DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement issued on 6/16/2026 has been withdrawn due to the amendment of claim 14, since claim 14 is now dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) and further in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1) and Kado (US 20100021811 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a battery cell (Fig. 1, item 1), comprising: a battery cell of cylindrical shape (Fig. 2, the battery cell is cylindrical); and an insulating material (Fig. 1, item 5, [heat insulating layer]).
Chen does not teach:
wherein said insulating material has a relatively low thermal conductivity of less than 0.3 W/(m*K) at 800°C.
Hore, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a thermal insulation material made of aerogel (Hore, para. 0025).
Examiner notes that the instant specification exemplifies aerogel as an insulating material has a relatively low thermal conductivity of less than 0.3 W/(m*K) at 800°C (instant, para. 0013).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used aerogel as the material for Chen’s insulating material, as taught by Hore, in order to utilize a material that is easily shapeable to surround the battery cell in a flush manner and in order to utilize a material that is pressure-resistant, non-crushable, incompressible, and has high mechanical strength, as taught by Hore (Hore, para. 0025).
While Hore does not specifically address the claim limitation “wherein said insulating material has a relatively low thermal conductivity of less than 0.3 W/(m*K) at 800°C.”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from the aerogel material taught by the reference(s), which is the same as provided in the instant specification (instant, para. 0031), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Therefore, modified Chen teaches wherein said insulating material has a relatively low thermal conductivity of less than 0.3 W/(m*K) at 800°C.
Chen does not teach:
an encapsulated battery cell
a polygonal structure surrounding said battery cell in a plane transverse to a longitudinal axis (LA) of said battery cell;
wherein said polygonal structure is made from a heat distributing material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of more than 150 W/(m*K) at 25°C.
Kado, in the same field of endeavor, batteries teaches:
an encapsulated battery cell (Kado, para. 0028, [the shape of the battery container … any shape that is capable of housing the electrode body])
a polygonal structure surrounding said battery cell in a plane transverse to a longitudinal axis (LA) of said battery cell (Kado, para. 0028,[the shape of the battery container … any shape that is capable of housing the electrode body] … [such as … an angular shape]) (Examiner notes that a polygonal structure has an angular shape]);
wherein said polygonal structure is made from a heat distributing material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of more than 150 W/(m*K) at 25°C (Kado, para. 0028, [the battery container is preferably constituted by a metallic material … such a metallic material include(s) … pure aluminum]) (Examiner notes that the instant specification exemplifies pure aluminum as a material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of more than 150 W/(m*K) at 25°C (instant, para. 0013).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have encapsulated Chen’s battery cell, as taught by Kado, in order to house the electrode body that can be used as a battery installed in a vehicle, as taught by Kado (Kado, para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used an angular shape as the polygonal structure surrounding Chen’s battery cell, as taught by Chen, in order to utilize a shape capable of housing the electrode body (Kado, para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilize pure aluminum as the material for Chen’s polygonal structure, as taught by Kado, in order to utilize a material that is lightweight, exhibits superior thermal conductivity, and is highly workable (Kado, para. 0028).
Therefore, modified Chen teaches an encapsulated battery cell (Kado, para. 0028), comprising: a battery cell of cylindrical shape (Chen, Fig. 1, item 1); a polygonal structure surrounding said battery cell in a plane transverse to a longitudinal axis (LA) of said battery cell (Kado, para. 0028) (Examiner notes that the modification as explained above would constitute a polygonal structure that surrounds a battery cell in a plane transverse to a longitudinal axis of said battery cell); and an insulating material (Chen, Fig. 1, item 5) located in a space between said polygonal structure and said battery cell (Modified Chen – Chen item 5 is between the housing (Kado para. 0028) and the battery cell (Chen, Fig. 1, item 1)), wherein said insulating material has a relatively low thermal conductivity of less than 0.3 W/(m*K) at 800°C (see above), and wherein said polygonal structure is made from a heat distributing material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of more than 150 W/(m*K) at 25°C (see above).
While Kado does not specifically address the claim limitation “a heat distributing material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of more than 150 W/(m*K) at 25°C”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from following the pure aluminum material taught by the reference(s), which is the same as provided in the instant specification (instant, para. 0013), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1, wherein the battery cell is enclosed in an anti-rupture container that is located between the battery cell and said insulating material (Chen, Fig. 1, item 3) .
