DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 14 and 16 are amended. Claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 15 and 18 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1, 8 and 14, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, because Applicant’s arguments are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11, 13-14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Othman et al. (US 11,024,043 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches, A system for (Chen, ¶0019: “a control system for controlling a motion of a vehicle”) detecting and tracking objects, (Chen, ¶0062: “detected bounding boxes are then fed into an object tracker to identify the one or more objects”) the system comprising: a processor; (Chen, ¶0039: “control system 100 includes an image processor”) and a memory storing machine-readable instructions (Chen, ¶0042: “The control system 100 includes a memory 108 that stores instructions”) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Chen, ¶0042: “controller 104 may be configured to execute the stored instructions in order to control operations”) extract first features from time-sequential perceptual sensor data to generate (Chen, ¶0094: “multi-head neural network 110 executes feature extraction operation”) a first set of bird’s-eye-view (BEV) feature images; (Chen, ¶0007: “environmental state is detected based on a bird's eye view (BEV) map”) extract second features from the first set of BEV feature images (Chen, ¶0055: “extract the spatio-temporal features from the BEV maps”) using a three-dimensional (3D) detection backbone (Chen, ¶0017: “system includes three parts: (1) data representation from raw 3D point clouds to BEV maps; (2) spatio-temporal pyramid network as a backbone”) to generate a second set of BEV feature images, (Chen, ¶0104: “generates the extended BEV image”) wherein each BEV feature image in the second set of BEV feature images corresponds to a distinct time step in the time-sequential perceptual sensor data; (Chen, ¶0104: “extended BEV image includes… a position of the pixel in the extended BEV image at a current time step… a time sequence of future positions of the pixel in subsequent time steps”) and consume the second set of BEV feature images (Chen, ¶0018: “the outputs of the three heads are provided to a motion planner”) using a neural-network 3D detection head that is trained with (Chen, ¶0013: “The entire multi-head neural network is trained in an end-to-end manner”) controlling an autonomous robot. (Chen, ¶0019: “a motion planner configured to produce a motion trajectory of a vehicle using the extended BEV image; and a controller configured to control an actuator of the vehicle based on the motion trajectory”). However, Chen does not explicitly teach a similarity objective including a contrastive objective that minimizes a cosine distance between features from a same agent and maximizes the cosine distance between features from different agents based on comparisons between feature vectors corresponding to pairs of object instances, the comparisons including comparisons between pairs of object instances in a same time step and comparisons between pairs of object instances in different time steps, to support an object tracker.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Othman teaches, a similarity objective including a contrastive objective that minimizes a cosine distance between features from a same agent (Othman, col. 6, lines 63-65: “person featurizer 57 is trained to minimize a cosine distance between images depicting the same person from a variety of viewing perspectives”) and maximizes the cosine distance between features from different agents (Othman, col. 6, lines 65-66: “while increasing the cosine distance between images of different persons”) based on comparisons between feature vectors corresponding to pairs of object instances, (Othman, col. 6, line 66 - col.7, line 2: “Upon analyzing the input image 54, the person feature vector 55 of each detection 58 may correspond to a vector of values which embody the detected visual features”) the comparisons including comparisons between pairs of object instances in a same time step (Othman, col. 2, lines 58-60: “compare the visual features of the incumbent tracks of a first camera with the incumbent tracks of a second camera”) and comparisons between pairs of object instances in different time steps, to support an object tracker (Othman, col. 2, lines 23-31: “track identity for each person appearing in the previous video frame… calculates a likelihood value that each detection in the current video frame matches one of the incumbent tracks by combining a motion prediction value with a featurization similarity value”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen using the teachings of Othman to introduce a trained featurizer that recognizes similar features within and across image frames. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatically identifying and tracking different objects/persons across video frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen and Othman to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Othman teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein, in connection with controlling the autonomous robot in an online processing environment of the autonomous robot, (Chen, ¶0038: “Through the network 126, either wirelessly or through wires, the control system 100 may receive the input data”) the 3D detection backbone, in processing the first set of BEV feature images, performs feature-level temporal aggregation that includes forward recurrence to generate the second set of BEV feature images. (Chen, ¶0040: “a pixel is associated with a time sequence of future positions of the pixel in subsequent time steps representing a prediction of a future motion of the object. The image processor 106 determines the time sequence of future positions of at least some pixel based on the outputs from the motion prediction head”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Othman teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the time-sequential perceptual sensor data includes one or more of camera images, Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) data, radar data, sonar data, map data, or audio data. (Chen, ¶0050: “a plurality of sensors on the vehicle 116 such as a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor, a radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensor, a camera, and the like”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Othman teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the autonomous robot is one of an autonomous vehicle, a search and rescue robot, a delivery robot, an aerial drone, or an indoor robot. (Chen, ¶0097: “the vehicle 500 can be an autonomous vehicle or a semi-autonomous vehicle”).
Regarding claim 8, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 8 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Chen teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable medium for detecting and tracking objects and storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (Chen, ¶0109: “the program code or code segments to perform the necessary tasks may be stored in a machine readable medium. A processor(s) may perform the necessary tasks”).
Regarding claim 11, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 13, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 13 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 7. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 14, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Chen teaches, A method (Chen, ¶00111: “Embodiments of the present disclosure may be embodied as a method”).
Regarding claim 17, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 19, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 19 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 6. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 20 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 7. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Othman presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Claims 3, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Othman et al. (US 11,024,043 B1) and in further view of Park et al. (US 2024/0020953 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Othman teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the machine-readable instructions include further instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to. However, the combination of Chen and Othman does not explicitly teach, improve robustness of the object tracker by applying global association to object comparisons output by the 3D detector head.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches, improve robustness of the object tracker by applying global association to object comparisons output by the 3D detector head. (Park, ¶0021: “The MLP network encodes global contextual information with respect to the region—providing for accurate transformation when objects appear at different heights in the view”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Othman using the teachings of Park to introduce a global contextual information. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the robustness of the object tracker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen, Othman and Park to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Othman and Park presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 16, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Othman and Park presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662