Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US Patent 11,859,434 to Collene in view of European Patent EP 1884614 to Liebherr.
Collene teaches.
A refrigerator, comprising: a cabinet (B, HP) having a storage compartment (CS);
a door (RD) rotatably connected to the cabinet to open and close the storage compartment; and a damper (D) configured to provide a damping force to resist the movement a movement of door as the door rotates in a closing direction (Figure 14-16), wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force, and wherein the damper includes a first end (SC) connected to the door and a second end () that is not fixed, the second end being configured to contact the cabinet based on a location of the cabinet with respect to the door ().
Collene does not expressly disclose two different damping force.
Liebherr teaches
A refrigerator (Figure 1), comprising: a cabinet (2) having a storage compartment; a door (4) rotatably connected to the cabinet to open and close the storage compartment; and a damper (12) configured to provide a damping force to resist the movement of door as the door rotates in a closing direction, the damping force including a first damping force having a first magnitude and a second damping force having a second magnitude that is less than the first magnitude, wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force (figure 4, par 19, first damping force in region C or G, second damping force in region D or H). wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the first damping operation and the second damping operation are performed consecutively (as best seen in figures 3-4, par 19, piston 50).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Collene by using a two stage damper as taught by Liebherr to better control door closing.
Regarding claim 2, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
2. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the first damping operation and the second damping operation are performed consecutively (Liebherr, as best seen in figures 3-4, par 19, piston 50).
Regarding claim 3, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
3. wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force when an angle formed by a front surface of the cabinet and the door becomes a predetermined angle or less. (Liebherr, as best seen in figures 3-4, par 19, piston 50)
Regarding claim 5, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
5. wherein the second magnitude of the second damping force is less than a magnitude of a third damping force that acts on the door as the pillar contacts the cabinet, or a total of the magnitude of the third damping force that acts on the door as the pillar contacts the cabinet and the second magnitude of the second damping force is equal to or less than the first magnitude of the first damping force (Liebherr, as best seen in figures 1, 4, damper 12 at the door 4).
Regarding claim 6, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
6. wherein the damper is located at the door (Liebherr, as best seen in figure 1, damper 12 including the arm 26 pressed by the hinge bracket 5).
Regarding claim 7, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
7. wherein the refrigerator further comprises a hinge assembly (Liebherr, 3, 5) configured to rotatably connect the door to the cabinet, and wherein the damper is configured to generate the damping force while being pressed by the hinge assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
8. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, wherein the damper includes: a cylinder configured to accommodate fluid in an inner space thereof; and a piston configured to compress the fluid while moving in the inner space of the cylinder to generate the damping force, and wherein the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation based on a change in a position of the piston in the inner space of the cylinder (Liebherr, see figure 4, the comparison between curves v1 and v2, showing the larger damping force applied when angular speed is hinger, thus when the angular speed falls below a set speed, the damping force is reduced).
Regarding claim 9, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
9. A refrigerator, comprising: a cabinet (Collene B, HP; Liebherr, 2) having a storage compartment; a door (Collene RD, HP; Liebherr, 4) rotatably connected to the cabinet to open and close the storage compartment; and a damper (Collene D, HP; Liebherr, 12) configured to provide a damping force to resist a movement of door as the door rotates in a closing direction, the damping force including a first damping force having a first magnitude and a second damping force (Liebherr, figure 4, par 19, first damping force in region C or G, second damping force in region D or H) having a second magnitude that is less than the first magnitude, wherein as the door rotates in the closing direction the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force, where in the damper includes: a cylinder (Liebherr, 13, figure 3) including an inner space (Liebherr, figure 3); a piston (Liebherr, 24,54) configured to compress a fluid (Liebherr, 51) located inside the cylinder while moving in the inner space of the cylinder to generate the damping force and a rod (Liebherr, 24, 26) connected to the piston, wherein the inner space of the cylinder includes: a first inner diameter section (Liebherr, figure 3); and a second inner diameter section (Liebherr, figure 3), an inner diameter of the second inner diameter section being greater than an inner diameter of the first inner diameter section, and the second inner diameter section being located at an end of the cylinder, wherein the first inner diameter section is located closer to an end of the rod located outside of the cylinder than the second inner diameter section wherein, as the piston moves in the first inner diameter section, the damper is configured to operate based on the first damping operation, and wherein, as the piston moves in the second inner diameter section, the damper is configured to operate based on the second damping operation.
