DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 02/04/2026.
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected.
This action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/04/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 18, 20-21, 23-24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20150105072_A1_Zhu in view of US_20250240105_A1_Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a first base station of a first wireless network having a first back end, the first base station comprising a memory and at least one processor, coupled to the memory and operative to cause the first base station to (Zhu figures 6-7, paragraph 151): measure signal strengths of incoming measurement messages received by the first base station from other base stations (Zhu paragraph 127, “…the first base station performs a test on the received signal to obtain received signal strength…” ); decode information contained in the incoming BS2BS measurement messages (Zhu figure 3, paragraph 112, “…according to the scrambling code of each base station in each BS2BS measurement report”); for each incoming BS2BS measurement message, report information to the first back end (Zhu figure 5, element 501), the reported information comprising the measured signal strength of the incoming BS2BS measurement message (Zhu paragraph 109, “…After a base station sends a received BS2BS measurement report to the processing network element, the processing network element distinguishes signal strength of each base station by using the scrambling code of each base station in the BS2BS measurement report, and then determines, according to the signal strength, whether a base station corresponding to a scrambling code corresponding to the signal strength is a neighboring base station of the base station”) and at least some of the decoded information contained in the incoming BS2BS measurement message (Zhu paragraph 112, “…the processing network element receives BS2BS measurement reports sent by the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, and the base station 5, finds corresponding identification information according to the scrambling code of each base station in each BS2BS measurement report,…”); and transmit outgoing BS2BS measurement messages containing, for at least one incoming BS2BS measurement message, the measured signal strength of the incoming BS2BS measurement message and at least some of the decoded information contained in the incoming BS2BS measurement message (Zhu figure 4, paragraph 109, “…After a base station sends a received BS2BS measurement report to the processing network element, the processing network element distinguishes signal strength of each base station by using the scrambling code of each base station in the BS2BS measurement report, and then determines, according to the signal strength, whether a base station corresponding to a scrambling code corresponding to the signal strength is a neighboring base station of the base station”), but does not explicitly discloses the measurement report is a base-station-to-base-station (BS2BS) measurement report.
Liu discloses the BS2BS measurement report is a base-station-to-base-station (BS2BS) measurement report (Liu figure 20, steps 2002-2003, and paragraphs 297, 533, 540).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu’s BS-BS BS2BS measurement report in Zhu’s system for controlling interference in a wireless communication system (Liu paragraph 263, 297, 305). This method for improving the system of Zhu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Liu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, and Zhu further discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received from an other base station, the decoded information comprises one or more of: identification of the other base station; identification of the other base station's network; location of the other base station; and transmit power level of the other base station's outgoing BS2BS measurement messages (Zhu paragraph 133, “…the first base station performs a signal test on the signal to obtain signal strength of the signal, and then compares the signal strength obtained by testing with preset signal strength to obtain the path loss of the signal …”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 4, and Zhu further discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received from an other base station, the decoded information excludes location of the other base station (Zhu figure 4, and paragraph 124-125, the signal transmitted by a second base station does not include location information).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, and Zhu further discloses wherein each outgoing BS2BS measurement message transmitted by the first base station comprises one or more of: identification of the first base station; identification of the first base station's network; location of the first base station; and transmit power level of the first base station's outgoing BS2BS measurement messages message (Zhu paragraph 112, “…the processing network element receives BS2BS measurement reports sent by the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, and the base station 5, finds corresponding identification information according to the scrambling code of each base station in each BS2BS measurement report,…”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 7, and Zhu further discloses wherein, for each outgoing BS2BS measurement message transmitted by the first base station, the decoded information excludes location of the first base station (Zhu paragraph 128-129, the path loss of the test signal transmitted by the first base station does not include location information).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, and Zhu further discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the information reported to the first back end comprises one or more of: the measured signal strength of the incoming BS2BS measurement message; time period of the incoming BS2BS measurement message; identification of the other base station; identification of the other base station's network; location of the other base station; and transmit power level of the other base station's outgoing BS2BS measurement messages message (Zhu paragraph 109, “…After a base station sends a received BS2BS measurement report to the processing network element, the processing network element distinguishes signal strength of each base station by using the scrambling code of each base station in the BS2BS measurement report, and then determines, according to the signal strength, whether a base station corresponding to a scrambling code corresponding to the signal strength is a neighboring base station of the base station”)
Regarding claim 12, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 10, and Zhu further discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the information reported to the first back end excludes the location of the other base station (Zhu figure 4, and paragraph 124-125, the signal transmitted by a second base station does not include location information).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 24, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 26, Zhu and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 12.
Claim(s) 2-3, 8, 16-17, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20150105072_A1_Zhu in view of US_20250240105_A1_Liu and US_20220225358_A1_Hong.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, wherein the first base station is operative to: identify time periods that are available for the first base station to transmit the outgoing BS2BS measurement messages; and select a specific time period from the available time periods for the first base station to transmit the outgoing BS2BS measurement messages.
