DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
10/23/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 10/23/2025. Claims
1-8 and 10-20 are pending. Applicant’s amendment for 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been accepted and hereby rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-8,11,13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nachimuthu et al. (US 20140297919 A1) in view of Busaba et al. (US 9507628 B1) hereinafter Nachimuthu and Busaba.
Regarding claim 1, Nachimuthu teaches A device comprising: A cache media; a storage media; a communication interface; and at least one control circuit configured to: (“FIG. 1 shows a memory hierarchy including a set of internal processor caches 120, "near memory" acting as a far memory cache 121, which may include both internal cache(s) 106 and external caches 107-109, and "far memory" 122”) (paragraph [0049] line 2-3)
(“far memory 122 may be placed on a memory bus and may communicate directly with a memory controller that, in turn, communicates directly with the processor 100”) (paragraph [0070] line 3-4) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates processor 100 comprises cashes 120, near memory 121, far memory 122 with a memory bus to communicate with controller)
receive, using the communication interface, a first memory access request to access a portion of the storage media; receive, using the communication interface, a second memory access request to access the portion of the storage media; access, based on the first memory access request, the portion of the storage media; (“In response to a memory access request, the MSC controller 124 may determine (depending on the mode of operation specified in the range registers 336) whether the request can be serviced from the NM acting as cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332, which may then service the request from the far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142”) (paragraph [0102] line 4-7)
(“In the illustrated embodiment, the MSC controller 124 includes a set of range registers 336 which specify the mode of operation in use for the NM acting as a far memory cache 150B (e.g., write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode, etc, described above). In the illustrated embodiment, DRAM 144 is used as the memory technology for the NM acting as cache for far memory 150B”) (paragraph [0102] line 1-4)
(i.e. Fig 3 illustrates in response to a memory access request the controller 124 may determine upon depending on the mode of operation whether the request can be serviced from the cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332 to service request from far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142 where mode of operation may include write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode etc. In other words, access requests can be in different operation mode from cache portion or directly to far memory portion)
and access, based on the second memory access request, a portion of the cache media. (“When acting in near memory direct access mode, all or portions of the near memory as system memory 151A are directly visible to software and form part of the SPA space”) (paragraph [0092] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates when acting in near memory direct access mode all or portions of the near memory as system memory 151A or cache are directly visible to software for access request)
Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage device.
However, Nachimuthu does not explicitly teach memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
(see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104)
Both Nachimuthu and Busaba relate to access method for memory
and storage device. Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device. Also, Nachimuthu does not teach memory access based on protocol. On
the other hand, Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device and teach memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba to specify teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104 providing memory protocols for various environments, including virtual memory environments and hardware TM environments provide enhanced performance of the applicable computer system as mentioned in col 1, line 26-30.
Regarding claim 3, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to write at least a portion of the portion of the cache media to the portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to write at least a portion of the portion of the cache media to the portion of the storage media. (“the MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 and send it to the PCM controller 521. The PCM controller 521 looks up the PDA for the system memory address and then writes the data to the PCM far memory 530”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 5A illustrates when MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and then will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 and send it to the PCM controller 521 which then writes the data to the PCM far memory 530. In other words, data from near memory or a portion of cache is written to a portion of far memory storage)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to:
receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access a second portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the second portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 1, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to:
receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access a second portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the second portion of the storage media. (“the I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states, such as secure data, encryption keys, platform configuration information and the like. In one embodiment, these system persistent states are stored in a TMP NVRAM 173 and accessed via NVRAM controller 332”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states which is stored in TMP NVRAM 173. In other words, TPM NVRAM which is another portion of NVRAM storage is accessed by TPM control)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 4. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 4, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive the first memory access request using the memory access protocol and receive the storage access request using the storage access protocol.
