DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 05/06/2026, filed with the office on 06/05/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 14 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1, 8 and 14, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, because Applicant’s arguments are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11, 13-14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2025/0095162 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches, A system for (Chen, ¶0019: “a control system for controlling a motion of a vehicle”) detecting and tracking objects, (Chen, ¶0062: “detected bounding boxes are then fed into an object tracker to identify the one or more objects”) the system comprising: a processor; (Chen, ¶0039: “control system 100 includes an image processor”) and a memory storing machine-readable instructions (Chen, ¶0042: “The control system 100 includes a memory 108 that stores instructions”) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Chen, ¶0042: “controller 104 may be configured to execute the stored instructions in order to control operations”) extract first features from time-sequential perceptual sensor data to generate (Chen, ¶0094: “multi-head neural network 110 executes feature extraction operation”) a first set of bird’s-eye-view (BEV) feature images; (Chen, ¶0007: “environmental state is detected based on a bird's eye view (BEV) map”) extract second features from the first set of BEV feature images (Chen, ¶0055: “extract the spatio-temporal features from the BEV maps”) using a three-dimensional (3D) detection backbone (Chen, ¶0017: “system includes three parts: (1) data representation from raw 3D point clouds to BEV maps; (2) spatio-temporal pyramid network as a backbone”) to generate a second set of BEV feature images, (Chen, ¶0104: “generates the extended BEV image”) wherein each BEV feature image in the second set of BEV feature images corresponds to a distinct time step in the time-sequential perceptual sensor data; (Chen, ¶0104: “extended BEV image includes… a position of the pixel in the extended BEV image at a current time step… a time sequence of future positions of the pixel in subsequent time steps”) and consume the second set of BEV feature images (Chen, ¶0018: “the outputs of the three heads are provided to a motion planner”) using a neural-network 3D detection head that is trained (Chen, ¶0013: “The entire multi-head neural network is trained in an end-to-end manner”) (Chen, ¶0019: “a motion planner configured to produce a motion trajectory of a vehicle using the extended BEV image; and a controller configured to control an actuator of the vehicle based on the motion trajectory”). However, Chen does not explicitly teach a similarity objective based on comparisons between feature vectors corresponding to pairs of object instances, the comparisons including comparisons between pairs of object instances in a same time step and comparisons between pairs of object instances in different time steps, to support an object tracker.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Yamazaki teaches a similarity objective based on comparisons between feature vectors corresponding to pairs of object instances, (Yamazaki, ¶0054: “f.sub.i,j represents similarity between the tracking object data i in the tracking object information of the tracking object A and the tracking object data j in the tracking object information of the tracking object B. f.sub.i,j may represent, for example, cosine similarity of feature amount information (feature amount vector) included in the tracking object data”) the comparisons including comparisons between pairs of object instances in a same time step (Yamazaki, ¶0081: “ the tracking object information A and the tracking object information B may be obtained from, for example, images captured by imaging devices provided at different positions. For example, the tracking object information A may include tracking object data acquired from a video obtained by imaging the person X from a left side or a forward side. In addition, the tracking object information B may include tracking object data acquired from a video obtained by imaging the person X from a right side or a rearward side”) and comparisons between pairs of object instances in different time steps, to support an object tracker. (Yamazaki, ¶0075: “tracking the same object as an object detected in an image frame at a certain time in a subsequent time frame… the same object can be tracked based on similarity in position and appearance of the object in the image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen using the teachings of Yamazaki to introduce computing the similarity between a pair of object instances at the same time step (right camera and left camera). A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of automatically detecting whether the two pair of object view (from the right and left cameras) represent the same object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen and Yamazaki to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Yamazaki teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein, in connection with controlling the autonomous robot in an online processing environment of the autonomous robot, (Chen, ¶0038: “Through the network 126, either wirelessly or through wires, the control system 100 may receive the input data”) the 3D detection backbone, in processing the first set of BEV feature images, performs feature-level temporal aggregation that includes forward recurrence to generate the second set of BEV feature images. (Chen, ¶0040: “a pixel is associated with a time sequence of future positions of the pixel in subsequent time steps representing a prediction of a future motion of the object. The image processor 106 determines the time sequence of future positions of at least some pixel based on the outputs from the motion prediction head”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Yamazaki teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the time-sequential perceptual sensor data includes one or more of camera images, Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) data, radar data, sonar data, map data, or audio data. (Chen, ¶0050: “a plurality of sensors on the vehicle 116 such as a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor, a radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensor, a camera, and the like”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Yamazaki teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the autonomous robot is one of an autonomous vehicle, a search and rescue robot, a delivery robot, an aerial drone, or an indoor robot. (Chen, ¶0097: “the vehicle 500 can be an autonomous vehicle or a semi-autonomous vehicle”).
