DETAILED ACTION
Other Refs: Jin (US 20190179742): Storage system a nonvolatile memory device 1100 in which data stored.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 12, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Bandic (US 10459793) and Wu (US 10430092) and Post (US 20120311000)
Claim 1. Trika discloses A computational storage system (eg., [0014] As shown in FIG. 1, the illustrative compute device 102), comprising:
a storage device including a storage controller, a buffer memory, and a non-volatile memory (eg., [0022] Referring now to FIG. 2, data storage device 150 includes- the data storage controller 202 and a memory 220, which illustratively includes a non-volatile memory 222 );
a computing device configured to process data in response to a data processing request received from an external device and to generate first dump data in response to a first dump request received from the external device (eg., 0018 - compute engine 120 is communicatively coupled to other components of the compute device 102 via the I/O subsystem 130, which may be embodied as circuitry and/or components to facilitate input/output operations with the compute engine 120 (e.g., with the processor 122 and/or the main memory 124),); and
a volatile memory configured to store data used for data processing of the computing device (eg., 0015 - main memory 124 may be embodied as any type of volatile),
wherein the storage device is configured to store the first dump data in the non-volatile memory in response to a storage request of the first dump data … received from the computing device (eg., 0012 - processed inside the data storage device 150 and an output data range where output data is to be written…. data to be read from the data storage device 150 and processed inside the data storage device 150 without having to transfer the data to a memory of the host compute device 102 and back into the data storage device 150 ) .
Trika does not disclose, but Bandic discloses
user (eg., col 2:60-61 - store user data … to memory device).
that comprises a metadata area and a user area storing data that is responsive to a read request or a write request (eg., col 5:48-67: dies 16 may store user data, parity data, metadata, and/or redundancy data. user data may include data received from host device 4. Parity data may include data used to detect and/or correct errors in the user data. For instance, parity data may include parity bits, checksum data, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data, error correction code (ECC), or the like. Redundancy data may include data generated by performing an exclusive-or (XOR) function of other data, such as user data, parity data, or metadata. Metadata may include information about the user data.);
the metadata area of the non-volatile memory (eg., col 5:60-67, Fig. 1,2,5; metadata may include information about the reliability of the user data, also referred to as data reliability information. For example, data reliability information may include at least one of a cell error identifier, a page flip indicator, an access time-stamp, or a disturbance counter.);
a metadata access protocol received from the computing device (eg., col 3:57-63: Storage device 6 may include interface 14 for interfacing with host device 4. Interface 14 may include one or both of a data bus for exchanging data with host device 4 and a control bus for exchanging commands with host device 4. Interface 14 may operate in accordance with any suitable protocol. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, providing the benefit of writing the data to the non-volatile memory devices, a controller may generate and write parity data to the memory device that may be used to recover the data, such as in the event of a memory error. (see Bandic, col 1:20-25).
Trika in view of Bandic does not disclose, but Wu discloses
wherein the first dump data is data used to solve an error or failure of the computing device, (eg., col 7:65- col 8:2 - In power failure or similar situations, the controller module 202 sends the content of the registers 224 and other relevant information to the non-volatile memory 204, and non-volatile memory 204 stores them in the metadata area 212.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu providing the benefit of improved system and methods for data reliability (see col 1:45-46) on-volatile memory is specifically configured to preserve information stored at the volatile memory in the event of power or other types of failures (col 4:9-12).
Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Post discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to identify the first dump data based at least in part on a first dump identifier included in the first dump data (eg., [0019] Fig. 2 - The file system 112 is a data structure implemented by the operating system to organize data stored in NVM into files that are accessible by name, hiding the actual device storage organization from programs that read and write data in the file system. The file system 112 can include file system metadata 114, including but not limited to unique object identifiers (IDs) for identifying files in the file system 112. The operating system performs operations for writing data to a file system in the NVM; [0022] A program that wishes to write data to the NVM 104 instructs the operating system to open a file stream for writing to a file in the file system. The file stream may be identified by name; [0026] the operating system may provide a function that issues a unique identifier (ID)… attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu, with Post, providing the benefit of attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files (see Post, 0026) desirable to provide a mechanism that allows an SSD to more effectively separate static and dynamic data (0010) data is written to the file stream and stored on the solid state storage device according to the life expectancy value attached to the data. In one embodiment, a unique identifier may be used as the life expectancy value for writing a group of related files predicted to be stored in the file system for substantially the same length of time. The life expectancy value may be predicted based on a file type of the file being written. The life expectancy value may be stored as metadata for the file being written (0011).