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the battery cell is in operative contact with a phase change material (PCM) (Chen, Fig. 1, item 2 – phase change material).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 6, and further teaches wherein the PCM is at least one of: positioned at a bottom (Chen, Fig. 1, item 2 – phase change material is located throughout the height of the battery and therefore is positioned at a bottom surface) of the battery cell opposite to a positive pole (Examiner notes that the positive pole may be at the top or bottom of the cylindrical battery cell, and therefore is opposite the phase change material which is located on both the top and bottom surfaces of the cylindrical battery cell.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 7, wherein the position of the PCM as claimed in claim 7 (See claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the insulating material comprises at least one of a density of less than 200 kg/m3 and a heat capacity of more than 1 kJ/(kg*K) (Hore, para. 0025).
While Hore does not specifically address the claim limitation “wherein the insulating material comprises at least one of a density of less than 200 kg/m3 and a heat capacity of more than 1 kJ/(kg*K)”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from the aerogel material taught by the reference(s), which is the same as provided in the instant specification (instant, para. 0013 and para. 0031), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Regarding claim 11, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the heat distributing material has at least one of a thermal diffusivity of more than 90 mm2/s (Kado, para. 0028, [the battery container is preferably constituted by a metallic material … such a metallic material include(s) … pure aluminum]) (Examiner notes that the instant specification exemplifies aluminum as a material having a relatively high thermal conductivity of a thermal diffusivity of more than 90 mm2/s (instant, para. 0035-0036, [A highly preferred material in this respect is aluminum]).
While Kado does not specifically address the claim limitation “wherein the heat distributing material has at least one of a thermal diffusivity of more than 90 mm2/s”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from following the pure aluminum material taught by the reference(s), which is the same as provided in the instant specification (instant, para. 0035-0036, [A highly preferred material in this respect is aluminum]), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Regarding claim 12, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the heat distributing material is denoted as kh·Ah/Lh (Chen modified by Kado teaches the heat distributing material that is analogous to the instant. See claim 1 above.), the relatively low thermal conductivity and thermal diffusivity of the insulating material and the relatively high thermal conductivity and thermal diffusivity of the heat distributing material are chosen such that a thermal conductance of the heat distributing material is at least twice as big as a thermal conductance of the insulating material that is denoted as ki·Ai/Li (Chen modified by Hore teaches the insulating material that is analogous to the instant. See claim 1 above.),
kh denotes the thermal conductivity of the heat distributing material (Kado, para. 0028. See claim 1),
Ah denotes an area of a cross section through the structure in a radial direction with respect to said longitudinal axis (LA) of said battery cell (See Chen, Fig. 2 below),
Lh denotes a path length (e) in the structure in a plane transverse to said longitudinal axis (LA) of said battery cell (See Chen, Fig. 2 below) (Examiner notes that Lh can be defined by any dimension, including how it is defined in Chen, Fig. 2),
ki denotes the thermal conductivity of the insulating material (Hore, para. 0025. See claim 1),
Ai denotes an area of one of a surface region of the structure facing said space (See Chen Fig. 2),
and Li denotes a minimum distance between said battery cell and said surface region (See Chen Fig. 2). (Examiner notes that Li can be defined by any dimension, including how it is defined in Chen, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 12, and further teaches wherein said path length is equal to at least twice a cell pitch distance (CP) between centers of neighboring battery cells (Examiner notes that the said path length of claim 12 can be drawn to be equal to at least twice a cell pitch distance between centers of neighboring battery cells).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen teaches a battery cell arrangement (BCA), comprising: a plurality of encapsulated battery cells of claim 1 that are arranged side by side on a common plane with parallel longitudinal axes (LA) (Chen, See Fig. 2), wherein at least two of said encapsulated battery cells are arranged in a meta structure that consists of interconnected respective structures of individual battery cells (Chen, See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14, wherein the interconnected respective structures of individual battery cells comprise a polygonal structure or a honeycomb structure (Chen, Fig. 2 shows the individual battery cells comprise polygonal structures).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1) and Kado (US 20100021811 A1) and further in view of Dietze (US 20210098831 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 2, and further teaches wherein said anti-rupture container is in a form of a tube (Chen, item 3).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein said anti-rupture container is made from Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastic (CFRP) or Ceramic Fibric Reinforced Plastic (CerFRP).
