DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 1/31/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-7,9-17,19 and 20 are rejected.
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to for having allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,9,11-14,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ciochina et al. (WO 2024/018688)(C1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, C1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)[refer Fig. 8], comprising: one or more memories (i.e. computer readable medium)[paragraph 0079]; and one or more processors [paragraph 0079], coupled to the one or more memories [paragraph 0080] and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a closed loop timing advance command message (i.e. timing advance command comprising closed loop information) that includes an indicator (i.e. data related to timing advance adjustment value) associated with the closed loop timing advance command message [paragraph 0025], the indicator includes at least one of a timing advance value (i.e. timing advance adjustment value)[paragraph 0025]; and
transmit one or more communications on an uplink in accordance with an interpretation (i.e. data related to) of the closed loop timing advance command message [paragraph 0026], the interpretation of the closed loop timing advance command message being based on the indicator (i.e. timing adjustment)[paragraph 0026].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, C1 teaches the closed loop timing advance command message is a closed loop timing advance command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [paragraph 0025].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, C1 teaches the indicator is a codepoint (i.e. bit values) that conveys a value that maps to at least one of the timing advance value [paragraph 0106] or the uplink transmission extension (i.e. postponed time) indication [paragraph 0033].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, C1 teaches the uplink transmission extension indication is associated with an application of an uplink transmission extension update (i.e. updated assistance time)[paragraph 0055].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, C1 teaches the interpretation of the closed loop timing advance command message is based on a configuration of a UE capability (i.e. hardware capability)(UE may be able to retrieve such updated assistance information and/or updated timing advance command before the transmission deadline time, the user equipment UE may also proceed to perform updated measurements at an updated measurement time MN+I providing its hardware capabilities and/or the preconfigured time opportunities to do so)[paragraph 0163].
Regarding claim 11, C1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (i.e. base station)[paragraph 0018] , comprising:
one or more memories (it is inherent that a device, such as a base station, would comprise of memories to implement the processes)[paragraph 0081]; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories [paragraph 0081] and configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a closed loop timing advance command message (i.e. timing advance command comprising closed loop information) that includes an indicator (i.e. data related to timing advance adjustment value) associated with the closed loop timing advance command message [paragraph 0025], the indicator includes at least one of a timing advance value (i.e. timing advance adjustment value)[paragraph 0025]; and
receive one or more communications on an uplink in accordance with an interpretation (i.e. data related to) of the closed loop timing advance command message [paragraph 0026], the interpretation of the closed loop timing advance command message being based on the indicator (i.e. timing adjustment)[paragraph 0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5,6,15 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciochina et al. (WO 2024/018688)(C1 hereafter) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2014/0086219)(S1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, C1 fails to disclose that the uplink transmission extension update is applied to an uplink transmission extension timer after an expiration of the uplink transmission extension timer.
S1, in the field of applying a timing advance command [refer Abstract], discloses the use of a timing adjustment timer (i.e. transmission extension timer), and the timing advance can be adjusted based on the amount of time transmission timing has changed to define the adjusted timing advance, in which the timing advance can be stored after the expiration of the timing alignment timer (TAT)[paragraph 0116].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for handling timing advance commands [refer C1; Abstract] to incorporate the. One would be motivated to do so to control the timing of uplink signals from wireless devices that are time aligned to counteract propagation delay [refer S1; paragraph 0004].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, C1 fails to disclose that the uplink transmission extension update is applied to an uplink transmission extension timer before an expiration of the uplink transmission extension timer.
S1, in the field of applying a timing advance command [refer Abstract], discloses the use of a timing alignment timer in which the timer increments win time until being restarted due to receiving a new timing command (i.e. applied to timer before expiration) [paragraph 0069], a UE is able to store a timing advance upon expiry of an associated TAT, and applies a timing advance command MAC CE and starts the associated TAT when the TAT isn’t running [paragraph 0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for handling timing advance commands [refer C1; Abstract] to incorporate the. One would be motivated to do so to control the timing of uplink signals from wireless devices that are time aligned to counteract propagation delay [refer S1; paragraph 0004].
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of Prasad et al. (US Pub. 2025/0386311)(P1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, C1 fails to explicitly disclose the indicator is associated with a timing advance group (TAG) identity field.
P1 discloses that a timing advance command can comprise of a field, such as a TAG ID, for identifying a timing advance group [paragraph 0222].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for handling timing advance commands [refer C1; Abstract] to incorporate the identification of a timing advance group via an explicit field as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique, such as explicit identification, within the field of endeavor of timing advance command transmission to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of Jung et al. (WO 2025/127665)(J1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 10, C1 fails to disclose the interpretation of the closed loop timing advance command message is based on a configured logical channel identity codepoint (i.e. bit) value associated with the closed loop timing advance command message.
J1, in the same field of endeavor regarding timing advance commands [paragraph 0110], discloses that a timing advance reporting MAC CE is identified by a subheader with a logical channel ID with a codepoint/index [paragraph 0201].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for handling timing advance commands [refer C1; Abstract] to incorporate the identification of a logical channel identifier with a codepoint/index as taught by J1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique, such as explicit identification, within the field of endeavor of timing advance command transmission to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to disclose or make obvious an indicator associated with a timing advance group (TAG) identity field in which a first value of the TAG identity field indicates that a closed loop timing advance command message conveys a timing advance value and an uplink transmission extension indication, and a second value of the TAG identity field indicates that the closed loop timing advance command message conveys the timing advance value and does not convey the uplink transmission extension indication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deghel et al. (US Pub. 2025/0338237) discloses the timing of UL transmissions using timing advance commands in a closed loop manner for a given timing advance group [paragraph 0055].
Ryan Kavleski
/R. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412