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 4, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive the first memory access request using the memory access protocol and receive the storage access request using the storage access protocol. (see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations when received based on memory access protocol 104)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 4, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: operate the portion of the cache media and the first portion of the storage media as a first logical device; and operate the second portion of the storage media as a second logical device
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 4, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: operate the portion of the cache media and the first portion of the storage media as a first logical device; and operate the second portion of the storage media as a second logical device. (“a notebook computer is configured with a near memory and a PCMS device which performs the role of both a far memory and a mass storage device (i.e., which is logically partitioned to perform these roles as shown in FIG. 3)”) (paragraph [0082] line 1-4) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates PCMS device which performs the role of both a far memory and a mass storage device can be logically partitioned to perform different roles)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access the portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access the portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the portion of the storage media. (“the I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states, such as secure data, encryption keys, platform configuration information and the like. In one embodiment, these system persistent states are stored in a TMP NVRAM 173 and accessed via NVRAM controller 332”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states which is stored in TMP NVRAM 173. In other words, TPM NVRAM which is another portion of NVRAM storage is accessed by TPM control)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage device of claim 7. However, Nachimuthu does not explicitly teach The device of claim 7, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive the first memory access request using the memory access protocol and receive the storage access request using the storage access protocol.
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 7, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive the first memory access request using the memory access protocol and receive the storage access request using the storage access protocol. (see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations when received based on memory access protocol 104)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to write at least a portion of the portion of the cache media to a second portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 1, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to write at least a portion of the portion of the cache media to a second portion of the storage media. (“the MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 and send it to the PCM controller 521. The PCM controller 521 looks up the PDA for the system memory address and then writes the data to the PCM far memory 530”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 5A illustrates MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 or cache and send it to the PCM controller 521 of far memory or storage where it write data in far memory 530. In other words, controller is configured to send and write data from near memory or cache to far memory or storage)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Nachimuthu teaches A device comprising: a memory media; a storage media; a communication interface; and at least one control circuit configured to: (“FIG. 1 shows a memory hierarchy including a set of internal processor caches 120, "near memory" acting as a far memory cache 121, which may include both internal cache(s) 106 and external caches 107-109, and "far memory" 122”) (paragraph [0049] line 2-3)
(“far memory 122 may be placed on a memory bus and may communicate directly with a memory controller that, in turn, communicates directly with the processor 100”) (paragraph [0070] line 3-4) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates processor 100 comprises cashes 120, near memory 121, far memory 122 with a memory bus to communicate with controller)
receive, using the communication interface, a memory access request to access a portion of the memory media; access, based on the memory access request, the portion of the storage media; and write the portion of the memory media to a portion of the storage media. (“In response to a memory access request, the MSC controller 124 may determine (depending on the mode of operation specified in the range registers 336) whether the request can be serviced from the NM acting as cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332, which may then service the request from the far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142”) (paragraph [0102] line 4-7)
(“In the illustrated embodiment, the MSC controller 124 includes a set of range registers 336 which specify the mode of operation in use for the NM acting as a far memory cache 150B (e.g., write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode, etc, described above). In the illustrated embodiment, DRAM 144 is used as the memory technology for the NM acting as cache for far memory 150B”) (paragraph [0102] line 1-4)
(i.e. Fig 3 illustrates in response to a memory access request the controller 124 may determine upon depending on the mode of operation whether the request can be serviced from the cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332 to service request from far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142 where mode of operation may include write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode etc. In other words, access requests can be in different operation mode from cache portion or directly to far memory portion)
Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage device.
However, Nachimuthu does not explicitly teach memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
wherein the communication interface is configured to handle requests based on the memory access protocol and requests based on a storage access protocol
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
(see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104)
wherein the communication interface is configured to handle requests based on the memory access protocol and requests based on a storage access protocol (see Fig 9, col 7 line 53-60, illustrates computer system 900 operates over a communication fabric 902 along with I/O interface 914 for passing data or control information, in other words communication interface is configured to handle data and control requests from processor to storage device using access protocol)
Both Nachimuthu and Busaba relate to access method for memory
and storage device. Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device. Also, Nachimuthu does not teach memory access based on protocol. On
the other hand, Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device and teach memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104 and computer system 900 operates over a communication fabric 902 along with I/O interface 914 for passing data or control information, in other words communication interface is configured to handle data and control requests from processor to storage device using access protocol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba to specify teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104 and computer system 900 operates over a communication fabric 902 along with I/O interface 914 for passing data or control information, in other words communication interface is configured to handle data and control requests from processor to storage device using access protocol providing memory protocols for various environments, including virtual memory environments and hardware TM environments provide enhanced performance of the applicable computer system as mentioned in col 1, line 26-30.
