Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 01/31/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Benefit is given to the priority document EP23165835.2 and the effective filing date of 03/31/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: a lone parenthesis appears in line 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the two radar signals" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as radar signals have not been previous recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Vollbracht et al. (US-20210239791-A1; hereinafter Vollbracht).
Regarding claim 1, Vollbracht discloses:
A radar system (see at least Fig. 11, radar device 1) for a vehicle (see at least [0057]; “The radar device may be mounted to a vehicle.”) comprising:
a radar antenna system (see at least Fig. 11, antenna device 200) and a radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, radar circuit 100); wherein:
the radar antenna system comprises at least a first antenna (see at least Fig. 11, first antenna 211 routed through signal port 130), an additional antenna (see at least Fig. 11, second antenna 221 routed through signal port 131), a feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 130 of Fig. 11), an additional feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 131 of Fig. 11) and a transmission line network (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 and signal lines connecting antenna elements);
the transmission line network has a guiding section (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 130) and an additional guiding section (see at Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 131);
the transmission line network couples the first antenna to the feed port via the guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects first antenna 211 to common feed port 204) and the additional antenna to the additional feed port via the additional guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects additional antenna 221 to common feed port 204);
a port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 130) is coupled to the feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 130 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9) and an additional port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 131) is coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 131 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9),
wherein the radar circuit is configured to operate, in a separated operation mode, the first antenna independently from the additional antenna (see at least [0037]; “Alternatively, at least one, but not all signal ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and at least one radar signal may have both a first and a second signal portion, but at least one of the radar signals may have a first signal portion only and/or at least one of the radar signals may have a second signal portion only.” In the case where different signal portions are sent to different signal ports, Examiner interprets that the associated antennas are operated independently.); and
the radar circuit is configured to operate, in a combined operation mode, at least one antenna coupled to the feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 routed to signal port 130), together with at least one antenna coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 routed to signal port 131) as parts of a single common antenna (see at least [0037]; “For example, all signal ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and the radar circuit may generate all radar signals with a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band.” In the case where the signals to all ports have the same frequencies, Examiner interprets in light of [0013] of the instant specification that the associated antennas are operating as parts of a single common antenna.).
Regarding claim 2, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 1. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the radar circuit is configured to operate, in the separated operation mode, the first antenna as an antenna of a MIMO configuration and to operate, in the separated operation mode, the additional antenna as an additional antenna of the MIMO configuration (see at least [0060]; “The first and second signal portion may be radiated from or received at different and well defined physical locations on the antenna device, for example in angle resolving antenna arrays such as single input multiple output (SIMO) or MIMO configurations. If the radar device has several common signal ports, each of which is coupled to a first antenna element that is part of a first antenna and a second antenna element that is part of a second antenna, each first antenna element may be configured to only transduce the corresponding first signal portion and each second antenna element may be configured to only transduce the corresponding second signal portion.”).
Regarding claim 3, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 1. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein:
the transmission line network couples (see at least [0168]; “FIG. 9 shows an alternative embodiment of a first antenna 211 and a second antenna 221 that are coupled via a common signal line 205 to a common signal port 204 and that may be used with the antenna devices 200 according to the present disclosure.”) a second antenna (see at least Fig. 9, second antenna 221) to the feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common signal port 204) via the guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205);
the guiding section is configured to guide electromagnetic energy at a first frequency and to guide electromagnetic energy at a second frequency (see at least [0034]; “The first antenna element transduces the first signal portion of the radar signal by receiving electromagnetic radiation in the first frequency band and by sending a corresponding transmission line signal to the radar circuit and the second antenna element transduces the second signal portion of the radar signal by receiving electromagnetic radiation in the second frequency band and by sending a corresponding transmission line signal to the radar circuit.”);
the radar antenna system is configured to transduce the electromagnetic energy at the first frequency via the first antenna; and
the radar antenna system is configured to block the electromagnetic energy at the first frequency from being transduced via the second antenna and to transduce the electromagnetic energy at the second frequency via the second antenna (see at least [0036]; “In total, several or all ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and may be simultaneously coupled to an associated first antenna element of a first antenna radiating at least in the first frequency band and to an associated second antenna element of a second antenna only radiating in the second frequency band and not in the first frequency band.”).
Regarding claim 4, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 3. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein:
the radar antenna system is configured to transduce electromagnetic energy at the second frequency via the first antenna (see at least [0058]; “According to an embodiment, the antenna device is configured to transduce the second signal portion via both the first antenna element and the second antenna element.”);
the radar circuit is configured to operate the first antenna together with the second antenna as a single further common antenna at the second frequency (see at least [0058]; “Consequently, the second antenna comprises both the first antenna element and the second antenna element and the first antenna comprises the first antenna element but not the second antenna element.”); and
the radar circuit is configured to operate the further common antenna as an antenna of a MIMO configuration (see at least [0060]; “The first and second signal portion may be radiated from or received at different and well defined physical locations on the antenna device, for example in angle resolving antenna arrays such as single input multiple output (SIMO) or MIMO configurations.”).
