DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites limitations “determining a target quantity of the target channels” and “determining the target quantity of channels that are in idle states to be the target channels.” Claim 5 is unclear because target quantity appears to recite target channels and it appears that the word ‘target’ is left out of in front of ‘channels’. Therefore, examiner is unable to determine if these two terms are referred to as the same term or different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 12 claims a computer readable storage medium, it is defined in [0122] and in [0129] in the specification. Based on this definition it is open ended and may include signals and waves. Signals and waves are not one of the four statutory subject matter. Therefore, it is rejected.
Similarly Claim 14 also claims a computer readable storage medium, therefore, it is rejected for the same reason above.
In order to overcome this rejection, it is recommended, applicant amends claims 12 and 14 by adding non-transitory before computer readable storage medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,4,6-8,11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Taunay (US 20150153443 A1, hereinafter referred to as Taunay)
Regarding Claim 1 Taunay discloses an action execution method, applied to a transmitting device
(Taunay[0006] at the FPD, broadcasting a plurality of positioning signals)
(note: the FPD broadcasting positioning signals means that it transmits signals., Therefore it is a transmitting device as claimed.)
determining transmitting power of each target channel according to a signal distance range of each target channel,
(Taunay [0073] each broadcast power may be identified in its corresponding positioning signal by the second distance indication code (see Table I) indicating the actual broadcast range of the positioning signal having the broadcast power.)
transmitting a broadcast signal on the basis of the transmitting power of each target channel;
(Taunay [0006] at the FPD [first positioning device] broadcasting a plurality of positioning signals, each positioning signal having a predetermined different broadcast power.)
establishing a communication connection to a receiving device in response to a communication request of the receiving device;
(Taunay [0008]at the SPD [second positioning device], extracting the distance indication data from each distance indication data signal corresponding to a received positioning signal, and determining a distance between the FPD and the SPD from the distance indication data indicating the smallest distance range among the distance indication data received from the FPD.)
sending the signal distance range of each target channel to the receiving device;
(Taunay[0007]at the FPD, broadcasting a plurality of distance indication data signals, each distance indication data signal carrying predetermined distance indication data associated with a distance range of a corresponding positioning signal at the predetermined broadcast power)
executing a response action according to a received signal distance range at which the receiving device is currently located.
(Taunay[0008] and determining a distance between the FPD and the SPD from the distance indication data indicating the smallest distance range among the distance indication data received from the FPD.)
Regarding Claim 3. Taunay discloses sending the preset transmitting cycle duration, the transmitting duration of each target channel
(Taunay [0006] at the FPD, broadcasting a plurality of positioning signals, each positioning signal having a predetermined different broadcast power)
(note: Taunay et al. teaches “preset transmitting cycle duration” is predetermined different broadcast power)
and the signal distance range of each target channel to the receiving device.
(Taunay [0007] at the FPD, broadcasting a plurality of distance indication data signals, each distance indication data signal carrying predetermined distance indication data associated with a distance range)
Regarding Claim 4.Taunay discloses a target channel with maximum transmitting power to be a communication channel
(Taunay[0080] In some embodiments, the second positioning device 20 is configured to broadcast the determined DIC or distance value such that a first positioning device 10 will receive it, i.e. with sufficient broadcast power for the first positioning device 10 to receive it.)
Regarding Claim 6 Taunay discloses a distance determination method, applied to a receiving device, wherein the method comprises: sending a communication request to a transmitting device on the basis of a received broadcast signal of the transmitting device, so as to establish a communication connection to the transmitting device;
(Taunay [0013] at the SPD, extracting the identification data and distance indication data from each distance indication data signal corresponding to a received positioning signal, and determining a distance between each FPD as identified by its identification data)
receiving a signal distance range, sent by the transmitting device, of each target channel;
(Taunay [0013] at the SPD, extracting the identification data and distance indication data from each distance indication data signal corresponding to a received positioning signal, and determining a distance between each FPD as identified by its identification data)
determining, according to the detected target channels and the signal distance range of each target channel, a signal distance range at which the receiving device is currently located;
(Taunay [0013] the SPD from the distance indication data indicating the smallest distance range among the distance indication data received from the respective FPD.)
Regarding Claim 7. Tunay discloses determining, in a case that at least two target channels have been detected,
(Taunay [0011]at each FPD, broadcasting a plurality of positioning signals, each positioning signal having a predetermined different broadcast power;)
a minimum signal distance range on the basis of the signal distance range of each target channel; and determining the minimum signal distance range to be the signal distance range at which the receiving device is currently located.
(Taunay [0012] at each FPD, broadcasting a plurality of distance indication data signals, each distance indication data signal carrying predetermined identification data identifying the FPD, and further carrying predetermined distance indication data associated with a distance range of a corresponding positioning signal at the predetermined broadcast power)
(Taunay [0013] the SPD from the distance indication data indicating the smallest distance range among the distance indication data received from the respective FPD.)
(Taunay [0169]At the SPD, a distance between the FPD and the SPD is determined from the distance indication data indicating the smallest distance range among the distance indication data received from the FPD.)
(Taunay [0073] a second positioning device 20 receiving positioning signals is able to determine the lowest second distance indication code among a plurality of second distance indication codes received)
(note: Taunay [0073] discloses as to how to arrive at the determination of actual distance range)
Regarding Claim 8. Tunay discloses the distance determination method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: executing a feedback action according to the signal distance range at which the receiving device is currently located.