Regarding claim 10, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
10. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation when an angle formed by a front surface of the cabinet and the door is a set angle or less.
Regarding claim 11, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
11. wherein the damper is configured to: operate based on the first damping operation when the door is in a first section that is a point at which the damper starts to operate and a point at which the angle between the front surface of the cabinet and the door is the set angle; and operate based on the second damping operation when the door is in a second section that is between a point at which the door closes the storage compartment and the point at which the angle between the front surface of the cabinet and the door is the set angle.
Regarding claim 14, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
14. wherein the damper comprises: a housing configured to accommodate fluid; and a piston configured to compress the fluid while moving in the housing to generate the damping force, wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation when a distance moved by the piston is a set distance or greater. (Liebherr, see figure 3, housing 12, fluid 53, piston 50, first section 61, second section 63)
Regarding claim 15, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
15. wherein an inner space of the housing includes: a first inner diameter section; and a second inner diameter section, an inner diameter of the second inner diameter section being greater than an inner diameter of the first inner diameter section, wherein the first inner diameter section and the second inner diameter section are arranged along a direction in which the piston moves, wherein, when the distance moved by the piston is less than the set distance, the piston moves in the first inner diameter section, and wherein, when the distance moved by the piston is the set distance or greater, the piston moves in the second inner diameter section. (Liebherr, see figure 3, housing 12, fluid 53, piston 50, first section 61, second section 63)
Regarding claim 16, Collene in view Liebherr teaches
16. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation when an angular speed of the door is a set speed or less.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11,859,434 to Collene in view of European Patent EP 1884614 to Liebherr as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2021/0364223 to Oh.
Collene in view of Liebherr discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a pillar.
Oh teaches
A French door style refrigerator having a door (20) with a rotating pillar (203) for sealing between the doors (20b, 20a) as best seen in figure 5 (par 72). A hinge assembly (figure 6) connect the door to the cabinet an includes a damper (46).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Collene in view of Liebherr to include a rotating pillar between the french doors as taught by Oh to shield the space (seal the cooling chamber).
The examiner considers that there is no direct connection between the pillar and the hinge and therefore any response from the hinge or damper based on the position of the pillar is design choice that is already in the design of the damper of Collene in view of Liebherr.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US Patent 11,859,434 to Collene in view of US Patent 10,865,597 to Chen.
Collene teaches.
A refrigerator, comprising: a cabinet (B, HP) having a storage compartment (CS);
a door (RD) rotatably connected to the cabinet to open and close the storage compartment; and a damper (D) configured to provide a damping force to resist the movement a movement of door as the door rotates in a closing direction (Figure 14-16), wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force, and wherein the damper includes a first end (SC) connected to the door and a second end () that is not fixed, the second end being configured to contact the cabinet based on a location of the cabinet with respect to the door ().
Collene does not expressly disclose two different damping force.
Chen teaches a damper with varying inner diameters that allow for varying damping effect based on the position of the piston (Col 5, line 60 – Col 6, line 43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Collene by using a staged damper as taught by Chen to better control door closing.
Regarding claim 2, Collene in view Chen teaches
2. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the first damping operation and the second damping operation are performed consecutively (Chen, figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Collene in view Chen teaches
3. wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force when an angle formed by a front surface of the cabinet and the door becomes a predetermined angle or less. (Chen, figure 5)
Regarding claim 6, Collene in view Chen teaches
6. wherein the damper is located at the door (Collene, figure 14-16).
