DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation where “the abrasive section has a minor diameter that is greater than a minor diameter of the primary threaded section” in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falkenstein et al., US20170284447 (hereinafter, Falkenstein).
Regarding clam 1, Falkenstein discloses a structural fastener (see Abstract and Fig. 1) for use with building materials, comprising:
an upper head 12 with a top (see Fig. 1) and an underside having a plurality of cutters (90, see Fig. 10) circumferentially spaced (see Fig. 9) apart from each other with a cutout 70 therebetween, each cutter having an irregular polygonal cross sectional shape (see extended and irregular frustoconical shape of the cutout in Fig. 10); and
a lower shank 14 extending from the head 12 to a distal tip (20, see Fig. 5) and including threading 22 on at least a portion thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutter includes a lower four-sided section in a direction toward the shank and an upper four-sided section extending
from the lower four-sided section to the head top (see annotated Fig. 10 showing upper and lower section having four sided sections represented by rectangular box).
Annotated Fig. 10
Regarding claim 3, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutout has an irregular polygonal cross-sectional shape (see rectangular/extended shape of the cutout 70 in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 3, wherein each cutout 70 has at least four sides (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 4, wherein each cutout 70 has a pentagonal cross-sectional shape (see Figs. 1, 10 and 13).
Regarding claim 6, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutout 70 is delimited by a flat top edge (see flat top of the head 12 in Figs. 1, 5 and 10) proximate the top of the head 12.
Regarding claim 7, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein a cylindrical portion (see tapered and/or conical section 16 in Fig. 5) of the shank transitions conically to the tip 20, and the conical section comprises double helical threading (see para. [0025] and claim 14).
Regarding claim 8, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein the shank includes a proximal unthreaded section (see 54 in Fig. 1), a distal threaded section 22 and an intermediate knurl 52 section between the unthreaded section and threaded section.
Regarding claim 10, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutter 90 is delimited circumferentially by a leading edge (LE, as indicated in annotated Fig. 10) and a trailing edge (TE, as indicated in annotated Fig. 10); and the leading edge and trailing edge of each cutter converge toward each other in a direction from the shank toward the top of the head (see arrow and indicated in annotated Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutter 90 includes a bottom section (see section below the top portion 182 in Fig. 10) and a top section 182.
Regarding claim 12, Falkenstein discloses the fastener of claim 11, as best understood, wherein each of the top section 182 and bottom section is quadrilateral (see boxes indicated top and bottom section in annotated Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, Falkenstein discloses a structural fastener (see Fig. 1) for use with building materials, comprising:
an upper head 12 with a top and an underside (see Figs 1 and 10);
a shank 14 extending downward from the upper head and having at least a portion with threading 22, wherein
the underside of the upper head defines a plurality of cutters 90, each cutter defined between a leading surface (see leading surface adjacent the leading edge (LE) in annotated Fig. 10) defining a leading forward edge (LE) and an opposite trailing surface defining a trailing forward edge (TE),
the respective leading forward edge and trailing forward edge converge toward one another in a direction from the top of the head toward the shank (see annotated Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 20, Falkenstein discloses the structural fastener of claim 19, wherein the cutters 90 are circumferentially spaced from one another via a cutout 70 with a polygonal cross section (see Fig. 10) having a flat top edge (see Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falkenstein in view of Hughes US20110164944 (hereinafter, Hughes).
Regarding claim 9, Falkenstein teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein each cutout 70 is defined between side walls (see 86, 88 in Fig. 10); each side wall defines a front edge (see Fig. 10) that delimits a side of a cutter 90.
Falkenstein fails to teach the side walls converge inwardly toward each other.
Hughes teaches a low energy wood screw (see Fig. 1) similar to the fastener of Falkenstein having cutout and side walls converge inwardly toward each other (see ribs 74 and adjacent side walls).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the fastener of Falkenstein to have converging walls as taught by Hughes for effective and safe installation of the screw in to the work piece.
Further, changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the walls. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify walls to be converging toward each other as an obvious change in shape.
Regarding claim 13, Falkenstein teaches the fastener of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a frustoconical section between a bottom edge of the cutters and the shank.
However, Hughes teaches similar fastener having a frustoconical section 64 between a bottom edge of the cutter 74 and the shank 50.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the fastener of Falkenstein to have frustoconical section as taught by Hughes so the fastener transitions smoothly between differently sized diameter as well as the frustoconical section facilitates smooth insertion of the fastener during installation (para. [0055]).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falkenstein.
Regarding claim 14, Falkenstein teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein the shank includes a primary threaded section 22 distal of an abrasive section 52, but fails to teach wherein the abrasive section has a minor diameter that is greater than a minor diameter of the primary threaded section.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the minor diameter of the abrasive section to be greater as disclosed for greater strength of the fastener, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 15, Falkenstein teaches a structural fastener (see Fig. 1) for use with building materials, comprising:
an upper head 12 with a top (see Fig. 1) and an underside having a plurality of cutters 90 circumferentially spaced apart from each other with a cutout 70 therebetween, each cutter being dual sectional with an upper portion extending from a top to a bottom and a lower portion extending from a top to a bottom (see annotated Fig. 10 above showing upper and lower portion), wherein the bottom of the upper section and top of the lower section share a common edge (see two rectangular upper and lower portion sharing a common edge in annotated Fig. 10); and
a lower shank 14 extending from the head to a distal tip 20 and including threading 22 on at least a portion thereof.
However, Falkenstein fails to teach wherein the bottom of the lower portion is wider than the top of the lower portion in each cutter.
Falkenstein teaches the bottom of the lower portion is narrower than the top of the lower portion in each cutter.
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the size of the bottom portion of the lower portion to be wider to aid the insertion of the fastener in order to maintain the strength of the fastener, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 16, Falkenstein teaches the structural fastener of claim 15, wherein the top of the upper portion (see upper rectangular portion in annotated Fig. 10 above) is coextensive with or wider than the bottom of the upper portion (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 17, Falkenstein teaches the structural fastener of claim 15, but fails to teach wherein the bottom of the lower portion is wider than the top of the upper portion.
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the bottom of the lower portion to be wider than the top of the upper portion in order to maintain the strength of the fastener, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 18, Falkenstein teaches the structural fastener of claim 15, wherein each cutout 70 has an irregular polygonal cross-sectional shape (see Fig. 10).
Conclusion
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675