DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim recites wherein the offset amount is determined based on a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network.
However, even though the spec describes and offset amount and also describe the “a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network.”, the spec does not correlate “the offset amount” to “a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network” as claimed.
At best, Par 00299-30 of the PGPUB discloses the power transmission control unit 2310 may apply a predetermined power margin to the amount of transmission power at the moment when the wireless power transmission network is disconnected by taking into consideration moving frequency or the movable range of a target device that has been disconnected from the wireless power transmission network.
For example, a movable device, such as a mouse in a local computing environment, may set a power margin of about several milliwatts by taking into consideration the movable range of a corresponding device. In other words, the movable device may determine a value, obtained by adding a power margin to a value PD at the moment when a power transmission network is disconnected, to be the amount of transmission power.
Par 0220 The main device 1810 may determine the amount of transmission power based on the value PD. For example, the main device 1810 may set the amount of transmission power to be greater than the value PD by a specific value or more or may increase or decrease the amount of transmission power by a predetermined offset value compared to the value PD, may measure the power reception state of a device that has been disconnected from a wireless power transmission network again, and may determine the most proper transmission power value.
Again, no where does the spec define or explain what a predetermined offset value is.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claim is not enabled because the specification does not provide sufficient detail on how to determine the offset amount based on the moving frequency or movable range. A skilled artisan would have to engage in undue experimentation to figure this out.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
"gradually decreasing transmission power": This phrase is indefinite. The claim does not specify the rate or steps of the gradual decrease. It's unclear what "gradually decreasing" means in terms of the magnitude and timing of the power reduction.
"Determining a value PD representing an amount of transmission power at which one of the plurality of peripheral devices is first to disconnect...": This language is indefinite. It's unclear how "disconnect" is defined and detected. Also, "first to disconnect" could be ambiguous if multiple devices disconnect simultaneously.
"based, at least in part, on an offset amount above the value PD": This phrase is indefinite. The claim does not specify how the transmission power is set based on the offset amount and PD. "Based, at least in part," is vague and does not provide a clear formula or algorithm.
"wherein the offset amount is determined based on a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect": This phrase is indefinite. The claim does not specify how the "offset amount" is calculated based on the "moving frequency" or "movable range". It's unclear what relationship exists between these parameters and the offset. The claim does not provide sufficient guidance for a skilled artisan to determine the offset amount.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1-20. The difference between the instant examined claims and the conflicting patented claim is that, the conflicting patented claims are narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claims. Thus, the species or sub genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the instant examined genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claims genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
2. See mpep 804 (II)(B)(1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens et al. (US 2007/0228833) in view of Kajimura (US 2001/0023189)
Re Claims 1, 11 and 20; Stevens discloses a method of a wireless power transmitter, comprising: transmitting wireless power to a plurality of peripheral devices (secondary devices) in a power transfer coverage of a wireless power transmission network; (Par 0056)
In par 0157 Stevens discloses The primary unit 10 could periodically bring the field up to maximum magnitude and then gradually reduce it until the difference between the first and second measurements was greater than a certain threshold ("not enough power" signal). This way the primary unit would always be operating at the lowest possible field magnitude.
Stevens does not disclose
gradually decreasing transmission power of the wireless power transmitter;
determining a value PD representing an amount of power at which one of the plurality of peripheral devices is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network while gradually decreasing the transmission power; and
setting the transmission power of the wireless power transmitter to a transmission power value based, at least in part, on an offset amount above the value PD
wherein the offset amount is determined based on a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network.
Kajimura discloses gradually decreasing transmission power;
determining a value PD representing an amount of power at which one of the plurality of peripheral devices is first to disconnect (Failed) from the wireless power transmission network while gradually decreasing the transmission power; and
setting the transmission power of the wireless power transmitter to a transmission power value based, at least in part, on an offset amount above the value PD.(Par 0023, Claim 1).wherein the offset amount is determined based on a moving frequency (reducing the rate of power is understood as the moving frequency) or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network. (Par 0023, Claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to had incorporated the idea of Kajimura with the system disclosed by Stevens in order to determine the minimum amount of power to set the transmitter and still maintain effective charging of the load so that power is not wasted.
