DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims received on 1/31/2024.
Title of Invention Is Not Descriptive
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
WIRELESS COMMUNICATION TRANSCEIVER HAVING A PLUG CONNECTOR ROTATABLY CONNECTED TO THE TRANSCEIVER BODY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the connection portion (22)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Please refer to MPEP 2173.05(e): "A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The lack of clarity could arise where a claim refers to "said lever" or "the lever," where the claim contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a lever and where it would be unclear as to what element the limitation was making reference. Similarly, if two different levers are recited earlier in the claim, the recitation of "said lever" in the same or subsequent claim would be unclear where it is uncertain which of the two levers was intended. A claim which refers to "said aluminum lever," but recites only "a lever" earlier in the claim, is indefinite because it is uncertain as to the lever to which reference is made." In this case, claimed "the connection portion (22)" was not previously mentioned in claim 1. The Examiner suggests the following correction: " a connection portion (22)".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Test for Obviousness
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (publication number 2012/0093352), hereinafter Huang, and further in view of Cai et al (publication number 2023/0048798), hereinafter Cai.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a communication transmitter (Huang [0020] FIG. 3: The loudspeaker 31 is electrically connected to the circuit board 32 by a transmission line so as to receive audio signals from the circuit board 32 and transmit the audio content of the audio signals to the corresponding loudspeakers 31 for reproduction – Therefore, Huang's invention includes a transmitter), comprising:
a transmitter body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33) and a plug connector (2, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, signal connector 34) rotatably connected to the transmitter body, wherein the transmitter body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33) is provided with an accommodation chamber (11, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, receiving groove 331), the plug connector (2, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, signal connector 34) can rotate relative to the transmitter body (1) to be placed in or detached from the accommodation chamber (11, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, the detachable loudspeaker structure 3 includes a housing 33 and a signal connector 34. The top surface of the housing 33 is further provided with a receiving groove 331 in which one end of the signal connector 34 is pivotally connected, thus allowing the other end of the signal connector 34 to be completely received in or rotated out of the receiving groove 331).
Huang does not explicitly teach "transceiver".
Cai teaches a wireless communication transceiver (Cai [0038] [0050] Apparatus 2 of Fig. 2 includes wireless connection components for receiving and/or transmitting audio or image data through a Personal Area Network (PAN), Local Area Network (LAN), and/or Wide Area Network (WAN). For example, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and/or a cellular connection component, e.g. LTE, GSM, or CDMA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Cai into the disclosure of Huang because individuals and businesses often need to communicate with distant or remote locations. Such communications may include audio or video arrangements that require stationary communication systems, combinations of multiple audio or video devices, and small-screen displays (Cai [0001]); in order to provide an all-in-one apparatus for video communications, such as videoconferencing, for receiving, producing, recording, and/or transmitting audio or images including one or more projectors, speakers, cameras, microphones, all of these multiple components in a single compact portable body (Cai [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches wherein the accommodation chamber (11, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, receiving groove 331) is located at a position of an edge of the transceiver body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33 – In Huang's Fig. 3, part of the receiving groove is close to an edge on the right side of the housing 33).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches wherein one end of the plug connector (2, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, pivotally connected end of the signal connector 34) is provided with a connection portion (22, Huang [0021] FIG. 3, projection 341), the transceiver body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33) is provided with an installation groove (12, Huang [0021] FIG. 3, plurality of recesses 333) for matching with the connection portion (22, Huang [0021] FIG. 3, the pivotally connected end of the signal connector 34 is provided with a projection 341, and the inner wall of the receiving groove 331 is formed with a plurality of recesses 333. The projection 341 can be engaged in any of the recesses 333 so as to position the pivotally connected end of the signal connector 34 at different angles).
Regarding claim 8, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the transceiver body (1) is prismatic.
