DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is taken in response to Applicants’ Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/17/2025 regarding application 18/428,101 filed on 1/31/2024.
Claims 1-17, 19, and 22-23 are pending for consideration.
2. Response to Amendments and Remarks
Applicants’ amendments and remarks have been fully and carefully considered, with the Examiner’s response set forth below.
(1) Applicant contends that, regarding claim 1, Zimoto failes to teach the newly amended limitation “the management request carries an identifier of a first service, the identifier of the first service indicates one of the plurality of services mounted in the storage system.” The Examiner disagrees.
First, the term ”service” is extremely broad and generic, and the claim language of claim 1 merely recites “service” and is otherwise completely silent on the scope and definition of the term “service.” Thus, the term “service” must be given the broadest, reasonable interpretation according the guidelines of MPEP. Essentially, any operations performed by a storage system, including read, write, read-modify-write, copy and backup, qualify as a “service” as far as the context of claim 1 is considered, because read, write, read-modify-write, copy and backup are all services a storage system provided to users.
Second, Zimoto specifically teaches read, write, read-modify-write, copy and backup operations as shown in figure 14, where the LUNs associated with source and destination storage devices of a copy command are displayed, where the copy command is the corresponding management request; … In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device. Moreover, when a write request involving read processing for reading data from the virtual volume is given from the higher-level device, data is read from a default volume or the backup volume associated with the virtual volume and data from the higher-level device is written in all the volumes and backup volumes associated with the virtual volume, and, when a read request for reading data from the virtual volume is given, corresponding data is read from the volume or the backup volume other than the default volume or backup volume (abstract); Among the write processing and read processing described above, the write processing and read processing when performing read/modify/write processing are now explained. The read/modify/write processing is a series of processing steps where the storage apparatus 3 which received a command for performing write processing from the host system uniquely reads the contents of the memory/cell or register prior to the write processing, modifies (or processes) data and thereafter writes such data. For instance, this is employed for changing the contents of a specified bit of a mode setting register and performing resetting processing in order to change the operation mode of a device (¶ 0068-0081)].
Therefore, Zimoto clearly teaches the newly amended limitation “the management request carries an identifier of a first service, the identifier of the first service indicates one of the plurality of services mounted in the storage system.”
Applicant is also advised that, as far as the limitation “the identifier of the first service indicates one of the plurality of services” is concerned, only one service is needed to be identified by the management request in order to read and satisfy the limitation, although there may be a plurality of services.
(2) In response to the amendments and remarks, an updated claim analysis has been made. Refer to the corresponding sections of the following Office Action for details.
3. Examiner’s Note
(1) In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
(2) Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-17, 19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Zimoto et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0288712, hereinafter Zimoto).
As to claim 1, Zimoto teaches A logical unit number (LUN) management method, applied to a storage system [storage system and logical units as shown in figures 1 and 2, where there are a plurality of Logical Units LU0-LUn (14); Each logical unit LU is assigned a unique volume number. In the case of this embodiment, the logical unit LU number and a unique number (LBA: Logical Block Address) allocated to each block are set as the address, and the input and output of data is conducted by designating such address (¶ 0035)], wherein the storage system stores, based on a write input/output (IO) sent by an application server [In order to achieve the foregoing object, the present invention provides a storage apparatus comprising a storage unit for providing a backup volume configured from one or more volumes storing data from a higher-level device and one or more preliminary volumes, and a control unit for controlling the reading and writing of data from and in the volume in response to a read request and a write request from a higher-level device … (¶ 0009); The host I/F control unit 6 comprises a communication interface for performing communication between the storage apparatus 2 and the host system 1, and a function for giving and receiving a data I/O command to and from the host system 1 … (¶ 0039)], data of a plurality of services run on the application server into a plurality of logical units (LUNs) in the storage system [storage system and logical units as shown in figures 1 and 2, where there are a plurality of Logical Units LU0-LUn (14); Each logical unit LU is assigned a unique volume number. In the case of this embodiment, the logical unit LU number and a unique number (LBA: Logical Block Address) allocated to each block are set as the address, and the input and output of data is conducted by designating such address (¶ 0035); In order to achieve the foregoing object, the present invention provides a storage apparatus comprising a storage unit for providing a backup volume configured from one or more volumes storing data from a higher-level device and one or more preliminary volumes, and a control unit for controlling the reading and writing of data from and in the volume in response to a read request and a write request from a higher-level device. The control unit measures the load status of the volume based on the data volume and command throughput transferred between the higher-level device and the storage unit, copies the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, associates the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination with one virtual volume, and provides the virtual volume to the higher-level device. When a write request involving read processing for reading data from the virtual volume is given from the higher-level device, the control unit reads the data from a default volume or the backup volume associated with the virtual volume and writes data from the higher-level device in all the volumes and backup volumes associated with the virtual volume, and, when a read request for reading data from the virtual volume is given, the control unit reads corresponding data from the volume or the backup volume other than the default volume or backup volume among the volume and the backup volume associated with the virtual volume (¶ 0009)], and the method comprises:
receiving a management request, wherein the management request carries an identifier of a first service, the identifier of the first service indicates one of the plurality of services mounted in the storage system [the plurality of services include read, write, copy, read-modify-write, and backup operations -- as shown in figure 14, where the LUNs associated with source and destination storage devices of a copy command are displayed, where the copy command is the corresponding management request; … In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device. Moreover, when a write request involving read processing for reading data from the virtual volume is given from the higher-level device, data is read from a default volume or the backup volume associated with the virtual volume and data from the higher-level device is written in all the volumes and backup volumes associated with the virtual volume, and, when a read request for reading data from the virtual volume is given, corresponding data is read from the volume or the backup volume other than the default volume or backup volume (abstract); Among the write processing and read processing described above, the write processing and read processing when performing read/modify/write processing are now explained. The read/modify/write processing is a series of processing steps where the storage apparatus 3 which received a command for performing write processing from the host system uniquely reads the contents of the memory/cell or register prior to the write processing, modifies (or processes) data and thereafter writes such data. For instance, this is employed for changing the contents of a specified bit of a mode setting register and performing resetting processing in order to change the operation mode of a device (¶ 0068-0081)] and the management request indicates the storage system to determine n LUNs in the storage system that correspond to the first service [the corresponding “management request” is the “load balancing request” – as shown in figure 2, where upon detecting overloading conditions of real LUs, a copy command is issued to copy data from an overloaded real LU (the source LU) to another real LU (the destination LU); Proposed is a storage apparatus and its control method capable of performing dynamic load balancing or performance acceleration as a whole by balancing the load to a logical volume. With this storage apparatus, the load status of the volume is measured based on the data volume and command throughput transferred between the higher-level device and the storage unit. In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device … (abstract); The performance monitoring table 30 is a table showing the load status of the real logical unit LU. As a result of using the performance monitoring table 30, it is possible to refer to the threshold value set in advance based on the marginal performance value of the logical unit LU, and determine whether the real logical unit LU is overloaded (¶ 0088); In the first embodiment, as also shown in FIG. 14, the user terminal 60 is connected to the storage controller 3, and is able to detect the overload of the logical unit LU based on information measured with the performance measurement program 12. In addition, by the user issuing a command to activate copying to the copy program 13 based on the detected results, it is possible to perform the copy processing from the logical unit LU of the physical volume VOL to the logical unit LU of the backup physical volume VOL. In other words, the user is able to use the user interface operation screen 50 of the user terminal 60 to detect the overload of the logical unit LU, and then issue a command for activating the copy … (¶ 0113-0114)];
in response to receiving the management request, determining, from the plurality of LUNs based on the identifier of the first service in the management request, n LUNs corresponding to the first service [the corresponding “management request” is the “load balancing request” – as shown in figure 2, where upon detecting overloading conditions of real LUs, a copy command is issued to copy data from an overloaded real LU (the source LU) to another real LU (the destination LU); Proposed is a storage apparatus and its control method capable of performing dynamic load balancing or performance acceleration as a whole by balancing the load to a logical volume. With this storage apparatus, the load status of the volume is measured based on the data volume and command throughput transferred between the higher-level device and the storage unit. In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device … (abstract); The performance monitoring table 30 is a table showing the load status of the real logical unit LU. As a result of using the performance monitoring table 30, it is possible to refer to the threshold value set in advance based on the marginal performance value of the logical unit LU, and determine whether the real logical unit LU is overloaded (¶ 0088); In the first embodiment, as also shown in FIG. 14, the user terminal 60 is connected to the storage controller 3, and is able to detect the overload of the logical unit LU based on information measured with the performance measurement program 12. In addition, by the user issuing a command to activate copying to the copy program 13 based on the detected results, it is possible to perform the copy processing from the logical unit LU of the physical volume VOL to the logical unit LU of the backup physical volume VOL. In other words, the user is able to use the user interface operation screen 50 of the user terminal 60 to detect the overload of the logical unit LU, and then issue a command for activating the copy … (¶ 0113-0114)]; and
