Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis and grammar informalities:
Claim 3, line 2, consider amending to, --portion comprises at least one handle.—
Claim 10, line 1, consider amending to, --The portable cleaning mat of claim 9, wherein each said planar bottom surface—
Claims 15 and 16, lines 5, consider amending to, --machine washing and drying and does not shrink by more than 5% of [[its]an original dimension--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Powell (US 2013/0174793).
Regarding claim 1, Powell (US 2013/0174793) discloses a portable cleaning mat device (figs. 1-8), comprising:
a first outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) having a first perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip on item 10; fig. 6) which has a first left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below), a first top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below), a first right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) and a first bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom), wherein:
the first left ridge curvature portion, the first top ridge curvature portion, the first right ridge curvature portion and the first bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a first planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 below; each curvature portion lead into first planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the first planar bottom floor and the first perimeter lip curvature portion define a first interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which items 12 and 16 are inserted within, fig. 7), and
the first interior cavity comprises a first cleaning substrate (item 16; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the first planar bottom floor (pp. [0026]; figs. 6-7); and
First Annotated Fig. 7.
a second outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) having a second perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip of item 10; fig. 6) which has a second left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below), a second top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below), a second right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) and a second bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 below) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom; fig. 7), wherein:
the second left ridge curvature portion, the second top ridge curvature portion, the second right ridge curvature portion and the second bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a second planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 above; each curvature portion leads into second planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the second planar bottom floor and the second perimeter lip curvature portion define a second interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which items 18 is inserted within; fig. 7),
the second interior cavity comprises a second cleaning substrate (item 18; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the second planar bottom floor (pp. [0027]; fig 7), and
the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023-0024]; first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to second outer body housing portion via clasps 14, 22 and hinges 20 from a closed to open position; and further, the hinge can be formed with a pin passing through a hinge hole thereby, completely detaching both housing portions from one another).
First Annotated Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 2, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first outer body housing portion comprises at least one handle (item 24; pp. [0025]; figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second outer body housing portion comprises at least one handle (item 24; pp. [0025]; figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first inner cavity comprises a first opening (defined as opening between curvature portions in which first cleaning substrate 16 is able to pass into and secure within interior cavity; figs. 6-7; similar to applicant’ disclosure, pp. [0033] in instant disclosure) defined at least in part by an interior of the first perimeter lip curvature portion (opening boundary is defined by first perimeter lip curvature portions; fig 7).
Regarding claim 5, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second inner cavity comprises a second opening (defined as opening between curvature portion sin which second cleaning substrate 18 is able to pass into and secure into place within interior cavity; figs. 6-7; similar to applicant’s disclosure, pp. [0033] in instant disclosure) defined at least in part by an interior of the second perimeter lip curvature portion (opening boundary is defined by second perimeter lip curvature portions; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein an exterior surface of each the first and second top ridge curvature portions comprise a handle (items 14 on top ridge curvature potions define a protruding portion in which user can grasp, i.e. handle; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the first and second outer body housing portions comprise a planar bottom surface (designated in annotated fig. 7 above) disposed on an exterior thereof (planar bottom surfaces are disposed on exterior wall of housing portions; figs. 1-2 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 9, wherein each planar bottom surface comprises an anti-slip layer (items 26; pp. [0028]; figs. 1-2) disposed at least partially thereof (anti-slip layers 26 are disposed at least partially along outer bottom surface; figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second left ridge curvature portions are arranged symmetric about an axis (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) along which the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023]; hinges 20 may be formed as removable-type hinges with a pin through a hinge hole thereby, the axis is defined along the hinges 20 and the left curvature portions are symmetric from axis).
Regarding claim 12, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second top ridge curvature portions are arranged symmetric about an axis (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) along which the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023]; hinges 20 may be formed as removable-type hinges with a pin through a hinge hole thereby, the axis is defined along the hinges 20 and the top ridge curvature portions are symmetric from axis).