Re Claims 2 and 12; Kajimura discloses further comprising: receiving periodic feedback from the plurality of peripheral devices when the wireless power transmitter is set to the transmission power value (Par 0100); and not receiving the periodic feedback from at least one of the plurality of peripheral devices when the wireless power transmitter is set below the value PD. (when the transmitter is set below the value PD is understood as the transmitter being powered off or disconnected and thus there is no communication with the peripheral devices and feedback won’t be received. )
Re Claim 3; Kajimura disclose further comprising: receiving feedback from the plurality of peripheral devices; and determining that a first peripheral device is disconnected when the feedback is not received from the first peripheral device for a predetermined time. (Par 0086)
Re Claims 4 and 13; Stevens discloses wherein the feedback includes power reception state information and identifier information about the plurality of peripheral devices.(Par 0042)
Re Claims 5 and 14; Stevens discloses further comprising: receiving, by the wireless power transmitter, identifier information about each of the plurality of peripheral devices. (Par 0042)
Re Claims 9 and 18 Stevens discloses wherein the wireless power transmitter is configured to supply the wireless power via a resonant channel. (Fig. 4)
Re Claims 10 and 19 Stevens discloses further comprising: forming the wireless power transmission network to provide wireless power to the plurality of peripheral devices of a local computing environment. (Par 0159).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens et al. (US 2007/0228833) in view of Kajimura and further in view of Urano (US 20110227420)
Re Claims 7 and 16; Stevens discloses wherein the step of checking the disconnection state of the wireless power transmission network comprises (based on the constant communication between the transmitter and the receiver):
Stevens does not disclose determining a movability of a first peripheral device of the plurality of peripheral devices based on identifier information about the first peripheral device; and controlling the wireless power transmission network based, at least in part, on the movability of the first peripheral device.
However, Urano discloses determining a movability of a first peripheral device of the plurality of peripheral devices based on identifier information about the first peripheral device; and controlling the wireless power transmission network based, at least in part, on the movability of the first peripheral device. (Par 0230-0236, note, the feedback circuit from the receiver to the transmitter constantly check the disconnection state of the wireless power transmission network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have control the transmission of power to the load based on the distance, motivated by the desire to effectively maintain the supply of power at a constant level to improve the load operation.
Re Claims 8 and 17; Stevens discloses wherein the step of checking the disconnection state of the wireless power transmission network comprises (based on the constant communication between the transmitter and the receiver):
Stevens does not disclose wherein controlling the wireless power transmission network based, at least in part, on the movability of the first peripheral device includes: adjusting a directivity of a wireless resonant channel associated with the power transfer coverage by taking into consideration a location of the first peripheral device, or increasing the amount of transmission power before decreasing the increased amount of transmission power again.
However, Kajimura discloses wherein controlling the wireless power transmission network based, at least in part, on the movability of the first peripheral device includes: adjusting a directivity of a wireless resonant channel associated with the power transfer coverage by taking into consideration a location of the first peripheral device, or increasing the amount of transmission power before decreasing the increased amount of transmission power again. (Par 0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have control the transmission of power to the load based on the distance, motivated by the desire to effectively maintain the supply of power at a constant level to improve the load operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Claim 1, as amended, "setting the transmission power of the wireless power transmitter to a transmission power value based, at least in part, on an offset amount above the value PD, wherein the offset amount is determined based on a moving frequency or a movable range of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices that is first to disconnect from the wireless power transmission network." At least these features of claim 1 are not taught or suggested by Stevens in view of Kajimura, whether considered separately or in combination with one another.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagree, as shown in the rejection above, the amended limitation is taught by the combination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
06/10/2025
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836