Regarding claim 5, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 3. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the radar circuit is configured to operate, in the combined operation mode, the first antenna and the second antenna (see at least [0058]; “Consequently, the second antenna comprises both the first antenna element and the second antenna element and the first antenna comprises the first antenna element but not the second antenna element.”) together with the at least one antenna coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 211 coupled to signal port 131) as parts of the common antenna (see at least [0037]; “For example, all signal ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and the radar circuit may generate all radar signals with a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band.” In the case where the signals to all ports have the same frequencies, Examiner interprets in light of [0013] of the instant specification that the associated antennas are operating as parts of a single common antenna.).
Regarding claim 6, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 3. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein:
the transmission line network comprises a filter section (see at least Fig. 9, filter element 285);
the second antenna is coupled to the guiding section via the filter section (see at least Fig. 9, second antenna 221 is coupled to common signal line 205 via filter 285); and
the filter section is configured to block the electromagnetic energy at the first frequency and to pass the electromagnetic energy at the second frequency (see at least [0168]; “In this embodiment, the first antenna 211 and the second antenna 221 are serially coupled to the common signal line 205 and a filter element 285 is placed between the first antenna 211 and the second antenna 221. The filter element 285 is configured to block the first signal portion of the radar signal transduced via the common signal port 204 and to pass the second signal portion of the radar signal to the second antenna 221.”).
Regarding claim 8, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 3. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the second antenna is coupled to the guiding section via at least a part of the first antenna (see at least Fig. 9, second antenna 221 is coupled to common signal line 205 via first antenna 211).
Regarding claim 9, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 3. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein:
the radar antenna system comprises a third antenna (see at least Fig. 9, further antenna 229); the third antenna is coupled to the feed port via the guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, antenna 229 is coupled to common signal port 204 via signal line 205);
the guiding section is configured to transduce electromagnetic energy at a third frequency (see at least [0169]; “As it is shown in FIG. 9, further antennas 229 may be coupled to the common signal line 205 behind the second antenna 221. The individual further antennas 229 may each transduce a separate signal portion of the radar signal.”); and
the radar antenna system is configured to block the electromagnetic energy at the first frequency from being transduced via the third antenna and to transduce the electromagnetic energy at the third frequency via the third antenna (see at least [0169]; “In this case, the filter element 285 passes all signal portions but the first signal portion radiated by the first antenna 211. Additionally, each further antenna 229 is coupled via a further filter element 286 to the preceding antennas 211, 221, 229. The individual further filter elements 286 each pass all signal portions radiated by the further antennas 229 that are coupled to the common signal line 205 behind the respective further filter element 286 and block all signal portions of the radar signal that are radiated by the antennas 211, 221, 229 coupled to the common signal line 205 in front of the respective further filter element 286.”).
Regarding claim 10, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 9. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the radar antenna system is configured to transduce the electromagnetic energy at the third frequency via the first antenna and/or via the second antenna (see at least Fig. 9, where signals for the additional antenna 229 are passed via antenna 211 and antenna 221. See also [0054]; “The radar circuit may be configured to transceive a third signal portion of the radar signal occupying a third frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and the second frequency band, and the ranging module of the radar device may be configured to jointly process the first, second and third signal portion to determine the distance to the target object irradiated by the first, second and third signal portion. The third signal portion may be transduced via at least one of the first and second antenna. It also may be transduced via both the first and second antenna.”).
Regarding claim 12, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 9. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the at least one antenna coupled to the feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 routed to signal port 130) and/or the at least one antenna coupled to the additional feed port are located in between the first antenna (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 211 routed to signal port 130) and the additional antenna (see at least Fig. 11, where antenna 221 routed to port 130 is in between the 211 antenna routed to port 130 and the 221 antenna routed to port 131).
Regarding claim 13, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 9. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein the transmission line network is configured as a waveguide network (see at least [0222]; “The filters 310, 311 and the common signal line connecting the antennas 211, 221, 229 to the common signal port 130 may be configured as surface integrated waveguide devices.”).