Regarding claim 13, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second right ridge curvature portions are arranged symmetric about an axis (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) along which the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023]; hinges 20 may be formed as removable-type hinges with a pin through a hinge hole thereby, the axis is defined along the hinges 20 and the right ridge curvature portions are symmetric from axis).
Regarding claim 14, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second bottom ridge curvature portions are arranged symmetric about an axis (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) along which the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023]; hinges 20 may be formed as removable-type hinges with a pin through a hinge hole thereby, the axis is defined along the hinges 20 and the bottom ridge curvature portions are symmetric from axis).
Regarding claim 17, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second outer body housings are arranged relative one another in an open configuration (defined as configuration in view of fig. 6), a closed configuration (defined as configuration in view of figs. 1-2 and 7), or a transitional configuration between the open and closed configurations (not explicitly shown; defined as configuration along curved axis when moving from the open configuration to the closed configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 17, wherein:
the first and second bottom ridge curvature portions each comprise one or more rotatable hinges (each bottom ridge curvature portion comprises two hinges 20; pp. [0023]; figs 3, 6, and 9),
the one or more rotatable hinges of the first bottom ridge curvature portion are structured to complimentarily engage with the one or more rotatable hinges of the second bottom ridge curvature portion (pp. [0023-0024]; figs. 2-3 and 9; the two hinges of the first bottom ridge curvature portion complimentarily engage with the two hinges of the second bottom ridge curvature portion in order to hold the device in a closed position and rotatably open the device to an open position) , and
when the rotatable hinges of the first and second bottom ridge curvature portions are complimentarily engaged, the first and second outer body housings are allowed to rotate between the open configuration, the closed configuration and the transitional configuration (pp. [0008-0009] and [0023-0024]; first and second outer body housings are capable of rotating about the hinges 20 from the closed position to the open position, when desired to be used).
Regarding claim 19, Powell (US 2013/0174793) discloses a portable cleaning mat device (figs. 1-8), comprising:
a first outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) having a first perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip on item 10; fig. 6) which has a first left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a first top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a first right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) and a first bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom), wherein:
the first left ridge curvature portion, the first top ridge curvature portion, the first right ridge curvature portion and the first bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a first planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 above; each curvature portion lead into first planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the first planar bottom floor and the first perimeter lip curvature portion define a first interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which items 12 and 16 are inserted within, fig. 7), and
the first interior cavity comprises a first cleaning substrate (item 16; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the first planar bottom floor (pp. [0026]; figs. 6-7); and
a second outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) having a second perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip of item 10; fig. 6) which has a second left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a second top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a second right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) and a second bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom; fig. 7), wherein:
the second left ridge curvature portion, the second top ridge curvature portion, the second right ridge curvature portion and the second bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a second planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 above; each curvature portion leads into second planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the second planar bottom floor and the second perimeter lip curvature portion define a second interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which item 18 is inserted within; fig. 7),
the second interior cavity comprises a second cleaning substrate (item 18; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the second planar bottom floor (pp. [0027]; fig 7), and
the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023-0024]; first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to second outer body housing portion via clasps 14, 22 and hinges 20 from a closed to open position; and further, the hinge can be formed with a pin passing through a hinge hole thereby, completely detaching both housing portions from one another),
the first and second bottom ridge curvature portions each comprise one or more rotatable hinges (each bottom ridge comprises two rotatable hinges 20, pp. [0023-0024]; figs. 2-3 and 9) which are arranged relative one another in either a coupled state (defined as state when rotatable hinges 20 are attached to each other and housing portions can rotatably move between positions; figs. 1-2 and 6-7) or a decoupled state (not explicitly shown; pp. [0023-0024], the hinges can be formed with a pin passing through a hinge hole thereby, completely detaching both housing portions from one another), and
when the rotatable hinges are in the coupled state, the first and second outer body housings are allowed to rotate relative one another (pp. [0008-0009] and [0023-0024]; first and second outer body housings are capable of rotating about the hinges 20 from the closed position to the open position, when desired to be used) between an open configuration (defined as position in view of fig. 6), a closed configuration (defined as position in view of figs. 1-2 and 7), and a transitional configuration (not explicitly shown; defined as configuration along curved axis when moving from the open configuration to the closed configuration) between the open and closed configurations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US 2013/0174793) in view of Kupka (US Patent No. 9,750,224).