Dietze, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches an anti-rupture container (Dietze, para. 0111, item 8 and item 10) is made from Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastic (CFRP) (para. 0111, [a casing which is preferably made of CFRP … the casing … equipped with a cover]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made Chen’s anti-rupture container / explosion-proof layer out of carbon fiber reinforced plastic, as taught by Dietze, in order to utilize a material capable of managing excess pressure caused by the battery cells during an event of an overload, as taught by Dietze (Dietze, para. 0013, [In addition, any excess pressure caused by the battery cells gassing out in the event of an overload can be released effectively and in a controlled manner to effectively prevent an explosive bursting of the casing]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1), Kado (US 20100021811 A1), and Dietze (US 20210098831 A1), and further in view of Hiltunen (US 20170367470 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 3, wherein said anti-rupture container (see claim 3 above) is made in the form of the tube (see claim 3 above).
Modified Chen does not teach that the anti-rupture container is made via pull-winding, a pull-winding tube has a filament angle of up to 100 in relation to a circumferential direction of the tube, and a thickness of the tube is at least 0.2 mm.
Hiltunen, in the same field of endeavor, tubes, teaches a tube made via pull-winding (Hiltunen, Fig. 8, item 20 show the filaments) that has a filament angle of up to 100 in relation to a circumferential direction of the tube (Hiltunen, Fig. 5, show the angles of the filament) (Hiltunen, para. 0027, 60-85 deg.) and a thickness of the tube is at least 0.2 mm (Hiltunen, para. 0012, [the diameter of the core wire, cable, or braided cord or rubber … has a total thickness of at most 5mm).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding the process step of pull-winding, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [MPEP 2113]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used a filament angle of 60-85 deg. for Chen’s anti-rupture tube, as taught by Hiltunen. Hiltunen teaches that the winding angle of the filament wires is critical to the torsional stiffness (Hiltunen, para. 0027).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized a tube thickness of at most 5 mm, as taught by Hiltunen, as needed for the tube’s application. Hiltunen teaches that the fiber winding is repeated for as many times as needed to reach the chosen shaft thickness (Hiltunen, para. 0054). Hiltunen also teaches that the casing layer usually has a thickness of at most 5 mm, preferably at most 3.5 mm. Experience has shown that a layer thickness greater than 4 mm and generally greater than 3.5 mm is of no benefit, as then the torsion shaft loses its elasticity (Hiltunen, para. 0035).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 3.
Modified Chen does not teach wherein said anti-rupture container is made in the form of the tube via prepreg wrapping.
Hiltunen, in the same field of endeavor, fibers, teaches a tube made of prepreg wrapping (Hiltunen, para. 0039, [the same fiber as in the winding is preferably used as the core, i.e. the center wire, the center wire (bunch) beings impregnated with the same resin as the winding layers]) (Hiltunen, para. 0040 teaches that the fibers can be carbon fiber).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized prepreg wrapping for Chen’s anti-rupture tube, as taught by Hiltunen, in order to use a wrapping with a certain heat resistance, as taught by Hiltunen (Hiltunen para. 0039).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1), Kado (US 20100021811 A1), and further in view of Melack (US 20180048036 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the encapsulated battery cell of claim 1.
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the insulating material consists of a coating of at least one of the heat distributing material, said coating comprises an intumescent paint and is devised to expand in volume when a temperature exceeds normal operation values above 80°C and when expanded fills the space between said structure and the encapsulated battery cell.
Melack, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches wherein the insulating material consists of a coating of at least one of the heat distributing material (Melack, claim 17, [intumescent paint is applied to … an insulation]) said coating comprises an intumescent paint an intumescent paint (Melack, claim 17 and para. 0077).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the intumescent paint to the insulation of Chen’s insulating material, as taught by Melack, in order to provide a material with fire protecting properties and to provide energy absorption due to phase change, as taught by Melack (para. 0073).
Therefore, modified Chen teaches wherein the insulating material consists of a coating of at least one of the heat distributing material, said coating comprises an intumescent paint (Melack, claim 17, [intumescent paint is applied to … an insulation]) and is devised to expand in volume when a temperature exceeds normal operation values above 80°C and when expanded fills the space between said structure and the encapsulated battery cell (Examiner notes that para. 0033 of the instant specification refers to an intumescent paint as a coating that is devised to expand in volume when a temperature exceeds normal operation values and when expanded fills the space).