Hong discloses wherein the first base station is operative to: identify time periods that are available for the first base station to transmit the outgoing BS2BS measurement messages; and select a specific time period from the available time periods for the first base station to transmit the outgoing BS2BS measurement messages (Hong figure 6-7, paragraph 81, “…Additionally, the management device may further identify at least one of a maximum arrival distance, and a transmission period of the sequence.”, paragraph 82, “…The transmission period refers to a duration including a plurality of consecutive transmission opportunities.…which base station transmits which sequence and at which time may be determined….”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hong’s which base station transmits which sequence and at which time may be determined in Zhu and Liu’s system for measuring and controlling interference in a wireless communication system. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hong. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Hong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Zhu, Liu and Hong disclose the first base station of claim 2, and Zhu further discloses wherein the first base station is operative to identify the available time periods based on measured signal strengths below a specified threshold level (Zhu paragraph 113, “…Specifically, when the signal strength is greater than or equal to a preset signal strength threshold…”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 7, and Zhu further discloses wherein each outgoing BS2BS measurement message transmitted by the first base station further comprises (i) the measured signal strengths of the incoming BS2BS measurement messages received by the first base station from other base stations (Zhu paragraph 109, “…After a base station sends a received BS2BS measurement report to the processing network element, the processing network element distinguishes signal strength of each base station by using the scrambling code of each base station in the BS2BS measurement report, and then determines, according to the signal strength, whether a base station corresponding to a scrambling code corresponding to the signal strength is a neighboring base station of the base station”), and (iii) information decoded by the first base station from the incoming BS2BS measurement messages (Zhu paragraph 112, “…the processing network element receives BS2BS measurement reports sent by the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, and the base station 5, finds corresponding identification information according to the scrambling code of each base station in each BS2BS measurement report,…”), but does not disclose wherein each outgoing BS2BS measurement message transmitted by the first base station further comprises (ii) time periods of the incoming BS2BS measurement messages
Hong discloses wherein each outgoing BS2BS measurement message transmitted by the first base station further comprises (ii) time periods of the incoming BS2BS measurement messages (Hong paragraph 106, “The management device may transmit to the base stations at least one of grouping result information of the base stations, transmission period information per group, and sequence pool information per group.”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hong’s which base station transmits which sequence and at which time may be determined in Zhu and Liu’s system for measuring and controlling interference in a wireless communication system. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hong. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Hong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Zhu, Liu and Hong disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu, Liu and Hong disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, Zhu, Liu and Hong disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 8.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20150105072_A1_Zhu in view of US_20250240105_A1_Liu and US_20100291940_A1_Koo.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the decoded information further comprises information decoded by the other base station from incoming BS2BS measurement messages received by the other base station.
Koo discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the decoded information further comprises information decoded by the other base station from incoming BS2BS measurement messages received by the other base station (Koo figure 4, and paragraph 56, “…BS2BS measurement information such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) to the serving base station together with cell ID of the neighboring cell. Then, the serving base station can identify neighboring cell ID information and interference level of the corresponding user equipment which has transmitted BS2BS measurement information of the neighboring cell...”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Koo’s the BS2BS measurement information such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) to the serving base station together with cell ID of the neighboring cell in Zhu and Liu’s system to identify the BS2BS measurement. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Koo. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Koo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 10, but does not disclose wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the information reported to the first back end further comprises information decoded by the other base station from incoming BS2BS measurement messages received by the other base station.
Koo discloses wherein, for each incoming BS2BS measurement message received by the first base station from an other base station, the information reported to the first back end further comprises information decoded by the other base station from incoming BS2BS measurement messages received by the other base station (Koo figure 4, and paragraph 56, “…BS2BS measurement information such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) to the serving base station together with cell ID of the neighboring cell. Then, the serving base station can identify neighboring cell ID information and interference level of the corresponding user equipment which has transmitted BS2BS measurement information of the neighboring cell...”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Koo’s the BS2BS measurement information such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) to the serving base station together with cell ID of the neighboring cell in Zhu and Liu’s system to identify the BS2BS measurement. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Koo. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Koo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu, Liu and Koo disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 25, Zhu, Liu and Koo disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 11.
Claim(s) 13 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20150105072_A1_Zhu in view of US_20250240105_A1_Liu and US_20160157103_A1_Teng.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein at least one of the other base stations is part of a different wireless network sharing a spectrum with the first wireless network.
Teng discloses wherein at least one of the other base stations is part of a different wireless network sharing a spectrum with the first wireless network (Teng figure 1, and paragraph 31, “Referring to FIG. 1, cellular communication networks of different operators have typically overlapping coverage areas. Base stations of different operators are illustrated in FIG. 1 with different filling patterns…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Teng’s sharing operating frequency amongst wireless networks in Zhu and Liu’s system for efficient spectrum utilization. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Teng. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Teng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, Zhu, Liu and Teng disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 13.
Claim(s) 14 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20150105072_A1_Zhu in view of US_20250240105_A1_Liu and US_20250106641_A1_Gurney.
Regarding claim 14, Zhu and Liu disclose the first base station of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first wireless network is a Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) network.
Gurney discloses wherein the first wireless network is a Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) network (Gurney paragraph 13, “… In general, spectrum controllers are utilized to coordinate multiple users of shared spectrum, among other technologies. Base stations for certain types of broadband networks, such as citizens broadband radio service (CBRS) networks, may be subject to certain operating restrictions when utilizing shared spectrum…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Gurney’s sharing operating frequency amongst wireless networks in Zhu and Liu’s system to offer a secure, reliable, high-performance private wireless network. This method for improving the system of Zhu and Liu was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Gurney. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu, Liu and Gurney to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claim 28, Zhu, Liu and Gurney disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471