Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 01/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses a flange plate in which there are fluid channels connecting the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger. However, the term “fluid channels” was not clearly defined in the specification. By broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner has defined the fluid channel as a “defined pathway through which a fluid (liquid or gas) flows.” By this definition, there is only one fluid channel shown in Fig. 2 as the two openings present are part of the same channel. This renders claim 1 indefinite as the claim is inconsistent with Fig. 2 wherein the first flange includes only one fluid channel connecting the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger. In an effort to expedite prosecution, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied. For the purpose of prosecution, the examiner interprets claim 1 accordingly to the above definition and Fig. 2, where in the first flange, there is one fluid channel connecting the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2020/031198).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a thermal management module (80, Fig. 46, [0226]), comprising
- a first heat exchanger (11, Fig. 48, [0226]),
- a second heat exchanger (12, Fig. 48, [0226]),
- a first flange (6, Fig. 48; and 173, Fig. 48, [0229], See annotated figure below) located between the first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger, in which there is a fluid channel connecting the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger for fluid exchange (Fig. 51, [0227], “inner end opening P 2 of the second orifice channel 1206 is in communication with the inner end opening P 5 ′ of the fifth orifice channel”), and a first receiver (173, Fig. 48, [0229]) for a first valve assembly (parts of flow control members 17 not 173 or parts of 173, Fig. 48, [0229]),
- a second flange (13, Fig. 47) on the first heat exchanger, which has a second receiver (112, Fig. 47) for a second valve assembly (2 ′, Fig. 47, [0233]),
- wherein the first valve assembly comprises an expansion valve (171 valve body with 174 valve needle performing opening, closing and size adjustment of the flow control channel).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the second valve assembly further comprises a unidirectional valve (23, Fig. 46, [0233]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the first flange is made of aluminum (13, [0100]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a motor vehicle that has a thermal management system according to claim 1 ([0272]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the motor vehicle is an electric vehicle ([0272]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2020/031198).
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not teach the first flange has at least two openings into the first heat exchanger and at least two openings into the second heat exchanger through which fluid can pass.
However, the number of openings in the first flange (6, Fig. 48, “joint component”; 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) into the first heat exchanger (11, Fig. 48, [0226]) and the second heat exchanger (12, Fig. 48, [0226]) would not have significantly affected the communication between the second orifice channel (1206, Fig. 51, [0227]) and the fifth orifice channel (1209, Fig. 51, [0227]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of openings in the first flange. Because the number of openings would not have modified the function of the first flange, the modification of the number of openings would a design choice (See reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2020/031198) and Wesner (US 9093729).
Regarding claim 5, Chen does not teach the first heat exchanger, first flange, second heat exchanger, and second flange are soldered or clamped together.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solder components of the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) for cohesive connection of the components.
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not teach the first valve assembly is screwed, clamped, or soldered to the first flange.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) to fasten the first valve assembly (Chen: parts of flow control members 17 not 173 or parts of 173, Fig. 48, [0229]) to the first receiver (Chen: 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) of the first flange (Chen: 6, Fig. 48, “joint component”; 173, Fig. 48, [0229], “mounting block”) by means of a soldered connection for cohesive connection of the components (Wesner: [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not teach the second valve assembly is screwed, clamped, or soldered to the second flange.
However, Wesner teaches a heat exchanger plate stack (2, Fig. 4, [0049]) having a cover panel at the top (9, Fig. 4, [0049]), a connecting flange (16, Fig. 4, [0051]), and a thermal expansion valve (26, Fig. 4, [0052]). The connecting flange is fastened to the cover panel by means of a soldered connection ([0051]) and connected to the thermal expansion valve also by means of a soldered connection ([0052]). Wesner also teaches the heat exchanger components expediently have a solder plating for the cohesive connection of the components by means of soldering ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal management module (Chen: 80, Fig. 47, “fluid heat exchange assembly”) to fasten the second valve assembly (Chen: 2 ′, Fig. 47, [0233], “fluid control module”) to the second flange (Chen: 13, Fig. 47, “connecting component”) by means of a soldered connection for cohesive connection of the components (Wesner: [0027]).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763