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1) and Kado (US 20100021811 A1), and further in view of Georgiadis (US 20240128583 A1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14.
Modified Chen does not teach that the BCA further comprises: a battery enclosure; for each of the encapsulated battery cells at least one of: a bottom venting hole located in the battery enclosure in prolongation of a longitudinal axis (LA) of a given battery cell, wherein a diameter of said venting hole measures between 20% and 60% of a cell pitch distance (CP) that is equal to a distance between the longitudinal axes (LA) of neighboring battery cells; and a top primary venting hole arranged in the battery enclosure or in a lid for closing the battery enclosure, said top primary venting hole being more than 80% of a battery cell diameter in size.
Baseri, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches
a battery enclosure (Baseri, Fig. 2, item 100);
for each of the encapsulated battery cells at least one of:
a top primary venting hole arranged in the battery enclosure (Baseri, Fig. 2, item 270 – venting ends of battery cells) (Baseri, para. 0021, [The vertical arrows of Fig. 2 show the general direction of the grit-infused flame emitted from the venting ends 270 of battery cells]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a battery enclosure to Chen’s battery arrangement, as taught by Baseri, in order to prevent battery heat or flammable venting emissions from directly reaching the outside housing (e.g., cover 100) of the battery pack, as taught by Baseri (para. 0021, [thermal shield 250 may be placed over the venting ends 270, e.g., any battery cell 200 surface from which thermal event gases or particulate matter may escape, of battery cells 200 in accordance with embodiments of the disclosure, to resist the heat and grit of battery heat, directing the flames laterally away (in the direction of the horizontal arrows of FIG. 2) and preventing burn-through. This prevents battery heat and/or flammable venting emissions from directly reaching the outside housing (e.g., cover 100) of the battery pack.]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added top venting holes in the battery enclosure to Chen’s battery arrangement, as taught by Baseri, in order to emit flames when the battery cells undergo an undesired thermal event, as taught by Baseri (Baseri, para. 0021, [flame emitted from the venting ends 270 of battery cells when they undergo an undesired thermal event]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14.
Modified Chen does not teach further comprising: a thermal shield located in a gap between said meta structure and a battery enclosure.
Baseri, in the same field of endeavor, batteries teaches a thermal shield (Baseri, Fig. 2, item 250) located in a gap between said meta structure and a battery enclosure (Baseri, Fig. 2, item 100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have placed a thermal shield between the meta structure and the battery enclosure to Chen’s battery cell arrangement, as taught by Baseri, in order to prevent battery heat or flammable venting emissions from directly reaching the outside housing (e.g., cover 100) of the battery pack, as taught by Baseri (para. 0021, [thermal shield 250 may be placed over the venting ends 270, e.g., any battery cell 200 surface from which thermal event gases or particulate matter may escape, of battery cells 200 in accordance with embodiments of the disclosure, to resist the heat and grit of battery heat, directing the flames laterally away (in the direction of the horizontal arrows of FIG. 2) and preventing burn-through. This prevents battery heat and/or flammable venting emissions from directly reaching the outside housing (e.g., cover 100) of the battery pack.]).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1) and Kado (US 20100021811 A1), and further in view of Baseri (US 20230016266 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14.
Modified Chen does not teach further comprising: at least one battery cell holder in a form of a plate having a plurality of openings or through-holes, a size and location of the openings or through-holes correspond to a size and location of positive poles and negative poles of the battery cells, respectively, wherein said positive poles and said negative poles are located within said openings or through-holes.
Georgiadis, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches at least one battery cell holder in a form of a plate (Georgiadis, Fig. 2, item 3b – housing cover) having a plurality of openings or through-holes, a size and location of the openings or through-holes correspond to a size and location of positive poles and negative poles of the battery cells (Georgiadis, Fig. 2, item 5-vent channels of housing cover item 3b), respectively, wherein said positive poles and said negative poles are located within said openings or through-holes (Georgiadis, Fig. 2 – poles are located within openings) (Georgiadis, para. 0026 [said hole is located just above the venting valve or a given cell, e.g., above the positive and/or negative pole of the cell.]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a battery cell holder in a form of a plate to Chen’s battery cell arrangement, as taught by Georgiadis, in order to guide the vented gases, flames and debris away from other cells and out of the battery pack, as taught by Georgiadis (para. 0025).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14.
