DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 10 and 12) and claim 11 (line 2) recites the limitation "said inclined surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner believes that this is a typographical mistake and that the Applicant meant to recite "the inclined planar surface".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renlund et al. (US 2018/0161563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Renlund discloses a microneedle structure formed from a single crystal of silicon (the Examiner notes that the limitation “formed from a single crystal of silicon” is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited, therefore, even though Renlund is silent as to the process used to make the microneedle structure, it appears that Renlund’ s product would be the same or similar as that claimed, especially since both applicant’s product and the prior art product is made of silicon material (see paragraphs 2 and 79). MPEP 2113.), the microneedle structure comprising:
(a) a substrate (substrate 102) having a major surface (surface of substrate 102 that the microneedles 101 protrudes from; see Figs. 4-5);
(b) at least one microneedle (microneedle 101) integrally formed with said substrate (substrate 102) so as to project from said major surface (see Figs. 4-5), said at least one microneedle (microneedle 101) comprising:
(i) a penetrating tip (tip at distal end 504) formed at an intersection between at least one upright surface (upright surface, see Examiner’s annotated Fig. 5 below) perpendicular to said major surface of said substrate (substrate 102) and an inclined planar surface (surface of bevel 505) corresponding to a (1 1 1) crystallographic plane (paragraphs 35-36),
(ii) a first portion (1st portion, see Examiner’s annotated Figs 4-5 below) bounded by a continuation of said at least one upright surface and said inclined surface (see Figs. 4-5), and
(iii) a second portion (2nd portion, see Examiner’s annotated Figs. 4-5 below) bounded by a continuation of said at least one upright surface and a slicing plane (slicing plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5 below) extending from an edge of said inclined surface towards, and perpendicular to, said major surface of said substrate (substrate 102) (see Figs. 4-5 and 8),
wherein a width of said inclined surface (surface of bevel 505) increases monotonically from said penetrating tip to said edge (see Figs. 4 and 8), and wherein said slicing plane is contiguous with an edge of said substrate (fig 5).
The embodiment of Figs. 4-5 of Renlund does not expressly state that the microneedle structure is made of silicon.
However, paragraph 79 teaches that the substrate 102 is made of silicon and paragraph 7 states that the microneedles are integrally formed with the substrate.
As such, the Examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the microneedle structure is formed of silicon, since paragraphs 79 and 7 of Renlund suggest this, and since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Renlund teaches the claimed invention, but Renlund does not expressly state that said second portion extends for at least a fifth of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate.
However, the Examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the height of the second portion relative to the height of the penetrating tip from the major surface of the substrate, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the height of the a second portion relative to the height of the penetrating tip from the major surface of the substrate to be at least a fifth of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Renlund further teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 200-1000 microns (paragraph 42), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter).
As to claim 3, Renlund does not expressly state that a ratio of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate to a maximum dimension of said microneedle adjacent to said major surface is at least 1.6, as recited in claim 3.
However, Renlund teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 200-1000 microns (paragraph 42), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter).
The Examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that there is some disclosed combination of measurements of height and outer circumference of the microneedles of Renlund that results in a ratio of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate to a maximum dimension of said microneedle adjacent to said major surface is at least 1.6, as recited in claim 3. For instance, a height of 250 microns, and a diameter of 127 microns, results in a ratio of approximately 1.97, which is at least 1.6 as recited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Renlund further teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 200-1000 microns (paragraph 42), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter).
As to claim 4, Renlund does not expressly state that a ratio of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate to a maximum dimension of said microneedle adjacent to said major surface is at least 1.7, as recited in claim 4.
However, Renlund teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 200-1000 microns (paragraph 42), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter).
