also capable of attaching to a slab and having nonlinear side (right side approximate to where 16 points), the panels are keyed for engagement with each other (as seen in fig.3 where wavy edges of both panels 10a and 10 abut). Regarding the limitation of flat first and second surfaces being coplanar, this is not disclosed by Armstrong. Hunsaker discloses masonry panels which have flat surfaces (fig. 1: 5) and non linear sides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong by using such a design as an obvious design choice where the masonry look is to be brick instead of stone.
Regarding claim 2, the nonlinear panel sides may slidably engage in a flush non slip manner (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the nonlinear sides are reciprocal wave patterns (fig. see wave pattern approximate to where 24 points).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 36, 37 and 40-42Armstrong discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of the waves, thicknesses or densities. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a mere design choice for panels that may need to be larger or smaller, they would require larger or smaller various dimensions and sizes.
Regarding claim 5, Armstrong discloses two panels, not a third with two nonlinear sides. Hunsaker discloses a plurality of panels (fig. 4: 17, 18, 20) having nonlinear sides and joined together. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong by adding extra panels in order to make a larger panel to support a larger load. Also, it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 6, a porcelain material may be attached to the panel.
Regarding claim 8, the mass of the panels may be less than a mass of a slab, and the rigidity of the panels may be higher than that of a slab.
Regarding claim 9, the use of aluminum is not disclosed. However, the use of metal is disclosed (column 1, lines 19-25). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong by using aluminum as aluminum is a metal and resists corrosion from weathering.
Regarding claim 35, rigid foam is disclosed (column 1, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Hunsaker discloses bricks (16) which are brittle and an underlayment (14, 13) which is less brittle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong to use such material as this is a realistic form of masonry and would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 39, an engineering stone material is used (engineered to simulate stone).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,944,124 to Armstrong in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2013/0097950 to Hunsaker et al. further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,876,810 to Bodine et al.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Armstrong does not disclose the use of a peel ply tape layer. Bodine discloses the use of a two sided peel ply tape layer (claim 6) for use on panels for adherence to surface elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Armstrong by adding such a tape in order to better secure additional structure to the panels.
Regarding claim 12, the adhesive may bond to a ceramic material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered but they are moot under new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment of 7/9/26 and result in the new action above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633