Regarding claim 14, Vollbracht discloses:
A vehicle (see at least Fig. 31, vehicle 500) including a radar system (see at least Fig. 31, radar device 1), the radar system comprising:
a radar antenna system (see at least Fig. 11, antenna device 200) and a radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, radar circuit 100); wherein:
the radar antenna system comprises at least a first antenna (see at least Fig. 11, first antenna 211 routed through signal port 130), an additional antenna (see at least Fig. 11, second antenna 221 routed through signal port 131), a feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 130 of Fig. 11), an additional feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 131 of Fig. 11) and a transmission line network (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 and signal lines connecting antenna elements);
the transmission line network has a guiding section (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 130) and an additional guiding section (see at Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 131);
the transmission line network couples the first antenna to the feed port via the guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects first antenna 211 to common feed port 204) and the additional antenna to the additional feed port via the additional guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects additional antenna 221 to common feed port 204);
a port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 130) is coupled to the feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 130 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9) and an additional port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 131) is coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 131 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9),
wherein the radar circuit is configured to operate, in a separated operation mode, the first antenna independently from the additional antenna (see at least [0037]; “Alternatively, at least one, but not all signal ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and at least one radar signal may have both a first and a second signal portion, but at least one of the radar signals may have a first signal portion only and/or at least one of the radar signals may have a second signal portion only.” In the case where different signal portions are sent to different signal ports, Examiner interprets that the associated antennas are operated independently.); and
the radar circuit is configured to operate, in a combined operation mode, at least one antenna coupled to the feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 routed to signal port 130), together with at least one antenna coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 routed to signal port 131) as parts of a single common antenna (see at least [0037]; “For example, all signal ports of the radar circuit may be configured as common signal ports and the radar circuit may generate all radar signals with a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band.” In the case where the signals to all ports have the same frequencies, Examiner interprets in light of [0013] of the instant specification that the associated antennas are operating as parts of a single common antenna.).
Regarding claim 15, Vollbracht discloses the vehicle of claim 14. The remaining limitations of claim 1 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Vollbracht discloses the vehicle of claim 14. The remaining limitations of claim 16 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Vollbracht discloses the vehicle of claim 14. The remaining limitations of claim 17 are analogous to those of claim 4 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Vollbracht discloses:
A method for operating a radar system (see at least Fig. 11, radar device 1) for a vehicle (see at least [0057]; “The radar device may be mounted to a vehicle.”), the radar system comprising a radar antenna system (see at least Fig. 11, antenna device 200) and a radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, radar circuit 100), the radar antenna system comprising at least a first antenna (see at least Fig. 11, first antenna 211 routed through signal port 130), an additional antenna (see at least Fig. 11, second antenna 221 routed through signal port 131), a feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 130 of Fig. 11), an additional feed port (see at least Fig. 9, common feed port 204, interpreted to be routed through signal port 131 of Fig. 11) and a transmission line network (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 and signal lines connecting antenna elements), the transmission line network having a guiding section (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 130) and an additional guiding section (see at Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 routed through signal port 131), the transmission line network coupling the first antenna to the feed port via the guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects first antenna 211 to common feed port 204) and the additional antenna to the additional feed port via the additional guiding section (see at least Fig. 9, common signal line 205 connects additional antenna 221 to common feed port 204), and a port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 130) being coupled to the feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 130 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9) and an additional port of the radar circuit (see at least Fig. 11, signal port 131) is coupled to the additional feed port (see at least Figs. 9 and 11, common signal line 205 is shown to connect to signal port 131 in Fig. 11 and to common feed port 204 in Fig. 9) the method comprising:
operating, by the radar circuit being in a combined operation mode (see at least [0058]; “According to an embodiment, the antenna device is configured to transduce the second signal portion via both the first antenna element and the second antenna element. Consequently, the second antenna comprises both the first antenna element and the second antenna element and the first antenna comprises the first antenna element but not the second antenna element.”), the first antenna with the additional antenna as parts of a single common antenna by simultaneously routing a first one of two radar signals via the feed port and a second one of the two radar signals via the additional feed port (see at least [0157]; “The signal generator 105 is controlled to generate individual radar signals for every common transmit signal port 130, 131, 133, each radar signal having a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band 31 and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band 34.” In the embodiment where the first antenna transduces the second signal portion, it acts as a single common antenna with the second antenna of a different feed port.); and
operating, by the radar circuit being in a separated operation mode, the first antenna independently from the additional antenna by routing an additional radar signal via the feed port (see at least [0157]; “The signal generator 105 is controlled to generate individual radar signals for every common transmit signal port 130, 131, 133, each radar signal having a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band 31 and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band 34.” As only the first antenna transduces the first signal portion, it is thus operated independently from the second antenna of any feed port.).
Regarding claim 19, Vollbracht discloses the method of claim 18. The remaining limitations of claim 19 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Vollbracht discloses the method of claim 18. The remaining limitations of claim 20 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollbracht in view of further embodiments of Vollbracht.
