DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueshige (US 2012/0224207) in view of Waller (US 10,353,654).
With respect to claim 1 (similarly claims 11 and 16), Sueshige teaches a system (e.g. a printing system Fig 1 [0040]) comprising:
at least one physical memory device (e.g. a random access memory (RAM) 103 and an external storage device 104 Fig 1 [0041]) to store a print workflow manager (e.g. to store printer driver 202 Fig 2 [0047]); and
one or more processors (e.g. CPU 101 Fig 1 [0041]) coupled with the at least one physical memory device to execute the print workflow manager to (e.g. the CPU 101 loads program code of the printer driver into the RAM 103. The external storage device 104 stores the program code read by the CPU 101 [0042]):
receive a print job (e.g. the printer driver 202 receives print data from the client apparatus 3 [0048], see also [0058] where the print setting information control unit 204 receives print setting information added to the print data from the application 207);
receive a job ticket including first attributes (e.g. the print setting information control unit 204 analyzes job ticket information added to the print data [0048], see also [0058] where the print setting information control unit 204 receives print setting information added to the print data from the application 207, as a job ticket 001);
detect a constraint violation between two or more of the converted attributes (e.g. in step S507, the print setting information control unit 204 determines whether a conflict (inconsistency) of setting values is caused among the print setting items, based on priorities uniquely held by the printer driver 202 [0059]), wherein a constraint violation comprises a combination of converted job attributes that the printer does not support (e.g. Fig 5 S506 [0059], [0061] disclose a constraint violation comprises a combination of converted job attributes that the printer does not support); and
perform one or more adjustments to the two or more converted attributes based on a priority list upon detecting the constraint violation (e.g. in step S507, the print setting information control unit 204 determines whether a conflict (inconsistency) of setting values is caused among the print setting items, based on priorities uniquely held by the printer driver 202 [0059], in step S702, among the print setting items causing a conflict, the print setting information control unit 204 determines a print setting item that needs to be reset, based on priorities uniquely held by the printer driver 202 [0064], the print setting information control unit 204 causes the printer driver 202 to use an appropriate setting value to reset (change) the print setting item that needs to be reset. In this way, the print setting information control unit 204 resolves the conflict [0065]).
However, Sueshige fails to teach convert the first attributes included in the job ticket in a first format to second converted attributes of a second format supported by a printer;
Waller teaches to convert the first attributes included in the job ticket in a first format to second converted attributes of a second format supported by a printer (e.g. Fig 2 teaches conversion logic 203 which converts job tickets instructions corresponding to print job data (e.g., print job instructions) being provided is transformed (or converted) from a format (e.g., instruction language format) supported by the external systems to an instruction language format supported by print manager 205 (e.g., host language format), see Figs 2 and 4 col 5 ln 15-67-col 6 ln 1-25, which suggest convert the first attributes included in the job ticket in a first format to second converted attributes of a second format supported by a printer);
Sueshige and Waller are analogous art because they all pertain to processing/converting job tickets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sueshige with the conversion logic 203 Fig 2 of Waller to include: convert the first attributes included in the job ticket in a first format to second converted attributes of a second format supported by a printer, as suggested by Waller in Figs 2 and 4 col 5 ln 15-67-col 6 ln 1-25.
The benefit of the modification would be such that an application interface mechanism that provides a single interface to support various external system language formats is desired, Waller col 1 ln 54-56.
With respect to claim 2 (similarly claims 12 and 17), Sueshige teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the adjustments are performed based on adjustment rules included in the priority list (e.g. the adjustments are performed based on adjustment rules included in the priorities uniquely held by the printer driver 202, [0060-[0061]).
With respect to claim 3 (similarly claims 13 and 18), Sueshige teaches the system of claim 2, wherein an adjustment rule retains a highest priority attribute among the conflicting attributes and adjusts lower priority attributes to accommodate the highest priority attribute (e.g. In the data table 600 in FIG. 6, a print setting item indicated on the left side of another print setting item has a higher priority [0060]).
With respect to claim 4, Sueshige teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the priority list further comprises one or more high- priority attributes and a list of low-priority attributes associated with each of the one or more high-priority attributes (e.g. the data table of Fig 6 comprises one or more high- priority attributes and a list of low-priority attributes associated with each of the one or more high-priority attributes [0060]).
With respect to claim 5, Sueshige teaches the system of claim 4, wherein performing an adjustment comprises iteratively changing the lower-priority attributes causing the conflict and determining whether the conflict has been resolved (e.g. Fig 6 [0060]-[0061] comprises iteratively changing the lower-priority attributes causing the conflict and determining whether the conflict has been resolved, see also [0065] where the print setting information control unit 204 causes the printer driver 202 to use an appropriate setting value to reset (change) the print setting item that needs to be reset. In this way, the print setting information control unit 204 resolves the conflict).
With respect to claim 6 (similarly claims 14 and 19), Sueshige teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the print workflow manager further to access the priority list upon determining that the conflict exists (e.g. If it is determined that a conflict of setting values is caused among print setting items (YES in step S507), the operation proceeds to step S508, and the print setting information control unit 204 executes a conflict resolution switching process [0062] i.e. to access the priority list upon determining that the conflict exists).
With respect to claim 7 (similarly claims 15 and 20), Sueshige teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the print workflow manager further to receive constraints (e.g. receive the constraints Fig 6 [0060]-[0061]); and generate the priority list based on the constraints (e.g. generate the priorities held by 202 based on the constraints, [0060]-[0063]).
With respect to claim 8, Sueshige teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the print workflow manager to transmit the converted attributes to the printer (e.g. a print job in data format interpretable by the printer 2, based on the print setting information and the print data, is output to the printer [0051]).
With respect to claim 9, Sueshige teaches the system of claim 8, the printer to receive the second attributes (e.g. this print job is output to the printer [0051]).
With respect to claim 10, Sueshige in view of Waller teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the job ticket comprises a Job Definition Format (JDF) job ticket (Waller e.g. Fig 4 discloses the job ticket comprises a Job Definition Format (JDF) job ticket).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM SIDDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681