Claim 10. Trika discloses
wherein, when a dump read request is received from the external device, the computing device is configured to transmit the dump read request to the storage controller, and the storage controller is configured to read at least one of the first dump data and second dump data corresponding to the dump read request from the non-volatile memory (eg., 0025 - memory control logic unit 212 is illustratively embodied as hardware circuitry and/or devices (e.g., a processor, an ASIC, etc.) configured to control the read/write access to data at particular storage locations of the memory 220.; 0012 - allows the data to be read from the data storage device 150 and processed inside the data storage device 150 without having to transfer the data to a memory of the host compute device 102 and back into the data storage device 150 to be processed; 0034 - a requested data operation on the input data read from the memory 220.).
Claim 12. Trika discloses A method of operation of a computational storage system (eg., [0014] As shown in FIG. 1, the illustrative compute device 102), comprising:
including a storage device, a computing device, and a volatile memory, the method comprising (eg., [0022] Referring now to FIG. 2, data storage device 150 includes- the data storage controller 202 and a memory 220, which illustratively includes a non-volatile memory 222; 0015 - main memory 124 may be embodied as any type of volatile );
receiving, by the computing device, a first dump request from an external device; generating, by the computing device, first dump data in response to the first dump request (eg., 0018 - compute engine 120 is communicatively coupled to other components of the compute device 102 via the I/O subsystem 130, which may be embodied as circuitry and/or components to facilitate input/output operations with the compute engine 120 (e.g., with the processor 122 and/or the main memory 124),); and
generating, by the computing device, a storage request of the first dump data and storing, by the storage device, the first dump data in a non-volatile memory in response to the storage request of the first dump data (eg., 0012 - processed inside the data storage device 150 and an output data range where output data is to be written…. data to be read from the data storage device 150 and processed inside the data storage device 150 without having to transfer the data to a memory of the host compute device 102 and back into the data storage device 150 ) .
Trika does not disclose, but Bandic discloses
user (eg., col 2:60-61 - store user data … to memory device).
wherein the non-volatile memory comprises a metadata area and a user area storing data that is responsive to a read request or a write request generated by the external device (eg., col 5:48-67: dies 16 may store user data, parity data, metadata, and/or redundancy data. user data may include data received from host device 4. Parity data may include data used to detect and/or correct errors in the user data. For instance, parity data may include parity bits, checksum data, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data, error correction code (ECC), or the like. Redundancy data may include data generated by performing an exclusive-or (XOR) function of other data, such as user data, parity data, or metadata. Metadata may include information about the user data; col 16:8-10 - (67) Controller 8 may receive a write command or a read command from host device 4 (72).);
wherein the first dump data is stored in the metadata area of the non-volatile memory. (eg., col 5:60-67, Fig. 1,2,5; metadata may include information about the reliability of the user data, also referred to as data reliability information. For example, data reliability information may include at least one of a cell error identifier, a page flip indicator, an access time-stamp, or a disturbance counter.);
a metadata access protocol received from the computing device (eg., col 3:57-63: Storage device 6 may include interface 14 for interfacing with host device 4. Interface 14 may include one or both of a data bus for exchanging data with host device 4 and a control bus for exchanging commands with host device 4. Interface 14 may operate in accordance with any suitable protocol. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, providing the benefit of writing the data to the non-volatile memory devices, a controller may generate and write parity data to the memory device that may be used to recover the data, such as in the event of a memory error. (see Bandic, col 1:20-25).
Trika in view of Bandic does not disclose, but Wu discloses
wherein the first dump data is data used to solve an error or failure of the computing device, (eg., col 7:65- col 8:2 - In power failure or similar situations, the controller module 202 sends the content of the registers 224 and other relevant information to the non-volatile memory 204, and non-volatile memory 204 stores them in the metadata area 212.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu providing the benefit of improved system and methods for data reliability (see col 1:45-46) on-volatile memory is specifically configured to preserve information stored at the volatile memory in the event of power or other types of failures (col 4:9-12).
Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Post discloses
wherein the storage controller of the storage device is configured to identify the first dump data based at least in part on a first dump identifier included in the first dump data (eg., [0019] Fig. 2 - The file system 112 is a data structure implemented by the operating system to organize data stored in NVM into files that are accessible by name, hiding the actual device storage organization from programs that read and write data in the file system. The file system 112 can include file system metadata 114, including but not limited to unique object identifiers (IDs) for identifying files in the file system 112. The operating system performs operations for writing data to a file system in the NVM; [0022] A program that wishes to write data to the NVM 104 instructs the operating system to open a file stream for writing to a file in the file system. The file stream may be identified by name; [0026] the operating system may provide a function that issues a unique identifier (ID)… attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files.; 0033 control circuitry 108 uses each of the plurality of buffers 204 to receive data designated with a particular life expectancy value, or range of life expectancy values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu, with Post, providing the benefit of attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files (see Post, 0026) desirable to provide a mechanism that allows an SSD to more effectively separate static and dynamic data (0010) data is written to the file stream and stored on the solid state storage device according to the life expectancy value attached to the data. In one embodiment, a unique identifier may be used as the life expectancy value for writing a group of related files predicted to be stored in the file system for substantially the same length of time. The life expectancy value may be predicted based on a file type of the file being written. The life expectancy value may be stored as metadata for the file being written (0011).
Claim 14. Trika discloses
receiving, by the computing device, a second dump request from the external device; transmitting, by the computing device, the second dump request to the storage device (eg., 0022 - writing to the memory 220 (e.g., in response to requests from a host device, such as the compute device 102);
generating, by the storage device, second dump data in response to the second dump request; and storing, by the storage device, the second dump data in the non-volatile memory (eg., 0012 - write processed data to the data storage device 150 based on the parameters specified by the compute device 102.).
Claim 16. Trika discloses
receiving, by the computing device, a dump read request from the external device (eg., 0022- reading from and/or writing to the memory 220 (e.g., in response to requests from a host device, such as the compute device 102 );
transmitting, by the computing device, the dump read request to the storage device; and reading, by the storage device, at least one of the first dump data and second dump data corresponding to the dump read request from the non-volatile memory (eg., 0034 - the data storage device 150 performs a requested data operation on the input data read from the memory 220 of the data storage device 150 to generate output data.).
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above) and further in view of Bavishi (US 20200050366)
Claim 2. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Bavishi discloses
wherein the first dump data includes a register value in the computing device and data stored in the volatile memory (eg., 0022 - controller 115 can include a processing device 117 (processor) configured to execute instructions stored in local memory 119. In the illustrated example, the local memory 119 of the controller 115 includes an embedded memory configured to store instructions for performing various processes, operations, logic flows, and routines that control operation of the memory sub-system 110, including handling communications between the memory sub-system 110 and the host system 120.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Bavishi, providing the benefit of improved buffer management techniques that can reduce communication bottlenecks in buffering read and write requests that are transmitted from a host system to the memory sub-system for execution (see Bavishi, 0013).
Claim 13 is rejected for reasons similar to Claim 2 (see above).
Claims 3, 4, 11, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above) and further in view of Muthiah (US 20210405924)
Claim 3. Trika discloses wherein the computing device includes: an interface configured to receive the data processing request and the first dump request from the external device (eg., 0024 - host interface 210 may also be embodied as any type of hardware processor, processing circuitry, input/output circuitry, and/or collection of components capable of facilitating communication of the data storage device 150 with a host device); and
Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
a compute engine configured to process data in response to the data processing request and to generate the first dump data in response to the first dump request (eg., 0057 - processor 605 may comprise a processing system 500 that includes communication unit(s) 512, processing unit(s) 514, and memory(ies) 516, which include an instance of the processor 522, which, when executed, is configured to, among other things, receive, process, and respond to storage service requests from clients, such as the client 630; send requests to and receive responses from the storage devices 640 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 4. Trika discloses
wherein the compute engine is configured to generate the storage request for the first dump data …shared from the storage controller (eg., 018 - compute engine 120 is communicatively coupled to other components of the compute device 102 via the I/O subsystem 130, which may be embodied as circuitry and/or components to facilitate input/output operations with the compute engine 120 (e.g., with the processor 122 and/or the main memory 124), the data storage device 150, and other components of the compute device 102, 0018), and
the interface is configured to transmit the storage request of the first dump data to the storage device (eg., 0024 - host interface 210 embodies or establishes an interface for accessing data stored on the data storage device 150 (e.g., stored in the memory 220). To do so, the host interface 210 may be configured to use any suitable communication protocol and/or technology to facilitate communications with the data storage device 150).
Trika does not disclose, but Bandic discloses
a metadata access protocol (eg., col 3:57-63: Storage device 6 may include interface 14 for interfacing with host device 4. Interface 14 may include one or both of a data bus for exchanging data with host device 4 and a control bus for exchanging commands with host device 4. Interface 14 may operate in accordance with any suitable protocol. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, providing the benefit of writing the data to the non-volatile memory devices, a controller may generate and write parity data to the memory device that may be used to recover the data, such as in the event of a memory error. (see Bandic, col 1:20-25).