Regarding claim 11, Vollbracht discloses the radar system of claim 9. Vollbracht further teaches:
wherein:
the radar circuit is configured to operate, in the combined operation mode, the first antenna, the second antenna (see at least [0058]; “According to an embodiment, the antenna device is configured to transduce the second signal portion via both the first antenna element and the second antenna element. Consequently, the second antenna comprises both the first antenna element and the second antenna element and the first antenna comprises the first antenna element but not the second antenna element.”) (see at least Fig. 11, antenna 221 coupled to port 131) as parts of the single common antenna (see at least [0156]; “Each common signal port 130, 131, 133, 135, 136, 137 is coupled via a common signal line 205 to an individual signal routing device 230. Each signal routing device 230 has a first port 231 and a second port 232. Each first port 231 is coupled to an individual first antenna 211 transducing in the first frequency band 31 and each second port 232 is coupled to an individual second antenna 221 transducing in the second frequency band 34.”) by simultaneously routing a first one of the two radar signals via the feed port and a second one of the two radar signals via the additional feed port (see at least [0157]; “The signal generator 105 is controlled to generate individual radar signals for every common transmit signal port 130, 131, 133, each radar signal having a first signal portion occupying the first frequency band 31 and a second signal portion occupying the second frequency band 34.”); and
each of the two radar signals has the third frequency (see at least [0054]; “The radar circuit may be configured to transceive a third signal portion of the radar signal occupying a third frequency band that is different from the first frequency band and the second frequency band, and the ranging module of the radar device may be configured to jointly process the first, second and third signal portion to determine the distance to the target object irradiated by the first, second and third signal portion. The third signal portion may be transduced via at least one of the first and second antenna. It also may be transduced via both the first and second antenna.”).
However, Vollbracht does not explicitly teach the first and second antennas transmitting at the same frequency as the third antenna, nor does Vollbracht explicitly teach the at least one additional antenna also transmitting in that same frequency at the same time.
Vollbracht does teach the first and second antennas transmitting in a third frequency (see at least [0054]), and the signal for the third antenna of Fig. 9 passes unfiltered through the first and second antennas (see at least [0169]; “As it is shown in FIG. 9, further antennas 229 may be coupled to the common signal line 205 behind the second antenna 221. The individual further antennas 229 may each transduce a separate signal portion of the radar signal. In this case, the filter element 285 passes all signal portions but the first signal portion radiated by the first antenna 211. Additionally, each further antenna 229 is coupled via a further filter element 286 to the preceding antennas 211, 221, 229. The individual further filter elements 286 each pass all signal portions radiated by the further antennas 229 that are coupled to the common signal line 205 behind the respective further filter element 286 and block all signal portions of the radar signal that are radiated by the antennas 211, 221, 229 coupled to the common signal line 205 in front of the respective further filter element 286.”). Furthermore, the antennas coupled to the additional feed port are taught to transmit at the same and in the same frequencies as those coupled to the first feed port (see at least [0156]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine all these features into a single embodiment, where the first, second, and third antennas, as well as an antenna coupled to the additional feed port, are all simultaneously transmitting radar signals that have the third frequency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollbracht in view of Lander et al. (US-20250244467, hereinafter Lander).
Regarding claim 7, Vollbracht teaches the radar system of claim 6. However, Vollbracht does not teach:
wherein the filter section is configured as a stepped impedance filter.
Vollbracht discloses a radar device for automotive applications, and Lander is directed to a radar device for tracking UAV position by reading radar tags. Lander teaches:
wherein the filter section is configured as a stepped impedance filter (see at least [0041]; “Where the radar transmitter 210 produces transmissions with a significant second harmonic content, the transmitted second harmonic may interfere with detection of the second harmonic signal from the tag 220. In this case, the emission of the second harmonic may be reduced. For example, a frequency selective surface that passes the fundamental frequency but not the harmonic may be mounted across the radar horn, a stepped impedance filter may be added to the antenna waveguide feed to pass the fundamental frequency and block the second harmonic, electromagnetic shielding may be added to prevent harmonics escaping via the power and data systems. Any combination of these measures may be used.”).
Both Vollbracht and Lander teach filters for signals in waveguide networks that feed radar transmitters (see Vollbracht at least [0073] and Lander at least [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter used in Vollbracht to be a stepped impedance filter as taught by Lander. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a stepped impedance filter in order to pass desired frequencies and block undesired frequencies, as recognized by Lander (see Lander at least [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rieth et al. (US-20170084987-A1) is considered relevant prior art because it teaches antennas with radar applications that can be used independent of each other in one mode and in a second mode transmit and/or receive in a common frequency.
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648