DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/428,075 filed on 1/31/2024 is presented for examination. 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 01/31/2024 and 05/05/2025 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the co-pending application number 18/773,482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with apparatus comprising a substrate, a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first terminal of a battery.
The examined claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by the co-pending application of 18/773,482.
Claim 1 of the instant application No. 18/428,075
Claims 1/12 of the co-pending application 18/773,482
An apparatus comprising: a substrate; a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver, and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first battery terminal of a battery; and a second charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver, and configured to apply a second electric potential to a second battery terminal of the battery.
1.An apparatus comprising: a substrate; a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first battery terminal of a battery; a second charger terminal disposed on the substrate and configured to apply a second electric potential to a second battery terminal of the battery; and a barrier located on the substrate between the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal and configured to electrically isolate the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal by obstructing formation of a conductive path by way of a liquid disposed on the substrate.
12. wherein each of the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal comprises silver.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the co-pending application number 18/773,482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with apparatus comprising a substrate, a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first terminal of a battery.
The examined claim 19 of the instant application is anticipated by the co-pending application of 18/773,482.
Claim 19 of the instant application No. 18/428,075
Claims 19 of the co-pending application 18/773,482
A system for charging a battery, the system comprising: a substrate; a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver, and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first battery terminal of the battery; and a second charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver, and configured to apply a second electric potential to a second battery terminal of the battery.
A system for charging a battery, the system comprising: a substrate; a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first battery terminal of the battery; a second charger terminal disposed on the substrate and configured to apply a second electric potential to a second battery terminal of the battery; and a barrier located on the substrate between the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal and configured to electrically isolate the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal by obstructing formation of a conductive path by way of a liquid disposed on the substrate.
Method claim 20 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over method claim 20 of the co-pending application number 18/773,482. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with apparatus comprising a substrate, a first charger terminal disposed on the substrate, comprising silver and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first terminal of a battery.
The examined claim 19 of the instant application is anticipated by the co-pending application of 18/773,482.
Claim 20 of the instant application No. 18/428,075
Claims 20 of the co-pending application 18/773,482
A method comprising: positioning a vehicle on a substrate; forming a first electrical connection between a first charger terminal and a first battery terminal of a battery of the vehicle, wherein the first charger terminal is disposed on the substrate, comprises silver, and is configured to apply a first electric potential to the first battery terminal; and forming a second electrical connection between a second charger terminal and a second battery terminal of the battery, wherein the second charger terminal is disposed on the substrate, comprises silver, and is configured to apply a second electric potential to the second battery terminal.
A method comprising: positioning a vehicle on a substrate; forming a first electrical connection between a first charger terminal and a first battery terminal of a battery of the vehicle, wherein the first charger terminal is disposed on the substrate and is configured to apply a first electric potential to the first battery terminal; and forming a second electrical connection between a second charger terminal and a second battery terminal of the battery, wherein the second charger terminal is disposed on the substrate and is configured to apply a second electric potential to the second battery terminal, and wherein a barrier is located on the substrate between the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal and configured to electrically isolate the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal by obstructing formation of a conductive path by way of a liquid disposed on the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrahi et al. (US 2020/0052512) (Hereinafter, Farrahi) in view of Morris et al. (US 2016/0311336).
With respect to claims 1, 3 and 17-20, Farrahi discloses an apparatus/method comprising: a substrate; a first charger terminal (Fig. 11, 12a) disposed on the substrate (See reproduced Fig. 11, ‘substrate’, which is the body where the conductors ‘12a’, ‘12b’ and insulators ‘12c’ are built on’), comprising metal (Para. # 0062: formed of conductive material such as metal),
and configured to apply a first electric potential to a first battery terminal of a battery (Para. # 0062: a first conductor block 12a is a block made of a conductive material such as metal, and has a first polarity, such as positive (+); the first conductor block 12a electrically engages with a corresponding electrode of the same polarity (i.e., positive) of a drone that has entered charging station 10.); and a second charger terminal (Fig. 11, 12b; para# 0062: a second conductor block 12b is also formed of conductive material such as metal. For charging purposes, conductor block 12b has a second polarity different from the first polarity, i.e., negative (−)) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 11, ‘substrate’), and configured to apply a second electric potential to a second battery terminal of the battery (Para. # 0067: Similarly, an electrode of negative polarity at least partially exposed along receiving region 28 receives a charge from second conductor block 12b as drone 18 winds its way along (from one end to the opposite end) drone charging station 10).