Regarding claim 14, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 13. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 13, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access a second portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the second portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 13, wherein: the portion of the storage media is a first portion of the storage media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to: receive, using the communication interface, a storage access request to access a second portion of the storage media; and access, based on the storage access request, the second portion of the storage media. (“the I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states, such as secure data, encryption keys, platform configuration information and the like. In one embodiment, these system persistent states are stored in a TMP NVRAM 173 and accessed via NVRAM controller 332”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states which is stored in TMP NVRAM 173. In other words, TPM NVRAM which is another portion of NVRAM storage is accessed by TPM control)
Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
(see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 14. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 14, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: operate the portion of the memory media and the first portion of the storage media as a first logical device; and operate the second portion of the storage media as a second logical device
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 14, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to: operate the portion of the memory media and the first portion of the storage media as a first logical device; and operate the second portion of the storage media as a second logical device. (“a notebook computer is configured with a near memory and a PCMS device which performs the role of both a far memory and a mass storage device (i.e., which is logically partitioned to perform these roles as shown in FIG. 3)”) (paragraph [0082] line 1-4) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates PCMS device which performs the role of both a far memory and a mass storage device can be logically partitioned to perform different roles)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 14. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 14, wherein: the portion of the memory media is a first portion of the memory media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to access, based on the storage access request, a second portion of the memory media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 14, wherein: the portion of the memory media is a first portion of the memory media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to access, based on the storage access request, a second portion of the memory media. (“the I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states, such as secure data, encryption keys, platform configuration information and the like. In one embodiment, these system persistent states are stored in a TMP NVRAM 173 and accessed via NVRAM controller 332”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates I/O subsystem 115 is coupled to a TPM control 334 to control access to system persistent states which is stored in TMP NVRAM 173. In other words, TPM NVRAM which is another portion of NVRAM storage is accessed by TPM control)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Nachimuthu teaches A device comprising: media comprising cache media and storage media; a communication interface; and at least one control circuit configured to: (“FIG. 1 shows a memory hierarchy including a set of internal processor caches 120, "near memory" acting as a far memory cache 121, which may include both internal cache(s) 106 and external caches 107-109, and "far memory" 122”) (paragraph [0049] line 2-3)
(“far memory 122 may be placed on a memory bus and may communicate directly with a memory controller that, in turn, communicates directly with the processor 100”) (paragraph [0070] line 3-4) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates processor 100 comprises cashes 120, near memory 121, far memory 122 with a memory bus to communicate with controller)
receive, using the communication interface, a first memory access request; access, based on the first memory access request, a first portion of the media; receive, using the communication interface, a first storage access request; access, based on the first storage access request, a second portion of the media; receive, using the communication interface, a second memory access request; receive, using the communication interface, a second storage access request; (“In response to a memory access request, the MSC controller 124 may determine (depending on the mode of operation specified in the range registers 336) whether the request can be serviced from the NM acting as cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332, which may then service the request from the far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142”) (paragraph [0102] line 4-7)
(“In the illustrated embodiment, the MSC controller 124 includes a set of range registers 336 which specify the mode of operation in use for the NM acting as a far memory cache 150B (e.g., write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode, etc, described above). In the illustrated embodiment, DRAM 144 is used as the memory technology for the NM acting as cache for far memory 150B”) (paragraph [0102] line 1-4)
(i.e. Fig 3 illustrates in response to a memory access request the controller 124 may determine upon depending on the mode of operation whether the request can be serviced from the cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332 to service request from far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142 where mode of operation may include write-back caching mode, near memory bypass mode etc. In other words, access requests can be in different operation mode from cache portion or directly to far memory portion)
access, based on the second memory access request, a third portion of the media; and access, based on the second storage access request, the third portion of the media. (“I/O subsystem 115 further decodes the address to determine whether the address points to NVRAM mass storage 152A, BIOS NVRAM 172, or other non-storage or storage I/P devices. If this address points to NVRAM mass storage 152A or BIOS NVRAM 172, I/O subsystem 115 forwards the request to NVRAM controller 332”) (paragraph [0104] line 12-15) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates I/O subsystem 115 further decodes the address to determine whether the address points to NVRAM mass storage 152A, BIOS NVRAM 172 and if the address points to BIOS NVRAM 172 a portion of mass storage 152A, I/O subsystem 115 forwards the request to NVRAM controller 332. In other words, if address points to a third portion of mass storage, access request is forwarded and executed to third portion)
Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage device.