Claim 11. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to read any one of the first dump data and the second dump data stored in the non- volatile memory based at least in part on a dump identifier (eg., 0068 - proactive response may also include data indicating the storage command that was requested, an identifier associated with the request for executing the storage command, data reflecting the parameters for processing the storage command, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 15. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein storing the second dump data in the non-volatile memory includes storing, by the storage device, the second dump data in the meta area of the non-volatile memory
(eg., 0055 - metadata store, etc., and/or other databases or data structures may be maintained and managed in the processing system 500 or separate computing systems, such as storage nodes, controller nodes, or access nodes, with separate communication, processor, memory, and other computing resources and accessed by the processing system 500 through data access protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 17. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein reading at least one of the first dump data and the second dump data includes reading, by the storage device, any one of the first dump data and the second dump data based at least in part on a dump identifier (eg., 0068 - an identifier associated with the request for executing the storage command,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above) and Muthiah (US 20210405924) and further in view of Sasson (US 20140052691)
Claim 5. Trika discloses wherein, when the data processing request or the first dump request is received from the external device, the interface is configured to transmit the data processing request or the first dump request to the compute engine (eg., 0024 - host interface 210 embodies or establishes an interface for accessing data stored on the data storage device 150 (e.g., stored in the memory 220). To do so, the host interface 210 may be configured to use any suitable communication protocol and/or technology to facilitate communications with the data storage device 150), and
Trika in view of Bandic and Wu and Muthiah does not disclose, but Sasson discloses
when a second dump request is received from the external device, the interface is configured to transmit the second dump request to the storage device (eg., 0021 - host interface 210 embodies or establishes an interface for accessing data stored on the data storage device 150 (e.g., stored in the memory 220). To do so, the host interface 210 may be configured to use any suitable communication protocol and/or technology to facilitate communications with the data storage device 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika Bandic and Wu and Muthiah with Sasson, providing the benefit of efficiently storing synchronized (see Sasson, 0002).
Claim 6. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to generate second dump data in response to the second dump request and to store the generated second dump data in the non-volatile memory (eg., 0082] In block 702, a processor 522 may generate a storage request including a storage command, and in block 704, may include a command processing time constraint in the storage request. In block 706, the processor 522 may send the storage request to a first storage device in a storage system storage pool having a plurality of storage devices including the first storage device, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 8. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to store the second dump data in the metadata area of the non- volatile memory (eg., 0055 - metadata store, etc., and/or other databases or data structures may be maintained and managed in the processing system 500 or separate computing systems, such as storage nodes, controller nodes, or access nodes, with separate communication, processor, memory, and other computing resources and accessed by the processing system 500 through data access protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 9. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to identify and the second dump data based at least in part on dump identifiers included in and the second dump data (eg., 0068 - an identifier associated with the request for executing the storage command,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, and Wu with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above) and Muthiah (US 20210405924) and Sasson (US 20140052691) and further in view of Bavishi (US 20200050366)
Claim 7. Trika in view of Bandic and Wu and Muthiah and Sasson does not disclose, but Bavishi discloses
wherein the second dump data includes a register value in the storage controller and data stored in the buffer memory (eg., 0022 - controller 115 can include a processing device 117 (processor) configured to execute instructions stored in local memory 119. In the illustrated example, the local memory 119 of the controller 115 includes an embedded memory configured to store instructions for performing various processes, operations, logic flows, and routines that control operation of the memory sub-system 110, including handling communications between the memory sub-system 110 and the host system 120.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic and Wu and Muthiah, Sasson, with Bavishi, providing the benefit of improved buffer management techniques that can reduce communication bottlenecks in buffering read and write requests that are transmitted from a host system to the memory sub-system for execution (see Bavishi, 0013).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Winarski (US 20060253766) and further in view of Bandic (US 10459793) and Wu (US 11336698) and Post (US 20120311000)