Farrahi, does not expressly disclose that the substrate that the charger terminals are disposed on comprise silver.
Morris, on the other hand, discloses disclose the substrate that the charger terminals are disposed on comprise silver (Para. # 0047: the charge points may be formed of any conductive material, including but not limited to aluminum, silver, gold, or alloys or combinations thereof, and/or may be plated or clad with any conductive material including but not limited to copper, aluminum, silver, gold, alloys).
FARRAHI and Morris are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely automated drone charging station and electric vehicle charging portable electronic device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a charger terminals made of silver to the automated drone charging station of Farrahi in view of Morris as charging terminal made with silver offers multiple benefits, such as excellent electrical conductivity, silver terminals degenerate less heat preventing overheating of charging connectors in the case of electric vehicles and forms a stable oxide layer that resists corrosion.
With respect to claims 2 and 4, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising: the substrate as described above, Morris further discloses; wherein each of the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal comprises a conductive body plated with the silver (Para. # 0047: conductive material including but not limited to copper, aluminum, silver).
With respect to claim 5, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising: the substrate as described above, Farrahi further discloses wherein a corresponding size of each of the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal is based on a distance between electrical connectors of a vehicle comprising the battery and configured to charge the battery via the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal (Para. # 0065/121: FIG. 1, drone charging station 10 may host and simultaneously charge up to four drones; charging station 10 that can be used for simultaneous charging of multiple drones).
With respect to claim 6, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising: the substrate as described above, Farrahi further discloses further comprising: a power supply configured to apply (i) the first electric potential to the first charger terminal and (ii) the second electric potential to the second charger terminal (para. # 106/107: a first polarity for electrically engaging with a corresponding first electrode 60 of drone 18, the first interior conductor block 86 having a first drone guiding portion 87. Hollow charging tube 84 includes second interior conductor block 88 having a second polarity different from the first polarity for electrically engaging with a corresponding second electrode 64 of drone 18, the second interior conductor block 88).
With respect to claim 7, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising: the substrate as described above, Farrahi further discloses further comprising: a barrier located on the substrate between the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal and configured to electrically isolate the first charger terminal and the second charger terminal by obstructing formation of a conductive path by way of a liquid disposed on the substrate (Para. # 0063: two poles of an electricity source to be connected to two different conductor blocks, e.g., conductor blocks 12a and 12b, which are isolated from each other by an insulator block l2c. An arrangement of a first conductor block 12a/second conductor block 12b/insulator block 12c is referred to herein as a charging stack 15. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, drone charging station 10 includes four separate charging stacks).
With respect to claims 10-12, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising: the substrate as described above, Farrahi further discloses wherein the barrier comprises a ridge disposed on the substrate (See below Fig. 11, the ridge structure in a substrate part with little height forming a channel structure).
With respect to claims 13-16, Farrahi the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus/method comprising a substrate as describe above, further Farrahi disclose wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of holes extending along the channel from a first side of the substrate into the channel to allow a liquid to run off from the first side of the substrate into the channel (para.# 0084, 90, 107: the structure forms a channel type structure with holes to reduce damage to the substrate material).
The combined references do not expressly disclose a telescoping tube a multi-position adjustment bracket or a trifold support.
However, these components of an EV charging station, such as the fasteners, anchors, and mounting hardware that hold the charger unit, connectors, and cables in place, while the nuts, bolts, and washers are common, and would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added or modify these structural materials to ensure electrical and mechanical safety, durability, and support the recharging battery stand out for prolonged period.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farrahi and Morris as disclosed above, further in view of Morris.613 (US 2006/0082613).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, the combined references of Farrahi and Morris disclose the apparatus as described above, but do not disclose the barrier comprises a layer of hydrophobic material.
Morris.613, however, discloses wherein the barrier comprises a layer of hydrophobic material having a lower hydrophilicity than the silver (Para. # 0040: he protective dielectric material 52 can be an epoxy, such as Epotek 353ND from Epotek Technology of Billerica, Mass.; a polyimide: which is well known for its hydrophobic feature that repels water on the surface).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added or modify the coating with hydrophobic materials to the automated drone charging station of Farrahi in view of Morris.613 as charging terminal made with hydrophobic materials or coatings would tend to repel the water droplet so that damage due to corrosion can be reduced.
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859