DETAILED ACTION
The applicant’s amendment filed on January 6, 2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-15, as amended, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “that the firmware (30) is affected” which appears to be a typo as no additional numbers indicating elements of the drawing are recited in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eacmen, III et al. (US 2019/0294802 A1) hereafter Eacmen, in view of Dolan et al. (US 12,075,107 B1) hereafter Dolan, further in view of Hering et al. (US 2011/0119765 A1) hereafter Hering.
As per claim 1, Eacmen discloses a computer-implemented method for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device (Eacmen Abstract; discloses the invention is for detecting firmware threats. Specifically receiving firmware images, analyzing those images and identifying vulnerabilities. Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions. Page 1, paragraph [0011]; discloses that the devices being analyzed include Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices ), the method comprising:
receiving an image of the device firmware (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0020]; discloses receiving an image of the device firmware);
analyzing the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses analyzing the components of the image to determine the properties of the firmware. Specifically which components match the database);
accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses that a database is accessed and used to compare the analyzed data to components in the database. Page 2, paragraph [0021]; discloses that the database is either internal or external. Page 3, paragraph [0034]; discloses that details of the vulnerabilities of each software components are stored and used to match the analyzed image);
filtering the recorded details using the associated properties (Eacmen Page 3, paragraph [0037]; discloses that the identified or determined items are filtered out. Page 4, paragraph [0050]; discloses that the identified items which match the database records are filtered out and displayed).
Eacmen additionally discloses determining the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware (Eacmen Page 3, paragraph [0032]-[0034]; discloses that the system analyzes the firmware to determine the version of the firmware and what the current version of the firmware is on the component).
While Eacmen discusses pushing firmware images which are determined to address the vulnerabilities, it is not explicit that it downloads the filtered ones of the recorded details. Additionally Eacmen fails to explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Dolan, which like Eacmen discusses updating firmware, teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information. By filtering which firmware applies and which needs to be updated the system can display which updates applies and allow the user to download them. As shown in Dolan this allows the device to download the update rather than taking up storage space before the device is ready to be updated).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. While Eacmen discusses pushing firmware images which are determined to address the vulnerabilities, it is not explicit that it downloads the filtered ones of the recorded details.
Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen the ability to download the filtered ones of the recorded details as taught by Dolan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Dolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen, with the ability to download the filtered ones of the recorded details as taught by Dolan, for the purposes of allowing the firmware to be downloaded when needed rather than stored. As shown in Dolan this allows the device to download the update rather than taking up storage space before the device is ready to be updated.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Hering, which like the combination talks about evaluating firmware, teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities (Hering page 3, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; teaches that it is known to filter the recorded details based on matching the version of the firmware with prerequisites those versions indicated having vulnerabilities. When the match is made it is determined that the firmware is affected by the vulnerabilities. The server only provides the information which match the prerequisite values. The Examiner asserts this is consistent with the applicant’s originally filed specification paragraph [0056]. Since the combination already establishes determining the version number of firmware it would have been obvious to compare that version information with a list of prerequisites to quickly determine if it vulnerable as shown in Hering).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details. While Eacmen discusses determining the version of the firmware in the component, it fails explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Hering teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen and Dolan the ability to filter the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities as taught by Hering since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Hering, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen and Dolan, with the ability to filter the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities as taught by Hering, for the purposes of identifying versions of the firmware which are vulnerable. Since the combination already establishes determining the version number of firmware it would have been obvious to compare that version information with a list of prerequisites to quickly determine if it vulnerable as shown in Hering.
As per claim 2, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; Dolan further teaches wherein the downloaded filtered ones of the recorded details are displayed on a display device (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information. Col. 14, lines 28-34; teaches that the system can provide updates or display updates which can be downloaded).
As per claim 3, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; Dolan further teaches wherein the associated properties are at least one of recorded version numbers of the software components, interacting ones of the software components, device architecture, and configuration of the device firmware (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information).
As per claim 4, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; Dolan further teaches wherein the filtering is based on the version numbers of the software components in the IoT device and the downloading of the recorded details is performed when the version numbers are identical (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information. Col. 16, lines 7-22; teaches that vulnerabilities can be brought about by a specific version number and the solution to roll back to a previous firmware).
As per claim 6, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; Hering further discloses wherein the sets of prerequisites comprise information about hardware components, settings, configuration or architecture of the device (Hering page 3, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; teaches that it is known to filter the recorded details based on matching the version of the firmware. In this case the prerequisite is the version of the firmware which is information about the hardware component).
