Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2024 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al (US PGPUB 20210274468 A1) in view of CHANG et al. (US PGPUB 20200137799 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, WANG teaches a method performed by an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) terminal in a wireless communication system ([0062] & [0063] an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 220, which may be a drone or quadcopter and UAV 220 (e.g., the quadcopter) can be a mobile network node and may be configured to function as a UE),
receiving first system information ([0092], [0093] the UE may receive system information, including SIB1),
receiving, from the first cell, second system information including cell reselection information (0093-0094 The UE receives from the BS, SIB information including SIB2, which includes measurement thresholds for a UE to determine when to start searching for another cell, cell priorities for cell reselection, and/or various cell reselection criteria and/or thresholds),
determining a cell reselection priority based on a frequency identical to a first frequency of the first cell and the cell reselection information included in the second system information ([0161] lines (17-27) a pseudo SIB2 may be used to dynamically configure a serving cell's reselection priority based on the UE's camping history. For example, if there are other cells on the same frequency that the UE used to camp successfully and the UE acquired an actual SIB2 at such a cell, the pseudo SIB2 may be configured to specify the reselection priority configured by the actual SIB2 from the other cell(s),
and
performing a measurement based on the cell reselection priority ([0094]
(lines 10-17) measurement of neighboring cells according to a configured for cell reselection).
WANG fails to explicitly suggest wherein camping on a first cell supporting a UAV based on the first system information, in case that an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold.
However, In an analogous field of endeavor, CHANG teaches a method comprising: camping on a first cell supporting a UAV based on the first system information, in case that an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold (paragraphs 11, 33, 34, 37, read as while camping on the one or more cells, the UAV can receive System Information Blocks (SIBs) via random access preambles based on certain network requirements such as whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 2, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein the UAV terminal considers the frequency as a highest priority frequency for a cell reselection (See section [0161], “the priority configuration from the most recently camped cell may be used", In other words, the priority is given based on what cell/frequency the UE used previously),
Regarding Claim 3, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1. CHANG further teaches wherein the first system information includes information for identifying whether the first cell is a UAV dedicated cell (CHANG; see section [0032] (lines 4-7) Fig .1 A preambles are allocated specifically for UAVs, and one or more cells may share these allocated, UAV-specific preambles at the same time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 4, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 1. WANG further teaches wherein the second system information includes at least one of a first cell list allowed for the UAV or a second cell list excluded for the UAV see section ([0229] (lines 1-8) “the first system information may include may refer to a cell list for UE is capable of cell reselection". In other words, the first system may include at least one neighbor information for UAV), and
a cell for the cell reselection is determined based on at least one of the first cell list or the second cell list (see section [0235] (lines 1-9) the first system information may include at least one of cell reselection information, a neighbor cell list, public warning system information, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 5, WANG teaches a method performed by a base station supporting an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising ([0062] & [0063] an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 220 may be configured to function as a base station, or more specifically as a mobile base station):
broadcasting second system information including cell reselection information (see sections of WANG ([0090],[0093]-[0094] & FIG .13,15 providing the reselection through broadcast system allows UAV in base station, The UE receives via broadcast from the BS, SIB information including SIB2, which includes measurement thresholds for a UE to determine when to start searching for another cell, cell priorities for cell reselection, and/or various cell reselection criteria and/or thresholds)
a cell reselection priority is determined based on a frequency identical to a first frequency of the first cell and the cell reselection information included in the second system information (see section of WANG ([0161] lines (17-27) a pseudo SIB2 may be used to dynamically configure a serving cell's reselection priority based on the UE's camping history. For example, if there are other cells on the same frequency that the UE used to camp successfully and the UE acquired an actual SIB2 at such a cell, the pseudo SIB2 may be configured to specify the reselection priority configured by the actual SIB2 from the other cell(s)).
WANG fails to explicitly suggest broadcasting first system information including information on an altitude threshold of a first cell of the base station,
wherein the information on the altitude threshold is used for a UAV terminal at an altitude higher than the altitude threshold to camp on the first cell.