Cai teaches wherein the transceiver body (1) is prismatic (Cai [0032] [0050] The compact portable body of the apparatus 2 may be substantially shaped like a cylinder, rectangular prism, or cube).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang by incorporating the teachings of Cai into the disclosure of Huang because individuals and businesses often need to communicate with distant or remote locations. Such communications may include audio or video arrangements that require stationary communication systems, combinations of multiple audio or video devices, and small-screen displays (Cai [0001]); in order to provide an all-in-one apparatus for video communications, such as videoconferencing, for receiving, producing, recording, and/or transmitting audio or images including one or more projectors, speakers, cameras, microphones, all of these multiple components in a single compact portable body (Cai [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches wherein the accommodation chamber (11, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, receiving groove 331) is provided at a connection position between a first side and a second side of the transceiver body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33: In Huang's Fig. 3, the receiving groove 331 is located between the left side and the right side of the housing 33).
Claims 2, 4-5, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Cai, and further in view of Hsieh (publication number 2006/0084284), hereinafter Hsieh.
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches wherein the accommodation chamber (11) comprises a first opening (111, Huang [0020] FIG. 3: receiving groove 331. Huang's receiving groove includes only one opening which is the groove 331 itself.) corresponding to the plug connector (2, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, signal connector 34).
It would have been obvious to leave enough room for a user to move Huang's signal connector 34 in and out of the receiving groove 331. However, Huang as modified does not explicitly teach "and a second opening (112) for a user to finger move the plug connector (2)".
Hsieh teaches wherein the accommodation chamber (11, Hsieh [0022] FIG. 1 and FIG. 2: two halves of lengthened shells, respectively named as upper shell (11) and the bottom shell (12), make up the body (10). [0026] When the upper and bottom shells (11 and 12) are closed, the cover (43) will be locked into position by the opening created by the two indentations, and as shown by FIGS. 2 and 4, the USB plug (40) can move in and out through the hole (45) on the cover (43) – Hsieh's space between upper shell 11 and bottom shell 12 equates to claimed "accommodation chamber") comprises:
a first opening (111, Hsieh's [0026] hole (45) on the cover (43). Alternatively, [0026] "opening created by the two indentations") corresponding to the plug connector (2, Hsieh's USB plug 40 in [0026]: As shown by FIGS. 2 and 4, the USB plug (40) can move in and out through the hole (45) on the cover (43)) and
a second opening (112, Elongated slot 13 in Hsieh [0022] [0023] [0028]) for a user to finger move the plug connector (2, Hsieh's USB plug 40 in [0022] [0023] [0028] While using the device, the handle (21) on the outside of the body (10), the sliding set (20) and the USB plug (40) will move simultaneously. The user can use the handle (21) to push or pull the sliding set (20) and hence move the USB plug (40) in or out of the body (10) through the hole (45) at the front.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang as modified by incorporating the teachings of Hsieh into the disclosure of Huang as modified in order to present a satisfactory solution to solving various problems, namely the prevention of damaging the USB plug, loss of the cover, difficulties with connecting a memory stick to a PC or a notebook (Hsieh [0008]), and in order to protect the USB plug by the body (10) itself from colliding, scratching, and other possible external damages (Hsieh [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches wherein a protrusion (21) is provided on the plug connector (2) for the user to move the plug connector (2, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, signal connector 34 has 3 segments: bottom, middle, top. Claimed "protrusion" equates to the middle and the top segments of signal connector 34 which are represented outside of, and above, the receiving groove 331 in Fig. 3).
Huang as modified does not explicitly teach "the second opening (112)".