generating a first interface, wherein the n LUNs corresponding to the first service are displayed on the first interface, the n LUNs are configured to store data of the first service, and n is a positive integer [as shown in figure 6; In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 2, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a confirmation operation of a user on the first interface; and displaying migrated evaluation information on the first interface [as shown in figure 6; In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 3, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving at least one of a first selection operation or a second selection operation of a user on the first interface, wherein the first selection operation selects at least one LUN is selected from the n LUNs, and the second selection operation selects at least one LUN is LUNs other than the n LUNs [as shown in figure 6; In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … For instance, when the user wishes to display the load of a logical unit LU having a logical unit LU number of "LU0", the user inputs logical unit LU number "LU0". Incidentally, the load logical unit LU display unit 51 may also be configured in the form of a dialog box so that a desired logical unit LU can be selected. When the user clicks the high load logical unit LU display unit 52, it displays the logical unit LU number of a logical unit LU currently with a high load … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 4, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: migrating data in at least one of the at least one LUN selected by the first selection operation or the at least one LUN selected by the second selection operation [as shown in figure 2, where upon detecting overloading conditions of real LUs, a copy command is issued to copy data from an overloaded real LU (the source LU) to another real LU (the destination LU); Proposed is a storage apparatus and its control method capable of performing dynamic load balancing or performance acceleration as a whole by balancing the load to a logical volume. With this storage apparatus, the load status of the volume is measured based on the data volume and command throughput transferred between the higher-level device and the storage unit. In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device … (abstract)]; or displaying migrated evaluation information on the first interface [as shown in figure 6; In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … For instance, when the user wishes to display the load of a logical unit LU having a logical unit LU number of "LU0", the user inputs logical unit LU number "LU0". Incidentally, the load logical unit LU display unit 51 may also be configured in the form of a dialog box so that a desired logical unit LU can be selected. When the user clicks the high load logical unit LU display unit 52, it displays the logical unit LU number of a logical unit LU currently with a high load … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 5, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: replicating, deleting, or monitoring the n LUNs; or replicating, deleting, or monitoring at least one of the at least one LUN selected by the first selection operation or the at least one LUN selected by the second selection operation [The performance monitoring table 30 is a table showing the load status of the real logical unit LU. As a result of using the performance monitoring table 30, it is possible to refer to the threshold value set in advance based on the marginal performance value of the logical unit LU, and determine whether the real logical unit LU is overloaded … (¶ 0088-0090)].
As to claim 6, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein determining, from the plurality of LUNs based on the identifier of the first service, the n LUNs corresponding to the first service comprises: determining, based on characteristic parameters of the plurality of LUNs in the storage system, p LUNs corresponding to the first service, wherein the p LUNs are at least one of the n LUNs, wherein the characteristic parameters comprise at least one of a LUN configuration parameter or a LUN performance parameter [as shown in figure 6; As the contents to be input as parameters, for instance, items of setting parameters shown below may be displayed for each logical unit LU so as to accept the input of parameters by the user … By inputting these parameters, it is possible to set the mirror creation operation in the respective logical units LU (¶ 0106-0112); In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … For instance, when the user wishes to display the load of a logical unit LU having a logical unit LU number of "LU0", the user inputs logical unit LU number "LU0". Incidentally, the load logical unit LU display unit 51 may also be configured in the form of a dialog box so that a desired logical unit LU can be selected. When the user clicks the high load logical unit LU display unit 52, it displays the logical unit LU number of a logical unit LU currently with a high load … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 7, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 6, wherein determining, based on the characteristic parameters of the plurality of LUNs in the storage system, the p LUNs corresponding to the first service specifically comprises: inputting the characteristic parameters of the plurality of LUNs into an algorithm model to obtain the p LUNs [as shown in figure 6; As the contents to be input as parameters, for instance, items of setting parameters shown below may be displayed for each logical unit LU so as to accept the input of parameters by the user … By inputting these parameters, it is possible to set the mirror creation operation in the respective logical units LU (¶ 0106-0112); In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … For instance, when the user wishes to display the load of a logical unit LU having a logical unit LU number of "LU0", the user inputs logical unit LU number "LU0". Incidentally, the load logical unit LU display unit 51 may also be configured in the form of a dialog box so that a desired logical unit LU can be selected. When the user clicks the high load logical unit LU display unit 52, it displays the logical unit LU number of a logical unit LU currently with a high load … (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 8, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 6, wherein the LUN configuration parameter comprises at least one of the following: an input/output operations per second (IOPS), a bandwidth, access latency, a size of the IO, or a read IO ratio that is configured by a user for the LUN, and the LUN performance parameter comprises at least one of the following: a historical average IOPS, historical average latency, or a current free space size during running of the LUN [as shown in figure 6; As the contents to be input as parameters, for instance, items of setting parameters shown below may be displayed for each logical unit LU so as to accept the input of parameters by the user … By inputting these parameters, it is possible to set the mirror creation operation in the respective logical units LU (¶ 0106-0112); In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing. As shown in FIG. 6, the operation screen 50 is configured from a load logical unit LU display unit 51, a high load logical unit LU display unit 52, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 53, a mirrored load threshold value parameter modification unit 54, a mirror release load threshold value parameter display unit 55, a mirrored logical unit LU display unit 56, a mirror release logical unit LU display unit 57, and a logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 … The logical unit LU I/O throughput display unit 58 is used for displaying the data I/O throughput per unit time of the designated logical unit LU (¶ 0115-0123)].
