DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 7, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4-5, 7, 19, and 20 recite the acronym “DTX” without initially defining what it stands for.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palle Venkata et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240049114 A1), hereinafter Palle Venkata, in view of Davydov et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150029874 A1), hereinafter Davydov.
With respect to claim 1, Palle Venkata teaches A method of wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0044-0045], UE):
receiving a configuration of a non-cell defining (NCD) synchronization signal block (SSB) having a periodicity and a time offset ([0044-0045], UE receives a configuration message that includes the NCD-SSB that indicates the selected period and the selected time offset);
which transmissions of the NCD-SSB offset are dropped (fig. 5, [0053], NCD-SSB is limited to the three radio resources shown, the radio resources marked with an X in the NCD-SSB radio resource arrangement are dropped);
receiving at least one transmission of the NCD-SSB ([0045], UE receives the NCD-SSB transmission).
Although Palle Venkata teaches which transmissions of the NCD-SSB offset are dropped as set forth above. Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach receiving an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which transmissions are dropped, and based at least in part on the muting pattern.
However, Davydov teaches receiving an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which transmissions are dropped ([0028], UE receives an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which PDSCH transmissions are dropped), and based at least in part on the muting pattern ([0028], UE receives the transmission based on the muting pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov teaches the method of claim 1. Palle Venkata teaches refraining from receiving transmissions of the NCD-SSB that are dropped ([0053]).
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach as indicated by the muting pattern.
However, Davydov teaches as indicated by the muting pattern ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 16, Palle Venkata teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0044-0045], UE):
one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions ([0119], memory is storing executable instructions); and
one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to ([0119], processor is configured to execute the instructions):
receive a configuration of a non-cell defining (NCD) synchronization signal block (SSB) having a periodicity and a time offset ([0044-0045], UE receives a configuration message that includes the NCD-SSB that indicates the selected period and the selected time offset);
which transmissions of the NCD-SSB offset are dropped (fig. 5, [0053], NCD-SSB is limited to the three radio resources shown, the radio resources marked with an X in the NCD-SSB radio resource arrangement are dropped);
receiving at least one transmission of the NCD-SSB ([0045], UE receives the NCD-SSB transmission).
Although Palle Venkata teaches which transmissions of the NCD-SSB offset are dropped as set forth above. Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach receiving an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which transmissions are dropped, and based at least in part on the muting pattern.
However, Davydov teaches receiving an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which transmissions are dropped ([0028], UE receives an indication of a muting pattern that indicates which PDSCH transmissions are dropped), and based at least in part on the muting pattern ([0028], UE receives the transmission based on the muting pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 17, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 3-4, 7, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palle Venkata, in view of Davydov, and further in in view of Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240237133 A1), hereinafter Jeon.
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov teaches the method of claim 1. Palle Venkata teaches wherein the transmissions of the NCD-SSB that are dropped include all transmissions ([0053]).
The combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov does not explicitly teach within a non-active period of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration.
However, Jeon teaches within a non-active period of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Davydov with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov teaches the method of claim 1. Palle Venkata teaches transmission of the NCD-SSB ([0045]).
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach wherein the muting pattern indicates that at least one transmission.
However, Davydov teaches wherein the muting pattern indicates that at least one transmission ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
The combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov does not explicitly teach during a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration is not dropped.
However, Jeon teaches during a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration is not dropped ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Davydov with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Palle Venkata and Davydov does not explicitly teach receiving a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration.
However, Jeon teaches receiving a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Davydov with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palle Venkata, in view of Jeon.
With respect to claim 8, Palle Venkata teaches A method of wireless communications at a network node, comprising ([0044-0045], the base station):
transmitting a configuration of a non-cell defining (NCD) synchronization signal block (SSB) having a periodicity and a time offset ([0044-0045], the base station transmits a configuration message that includes the NCD-SSB that indicates the selected period and the selected time offset); and
dropping at least one transmission of the NCD-SSB when the periodicity and the time offset indicate that the transmission is within (fig. 5, [0053], NCD-SSB is limited to the three radio resources shown and is not able to use the radio resources marked with an X in the NCD-SSB radio resource arrangement).
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach determining a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration, and when the periodicity and the time offset indicate that the transmission is within the non-active period for the cell DTX configuration.
However, Jeon teaches determining a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration ([0007], the base station is configured to determine an active period and a non-active period of the cell DTX), and the non-active period for the cell DTX configuration ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon teaches the method of claim 8. Palle Venkata teaches wherein the at least one transmission of the NCD-SSB includes all transmissions ([0045]).
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach within the non-active period.
However, Jeon teaches within the non-active period ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon and Davydov teaches the method of claim 8.
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach transmitting, to one or more user equipment, the configuration of the active period and the non-active period for the cell DTX configuration.
However, Jeon teaches transmitting, to one or more user equipment, the configuration of the active period and the non-active period for the cell DTX configuration ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palle Venkata, in view of Jeon, in view of Davydov.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon teaches the method of claim 8. Palle Venkata teaches that indicates which transmissions of the NCD-SSB are dropped ([0053]).
The combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon does not explicitly teach transmitting an indication of a muting pattern.
However, Davydov teaches transmitting an indication of a muting pattern ([028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Jeon with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon teaches the method of claim 8. Palle Venkata teaches transmission of the NCD-SSB ([0045]).
Palle Venkata does not explicitly teach during a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration is not dropped.
However, Jeon teaches during a non-active period for a cell DTX configuration is not dropped ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata with the teachings of Jeon, in order for a serving gNB to perform fast adaptation of a NW operation state, with small signaling overhead, while simultaneously informing all UEs (Jeon, [0091]).
The combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein the muting pattern indicates that at least one transmission.
However, Davydov teaches wherein the muting pattern indicates that at least one transmission ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Jeon with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Palle Venkata, Jeon, and Davydov teaches the method of claim 10. Jeon teaches the non-active period ([0007]).
The combination of Palle Venkata and Jeon does not explicitly teach the muting pattern indicates that all transmissions within the are dropped.
However, Davydov teaches teach the muting pattern indicates that all transmissions within the are dropped ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Palle Venkata and Jeon with the teachings of Davydov, in order to reduce the interference caused by the CSI-RS signals of neighbor cells (Davydov, [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20130343315 A1; “Tiirola”, ([0030])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469