(Taunay[0061] The first positioning device 10 periodically broadcasts, either simultaneously or consecutively, positioning signals having different broadcast distance ranges. If all the position signals and distance indication data signals are sent simultaneous by a positioning device, the positioning device can use for example one or more transceivers with different kind of antennas. Each transceiver will then send a position signal and distance indication data signal that is assigned to a transceiver. The position signals and distance indication data signals may be sent simultaneous continues or with a time interval to preserve energy.)
Claims 9-10 (Cancelled)
Regarding Claim 11. (
(Taunay [0175] A program, computer program, or software application may include a subroutine, a function, a procedure, an object method, an object implementation, an executable application, an applet, a servlet, a source code, an object code, a shared library/dynamic load library and/or other sequence of instructions designed for execution on a computer system.)
(Taunay [0084] Distances between different first positioning devices 10 may be stored in a memory 15 of one or more first positioning devices 10.)
Regarding Claim 12. (Currently amended) A computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores a computer program; and the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the action execution method according to
(Taunay[0176] A computer program may be stored and/or distributed on a suitable medium, such as an optical storage medium or a solid-state medium supplied together with or as part of other hardware, but also be distributed in other forms, such as via the Internet or other wired or wireless telecommunication systems.)
(Taunay [0082] Referring to FIG. 1, the second positioning device 20 may comprise at least one output device 27 to output information relating to its position to a user of the second positioning device 20 or to a computer interface to send data to a computer system for further processing and/or storage.)
Regarding Claim 13. Taunay discloses A computer device, wherein the computer device comprises a memory and a processor; the memory stores a computer program; and the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements the distance determination method according to claim 6.
(Taunay [0175] A program, computer program, or software application may include a subroutine, a function, a procedure, an object method, an object implementation, an executable application, an applet, a servlet, a source code, an object code, a shared library/dynamic load library and/or other sequence of instructions designed for execution on a computer system.)
(Taunay [0084] Distances between different first positioning devices 10 may be stored in a memory 15 of one or more first positioning devices 10.)
Regarding Claim 14. Taunay discloses A computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program; and the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the distance determination method according to claim 6.
(Taunay[0176] A computer program may be stored and/or distributed on a suitable medium, such as an optical storage medium or a solid-state medium supplied together with or as part of other hardware, but also be distributed in other forms, such as via the Internet or other wired or wireless telecommunication systems.)
(Taunay [0082] Referring to FIG. 1, the second positioning device 20 may comprise at least one output device 27 to output information relating to its position to a user of the second positioning device 20 or to a computer interface to send data to a computer system for further processing and/or storage.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Taunay (US 20150153443 A, hereinafter to be referred to as Taunay) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20190230581 A1).
Regarding Claim 2. Taunay teaches the apparatus of Claim 1 wherein the transmitting a broadcast signal on the basis of the transmitting power of each target channel
(Taunay [0006] at the FPD [first positioning device] broadcasting a plurality of positioning signals, each positioning signal having a predetermined different broadcast power.
But does not teach
determining a transmitting duration of each target channel according to a time proportion of each target channel in a preset transmitting cycle duration, wherein a sum of the transmitting durations of all the target channels is equal to the preset transmitting cycle duration
In a similar endeavor, Hwang et al teaches system that establishes a plurality of channels that are transmitted with a cycle duration which is repeated. See for example section [0017] and [0037] and Fig 4 and Fig 6 of Hwang which teaches an access point sets up multiple channels [as shown in Fig6] which each have a predetermined duration, where the sum of all the transmitting durations is cyclical and equal to the transmitting cycle duration (as the channel structure in Fig 6 repeats).
transmitting the broadcast signal on the basis of the preset transmitting cycle duration, the transmitting power of each target channel, and the transmitting duration of each target channel.
This channel structure as shown in (with preset transmitting cycle as shown Fig 6) is repeatedly broadcasted as recited.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the action of the method Taunay et al by incorporating process as to how to transmit broadcast signal on the basis of preset transmitting cycle duration disclosed by Hwang et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
Motivation of doing so would have enabled transmitting device to broadcast signal on a target channel with preset transmitting cycle duration, transmitting power, transmitting duration.
Regarding Claim 5. Taunay teaches the apparatus of Claim 1
But does not teach
determining the target quantity of the target channels according to the signal distance range corresponding to each response action and determining the target quantity of channels that are in idle states to be the target channels.
In a similar endeavor, Hwang et al teaches system that establishes a plurality of channels that are transmitted with a cycle duration which is repeated. See for example section [0017] and [0037] and Fig 4 and Fig 6 of Hwang which teaches an access point sets up multiple channels [as shown in Fig6].
Likewise, Hwang et al teaches a system to perform a channel state monitoring operation to determine idle state of the channel [0067] and Fig3. Once identified it is used as a target channel ([0067] the communication node may transmit the control frame (or the management frame)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the action of the method Taunay by incorporating process as to how to determine the target quantity of the target channels and determining channels that in idle states to be the target channels disclosed by Hwang et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
Motivation of doing so would have to identify a target quantity of the target channels based on the signal distance range and identify the number of idle channels which can be utilized as target channels.
Conclusion
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644