Notice to Applicants
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 01/31/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 6, 11, 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitations of “the skeletal information” (line 3). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the skeletal information” is referring back to “the skeleton information” in claim 1 or something else. Clarification/explanation is required.
With respect to claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5, are applicable.
With respect to claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5, are applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 5, 7, 11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0083769) (hereafter, "Nakayama").
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0002] Embodiments described herein relate generally to a work estimation apparatus, a method and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) storing a posture specification program causing a computer to execute ([0059] The posture estimation unit 121 may specify a worker, based on the video data. Specifically, the posture estimation unit 121 identifies a detected worker by using worker identification data. The worker identification data includes for example, a learned model (worker identification model) trained to identify a worker from video data. The worker identification model is trained in advance such that the worker can be identified from a face photograph of a worker and a photograph of the clothes of the worker): generating skeleton information indicating two dimensional coordinates of a plurality of joints of a person based on visual information which is obtained by capturing the person ([0057] The learned models used to estimate the posture of a person include, for example, a two-dimensional skeleton estimation model that estimates a skeleton of a person of video data on a two-dimensional image, a three-dimensional skeleton estimation model that estimates a three-dimensional skeleton by applying a two-dimensional skeleton estimation result; [0058] The two-dimensional skeleton estimation model is trained in advance such that a person can be detected from video data and a skeleton can be detected from the detected person; [0078] After the video data is acquired, the posture estimation unit 121 estimates a posture of the worker, based on the video data. Specifically, the posture estimation unit 121 detects a skeleton of a person from video data, using a two-dimensional skeleton estimation model); setting angles of the plurality of joints and a direction of a part of the person based on the skeleton information ([0090] The posture estimation unit 121 calculates an angle by which the waist is bent, based on angle θ1 formed by vector v1 and vector v2, the vector v1 representing the direction from the midpoint of the hips (key point KP13 of the “right hip” and key point KP14 of the “left hip”) of the three-dimensional human skeleton model to the midpoint between the feet (key point KP17 of the “right foot” and key point KP18 of the “left foot”), and the vector v2 representing the direction from, the midpoint of the hips to the neck (key point KP6 of the “neck”). The posture estimation unit 121 further calculates an angle by which the waist is twisted, based on angle θ2 formed by vector v3 and vector v4, the vector v3 representing the direction from the right hip to the left hip of the three-dimensional human skeleton model, and the vector v4 representing the direction from the right shoulder (key point KP11 of the “right shoulder”) to the left shoulder (key point KP12 of the “left shoulder”)); and specifying a posture of the person based on the angles of the plurality of joints and the direction of the part of the person ([0090] The posture estimation unit 121 calculates an angle by which the waist is bent, based on angle θ1 formed by vector v1 and vector v2, the vector v1 representing the direction from the midpoint of the hips (key point KP13 of the “right hip” and key point KP14 of the “left hip”) of the three-dimensional human skeleton model to the midpoint between the feet (key point KP17 of the “right foot” and key point KP18 of the “left foot”), and the vector v2 representing the direction from, the midpoint of the hips to the neck (key point KP6 of the “neck”). The posture estimation unit 121 further calculates an angle by which the waist is twisted, based on angle θ2 formed by vector v3 and vector v4, the vector v3 representing the direction from the right hip to the left hip of the three-dimensional human skeleton model, and the vector v4 representing the direction from the right shoulder (key point KP11 of the “right shoulder”) to the left shoulder (key point KP12 of the “left shoulder”). The posture estimation unit 121 classifies (estimates) the states of the “back”, based on whether or not each of the angles θ1 and θ2 exceeds 20 degrees; [0095] posture estimation results using the behavior estimation model are expressed as combinations of the states of a plurality of body parts. Specifically, a posture estimation result corresponds to a combination of state classification symbols of a plurality of body parts shown in the Table 19 of FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Nakayama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Nakayama teaches further comprising: specifying an angle of a joint based on the skeletal information corresponding to the posture specified by the specifying the posture ([0089] The states of the “back” of the three-dimensional human skeleton model can be classified, for example, by an angle by which the waist is bent and an angle by which the waist twisted. Specifically, the states of the “back” can be distinguished by detecting whether or not the waist is bent by 20 degrees or more and whether or not the waist is twisted by 20 degrees or more; [0090]).