However, Nachimuthu does not explicitly teach memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
On the other hand, Busaba which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches memory access request based on a storage access protocol
memory access request being associated with the storage access protocol
(see Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, illustrates memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104)
Both Nachimuthu and Busaba relate to access method for memory
and storage device. Nachimuthu teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device. Also, Nachimuthu does not teach memory access based on protocol. On
the other hand, Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage
device and teach memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba to specify teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104 providing memory protocols for various environments, including virtual memory environments and hardware TM environments provide enhanced performance of the applicable computer system as mentioned in col 1, line 26-30.
Regarding claim 18, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 17. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 17, wherein: the first portion of the media comprises a portion of the cache media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to write data from the portion of the cache media to a portion of the storage media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 17, wherein: the first portion of the media comprises a portion of the cache media; and the at least one control circuit is configured to write data from the portion of the cache media to a portion of the storage media. (“the MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 and send it to the PCM controller 521. The PCM controller 521 looks up the PDA for the system memory address and then writes the data to the PCM far memory 530”) (paragraph [0158] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 5A illustrates MSC controller 512 notices that the data is not current in PCM far memory 530 and will thus retrieve it from near memory 518 or cache and send it to the PCM controller 521 of far memory or storage where it write data in far memory 530. In other words, controller is configured to send and write data from near memory or cache to far memory or storage)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 17 is equally applicable to claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 17. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 17, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to access, based on the first storage access request, a portion of the cache media
On the other hand, Nachimuthu which also relates to access method for cache
memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 17, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to access, based on the first storage access request, a portion of the cache media. (“When acting in near memory direct access mode, all or portions of the near memory as system memory 151A are directly visible to software and form part of the SPA space”) (paragraph [0092] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates when acting in near memory direct access mode all or portions of the near memory as system memory 151A or cache are directly visible to software for access request)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Nachimuthu with Busaba as
set forth in claim 17 is equally applicable to claim 20.
Claim(s) 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nachimuthu et al. (US 20140297919 A1) in view of Busaba et al. (US 9507628 B1) and further in view of Benhanokh et al. (US 20210216459 A1) hereinafter Nachimuthu and Busaba and Benhanokh.
Regarding claim 2, Nachimuthu teaches The device of claim 1, wherein: the portion of the cache media comprises a first cache; and the at least one control circuit is configured to access, based on the first memory access request, the portion of the storage media by:
reading data from the portion of the storage media; storing the data in a second cache; and (“Upon receiving the requested data from the PCM far memory 530, the PCM controller 521 will return the requested data to the MSC controller 512 which will store the data in the MSC near memory 518 and also send the data to the requesting CPU core 501”) (paragraph [0157] line 7-9) (i.e. Fig 5A illustrates upon receiving the requested data from the PCM far memory 530 the PCM controller 521 will return the requested data to the MSC controller 512 which will store the data in the MSC near memory 518 also known as cache)
Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach loading at least a portion of the data from the second cache.