Eacmen establishes that the device is an IoT device (Page 1, paragraph [0011]; discloses that the devices being analyzed include Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices).
As per claim 8, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; Eacmen further discloses wherein the filtering is based on a vulnerability score S indicating a degree of exploitability of the one or more vulnerabilities (Eacmen Page 4, paragraph [0050]; discloses that the filtering can include a vulnerability score which indicates a level of risk or degree of exploitability).
As per claim 9, Eacmen discloses a system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device (Eacmen Abstract; discloses the invention is for detecting firmware threats. Specifically receiving firmware images, analyzing those images and identifying vulnerabilities. Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions. Page 1, paragraph [0011]; discloses that the devices being analyzed include Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices), the system comprising:
at least one of an internal database for storing recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities and an external database for storing recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of software components of the device firmware (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses that a database is accessed and used to compare the analyzed data to components in the database. Page 2, paragraph [0021]; discloses that the database is either internal or external. Page 3, paragraph [0034]; discloses that details of the vulnerabilities of each software components are stored and used to match the analyzed image); and
a processor for (Eacmen Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions)
analyzing an image of the device firmware to determine the software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses analyzing the components of the image to determine the properties of the firmware. Specifically which components match the database);
accessing at least one of the internal database and the external database (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses that a database is accessed and used to compare the analyzed data to components in the database. Page 2, paragraph [0021]; discloses that the database is either internal or external. Page 3, paragraph [0034]; discloses that details of the vulnerabilities of each software components are stored and used to match the analyzed image);
filtering the recorded details using the associated properties (Eacmen Page 3, paragraph [0037]; discloses that the identified or determined items are filtered out. Page 4, paragraph [0050]; discloses that the identified items which match the database records are filtered out and displayed)
Eacmen additionally discloses determining the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware (Eacmen Page 3, paragraph [0032]-[0034]; discloses that the system analyzes the firmware to determine the version of the firmware and what the current version of the firmware is on the component).
While Eacmen discusses pushing firmware images which are determined to address the vulnerabilities, it is not explicit that it downloads the filtered ones of the recorded details. Additionally Eacmen fails to explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Dolan, which like Eacmen discusses updating firmware, teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information. By filtering which firmware applies and which needs to be updated the system can display which updates applies and allow the user to download them. As shown in Dolan this allows the device to download the update rather than taking up storage space before the device is ready to be updated).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. While Eacmen discusses pushing firmware images which are determined to address the vulnerabilities, it is not explicit that it downloads the filtered ones of the recorded details.
Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen the ability to download the filtered ones of the recorded details as taught by Dolan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Dolan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen, with the ability to download the filtered ones of the recorded details as taught by Dolan, for the purposes of allowing the firmware to be downloaded when needed rather than stored. As shown in Dolan this allows the device to download the update rather than taking up storage space before the device is ready to be updated.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Hering, which like the combination talks about evaluating firmware, teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities (Hering page 3, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; teaches that it is known to filter the recorded details based on matching the version of the firmware with prerequisites those versions indicated having vulnerabilities. When the match is made it is determined that the firmware is affected by the vulnerabilities. The server only provides the information which match the prerequisite values. The Examiner asserts this is consistent with the applicant’s originally filed specification paragraph [0056]. Since the combination already establishes determining the version number of firmware it would have been obvious to compare that version information with a list of prerequisites to quickly determine if it vulnerable as shown in Hering).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details. While Eacmen discusses determining the version of the firmware in the component, it fails explicitly disclose filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
Hering teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen and Dolan the ability to filter the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities as taught by Hering since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Hering, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen and Dolan, with the ability to filter the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities as taught by Hering, for the purposes of identifying versions of the firmware which are vulnerable. Since the combination already establishes determining the version number of firmware it would have been obvious to compare that version information with a list of prerequisites to quickly determine if it vulnerable as shown in Hering.
As per claim 10, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the system of claim 9; Dolan further teaches comprising a display device for displaying the downloaded filtered ones of the recorded details (Dolan Col. 11, line 19-33; teaches that update information is filtered by version number, serial number range, device type and model numbers as well as other information. Col. 14, lines 28-34; teaches that the system can provide updates or display updates which can be downloaded).
As per claim 11, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the system of claim 9; Eacmen further discloses comprising an analysis database for storing details about the determined software components and details about the determined associated properties (Eacmen Page 2, paragraph [0026]; discloses that a database is accessed and used to compare the analyzed data to components in the database. Page 3, paragraph [0034]; discloses that details of the vulnerabilities of each software components are stored and used to match the analyzed image).