With respect to claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1, are applicable.
With respect to claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5, are applicable.
With respect to claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1, are applicable.
With respect to claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5, are applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 3, 8, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0083769) (hereafter, "Nakayama") in view of UTSUNOMIYA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0003687) (hereafter, "UTSUNOMIYA") and further in view of NAITO et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0188736) (hereafter, "NAITO").
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Nakayama does not expressly teach wherein the setting of the direction of the part includes setting, as the direction of the part, one of an upward direction and a downward direction based on the direction of the part when an angle of the direction of the part with respect to a horizontal direction is equal to or larger than a first angle.
However, UTSUNOMIYA teaches wherein the setting of the direction of the part includes setting, as the direction of the part, one of an upward direction and a downward direction ([0231] FIG. 24F illustrates index values for forward flexion and rearward flexion of the neck. FIG. 24G illustrates index values for forward flexion and rearward flexion of the thoracolumbar area) based on the direction of the part when an angle of the direction of the part with respect to a horizontal direction ([0144] as illustrated in FIG. 9B, for example, the analyzing unit 142 calculates an angle “θ2” of the axis from the joint “2e” corresponding to the right shoulder to the joint “2i” corresponding to the left shoulder, with respect to the horizontal direction on the x-z plane. In that situation, the analyzing unit 142 calculates a straight line that passes through the coordinate information (x5,z5) of the joint “2e” corresponding to the right shoulder and the coordinate information (x9,z9) of the joint “2i” corresponding to the left shoulder in a predetermined frame and further calculates the angle formed by the calculated straight line and a straight line parallel to the x-axis as the angle “θ2”. In other words, the analyzing unit 142 calculates a degree of deviation of the body in a rotation direction centered on the body axis; [0145] the analyzing unit 142 calculates an angle “θ3” of the axis (the body axis) from the joint “2a” corresponding to the head to the joint “2c” corresponding to the lumbar, with respect to the vertical direction on the x-y plane. In that situation, the analyzing unit 142 calculates a straight line that passes through the coordinate information (x1,z1) of the joint “2a” corresponding to the head and the coordinate information (x3,z3) of the joint “2c” corresponding to the lumbar in a predetermined frame and further calculates the angle formed by the calculated straight line and a straight line parallel to the y-axis as the angle “θ3”; [0248] & [0250]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Nakayama to incorporate the step/system of determining an upward or a downward direction as a direction of a body part and determining a degree of deviation of the body based on an angle of a body part with respect to a horizontal direction taught by UTSUNOMIYA.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of evaluation by analyzing angles of a body part ([0173] the motion information processing apparatus 100 is able to set the designating parts in medically significant positions and thus makes it possible to perform the evaluation more accurately). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results.
UTSUNOMIYA does not expressly teach ... is equal to or larger than a first angle.
However, NAITO teaches … is equal to or larger than a first angle ([0089] The spine angle (Spine_Angle of an incline) is an angle formed by the Z axis and a line segment passing through joint No. 0 and joint No. 2. For example, a spine angle of “θA1 or smaller” indicates that the center line of a competitor's body is along the vertically upward direction; [0136] when a posture with a waist angle of 135° or larger and a knee angle of 90° or larger is defined as a posture of a stretched body, the evaluation unit 164 judges, based on the graph 30, that a stretch or bend posture of the player 10 is a “bending posture”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of combination of Nakayama and UTSUNOMIYA to incorporate the step/system of determining a direction by using a predetermined angle taught by NAITO.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of measuring the angle of body parts ([0047] In a scoring competition, a referee judges the success or failure of a skill and the degree of perfection of the skill, based on a body orientation angle of a player, but, it is difficult to accurately measure the angle with human's eyes). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Nakayama and UTSUNOMIYA with NAITO to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Nakayama does not expressly teach wherein the setting of the direction of the part includes setting, as the direction of the part, one of a left direction and a right direction based on the direction of the part when an angle of the direction of the part with respect to a vertical direction is equal to or larger than a second angle.