Claim 18. Trika discloses An electronic device, comprising: a host configured to transmit a first dump request and a second dump request (eg., 0022 - data storage device 150 and reading from and/or writing to the memory 220 (e.g., in response to requests from a host device); and
a computational storage system configured to generate first dump data and second dump data based at least in part on the first dump request and the second dump request (eg., 0022 - the data storage controller 202 may execute one or more in-built kernels to perform a data operation request from the compute device 102 inside the data storage device 150.),
wherein the computational storage system comprises:
a storage device including a storage controller, a buffer memory, and a non-volatile memory (eg., [0022] Referring now to FIG. 2, data storage device 150 includes- the data storage controller 202 and a memory 220, which illustratively includes a non-volatile memory 222 );
a computing device configured to generate the first dump data in response to the first dump request and to transmit the second dump request to the storage device; and
a volatile memory configured to store data used for data processing of the computing device (eg., 0025 - volatile memory used by data storage controller 202 to temporarily store data that is being read from or written to the memory 220 during data operation),
Trika does not disclose, but Winarski discloses
wherein the storage device is configured to store the first dump data in the non-volatile memory in response to a storage request of the first dump data … received from the computing device and is configured to generate the second dump data in response to the second dump request and to store the second dump data in the non-volatile memory (eg., 0030 - Metadata controller 98, manages metadata associated with information received for storage as coded data on storage devices. In certain embodiments, metadata controller 98 is responsible for generating, changing, maintaining, storing, retrieving and processing metadata (i.e. metadata 88) associated with information received for storage as coded data; 0042 - One column of metadata 88 may be used for each storage device 91-93 upon which the error correction coded data 87 is stored on. In this implementation, metadata 88 comprises a map of where the error correction coded data is stored on storage 91-93 of RAID 90.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Winarski, providing the benefit of managing metadata associated with information received for storage as coded data on storage devices … for retrieving and processing metadata (i.e. metadata 88) associated with information received for storage (see Winarski, 0030).
Trika in view of Winarski does not disclose, but Bandic discloses
user (eg., col 2:60-61 - store user data … to memory device).
non-volatile memory comprises a metadata area and a user area storing data that is responsive to a read request or a write request (eg., col 5:48-67: dies 16 may store user data, parity data, metadata, and/or redundancy data. user data may include data received from host device 4. Parity data may include data used to detect and/or correct errors in the user data. For instance, parity data may include parity bits, checksum data, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data, error correction code (ECC), or the like. Redundancy data may include data generated by performing an exclusive-or (XOR) function of other data, such as user data, parity data, or metadata. Metadata may include information about the user data; col 16:8-10 - (67) Controller 8 may receive a write command or a read command from host device 4 (72).);
in the metadata area of the non-volatile memory. (eg., col 5:60-67, Fig. 1,2,5; metadata may include information about the reliability of the user data, also referred to as data reliability information. For example, data reliability information may include at least one of a cell error identifier, a page flip indicator, an access time-stamp, or a disturbance counter.);
a metadata access protocol received from the computing device (eg., col 3:57-63: Storage device 6 may include interface 14 for interfacing with host device 4. Interface 14 may include one or both of a data bus for exchanging data with host device 4 and a control bus for exchanging commands with host device 4. Interface 14 may operate in accordance with any suitable protocol. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Winarski with Bandic, providing the benefit of writing the data to the non-volatile memory devices, a controller may generate and write parity data to the memory device that may be used to recover the data, such as in the event of a memory error. (see Bandic, col 1:20-25).
Trika in view of Winarski, Bandic does not disclose, but Wu discloses
wherein the first dump data includes first volatilizable data corresponding to an error or failure of the computing device, and wherein the second dump data includes second volatilizable data corresponding to an error or failure of the storage controller. (eg., col 7:65- col 8:2 - In power failure or similar situations, the controller module 202 sends the content of the registers 224 and other relevant information to the non-volatile memory 204, and non-volatile memory 204 stores them in the metadata area 212.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu providing the benefit of improved system and methods for data reliability (see col 1:45-46) on-volatile memory is specifically configured to preserve information stored at the volatile memory in the event of power or other types of failures (col 4:9-12).
