Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2020/031198).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a thermal management module (80, Fig. 46, [0226]), comprising
- a first heat exchanger (11, Fig. 48, [0226]),
- a second heat exchanger (12, Fig. 48, [0226]),
- a first flange (6, Fig. 48; and 173, Fig. 48, [0229], See annotated Fig. 48 below)
located between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger, in which there is a fluid channel connecting the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger for fluid exchange (Fig. 51, [0227], “inner end opening P 2 of the second orifice channel 1206 is in communication with the inner end opening P 5 ′ of the fifth orifice channel”), and the first flange including a first receiver (173, Fig. 48, [0229]) for a first valve assembly (parts of flow control members 17 not 173 or parts of 173, Fig. 48, [0229]), the first receiver disposed on an outer side edge of the first flange (See annotated Fig. 47 below, if the part of the first flange located between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger is the center, the outer portion where 173 is disposed is furthest away from the center on the right side of Fig. 47, and 173 is disposed on a side edge of the outer portion),
- a second flange (13, Fig. 47) on the first heat exchanger, which has a second receiver (112, Fig. 47) for a second valve assembly (2 ′, Fig. 47, [0233]),
- wherein the first valve assembly comprises an expansion valve (171 valve body with 174 valve needle performing opening, closing and size adjustment of the flow control channel).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the second valve assembly further comprises a unidirectional valve (23, Fig. 46, [0233]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the first flange is made of aluminum (13, [0100]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a motor vehicle that has a thermal management system according to claim 1 ([0272]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the motor vehicle is an electric vehicle ([0272]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2020/031198).
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not teach the first flange has at least two openings into the first heat exchanger and at least two openings into the second heat exchanger through which fluid can pass.
However, the number of openings in the first flange (6, Fig. 48, “joint component”; 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) into the first heat exchanger (11, Fig. 48, [0226]) and the second heat exchanger (12, Fig. 48, [0226]) would not have significantly affected the communication between the second orifice channel (1206, Fig. 51, [0227]) and the fifth orifice channel (1209, Fig. 51, [0227]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of openings in the first flange. Because the number of openings would not have modified the function of the first flange, the modification of the number of openings would a design choice (See reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2020/031198), and further in view of Wesner (US 9093729).
Regarding claim 5, Chen does not teach the first heat exchanger, first flange, second heat exchanger, and second flange are soldered or clamped together.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solder components of the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) for cohesive connection of the components.
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not teach the first valve assembly is screwed, clamped, or soldered to the first flange.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) to fasten the first valve assembly (Chen: parts of flow control members 17 not 173 or parts of 173, Fig. 48, [0229]) to the first receiver (Chen: 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) of the first flange (Chen: 6, Fig. 48, “joint component”; 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) by means of a soldered connection for cohesive connection of the components (Wesner: [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not teach the second valve assembly is screwed, clamped, or soldered to the second flange.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) to fasten the second valve assembly (Chen: 2 ′, Fig. 47, [0233], “fluid control module”) to the second flange (Chen: 13, Fig. 47, “connecting component”) by means of a soldered connection for cohesive connection of the components (Wesner: [0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763