However, UTSUNOMIYA teaches wherein the setting of the direction of the part includes setting, as the direction of the part, one of a left direction and a right direction ([0256] FIG. 25A illustrates an index value for the abduction and the adduction of the shoulder. FIG. 25E illustrates an index value for the external rotation and the internal rotation of the shoulder) based on the direction of the part when an angle of the direction of the part with respect to a vertical direction ([0145] as illustrated in FIG. 9C, the analyzing unit 142 calculates an angle “θ3” of the axis (the body axis) from the joint “2a” corresponding to the head to the joint “2c” corresponding to the lumbar, with respect to the vertical direction on the x-y plane. In that situation, the analyzing unit 142 calculates a straight line that passes through the coordinate information (x1,z1) of the joint “2a” corresponding to the head and the coordinate information (x3,z3) of the joint “2c” corresponding to the lumbar in a predetermined frame and further calculates the angle formed by the calculated straight line and a straight line parallel to the y-axis as the angle “θ3”. In other words, the analyzing unit 142 calculates the degree of the left-right angle (the left-right angle for the subject); [0144] the analyzing unit 142 calculates an angle “θ2” of the axis from the joint “2e” corresponding to the right shoulder to the joint “2i” corresponding to the left shoulder, with respect to the horizontal direction on the x-z plane. In that situation, the analyzing unit 142 calculates a straight line that passes through the coordinate information (x5,z5) of the joint “2e” corresponding to the right shoulder and the coordinate information (x9,z9) of the joint “2i” corresponding to the left shoulder in a predetermined frame and further calculates the angle formed by the calculated straight line and a straight line parallel to the x-axis as the angle “θ2”; [0261] & [0262]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Nakayama to incorporate the step/system of determining a left and right direction as a direction of a body part and determining a degree of deviation of the body based on an angle of a body part with respect to a vertical direction taught by UTSUNOMIYA.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of evaluation by analyzing angles of a body part ([0173] the motion information processing apparatus 100 is able to set the designating parts in medically significant positions and thus makes it possible to perform the evaluation more accurately). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results.
UTSUNOMIYA does not expressly teach ... is equal to or larger than a second angle.
However, NAITO teaches … is equal to or larger than a second angle ([0089] The spine angle (Spine_Angle of an incline) is an angle formed by the Z axis and a line segment passing through joint No. 0 and joint No. 2. For example, a spine angle of “θA1 or smaller” indicates that the center line of a competitor's body is along the vertically upward direction; [0140] When the arm angle of the cross is smaller than 45°, the evaluation unit 164 judges that the cross has been successful; [0158] The evaluation unit 164 judges a shift in a twist angle of the body during a salto, based on a shift in the right-left direction of the waist; [0123]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of combination of Nakayama and UTSUNOMIYA to incorporate the step/system of determining a direction by using a predetermined angle taught by NAITO.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of measuring the angle of body parts ([0047] In a scoring competition, a referee judges the success or failure of a skill and the degree of perfection of the skill, based on a body orientation angle of a player, but, it is difficult to accurately measure the angle with human's eyes). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Nakayama and UTSUNOMIYA with NAITO to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
With respect to claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2, are applicable.
With respect to claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3, are applicable.
With respect to claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2, are applicable.
With respect to claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3, are applicable.
Claim 4, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0083769) (hereafter, "Nakayama") in view of KANNAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0114751) (hereafter, "KANNAN").
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Nakayama teaches wherein the specifying the posture includes: repeatedly executing the specifying the posture every time the angles of the plurality of joints and the direction of the part of the person are set; and ([0118] Where the video data is acquired in real time, the process flow may return to step ST110 after the processing of step ST130, and the subsequent processes may be repeated; [0076] The flowchart of FIG. 4 illustrates details of the processing of step ST120 shown in FIG. 3; [0078] After the video data is acquired, the posture estimation unit 121 estimates a posture of the worker, based on the video data; [0090] The posture estimation unit 121 calculates an angle by which the waist is bent, based on angle θ1 formed by vector v1 and vector v2, the vector v1 representing the direction from the midpoint of the hips; [0083] After the three-dimensional human skeleton model is generated, the posture estimation unit 121 estimates a behavior and a posture of the person from the time series data on the three-dimensional human skeleton model).
