DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/11/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species B drawn to Fig. 9 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 1: “a beam steering mirror; a steering motor configured to move the beam steering mirror to each of two or more positions, wherein at each of the two or more positions the beam steering mirror is configured to steer the light sheet through the objective lens to a different selected reflector of the two or more reflectors.”
Claim 2: “the distances from each of the two or more reflectors to the optical axis are substantially equal.”
Claim 3: “the angular separations of the two or more reflectors about the optical axis are substantially equal.”
Claim 11: “each of the two or more reflectors is attached to a sample stage of the microscope.”
Claim 12: “each of the two or more reflectors is attached to the objective lens.”
Claim 13: “each of the two or more reflectors independently comprises a prism having a reflective surface”
. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1. Claim 1 recites “each of the two or more positions the beam steering mirror is configured to steer the light sheet through the objective lens to a different selected reflector.” The recited limitation is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand if the steering mirror had an initial position that steer the light sheet through the objective lens to one of the two or more reflectors, or one in which it is not steering the light sheet to any reflector. Without this knowledge one of ordinary skill cannot determine which of the at least two reflectors would be “a different selected reflector.” For examination purposes the steering mirror only need to steer the light sheet to any object at any time.
Claims 2-13 are similarly rejected due to dependency.
Regarding Claim 7. Claim 7 recites “the selected reflector.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230266246 A1 to Siebenmorgen et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Siebenmorgen discloses a microscope for imaging a sample within a sample volume, wherein the microscope comprises: a laser configured to emit an illumination light (Fig. 1 optical fibre 11, para 91 a light source (not depicted here), for example a laser,); a beam shaper configured to generate a light sheet from the illumination light (Fig. 1 lens 12); an objective lens having an optical axis, wherein the objective lens is configured to transmit the light sheet to and transmit detection light exiting from the sample volume ( Fig. 1 microscope objective 36, para 99); two or more reflectors each located in a different position in a sample plane that transects the sample volume orthogonal to the optical axis (Fig. 1 splitter 32 and mirror 48); a beam steering mirror (Fig. 1 pivotable mirror 14); a steering motor (para 43 “a motor-driven drive or a piezo-drive, in particular a drive to be controlled by the control unit” and para 104 “adjusting the mirror 14, optionally under the control of the control unit 100.”) configured to move the beam steering mirror to each of two or more positions, wherein at each of the two or more positions the beam steering mirror is configured to steer the light sheet through the objective lens to a different selected reflector of the two or more reflectors, the light sheet reflected from the selected reflector through the sample volume (See Fig. 1 and para 104); and an imager configured to image the detection light transmitted by the objective lens (Fig. 1 camera 90).
Regarding Claim 4. Siebenmorgen further discloses the microscope further comprises: a remote focuser configured to position a beam waist of the light sheet substantially at an intersection of the sample plane and the optical axis (Fig. 1 tube lens 46).
Regarding Claim 8. Siebenmorgen further discloses the microscope further comprises: a beam structurer configured to add structure the light sheet (See Fig. 9 spatial light modulator 80).
Regarding Claim 9. Siebenmorgen further discloses the beam structurer comprises a spatial light modulator (See Fig. 9 spatial light modulator 80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siebenmorgen as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20220331910 A1 to Ohmori.
Regarding Claim 5. As stated above Siebenmorgen discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Siebenmorgen does not specifically disclose that the beam shaper comprises a cylindrical lens.
However, Ohmori discloses cylindrical lens are known elements of a beam shaper (See at least para 46), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the beam shaper comprises a cylindrical lens.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6-7 and 10-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871