The Examiner is of the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that there is some disclosed combination of measurements of height and outer circumference of the microneedles of Renlund that results in a ratio of a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate to a maximum dimension of said microneedle adjacent to said major surface is at least 1.7, as recited in claim 4. For instance, a height of 250 microns, and a diameter of 127 microns, results in a ratio of approximately 1.97, which is at least 1.7 as recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Renlund further teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 750 microns(paragraph 42 teaches a height range of 200-1000 microns), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter), which is not more than 500 microns, as recited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Renlund teaches the claimed invention as discussed above concerning claim 1, and Renlund further teaches a height of said penetrating tip from said major surface of said substrate is at least 800 microns(paragraph 42 teaches a height range of 200-1000 microns), and wherein a maximum dimension of said microneedle parallel, and adjacent, to said major surface is 127-255 microns (paragraph 42 discloses the outer circumference of the microneedles as between 400-800 microns, which converts to a range of 127-255 microns in diameter), which is not more than 450 microns, as recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Renlund. further teaches a cross-section taken through said second portion of said microneedle (microneedle 101) parallel to said major surface of said substrate has a length perpendicular to said slicing plane (length of a second portion; see Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 and 5 below) and a width parallel to said slicing plane (width of constant cross section portion, see Examiner’s annotated Figs. 4-5 below).
Renlund does not expressly state that the length is at least 50% greater than the width.
The Examiner is of the position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the present invention to the length so that it is at least 50% greater than the width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11, Renlund further teaches a bore (bore 507) extending from said inclined surface (bevel surface 505) through said expanding portion, through said second portion and through said substrate (substrate 102) to a rear surface of said substrate (see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 12, Renlund teaches the slicing plane is also an edge between 503,506 of said substrate 102.
Regarding claim 13, Renlund further teaches that at least one microneedle (microneedle 101) is implemented as a plurality of microneedles integrally formed (abstract, paragraph 69) with said substrate (substrate 102), said plurality of microneedles having co-planar slicing planes (see Figs. 1-2 and 4).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renlund et al (US 20180161563 A1) in view of Admati et al (CN 213048990 U).
Regarding claims 8, Renlund discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, it fails to disclose (claim 8) said at least one upright surface adjacent to said penetrating tip comprises a first planar surface and a second planar surface smoothly linked by an arcuate surface, said first and second planar surfaces being symmetrically deployed on opposite sides of a center plane passing through said microneedle and forming between them an angle of between 45 degrees and 75 degrees; (claim 9) said arcuate surface has a radius of curvature between 10 microns and 40 microns; and (claim 10) said at least one upright surface further comprises a third planar surface and a fourth planar surface arranged symmetrically on opposite sides of said center plane, said third and fourth planar surfaces forming between them of between 5 degrees and 25 degrees.
Admati teaches (figures 3C-3F) (page 8 of translation, starting second paragraph), said at least one upright surface adjacent to said penetrating tip comprises a first planar surface and a second planar surface ( both sides of 20, fig 3C) smoothly linked by an arcuate surface 26 (fig 3E), said first and second planar surfaces being symmetrically deployed on opposite sides of a center plane passing through said microneedle and forming between them an angle of between 45 degrees and 75 degrees (see abstract; page 3). About claim 9, said arcuate surface 26 has a radius of curvature between 10 microns and 40 microns (page 3, 20-50 microns). About claim 10, said at least one upright surface further comprises a third planar surface and a fourth planar surface (fig 3A) arranged symmetrically on opposite sides of said center plane, said third and fourth planar surfaces forming between them of between 5 degrees and 25 degrees (page 3 last three paragraphs; page 8, fourth paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Renlund microneedle with Admati’s planar surfaces and arcuate since such modification would have enhanced the tissue penetration with minimum fluid leakage.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/213,848 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-13 are practically the same in both applications. The only changes in claim 1 in both applications is the name change for two elements for the same component.
In 18/427,862, claim 1 set forth in (ii) a first portion and (iii) a second portion is the same whereas in 18/213,848, claim 1 which set forth in (ii)an expanding cross-section portion and (iii) a constant cross section portion. This language in both applications means the same element with a different wording, and in 18/427,862 (current application) the language is broader.
Additionally, the last two lines in the claims:
18/213,848: wherein said slicing plane extends to, and meets, a cut edge of said substrate; and
18/427,862: wherein said slicing plane is contiguous with an edge of said substrate
This language in both applications is similar in content with different wording.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783