As per claim 12, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the method of claim 1, Eacmen further discloses use of the method of claim 1 for vulnerability analysis of a firmware of an IoT device (Eacmen Page 1, paragraph [0011]; discloses that the devices being analyzed include Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices).
As per claim 13, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the method of claim 1, Eacmen further discloses a data processing apparatus comprising a processor for carrying out the method of claim 1 (Eacmen Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions).
As per claim 14, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the method of claim 1, Eacmen further discloses a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1 (Eacmen Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions).
As per claim 15, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the method of claim 1, Eacmen further discloses a computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1 (Eacmen Page 4, paragraphs [0051]-[0053]; disclose that the invention is carried out by a computer which contains a processor and memory for carrying out the instructions).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eacmen, III et al. (US 2019/0294802 A1) hereafter Eacmen, in view of Dolan et al. (US 12,075,107 B1) hereafter Dolan, further in view of Hering et al. (US 2011/0119765 A1) hereafter Hering, further in view of Dahlstrom et al. (US 2004/0006704 A1) hereafter Dahlstrom.
As per claim 5, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; the combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the internal database comprises links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities.
Dahlstrom, which like the combination talks about handling software vulnerabilities, teaches wherein the internal database comprises links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities (Dahlstrom Page 2, paragraphs [0024]-[0025]; teaches it is known for the system to include in the database work arounds for one or more vulnerabilities. As shown in in Dahlstrom providing this information stored in the database helps make recommendations to prevent, reduce or avoid the circumstances associated with the vulnerability).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details. Hering teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities. However the combination fails to establish wherein the internal database comprises links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities.
Dahlstrom teaches wherein the internal database comprises links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering the ability to include in the database links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities as taught by Dahlstrom since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Dahlstrom, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen, Dolan and Hering, with the ability to include in the database links to work-arounds for the one or more vulnerabilities as taught by Dahlstrom, for the purposes of preventing or reducing the risk of vulnerabilities. As shown in in Dahlstrom providing this information stored in the database helps make recommendations to prevent, reduce or avoid the circumstances associated with the vulnerability.
As per claim 7, the combination of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1; the combination however fails to disclose wherein the recorded details include one or more explanations of the vulnerabilities and patches (Dahlstrom Page 2, paragraphs [0024]-[0025]; teaches it is known for the system to include in the database work arounds for one or more vulnerabilities. The database stores additional information such as information about the vulnerabilities and patches. As shown in in Dahlstrom providing this information stored in the database helps make recommendations to prevent, reduce or avoid the circumstances associated with the vulnerability).
Eacmen discloses identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device. Eacmen receives an image of the device firmware and analyzes the image to determine software components of the device firmware, and associated properties of the firmware. Eacmen discloses accessing at least one of an external database or an internal database, wherein the at least one of an external database or an internal database comprise recorded details of the one or more vulnerabilities of the software components and filtering the recorded details using the associated properties. Dolan teaches downloading the filtered ones of the recorded details. Hering teaches filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding the one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities. However the combination fails to establish wherein the recorded details include one or more explanations of the vulnerabilities and patches.
Dahlstrom teaches wherein the recorded details include one or more explanations of the vulnerabilities and patches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system for identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities in device firmware of an IoT device of Eacmen, Dolan and Hering the ability for the recorded details to include one or more explanations of the vulnerabilities and patches as taught by Dahlstrom since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, from this teaching of Dahlstrom, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of identifying one or more exploitable vulnerabilities provided by Eacmen, Dolan and Hering the ability for the recorded details to include one or more explanations of the vulnerabilities and patches as taught by Dahlstrom, for the purposes of preventing or reducing the risk of vulnerabilities. As shown in in Dahlstrom providing this information stored in the database helps make recommendations to prevent, reduce or avoid the circumstances associated with the vulnerability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Specifically the arguments regarding the newly amended material that "filtering the recorded details using the associated properties by retaining only the recorded details whose prerequisites match with the properties of the firmware, wherein it is necessary that the firmware fulfils the prerequisites comprised by the recorded details regarding one of the vulnerabilities to conclude that the firmware is affected by this one of the vulnerabilities" are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Specifically the Examiner has cited the Hering reference to address these newly amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL R. FISHER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2498
/PAUL R FISHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498 4/29/2026