Trika in view of Winarski, Bandic, and Wu does not disclose, but Post discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to identify the first dump data based at least in part on a first dump identifier included in the first dump data (eg., [0019] Fig. 2 - The file system 112 is a data structure implemented by the operating system to organize data stored in NVM into files that are accessible by name, hiding the actual device storage organization from programs that read and write data in the file system. The file system 112 can include file system metadata 114, including but not limited to unique object identifiers (IDs) for identifying files in the file system 112. The operating system performs operations for writing data to a file system in the NVM; [0022] A program that wishes to write data to the NVM 104 instructs the operating system to open a file stream for writing to a file in the file system. The file stream may be identified by name; [0026] the operating system may provide a function that issues a unique identifier (ID)… attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Winarski, Bandic, with Wu, with Post, providing the benefit of attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files (see Post, 0026) desirable to provide a mechanism that allows an SSD to more effectively separate static and dynamic data (0010) data is written to the file stream and stored on the solid state storage device according to the life expectancy value attached to the data. In one embodiment, a unique identifier may be used as the life expectancy value for writing a group of related files predicted to be stored in the file system for substantially the same length of time. The life expectancy value may be predicted based on a file type of the file being written. The life expectancy value may be stored as metadata for the file being written (0011).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Winarski (US 20060253766) and Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above) and further in view of Bavishi (US 20200050366)
Claim 19. Trika in view of Winarski, Bandic and Wu with Post does not disclose, but Bavishi discloses
wherein the first dump data includes a first register value in the computing device and data stored in the volatile memory (eg., 0022 - controller 115 can include a processing device 117 (processor) configured to execute instructions stored in local memory 119. In the illustrated example, the local memory 119 of the controller 115 includes an embedded memory configured to store instructions for performing various processes, operations, logic flows, and routines that control operation of the memory sub-system 110, including handling communications between the memory sub-system 110 and the host system 120.)
the second dump data includes a second register value in the storage controller and data stored in the buffer memory (eg., 0022 - controller 115 can include a processing device 117 (processor) configured to execute instructions stored in local memory 119. In the illustrated example, the local memory 119 of the controller 115 includes an embedded memory configured to store instructions for performing various processes, operations, logic flows, and routines that control operation of the memory sub-system 110, including handling communications between the memory sub-system 110 and the host system 120. In some embodiments, the local memory 119 can include memory registers storing memory pointers, fetched data, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Winarski, Bandic, and Wu with Post with Bavishi, providing the benefit of improved buffer management techniques that can reduce communication bottlenecks in buffering read and write requests that are transmitted from a host system to the memory sub-system for execution (see Bavishi, 0013).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trika (US 20190042501) and in view of Winarski (US 20060253766) and Bandic (cited above) and Wu (cited above) and Post (cited above0 and Bavishi (US 20200050366) and further in view of Muthiah (cited above)
Claim 20. Trika in view of Winarski, Bandic and Wu with Post and Bavishi does not disclose, but Muthiah discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to store the first dump data and the second dump data in a meta area of the non-volatile memory, (eg., 0055 - metadata store, etc., and/or other databases or data structures may be maintained and managed in the processing system 500 or separate computing systems, such as storage nodes, controller nodes, or access nodes, with separate communication, processor, memory, and other computing resources and accessed by the processing system 500 through data access protocols.).
to identify the first dump data and the second dump data based at least in part on dump identifiers included in the first dump data and the second dump data (eg., 0068 - an identifier associated with the request for executing the storage command,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Winarski, Bandic and Wu with Post and Bavishi, with Muthiah, providing the benefit of to proactive management of storage operations (see Muthiah, 0001).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the present OA, the updated combination of references render the amended limitations as obvious.
Specifically, For Claims 1, 12 and 18, Trika in view of Bandic and Wu does not disclose, but Post discloses
wherein the storage controller is configured to identify the first dump data based at least in part on a first dump identifier included in the first dump data (eg., [0019] Fig. 2 - The file system 112 is a data structure implemented by the operating system to organize data stored in NVM into files that are accessible by name, hiding the actual device storage organization from programs that read and write data in the file system. The file system 112 can include file system metadata 114, including but not limited to unique object identifiers (IDs) for identifying files in the file system 112. The operating system performs operations for writing data to a file system in the NVM; [0022] A program that wishes to write data to the NVM 104 instructs the operating system to open a file stream for writing to a file in the file system. The file stream may be identified by name; [0026] the operating system may provide a function that issues a unique identifier (ID)… attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trika with Bandic, with Wu, with Post, providing the benefit of attached to each file stream used to write data for each of the files in the group of related files (see Post, 0026) desirable to provide a mechanism that allows an SSD to more effectively separate static and dynamic data (0010) data is written to the file stream and stored on the solid state storage device according to the life expectancy value attached to the data. In one embodiment, a unique identifier may be used as the life expectancy value for writing a group of related files predicted to be stored in the file system for substantially the same length of time. The life expectancy value may be predicted based on a file type of the file being written. The life expectancy value may be stored as metadata for the file being written (0011).
Applicant’s arguments for dependent claims are based on their respective base independent claims 1, 12 and/or 18, which are addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAUTAM SAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135