As to claim 9, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein determining, from the plurality of LUNs based on the identifier of the first service, the n LUNs corresponding to the first service comprises: obtaining, based on information recorded in service configuration of the first service, q LUNs corresponding to the first service, wherein the q LUNs are at least one of the n LUNs [as shown in figure 2, where upon detecting overloading conditions of real LUs, a copy command is issued to copy data from an overloaded real LU (the source LU) to another real LU (the destination LU); Proposed is a storage apparatus and its control method capable of performing dynamic load balancing or performance acceleration as a whole by balancing the load to a logical volume. With this storage apparatus, the load status of the volume is measured based on the data volume and command throughput transferred between the higher-level device and the storage unit. In addition, the contents of the volume having a load exceeding the default value are copied to one or more backup volumes based on the measurement results of the load status of the volume, the volume of a copy source and the backup volume of a copy destination are associated with one virtual volume, and the virtual volume is provided to the higher-level device … (abstract); The performance monitoring table 30 is a table showing the load status of the real logical unit LU. As a result of using the performance monitoring table 30, it is possible to refer to the threshold value set in advance based on the marginal performance value of the logical unit LU, and determine whether the real logical unit LU is overloaded (¶ 0088); In the first embodiment, as also shown in FIG. 14, the user terminal 60 is connected to the storage controller 3, and is able to detect the overload of the logical unit LU based on information measured with the performance measurement program 12. In addition, by the user issuing a command to activate copying to the copy program 13 based on the detected results, it is possible to perform the copy processing from the logical unit LU of the physical volume VOL to the logical unit LU of the backup physical volume VOL. In other words, the user is able to use the user interface operation screen 50 of the user terminal 60 to detect the overload of the logical unit LU, and then issue a command for activating the copy … (¶ 0113-0114)].
As to claim 10, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 1. Refer to “As to claim 1” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 11, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 2. Refer to “As to claim 2” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 12, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 3. Refer to “As to claim 3” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 13, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 4. Refer to “As to claim 4” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 14, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 5. Refer to “As to claim 5” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 15, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 6. Refer to “As to claim 6” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 16, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 7. Refer to “As to claim 7” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 17, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 8. Refer to “As to claim 8” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 19, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the analysis of claim 1. Refer to “As to claim 1” presented earlier in this Office Action for details.
As to claim 21, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the management request is generated by the storage system in response to an operation performed by a user on the storage system [In addition to the storage controller 3 automatically creating the mirrored logical unit LU of the logical unit LU in the physical volume VOL, the user may also issue a copy start command based on information from the storage apparatus 2. Specifically, the user may estimate the increase of performance in the future from history information of the performance load up to such time, anticipate the copy time, and issue a command for starting the copy in advance. In an operational mode where the high load time occurs periodically, the user may also activate a timer and periodically issue a copy start command at the start of such high load time (¶ 0049); In the first embodiment, as also shown in FIG. 14, the user terminal 60 is connected to the storage controller 3, and is able to detect the overload of the logical unit LU based on information measured with the performance measurement program 12 … In the user interface of the user terminal, the operation screen 50 is a GUI (Graphical User Interface) screen used for making various settings or changing such settings relating to the foregoing load balancing processing … (¶ 0113-0122)].
As to claim 22, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the n LUNs are displayed as a list of recommended LUNs for user selection [as shown in figure 14, where the LUNs associated with source and destination storage devices of a copy command are displayed; … Display of Various Types of Information in Display Unit and Management Terminal of Storage Controller 3, and Operation with User Interface Operation Screen of User Terminal 60 … The following types of information are displayed for each logical unit LU on the display unit or management terminal of the storage controller 3 … (¶ 0098-0106)].
As to claim 23, Zimoto teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the first service includes a database or a virtual machine [as shown in figure 14, where the LUNs associated with source and destination storage devices of a copy command are displayed; In the second embodiment, an example is explained where the logical units LU are divided by an address, and the load status is measured with the divided logical units LU as the unit. For example, the division is a logical unit for allocating the database storage extent, and this is performed in units such as extents configured from a plurality of consecutive data/blocks
Conclusion
5. Claims 1-17, 19, and 22-23 are rejected as explained above.
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/SHENG JEN TSAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2136
November 1, 2025