Nakayama does not expressly teach correcting a type of the posture based on a pattern of consecutive postures specified by the specifying the posture.
However, KANNAN teaches correcting a type of the posture based on a pattern of consecutive postures specified by the specifying the posture ([0056] the AR content controller (160) is configured to estimate the posture of each object of the plurality of the objects based on features derived from the detected multiple body key-points to classify the posture of each object of the plurality of the objects in the scene; [0057] the AR content controller (160) is configured to classify the action of each object of the plurality of the objects based on the classified postures and multiple body key-points identified over a current frame and multiple past frames).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of combination of Nakayama to incorporate the step/system of classifying the posture of each object based on analyzing the sequence of postures over time (the pattern) taught by KANNAN.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve to predict the posture of each object in the scene and accuracy AR effects in the real-world environment ([0016] time interleaving … pose features obtained from multiple objects in a single camera frame, and providing each object pose feature as input to a simultaneous real-time classification model, one after the other, to predict the posture of all objects in the single camera frame before the next camera frame arrives ... applying … the simultaneous real-time classification model to predict the posture of each object in each frame of the scene; [0006] the existing methods/electronic device(s) do not consider multi-object interactions and intents to insert the AR text and the AR effects accurately in the real-world environment. Thus, it is desired to provide a useful alternative for inserting/generating the AR content in the electronic device). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Nakayama with KANNAN to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
With respect to claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4, are applicable.
With respect to claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4, are applicable.
Claim 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0083769) (hereafter, "Nakayama") in view of NAITO et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0188736) (hereafter, "NAITO").
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama teaches all the limitations of claim 5 above. Nakayama does not expressly teach further comprising: calculating a score for each of postures based on the angle of the joint of the respective postures and a reference angle of the joint of the respective postures; and calculating a total score of the postures.
However, NAITO teaches further comprising: calculating a score for each of postures based on the angle of the joint of the respective postures and a reference angle of the joint of the respective postures ([0113] The E evaluation index defines the number of points deducted in the E score in accordance with a value of an evaluation item. For example, when an evaluation item “the arm angle of the cross” corresponds to “1° to 15°”, “0.1” points are deducted from the E score. When the evaluation item “the arm angle of the cross” corresponds to “16° to 30°”, “0.3” points are deducted from the E score. When the evaluation item “the arm angle of the cross” corresponds to “31° to 45°”, “0.5” points are deducted from the E score; [0144] When “the arm angle of the cross” is in a range of “1° to 15°”, the evaluation unit 164 deducts “0.1” from the E score. When “the arm angle of the cross” is in a range of “16° to 30°”, the evaluation unit 164 deducts “0.3” from the E score. When “the arm angle of the cross” is in a range of “31° to 45°”, the evaluation unit 164 deducts “0.5” from the E score; [0174]); and calculating a total score of the postures ([0159] the evaluation unit 164 calls the evaluation items corresponding to the determined postures. For example, the evaluation unit 164 reads out an E evaluation index corresponding to each of the evaluation items, and determines a reference value for point deduction. The reference value is 0 (with no point deducted), 0.1 (small error), 0.3 (middle error), or 0.5 (large error). The evaluation unit 164 determines the total of points deducted determined by the evaluation items, and subtracts from 10 points the total of the points deducted, so as to confirm the E score; [0174]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method of Nakayama to incorporate the step/system of calculating a score for each of postures by using the angle of the joint of the respective postures and a predetermined angle of the joint of the each postures and determining a total score of the postures taught by NAITO.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of measuring the angle of body parts ([0047] In a scoring competition, a referee judges the success or failure of a skill and the degree of perfection of the skill, based on a body orientation angle of a player, but, it is difficult to accurately measure the angle with human's eyes). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predicted results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Nakayama with NAITO to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
With respect to claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6, are applicable.
With respect to claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6, are applicable.
Conclusion
/DANIEL C CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669