On the other hand, Benhanokh which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches loading at least a portion of the data from the second cache. (“If it is determined that the data portion is in the cache, then in a step 1208 a metadata response may be sent back to the host system that includes the state and location of the data portion, as well as the data portion itself”) (paragraph [0163] line 5-8) (i.e. Fig 12 illustrates in step 1208 if it is determined that the data portion is in the cache, then a metadata response may be sent back to the host system that includes the state and location of the data portion as well as the data portion itself. In other words, a portion of data maybe loading to host when it is determined that data portion is in the cache)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba for the reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Nachimuthu, Busaba and Benhanokh are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to access method for cache memory and storage device. Nachimuthu – Busaba combination teaches access method for cache memory and storage device based on memory access protocol. Also, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not teach portion of data maybe loading to host when it is determined that data portion is in the cache. On the other hand, Benhanokh teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and teach portion of data maybe loading to host when it is determined that data portion is in the cache. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu - Busaba combination with Benhanokh to specify teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and teach portion of data maybe loading to host when it is determined that data portion is in the cache providing a method that includes receiving an instruction to read metadata for a data portion in association with a read request made by a host application to read the data portion from the storage system as mentioned in paragraph [0004].
Regarding claim 19, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 17. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 17, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to map the first portion of the media to the second portion of the media.
On the other hand, Benhanokh which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 17, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to map the first portion of the media to the second portion of the media. (“Device mapping logic 718 may be configured to map logical addresses of logical storage devices to locations (i.e., physical addresses) within physical storage devices using, e.g., any one or more of tables 762, 772, 772′ and 782, 750”) (paragraph [0113] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 7 illustrates Device mapping logic 718 may be configured to map logical addresses of logical storage devices to locations within physical storage devices using one of tables)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba for the reasons set forth in claim 17 above. In addition, Nachimuthu, Busaba and Benhanokh are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to access method for cache memory and storage device. Nachimuthu – Busaba combination teaches access method for cache memory and storage device based on memory access protocol. Also, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not teach Device mapping logic circuit may be configured to map logical addresses of logical storage devices to locations within physical storage devices. On the other hand, Benhanokh teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and Device mapping logic circuit may be configured to map logical addresses of logical storage devices to locations within physical storage devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu with Benhanokh to specify access method for cache memory and storage device and Device mapping logic circuit may be configured to map logical addresses of logical storage devices to locations within physical storage devices providing a method that includes receiving an instruction to read metadata for a data portion in association with a read request made by a host application to read the data portion from the storage system as mentioned in paragraph [0004].
Claim(s) 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nachimuthu in view of Busaba and further in view of HORWICH et al. (US 20210374080 A1) hereinafter HORWICH.
Regarding claim 10, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 7. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 7, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to perform a coherency operation associated with the portion of the storage media.
On the other hand, HORWICH which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 7, wherein the at least one control circuit is configured to perform a coherency operation associated with the portion of the storage media. (“In addition to the NVMe protocol, CMX device 100 also provides additional coherency mechanisms and allows the SDM software to include additional extensions (or hints) in host NVMe submissions. In some embodiments, the SDM software 201 initiates data transfers into and out of the NVM 140 by writing submissions into one or more submission queues in a controller memory buffer (CMB) on the CMX device 100”) (paragraph [0082] line 6-10) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates CMX device 100 also provides additional coherency mechanisms for data transfers into and out of the NVM 140 by writing submissions queues in a controller memory buffer (CMB) on the CMX device 100. In other words, NVM controller performs coherency between host and NVM storage)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba for the reasons set forth in claim 17 above. In addition, Nachimuthu, Busaba and HORWICH are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to access method for cache memory and storage device. Nachimuthu – Busaba combination teaches access method for cache memory and storage device based on memory access protocol. Also, Nachimuthu – Busaba combination does not teach NVM controller performs coherency between host and NVM storage. On the other hand, HORWICH teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and NVM controller performs coherency between host and NVM storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu – Busaba combination with HORWICH to specify access method for cache memory and storage device and NVM controller performs coherency between host and NVM storage providing the performance of data processing systems as mentioned in paragraph [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Nachimuthu in view of Busaba teaches access method for cache memory and storage device in claim 1. However, Nachimuthu - Busaba combination does not explicitly teach The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit comprises work logic configured to: receive a command; and perform, based on the command, a data movement operation or an operation associated with the portion of the cache media.