However, In an analogous field of endeavor, CHANG teaches a suggest broadcasting first system information including information on an altitude threshold of a first cell of the base station, (paragraphs 33, 34, 37, read as the serving cell broadcasts the network requirements in the SIB, where the SIB includes whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement)
wherein the information on the altitude threshold is used for a UAV terminal at an altitude higher than the altitude threshold to camp on the first cell (CHANG: (paragraphs 11, 33, 34, 37, 38, read as the SIB includes information based on certain network requirements such as whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement, where once confirmed, the UAV will be able to camp on any of one of the cells)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 6, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 5. WANG further teaches wherein the frequency is considered as a highest priority frequency for a cell reselection (see section [0161] the priority configuration from the most recently camped cell may be used". In other words, the priority is given based on what cell/frequency the UE used previously).
Regarding Claim 7 WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 5. CHANG further teaches wherein the first system information includes information for identifying whether the first cell is a UAV dedicated cell (CHANG see section [0032] (lines 4-7) Fig .1 A preambles are allocated specifically for UAVs, and one or more cells may share these allocated, UAV-specific preambles at the same time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 8, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 5, WANG further teaches wherein the second system information includes at least one of a first cell list allowed for the UAV or a second cell list excluded for the UAV, (see section [0229] (lines 1-8) the first system information may include may refer to a cell list for UE is capable of cell reselection.” In other words, the first system may include at least one neighbor information for UAV)
and
a cell for the cell reselection is determined based on at least one of the first cell list or the second cell list (see section [0235] (lines 1-9) the first system information may include at least one of cell reselection information, a neighbor cell list, public warning system information, or any combination thereof)
Regarding Claim 9, WANG teaches an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) terminal in a wireless communication system, the UAV terminal comprising ([0062] & [0063] an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 220, which may be a drone or quadcopter and UAV 220 (e.g., the quadcopter) can be a mobile network node and may be configured to function as a UE)
a transceiver see sections [0006], [0113], [0170] FIG .17 of WANG the UE include a transceiver,
a controller configured to: see sections [0006], [0113], [0168] of WANG
receive first system information ([0092], [0093] the UE may receive system information, including SIB1),
receive, from the first cell, second system information including cell reselection information (0093-0094 The UE receives from the BS, SIB information including SIB2, which includes measurement thresholds for a UE to determine when to start searching for another cell, cell priorities for cell reselection, and/or various cell reselection criteria and/or thresholds)
determine a cell reselection priority based on a frequency identical to a first frequency of the first cell and the cell reselection information included in the second system information ([0161] lines (17-27) a pseudo SIB2 may be used to dynamically configure a serving cell's reselection priority based on the UE's camping history. For example, if there are other cells on the same frequency that the UE used to camp successfully and the UE acquired an actual SIB2 at such a cell, the pseudo SIB2 may be configured to specify the reselection priority configured by the actual SIB2 from the other cell(s))
and
performing a measurement based on the cell reselection priority ([0094] (lines 10-17) measurement of neighboring cells according to a configured for cell reselection).