Regarding claim 7, Collene in view Chen teaches
7. wherein the refrigerator further comprises a hinge assembly (Collene, figure 14-16) configured to rotatably connect the door to the cabinet, and wherein the damper is configured to generate the damping force while being pressed by the hinge assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Collene in view Chen teaches
8. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein the damper includes: a cylinder configured to accommodate fluid in an inner space thereof; and a piston configured to compress the fluid while moving in the inner space of the cylinder to generate the damping force, and wherein the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation based on a change in a position of the piston in the inner space of the cylinder (Chen, figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Collene in view Chen teaches
9. A refrigerator, comprising: a cabinet having a storage compartment; a door rotatably connected to the cabinet to open and close the storage compartment; and a damper configured to provide a damping force to resist a movement of door as the door rotates in a closing direction, the damping force including a first damping force having a first magnitude and a second damping force having a second magnitude that is less than the first magnitude, wherein as the door rotates in the closing direction the damping force provided by the damper changes from the first damping force to the second damping force, where in the damper includes: a cylinder including an inner space; a piston configured to compress a fluid located inside the cylinder while moving in the inner space of the cylinder to generate the damping force and a rod connected to the piston, wherein the inner space of the cylinder includes: a first inner diameter section; and a second inner diameter section, an inner diameter of the second inner diameter section being greater than an inner diameter of the first inner diameter section, and the second inner diameter section being located at an end of the cylinder, wherein the first inner diameter section is located closer to an end of the rod located outside of the cylinder than the second inner diameter section wherein, as the piston moves in the first inner diameter section, the damper is configured to operate based on the first damping operation, and wherein, as the piston moves in the second inner diameter section, the damper is configured to operate based on the second damping operation.
Regarding claim 10, Collene in view Chen teaches
10. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation when an angle formed by a front surface of the cabinet and the door is a predetermined angle or less. (Chen, figure 5)
Regarding claim 11, Collene in view Chen teaches
11. wherein the damper is configured to: operate based on the first damping operation when the door is in a first section that is a point at which the damper starts to operate and a point at which the angle between the front surface of the cabinet and the door is the predetermined angle; and operate based on the second damping operation when the door is in a second section that is between a point at which the door closes the storage compartment and the point at which the angle between the front surface of the cabinet and the door is the predetermined angle. (Chen figure 5)
Regarding claim 14, Collene in view Chen teaches
14. wherein the damper comprises: a housing configured to accommodate fluid; and a piston configured to compress the fluid while moving in the housing to generate the damping force, wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation when a distance moved by the piston is a predetermined distance or greater. (Chen, figure 5)
Regarding claim 15, Collene in view Chen teaches
15. wherein an inner space of the housing includes: a first inner diameter section; and a second inner diameter section, an inner diameter of the second inner diameter section being greater than an inner diameter of the first inner diameter section, wherein the first inner diameter section and the second inner diameter section are arranged along a direction in which the piston moves, wherein, when the distance moved by the piston is less than the predetermined distance, the piston moves in the first inner diameter section, and wherein, when the distance moved by the piston is the predetermined distance or greater, the piston moves in the second inner diameter section. (Chen, figure 5)
Regarding claim 16, Collene in view Chen teaches
16. wherein the damper is configured to operate based on at least any one of a first damping operation to provide the first damping force and a second damping operation to provide the second damping force, and wherein, as the door rotates in the closing direction, the damper is configured to transition between the first damping operation and the second damping operation based on a location of a piston of the damper. (Chen, figure 5)
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11,859,434 to Collene in view of US Patent 10,865,597 to Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2021/0364223 to Oh.
Collene in view of Chen discloses every element as claimed and discussed above except a pillar.
Oh teaches
A French door style refrigerator having a door (20) with a rotating pillar (203) for sealing between the doors (20b, 20a) as best seen in figure 5 (par 72). A hinge assembly (figure 6) connect the door to the cabinet an includes a damper (46).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the refrigerator of Collene in view of Chen to include a rotating pillar between the french doors as taught by Oh to shield the space (seal the cooling chamber).
The examiner considers that there is no direct connection between the pillar and the hinge and therefore any response from the hinge or damper based on the position of the pillar is design choice that is already in the design of the damper of Collene in view of Chen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.A/Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637