DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/31/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 10 and 11 are repeated from claims 8 and 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496).
Regarding Claim 1, Holtan discloses an eyeglasses device for head surgery patients comprising:
an eyeglasses frame comprised of a single frame arm (Fig. 18, temple tip portion 70, Col. 9, lines 28-36), a first lens (Fig. 18, left lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below), a second lens (Fig. 18, right lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below), and a nosepiece (Fig. 18, connector between left lens and right lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding Claims 2 and 15, Holtan discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of prescription lenses (Col. 4, lines 18-20).
Regarding Claim 7, Holtan discloses an eyeglasses device for head surgery patients comprising:
an eyeglasses frame comprised of a single frame arm (Fig. 18, temple tip portion 70, Col. 9, lines 28-36), a first lens (Fig. 18, left lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below), a second lens (Fig. 18, right lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below), and a nosepiece (Fig. 18, connector between left lens and right lens, see annotated Fig. 18 below),
and a strap comprised of a first fastener and a second fastener (see annotated Fig. 18 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Biver et al. (US 2022/0187621).
Regarding Claims 3 and 16, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of progressive lenses.
However, Biver, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of progressive lenses (Paragraph 0034, lines 3-5, progressive surface), for the purpose of providing both near and far vision to wearers with compromised accommodation ability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of progressive lenses, for the purpose of providing both near and far vision to wearers with compromised accommodation ability.
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of UV-coated lenses.
However, Biver, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of UV-coated lenses (Paragraph 0123, lines 1-9, layers 4 and 5 to filter ultraviolet radiation), for the purpose of protecting a wearer’s eye from harmful UV radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the first lens and the second lens are comprised of UV-coated lenses, of Biver, for the purpose of protecting a wearer’s eye from harmful UV radiation.
Claims 5, 6, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Fayolle et al. (US 2017/0322430).
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the nose piece is comprised of a fixed nosepiece.
However, Fayolle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the nose piece is comprised of a fixed nosepiece (Paragraph 0097, lines 2-4, the nose bridge with two fixed surfaces), for the purpose of reducing the adjustments to eyewear.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the nose piece is comprised of a fixed nosepiece, of Fayolle, for the purpose of reducing the adjustments to eyewear.
Regarding Claims 6 and 19, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the nose piece is comprised of an adjustable nosepiece.
However, Fayolle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the nose piece is comprised of an adjustable nosepiece (Paragraph 0097, lines 4-8, the nose pads are adjustable), for the purpose of increasing wearer’s comfort by adjusting for the size of the wearer’s nose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the nose piece is comprised of an adjustable nosepiece, of Fayolle, for the purpose of increasing wearer’s comfort by adjusting for the size of the wearer’s nose.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Davidson (US 4,515,449).
Regarding Claims 8 and 10, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the first fastener attaches to the frame arm.
However, Davidson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first fastener attaches to the frame arm (Fig. 1, strap 11 attaches to the far side temple 12 at position 13), for the purpose of improving stability of the eyewear.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the first fastener attaches to the frame arm, of Davidson, for the purpose of improving stability of the eyewear.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Davidson (US 4,515,449), further in view of Valdez-Campbell (US 8,602,553).
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, Holtan in view of Davidson discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the first fastener is comprised of a clip, a latch, an adhesive, a snap button, a hook and loop fastener, or a tie.
However, Valdez-Campbell, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first fastener is comprised of a clip, a latch, an adhesive, a snap button, a hook and loop fastener (Col. 2, lines 50-53, hook and loop fabric combination attachments), or a tie, for the purpose of providing a reversible and adjustable attachment for a strap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan in view of Davidson with the wherein the first fastener is comprised of a clip, a latch, an adhesive, a snap button, a hook and loop fastener, or a tie, of Valdez-Campbell, for the purpose of providing a reversible and adjustable attachment for a strap.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Alfaro et al. (US 5,184,354).
Regarding Claim 12, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the strap is comprised of a padded material.
However, Alfaro, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the strap is comprised of a padded material (Col. 3, lines 30-35, a strap of padded material), for the purpose of increasing the comfort for the wearer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the strap is comprised of a padded material, of Alfaro, for the purpose of increasing the comfort for the wearer.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtan, Jr. et al. (US 5,009,496) in view of Valdez-Campbell (US 8,602,553).
Regarding Claim 13, Holtan discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the strap is comprised of an adjustment fastener.
However, Valdez-Campbell, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the strap is comprised of an adjustment fastener (Col. 2, lines 59-68, the straps are adjustable in length, Col. 3, lines 34-39, each strap can be adjusted to fit securely) for the purpose of providing a secure fit for eyewear.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the eyeglasses of Holtan with the wherein the strap is comprised of an adjustment fastener, of Valdez-Campbell, for the purpose of providing a secure fit for eyewear.
Regarding Claim 14, Holtan in view of Valdez-Campbell discloses as is set forth above and Valdez-Campbell further discloses wherein the adjustment fastener allows the strap to increase and decrease in length (Col. 2, lines 59-68, the straps are adjustable in length, Col. 3, lines 34-39, each strap can be adjusted to fit securely), for the purpose of providing a secure fit for eyewear.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (US 4,515,449) in view of Ogonowsky (US 7,058,992).
Regarding Claim 20, Davidson discloses a method of using an eyeglasses device for head surgery patients, the method comprising the following steps:
providing an eyeglasses device for head surgery patients comprised of a strap and a frame comprised of a frame arm and a lens;
attaching the strap to the frame arm via a first fastener of the strap (See annotated Figure below);
placing the frame around a user's head such that the arm rests on or above an ear of the user on a side of the user's head that was not operated on or injured (Col. 2, person is wearing the eyeglasses, lines 17-25).
Davidson does not specifically disclose attaching the strap to the frame via a second fastener of the strap; … adjusting the strap such that the strap rests on, above, or around an ear on a side of the user's head that was operated on or injured.
However, Ogonowsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches attaching the strap to the frame via a second fastener of the strap (see “second fastener” as shown in annotated Fig. 1, below),
adjusting the strap such that the strap rests on, above, or around an ear on a side of the user's head that was operated on or injured (Col. 2, lines 5-22, Fig. 4, the cup 20 attached to the ring 18 so that there is no downward pressure on the ear or on the area surrounding the ear, which would have avoided an injured ear), for the purpose of avoiding irritation from the elastic strap putting pressure on the ears.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the method of Davidson with the attaching the strap to the frame via a second fastener of the strap; … adjusting the strap such that the strap rests on, above, or around an ear on a side of the user's head that was operated on or injured of Ogonowsky, for the purpose of avoiding irritation from the elastic strap putting pressure on the ears.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Godeau et al. (US 2021/0109371), Martin (US 11,782,291), Gamperling et al. (US 2021/0382330), Jackson (US 2,609,538), and Lorenzo (US 4,129,362) are cited to show similar eyewear.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872