Regarding claim 6, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an exterior surface of each the first and second left ridge curvature portions comprise a handle.
However, Kupka (US Patent No. 9,750,224) teaches a pet tray (item 30; fig. 5), wherein the tray comprises a perimeter lip (item 31; fig. 5) which has a left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 below), a top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 below), a right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 below), and a bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 below), and wherein an exterior surface of the left ridge curvature portion comprises a handle (item 35; figs. 5 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable cleaning device, as disclosed in Powell, to include a handle on an exterior surface of the first left ridge curvature portion, as taught in Kupka, in order for the user to grasp and reposition the cleaning mat while in the open configuration and thereby, reduce the need of closing the pad tray to reach the handle on the outer bottom surface (corresponding to handle 24 in Powell; figs. 1-2). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second handle on an exterior surface of second left ridge curvature portion, since it has been held that unless a new and unexpected result is produced, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04-VI-B).
Annotated Fig. 5. of Kupka.
Regarding claim 8, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an exterior surface of each the first and second right ridge curvature portions comprise a handle.
However, Kupka (US Patent No. 9,750,224) teaches a pet tray (item 30; fig. 5), wherein the tray comprises a perimeter lip (item 31; fig. 5) which has a left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), a top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), a right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), and a bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 5 above), and wherein an exterior surface of the right ridge curvature portion comprises a handle (item 34; figs. 5 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portable cleaning device, as disclosed in Powell, to include a handle on an exterior surface of the first right ridge curvature portion, as taught in Kupka, in order for the user to grasp and reposition the cleaning mat while in the open configuration and thereby, reduce the need of closing the pad tray to reach the handle on the outer bottom surface (corresponding to handle 24 in Powell; figs. 1-2). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second handle on an exterior surface of second right ridge curvature portion, since it has been held that unless a new and unexpected result is produced, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04-VI-B).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US 2013/0174793), as evidenced by Hawkins (US 2014/0223684).
Regarding claim 15, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1. Though Powell discloses the first cleaning substrate is an absorbent pad (pp. [0026]), Powell does not explicitly disclose the type of material of the first cleaning substrate, such as the first cleaning substrate is flexible yet structurally robust to repeated abrasion, and the first cleaning substrate comprises a fabrication material that is safe for machine washing and drying and does not shrink by more than 5% of its original dimensions. From instant disclosure, pp. [0025], such materials include cotton (particularly from terry cloth), linen, hemp, and suede microfibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first cleaning substrate to be composed of a terrycloth cotton material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. As an example, Hawkins (US 2014/0223684) teaches a cleaning mat having a cleaning substrate composed of a Terry cloth cotton in order for the substrate to be absorbable and be particularly useful and eminently washable using regular laundry washing-machines (pp. [0043] in Hawkins). Please note, in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US 2013/0174793), as evidenced by Firth (US Patent No. 12,446,542).
Regarding claim 16, Powell discloses the portable cleaning mat as claimed in claim 1. Though Powell discloses the second cleaning substrate is a dry pad (pp. [0027], Powell does not explicitly disclose wherein: the second cleaning substrate is flexible yet structurally robust to repeated abrasion, and the second cleaning substrate comprises a fabrication material that is safe for machine washing and drying and does not shrink by more than 5% of its original dimensions. From instant disclosure, pp. [0027], such materials include stiff nylon, polypropylene bristles, rubber, silicone-based materials, and loofa gourd.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cleaning substrate to be composed of a rubber material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. As an example, Firth (US Patent No. 12,446,542) teaches a mat having a cleaning substrate composed of a rubber material in order for the mat to be resilient for improved footing and comfort (col. 6, ll. 40-52). Please note, in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US 2013/0174793) in view of Mitchell (US 2004/0088789).