Regarding claim 8, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 8 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Chen teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable medium for detecting and tracking objects and storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (Chen, ¶0109: “the program code or code segments to perform the necessary tasks may be stored in a machine readable medium. A processor(s) may perform the necessary tasks”).
Regarding claim 11, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 13, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 13 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 7. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 14, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. In addition, Chen teaches, A method (Chen, ¶00111: “Embodiments of the present disclosure may be embodied as a method”).
Regarding claim 17, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 19, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 19 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 6. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 20 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 7. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen and Yamazaki presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Claims 2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2025/0095162 A1) and in further view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0358296 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Yamazaki teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein, in connection with generating the automatically labeled perception data, the 3D detection backbone, in processing the first set of BEV feature images in an offline processing environment, (Chen, ¶0053: “image processor 106 generates the BEV maps from the 3D point cloud frames by executing conventional image processing operations such as PointNet, and the like”) performs feature-level temporal aggregation (Chen, ¶0054: “points for static background are aggregated at a time of determining clues on motions of moving objects in the environment”). However, the combination of Chen and Lee does not explicitly teach, that includes both forward recurrence and backward recurrence to generate the second set of BEV feature images and each BEV feature image in the second set of BEV feature images incorporates information from all time steps in the time-sequential perceptual sensor data.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Lee teaches, that includes both forward recurrence and backward recurrence to generate the second set of BEV feature images (Lee, ¶0119: “system can be configured to perform a check of the consistency between the forward and backward flows”) and each BEV feature image in the second set of BEV feature images incorporates information (Lee, ¶0109: “aggregator 552 may include some or all features directly from two birds-eye view images 531, 532 having BeV embeddings such that pillar features from the two (or more) BeV images are aggregated”) from all time steps in the time-sequential perceptual sensor data. (Lee, ¶0105: “two birds-eye view images 531, 532… one representing the first point cloud (e.g., the point cloud at time t−1) and one representing the second point cloud (e.g., the point cloud at time t”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Yamazaki using the teachings of Lee to introduce feature-level temporal aggregation in both forward and backward occurrences. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of tracking through a sequence of images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen, Yamazaki and Lee to obtain the invention in claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 9 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki and Lee presented in rejection of claim 2, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 15, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki and Lee presented in rejection of claim 2, apply to this claim.
Claims 3, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2025/0095162 A1), in further view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0358296 A1), and still in further view of Park et al. (US 2024/0020953 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Yamazaki and in further view of Lee teaches, The system of claim 2, wherein the machine-readable instructions include further instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to. However, the combination of Chen, Yamazaki and Lee does not explicitly teach, improve robustness of the object tracker by applying global association to object comparisons output by the 3D detector head.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches, improve robustness of the object tracker by applying global association to object comparisons output by the 3D detector head. (Park, ¶0021: “The MLP network encodes global contextual information with respect to the region—providing for accurate transformation when objects appear at different heights in the view”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Yamazaki, and in further view of Lee using the teachings of Park to introduce a global contextual information. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the robustness of the object tracker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen, Yamazaki, Lee and Park to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki, Lee and Park presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 16, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 3. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki, Lee and Park presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0302992 A1), in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2025/0095162 A1) and in further view of Ji et al. (US 2025/0200751 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Yamazaki teaches, The system of claim 1. Although Yamazaki teaches, calculating a cosine similarity in ¶0121: “the “similarity between the tracking object data” may be cosine similarity”, however, the combination of Chen and Yamazaki does not explicitly teach, wherein the similarity objective includes a cosine-similarity loss.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ji teaches, wherein the similarity objective includes a cosine-similarity loss. (Ji, ¶0065: “training system trains the cloud point processing neural network to optimize a loss. The loss can be a cosine similarity loss that measures the similarity between the target pointwise features 318 and the pointwise features 322”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Yamazaki using the teachings of Ji to introduce a cosine similarity loss. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the detection accuracy of the object tracker. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Chen, Yamazaki and Ji to obtain the invention in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, it recites a computer-readable medium including instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer-readable medium of claim 12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 5. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki and Ji presented in rejection of claim 5, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 18, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 18 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 5. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Chen, Yamazaki and Ji presented in rejection of claim 5, apply to this claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662