DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/757,770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘770 application claims a material for molding comprising cellulose fibers, a binder, and urethane fibers. As such, the ‘770 claim anticipates the instant claim. As to claims 2-6, claims 4-8 of the ‘770 claims further teach the limitations of these claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruf et al. (US 2008/0233821).
Regarding claim 1, Ruf et al. teach a molding material comprising cellulose fibers, a binder and urethane fibers (Abstract; paragraphs [0003] [0020], [0038], [0040], [0052], [0065] – material containing cellulose fibers, clay is a binder absent further specificity, polypropylene is also a binder at the end of paragraph [0065], and urethene fibers can be added to the cellulose fibers (paragraph [0052] and clay material and the material can be molded).
It is noted that claim 3 is not rejected over the teaching of Ruf et al.
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kumar et al. (US 2018/0319942).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar et al. teach a molding material comprising cellulose fibers, a binder/polyurethane and urethane fibers (Abstract; paragraphs [0007], [0048], [0072]).
In a first interpretation, it is noted that Kumar et al. teach an organic fiber is necessarily part of the composition and discloses that polyurethane fibers, cellulose fibers and combinations of the disclosed fibers can be utilized as the organic fiber in the composition (Abstract; paragraphs [0007], [0048]). One having ordinary skill would have been able to immediately envisage selecting disclosed materials, including polyurethane fibers and cellulose fibers, for usage in the composition. As such, Kumar et al. is understood to anticipate the claimed invention (see MPEP 2131.02 III).
Alternatively, the selection of the two claimed fibers from the list disclosed in Kumar is understood to render the claimed invention prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.07) absent a showing of new or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
As to claims 3 and 4, Kumar et al. teach the organic fiber/cellulose fiber is a diameter and length within the claimed ranges (paragraphs [0049] and [0050]
As to claim 5, Kumar et al. teach the binder/polyurethane is used in amounts that are within or overlap the claimed range paragraphs [0005] and [0009]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oomori et al. (US 2010/0120987).
Regarding claim 1, Oomori et al. teach a molding material comprising cellulose fibers, a binder/polyurethane and urethane fibers (Abstract; paragraphs [0001], [0017], [0022], [0017], [0041]).
In a first interpretation, it is noted that Oomori et al. teach an organic fiber is necessarily part of the composition and discloses that polyurethane fibers, cellulose fibers and combinations of the disclosed fibers can be utilized from a list of only 6 materials (paragraph [0041]). One having ordinary skill would have been able to immediately envisage selecting disclosed materials, including polyurethane fibers and cellulose fibers, for usage in the composition from such a small list. As such, Kumar et al. is understood to anticipate the claimed invention (see MPEP 2131.02 III). It also appears that kenaf fibers may also be reasonably understood to be a type of cellulose fiber and that such an interpretation would make 3 of the 6 disclosed materials applicable.
Alternatively, the selection of the two claimed fibers from the list disclosed in Oomori et al. is understood to render the claimed invention prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.07) absent a showing of new or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Daimon et al. (US 4,752,526).
Regarding claim 1, Daimon et al. teach a molding material comprising cellulose fibers, a binder/polyurethane and urethane fibers (Abstract; col. 3, line 42-col. 4, line 8).
In a first interpretation, it is noted that Daimon et al. teach an organic fiber is necessarily part of the composition and discloses that polyurethane fibers, cellulose fibers and combinations of the disclosed fibers can be utilized from small list of materials as cited above. One having ordinary skill would have been able to immediately envisage selecting disclosed materials, including polyurethane fibers and cellulose fibers, for usage in the composition from such a small list. As such, Daimon et al. is understood to anticipate the claimed invention (see MPEP 2131.02 III).
Alternatively, the selection of the two claimed fibers from the list disclosed in Diamon et al. is understood to render the claimed invention prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.07) absent a showing of new or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
As to claims 3 and 4, Daimon et al. is understood to teach and/or render prima facie obvious the claimed ranges (col. 3, line 60-col. 4, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruf et al. (US 2008/0233821), as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claim 2, Ruf et al. teach the content of the cellulose fibers overlaps the claimed range (paragraphs [0061], [0062]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
As to claim 4, suggest average diameter of the cellulose fibers that overlap and render prima facie obvious the claimed range (paragraphs [0070], [0073] – as low as 1.3 dtex; within the claimed range. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
As to claim 5, Ruf et al. teach the content of the binder overlaps the claimed range (paragraph [0035] – 5 to 40 wt. % clay/binder). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
As to claim 6, Ruf et al. reasonably suggest an amount of additional fibers, such as urethane fibers, in an amount that overlaps the claimed range (paragraphs [0052], [0061], [0062]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2018/0319942), as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above.
As to claims 2 and 6, Kumar et al. teach amounts of the organic fibers that overlap the claimed range paragraphs [0004] and [0052]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oomori et al. (US 2010/0120987), as applied to claim 1 above.
As to claims 2 and 6, Oomori et al. suggest amounts of fiber that overlap the claimed range (Abstract; claim 8)
As to claims 3 and 4, Oomori et al. suggest and render prima facie obvious fiber dimensions that overlap the claimed ranges (paragraphs [0043]-[0049]; see MPEP 2144.05 regarding ranges that are close, but that don’t overlap).
As to claim 5, Oomori et al. suggest binder amounts that overlap the claimed range (Abstract; paragraph [0017]
Claims 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daimon et al. (US 4,752,526), as applied to claims 1, 3 and 4 above.
As to claims 2 and 6, Daimon et al. teach and suggest amounts that overlap the claimed range (Abstract; col. 4, lines 1-8).
As to claim 5, Daimon et al. teach and suggest amounts that overlap the claimed range (col. 3, lines 1-32; Examples).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742