WANG fails to explicitly suggest camp on a first cell supporting a UAV based on the first system information, in case that an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold
However, In an analogous field of endeavor, CHANG teaches a camp on a first cell supporting a UAV based on the first system information, in case that an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold (paragraphs 11, 33, 34, 37, read as while camping on the one or more cells, the UAV can receive System Information Blocks (SIBs) via random access preambles based on certain network requirements such as whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 10, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 9, WANG further teaches wherein the UAV terminal considers the frequency as a highest priority frequency for a cell reselection (See section [0161] the priority configuration from the most recently camped cell may be used". In other words, the priority is given based on what cell/frequency the UE used previously)
Regarding Claim 11, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 9, CHANG further teaches wherein the first system information includes information for identifying whether the first cell is a UAV dedicated cell (CHANG see section [0032] (lines 4-7) Fig .1 A preambles are allocated specifically for UAVs, and one or more cells may share these allocated, UAV-specific preambles at the same time
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 12, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 9. WANG further teaches wherein the second system information includes at least one of a first cell list allowed for the UAV or a second cell list excluded for the UAV, see section [0229] (lines 1-8) the first system information may include may refer to a cell list for UE is capable of cell reselection
a cell for the cell reselection is determined based on at least one of the first cell list or the second cell list see section [0235] (lines 1-9) the first system information may include at least one of cell reselection information, a neighbor cell list, public warning system information, or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 13, WANG teaches a base station supporting an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising ([0062] & [0063] an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 220 may be configured to function as a base station, or more specifically as a mobile base station)
a transceiver see sections [0006], [0113], [0170] FIG .17 of WANG the UE include a transceiver,
a controller configured to: see sections [0006], [0113], [0168] of WANG
broadcasting second system information including cell reselection information, see sections of WANG (paragraphs 0090, 0093-0094 The UE receives via broadcast from the BS, SIB information including SIB2, which includes measurement thresholds for a UE to determine when to start searching for another cell, cell priorities for cell reselection, and/or various cell reselection criteria and/or thresholds)
a cell reselection priority is determined based on a frequency identical to a first frequency of the first cell and the cell reselection information included in the second system information (see section of WANG ([0161] lines (17-27) a pseudo SIB2 may be used to dynamically configure a serving cell's reselection priority based on the UE's camping history. For example, if there are other cells on the same frequency that the UE used to camp successfully and the UE acquired an actual SIB2 at such a cell, the pseudo SIB2 may be configured to specify the reselection priority configured by the actual SIB2 from the other cell(s))
WANG fails to explicitly suggest broadcast first system information including information on an altitude threshold of a first cell of the base station,
wherein the information on the altitude threshold is used for a UAV terminal at an altitude higher than the altitude threshold to camp on the first cell
However, In an analogous field of endeavor, CHANG teaches a suggest broadcast first system information including information on an altitude threshold of a first cell of the base station, (paragraphs 33, 34, 37, read as the serving cell broadcasts the network requirements in the SIB, where the SIB includes whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement)
wherein the information on the altitude threshold is used for a UAV terminal at an altitude higher than the altitude threshold to camp on the first cell (CHANG : paragraphs 11, 33, 34, 37, 38, read as the SIB includes information based on certain network requirements such as whether an altitude at which the UAV 106 is located meets a height (or altitude) threshold requirement, where once confirmed, the UAV will be able to camp on any of one of the cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Regarding Claim 14, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 13. WANG further teaches wherein the frequency is considered as a highest priority frequency for a cell reselection (See section [0161] the priority configuration from the most recently camped cell may be used". In other words, the priority is given based on what cell/frequency the UE used previously)
Regarding Claim 15, WANG in view of CHANG teaches all the limitations of claim 13. WANG further teaches wherein the second system information includes at least one of a first cell list allowed for the UAV or a second cell list excluded for the UAV, see section [0229] (lines 1-8) the first system information may include may refer to a cell list for UE is capable of cell reselection.” In other words, the first system may include at least one neighbor information for UAV)
and
WANG teaches wherein a cell for the cell reselection is determined based on at least one of the first cell list or the second cell list. See section [0235] (lines 1-9) the first system information may include at least one of cell reselection information, a neighbor cell list, public warning system information, or any combination thereof.
WANG fails to explicitly suggest wherein the first system information includes information for identifying whether the first cell is a UAV dedicated cell, (CHANG see section [0032] (lines 4-7) Fig .1 A preambles are allocated specifically for UAVs, and one or more cells may share these allocated, UAV-specific preambles at the same time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify to the number of paging occasions remaining is greater than or equal to a threshold of WANG to incorporate the an altitude of the UAV terminal is greater than an altitude threshold in order to control or optimize when a terminal camps on a cell, thereby improving control terminal behavior, optimize network resources or improve paging efficiency as taught by CHANG (see section [0017]).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645