Modified Chen does not teach further comprising: a separator in a form of a plate having a plurality of openings or through-holes, a size and location of the openings or through-holes corresponding to a size and location of positive poles and negative poles of the encapsulated battery cells, respectively, wherein said positive poles and said negative poles are located in respective regions of said openings or through-holes, said separator is made from an inorganic material having at least one of a thermal conductivity below 0.3 W/(m*K) at 1000°C, a high heat capacity of more than 1 kJ/(kg*K), or a density below 200 kg/m3.
Georgiadis, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a separator in a form of a plate (Georgiadis, Fig. 2, item 3b – housing cover) having a plurality of openings or through-holes, a size and location of the openings or through-holes corresponding to a size and location of positive poles and negative poles of the encapsulated battery cells, respectively, wherein said positive poles and said negative poles are located in respective regions of said openings or through-holes (Georgiadis, Fig. 2, item 5-vent channels of housing cover item 3b), said separator is made from an inorganic material (Georgiadis, para. 0025, [preferred examples of materials from which the vent channels can be formed comprise … aerogels when higher fire resistance is required]).
Examiner notes that the instant specification exemplifies aerogel as a separator material (instant, para. 0057).
While Georgiadis does not specifically address the claim limitation “having at least one of a thermal conductivity below 0.3 W/(m*K) at 1000°C, a high heat capacity of more than 1 kJ/(kg*K), or a density below 200 kg/m3”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from the aerogel material taught by the reference(s), which is the same as provided in the instant specification (instant, para. 0031), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plate separator to Chen’s battery cell arrangement, as taught by Georgiadis, in order to guide the vented gases, flames and debris away from other cells and out of the battery pack, as taught by Georgiadis (para. 0025).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Chen (CN 214153004 U) in view of Hore (US 20170054121 A1) and Kado (US 20100021811 A1), and further in view of Ahn (US 20230405968 A1) and Lim (US 20230178845 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Chen teaches the battery cell arrangement (BCA) of claim 14.
Modified Chen does not teach further comprising: a burstable Electro Magnetic Interference (EMI) protection at least on one side of the battery cell arrangement (BCA), said EMI protection comprising at least one of: an electrically conductive material with attenuation greater than 60 dB for a 0.7-18 GHz frequency range; a stiffness and strength below 170 GPa and 220 MPa, respectively; a thickness between 0.02 mm and 0.2 mm; or impregnation with an electrically conductive flame-retardant adhesive.
Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches an Electro Magnetic Interference (EMI) protection at least on one side of the battery cell arrangement (BCA) (Ahn, para. 0058, [the sandwich panel for a protective cover of an electric vehicle battery pack has an electromagnetic shielding ability, which is measured as the electromagnetic interference shielding effectiveness (EMI SE)]), said EMI protection comprising at least one of: an electrically conductive material (Ahn, para. 0044, [carbon fiber] in the core layer of the sandwich panel) with attenuation greater than 60 dB for a 0.7-18 GHz frequency range (Ahn, para. 0058, [The sandwich panel for a protective cover of an electric vehicle battery pack has an electromagnetic shielding ability, which is measured as the electromagnetic interference shielding effectiveness (EMI SE), of 81 to 120 dB, preferably 81 to 110 dB, and more preferably 81 to 100 dB with respect to a frequency of 0.03 to 1.5 GHz.]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added an Electro Magnetic Interference (EMI) protection at least on one side of Chen’s battery cell arrangement, as taught by Ahn, in order to use a cover that has an excellent heat insulation performance and an electromagnetic wave shielding performance, so that it may protect an electric vehicle battery, as taught by Ahn (Ahn, para. 0090).
Modified Chen and Ahn do not teach that the cover is burstable.
Lim, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a burstable protection (Lim, Fig. 2, item 42b) (Lim, para. 0069, item 42b, [ when the venting sheet 42b bursts, gas or a flame inside the battery module may be emitted to the outside of the battery module).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added Lim’s burstable protection to Chen’s EMI protection, in order to further allow a structure that emits gas or flame from inside the battery module, as taught by Lim (Lim, para. 0069).
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721