On the other hand, HORWICH which also relates to access method for cache memory and storage device teaches The device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control circuit comprises work logic configured to: receive a command; and perform, based on the command, a data movement operation or an operation associated with the portion of the cache media. (“control logic (e.g., logic circuitry) 125 coupled to the bus interface 122 and configurable to control communication of commands (or requests) and data between the CPU and local memory 130, and between local memory 130 and NVM 140”) (paragraph [0073] line 5-7) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates control logic 125 coupled to the bus interface 122 and configurable to control communication of commands and data between the CPU and local memory 130 and between local memory 130 and NVM 140. In other words, control logic is configured to control command communication and data movement between local memory or cache and storage)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Nachimuthu with Busaba for the reasons set forth in claim 17 above. In addition, Nachimuthu, Busaba and HORWICH are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to access method for cache memory and storage device. Nachimuthu – Busaba combination teaches access method for cache memory and storage device based on memory access protocol. Also, Nachimuthu – Busaba combination does not teach control logic is configured to control command communication and data movement between local memory or cache and storage. On the other hand, HORWICH teaches access method for cache memory and storage device and control logic is configured to control command communication and data movement between local memory or cache and storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Nachimuthu – Busaba combination with HORWICH to specify access method for cache memory and storage device and control logic is configured to control command communication and data movement between local memory or cache and storage providing the performance of data processing systems as mentioned in paragraph [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is claims 1, 13 and 17 mapping by primary reference Nachimuthu in page 8 of the response: Nachimuthu does not appear to disclose the features of amended claim 1 relating to the use of a "storage access protocol" and "memory access protocol" for accessing respective portion of media, as recited in the amended claim.
In portions cited by the Office Action, Nachimuthu states, "In response to a memory access request, the MSC controller 124 may determine (depending on the mode of operation specified in the range registers 336) whether the request can be serviced from the NM acting as cache for FM 150B or whether the request must be sent to the NVRAM controller 332, which may then service the request from the far memory (FM) portion 151B of the NVRAM 142." Nachimuthu, [0102].
This passage describes the controller determining how to service a request based on the mode of operation, not based on the protocol associated with the request. There is no disclosure of the controller receiving requests that are associated with a "storage access protocol" or a "memory access protocol," nor is there any teaching of the controller accessing media based on such protocols.
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference Nachimuthu does not teach
Using memory access protocol. The amendment necessitates adding secondary reference Busaba. For further clarification examiner cites portion from Busaba. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of Busaba and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 2, col 2 line 43-53, Busaba teaches memory access request 102 is directed to two or more memory locations based on memory access protocol 104. The cited portion along with Fig 2 from Busaba clearly teaches memory access request is directed to memory locations based on memory access protocol. Thus, the rejection of claims 1, 13 and 17 is maintained.
Applicant’s second argument is claims 1, 13 and 17 mapping by primary reference Nachimuthu in page 8 of the response: Furthermore, Nachimuthu does not disclose the use of a communication interface that receives requests differentiated by protocol, nor does it teach accessing a first portion of media using a storage access protocol and accessing a second portion of media using a memory access protocol as required by amended claim 1.
Accordingly, Nachimuthu does not appear to anticipate the claimed features of amended claim 1 relating to the receipt and handling of memory access requests based on distinct storage and memory access protocols, and the corresponding access operations to respective media based on such protocols. Although varying in scope, independent claims 13 and 17 are amended recite similar features and are likewise allowable for at least the same reasons.
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference Nachimuthu does not teach
Communication interface which receives requests uses memory access protocol. The amendment necessitates adding secondary reference Busaba. For further clarification examiner cites portion from Busaba. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of Busaba and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 9, col 7 line 53-60, Busaba teaches computer system 900 operates over a communication fabric 902 along with I/O interface 914 for passing data or control information. The cited portion along with fig 2 clearly teaches communication interface is configured to handle data and control requests from processor to storage device using access protocol. Thus, the rejection of claims 1, 13 and 17 is maintained.
Conclusion
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132