Regarding claim 20, Powell (US 2013/0174793) discloses a portable cleaning mat device (figs. 1-8), comprising:
a first outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) having a first perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip on item 10; fig. 6) which has a first left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a first top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a first right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) and a first bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom), wherein:
the first left ridge curvature portion, the first top ridge curvature portion, the first right ridge curvature portion and the first bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a first planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 above; each curvature portion lead into first planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the first planar bottom floor and the first perimeter lip curvature portion define a first interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which items 12 and 16 are inserted within, fig. 7), and
the first interior cavity comprises a first cleaning substrate (item 16; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the first planar bottom floor (pp. [0026]; figs. 6-7); and
the first cleaning substrate is dimensionally smaller than the first interior cavity (pp. [0008-0009]; first cleaning substrate 18 is dimensionally smaller than first interior cavity in order to fit within the cavity) such that first and second air gaps (designated in second annotated fig. 7 below) within the first interior cavity are disposed above and below the first cleaning substrate, respectively (first and second air gaps are defined above and below first cleaning substrate 16 in order for item 12 to be inserted above first cleaning substrate 16 when closed); and
a second outer body housing portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) having a second perimeter lip curvature portion (defined as outer rectangular perimeter lip of item 10; fig. 6) which has a second left ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a second top ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above), a second right ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) and a second bottom ridge curvature portion (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) extending downward therefrom (each curvature portion extends downward into planar bottom; fig. 7), wherein:
the second left ridge curvature portion, the second top ridge curvature portion, the second right ridge curvature portion and the second bottom ridge curvature portion all terminate into a second planar bottom floor (designated in annotated fig. 7 above; each curvature portion leads into second planar bottom floor surface, figs. 5 and 7),
the second planar bottom floor and the second perimeter lip curvature portion define a second interior cavity therein (defined as cavity between curvature portions in which item 18 is inserted within; fig. 7),
the second interior cavity comprises a second cleaning substrate (item 18; figs. 6-7) disposed therein and adjacent the second planar bottom floor (pp. [0027]; fig 7), and
the second cleaning substrate is dimensionally smaller than the second interior cavity (pp. [0008-0009]; second cleaning substrate 18 is dimensionally smaller than second interior cavity in order to fit within the cavity) such that a third air gap is within the second interior cavity disposed above second cleaning substrate, respectively (second annotated fig. 7 below; third air gap is defined above second cleaning substrate 18 in order for an overall gap to be defined between substrates when closed), and
the first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to the second outer body housing portion (pp. [0023-0024]; first outer body housing portion is removably coupled to second outer body housing portion via clasps 14, 22 and hinges 20 from a closed to open position; and further, the hinge can be formed with a pin passing through a hinge hole thereby, completely detaching both housing portions from one another).
Second Annotated Fig. 7.
Powell does not explicitly disclose wherein a fourth air gap is disposed below the second cleaning substrate. However, Mitchell (US 2004/0088789) teaches a multi-purpose mat comprising an outer body housing portion (item 18; fig. 8) having an outer perimeter lip (item 28; figs. 8-10), wherein a cleaning substrate (item 12; figs. 8-9) is removably attached to a planar bottom (item 24; fig. 9) of the outer body housing portion (figs. 8-9) and defines a gap both above and below the cleaning substrate (designated in annotated fig. 9 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cleaning substrate, as disclosed in Powell, to be configured with a (fourth) gap below the second cleaning substrate in the second outer body housing portion, as taught in Mitchell, in order for the user to more easily get a grasp on the outer edge of the cleaning substrate to remove the substrate for washing (pp. [0038] in Mitchell).
Mitchell Annotated Fig. 9.
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723