Hsieh teaches wherein a protrusion (21, Hsieh's handle 21 in [0022] [0023] [0028]) corresponding to the second opening (112, Elongated slot 13 in Hsieh [0022] [0023] [0028]) is provided on the plug connector (2, Hsieh's USB plug 40 in [0026]) for the user to move the plug connector (2, Hsieh's USB plug 40 in [0022] [0023] [0028]: While using the device, the user can use the handle (21) to push or pull the sliding set (20) and hence move the USB plug (40) in or out of the body (10) through the hole (45) at the front).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang as modified by incorporating the teachings of Hsieh into the disclosure of Huang as modified in order to present a satisfactory solution to solving various problems, namely the prevention of damaging the USB plug, loss of the cover, difficulties with connecting a memory stick to a PC or a notebook (Hsieh [0008]), and in order to protect the USB plug by the body (10) itself from colliding, scratching, and other possible external damages (Hsieh [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches wherein the protrusion (21, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, signal connector 34 has 3 segments: bottom, middle, top. Claimed "protrusion" equates to the middle and the top segments of signal connector 34 which are represented outside of, and above, the receiving groove 331 in Fig. 3) is composed of a bottom (211, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, middle segment of signal connector 34) and a top (212, top, dome-shaped segment of Huang's signal connector 34 of Fig. 3), the bottom (211) is fixedly connected to the protrusion (21, the parts of Huang's signal connector 34 are all interconnected, so "fixedly connected" is met by Huang's Fig. 3. For example, the middle segment of signal connector 34 is connected to the bottom segment, and the bottom segment is also a protrusion), the top (212, top, dome-shaped segment of Huang's signal connector 34 of Fig. 3) is fixedly connected to one side of the bottom (211, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, middle segment of signal connector 34) away from the protrusion (21, bottom segment of Huang's signal connector 34, which is also a protrusion).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches wherein a rotation shaft (221, Huang Fig. 3 represents concentric circles above the projection 341 which suggest the presence of a rotation shaft) is provided on the connection portion (22, Huang [0021] FIG. 3, projection 341).
Huang as modified does not explicitly teach: "rotation hole (121) is provided on the transceiver body (1) for rotating and matching with the rotation shaft (221)".
Hsieh teaches wherein a rotation shaft (221, hinge 42 in Hsieh [0025]) is provided on the connection portion (22, portion of the body where the hinge 42 is connected to the body), a rotation hole (121, hole in the interior of swing part 41, the hole being pivoted in the hinge (42) in Hsieh [0025]) is provided on the transceiver body (1, USB plug 40 in Hsieh [0025]) for rotating and matching with the rotation shaft (221, hinge 42 in Hsieh [0025]: As shown by FIG. 1, the swing-able plug unit consists of a hinge (42) and a swing part (41), the swing part (41) which interior has the hole pivoted in the hinge (42) to maintain relative motions each other, hence the USB plug (40) can swing freely from side to side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang as modified by incorporating the teachings of Hsieh into the disclosure of Huang as modified in order to present a satisfactory solution to solving various problems, namely the prevention of damaging the USB plug, loss of the cover, difficulties with connecting a memory stick to a PC or a notebook (Hsieh [0008]), and in order to protect the USB plug by the body (10) itself from colliding, scratching, and other possible external damages (Hsieh [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches wherein the first opening (111, Huang [0020] FIG. 3: receiving groove 331. Huang's receiving groove includes only one opening which is the groove 331 itself.) is provided on the first side of the transceiver body (1, Huang [0020] FIG. 3, housing 33 – In Huang's Fig. 3, part of the receiving groove is close to the right side of the housing 33).
Huang as modified does not explicitly teach: "The second opening (112) is provided on the second side of the transceiver body (1)".
Hsieh teaches wherein the first opening (111, Hsieh's [0026] hole (45) on the cover (43). Alternatively, [0026] "opening created by the two indentations" – in either case, located on the right side of Fig. 1) is provided on the first side of the transceiver body (1, on the right side), the second opening (112, Elongated slot 13 in Hsieh [0022] [0023] [0028] – Hsieh's elongated slot 13 is located at the top side) is provided on the second side of the transceiver body (1, at the top side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Huang as modified by incorporating the teachings of Hsieh into the disclosure of Huang as modified in order to present a satisfactory solution to solving various problems, namely the prevention of damaging the USB plug, loss of the cover, difficulties with connecting a memory stick to a PC or a notebook (Hsieh [0008]), and in order to protect the USB plug by the body (10) itself from colliding, scratching, and other possible external damages (Hsieh [0028]).
Conclusion
/RONALD EISNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644