DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 01/31/2024.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 18 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
For claims 14 and 18, the claims recite a device comprises a radio transceiver to perform the plurality of functions, therefore lack more than one structure to perform the plurality of functions.
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 depend on claims 14 and 18 respectively, therefore they are rejected for the same reason.
Applicants are reminded that a machine claim must comprise a combination of device elements. Applicants are reminded that according to MPEP 2106, “Machine – a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices. Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650 (1863)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-14, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US_20210297853_A1_Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method of synchronizing a plurality of client devices with an access point device (Lee figures 1, 6, paragraphs 46, 56, and paragraph 49, “…a base station may variously be referred to… an access point (AP)…”), the method comprising: broadcasting by radio, from the access point device, an encrypted broadcast message comprising synchronization information (Lee figure 6 step 612, paragraph 47, “…the encrypted broadcast information includes at least a part of an acquisition signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB)…”); receiving the encrypted broadcast message at each of the plurality of client devices (Lee figure step 612); decrypting the encrypted broadcast message at each client device of the plurality of client devices (Lee figure 6, steps 614-616); and using the synchronization information at each client device of the plurality of client devices to synchronize the respective client device with the access point device (Lee figure 6 step 618, paragraph 46, “…SSB may include unencrypted broadcast information enabling the wireless communication device to obtain the cell identifying information and encrypted broadcast information.…”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the same synchronization information in the broadcast message being used by each client device of the plurality of client devices to synchronize the respective client device with the access point device (Lee figure 6, and paragraph 86, “… a broadcast communication is delivered to all devices.…”, paragraph 98, “…The encrypted broadcast information 500 may be decrypted by authorized UEs for cell access and other purposes…”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising each client device of the plurality of client devices generating a common second cryptographic key from a common first cryptographic key stored in a respective memory of the client device (Lee figure 6, steps 614, and paragraph 111-112), and decrypting the encrypted broadcast message using the common second cryptographic key (Lee figure 6, steps 616).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, comprising each client device generating the common second cryptographic key from the common first cryptographic key using a key derivation function (Lee figure 6, steps 614, and paragraph 111, “…the device 602 may derive the cell-specific broadcast key using a key derivation function (KDF) of the broadcast root key and the cell identifying information…”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, comprising at least one client device of the plurality of client devices using the common first cryptographic key to decrypt an encrypted message (Lee figure 6, steps 614-616, and paragraph 111-112), received by the client device from the access point device, that is not a broadcast message comprising synchronization information for all of the plurality of client devices (Lee figure 6, step 612, and paragraph 107, “…the unencrypted information may include the PSS and SSS of an SSB. The PSS and SSS may be used to determine the PCI of the secure cell and the absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) specifying a carrier frequency ( or pair of carrier frequencies corresponding to uplink and downlink frequencies in FDD systems) utilized in the cell…”, paragraph 113, “…At 618, the device 602 may access the RAN node 604 and register with the core network utilizing the unencrypted broadcast information and the decrypted broadcast information.…”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the access point device is configured to broadcast synchronization information periodically (Lee paragraph 88, “…SSBs may be broadcast at regular intervals based on a periodicity…”).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a set of client devices of the system are divided among a plurality of groups, and wherein said plurality of client devices are all in one group of the plurality of groups, the method further comprising the access point device broadcasting a plurality of encrypted broadcast messages, wherein each of the broadcast messages comprises respective synchronization information specific to a respective group of the plurality of groups (Lee paragraph 101, “…Multiple broadcast root keys and/or multiple long term keys may be generated and provided to different groups of devices or different groups of RAN nodes to avoid updating each of the devices and RAN nodes with new keys in the instance of key compromise of one of the keys…”)..
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the method of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of encrypted broadcast messages is encrypted using a different cryptographic key associated with a respective group of the plurality of groups (Lee paragraph 101, “…Multiple broadcast root keys and/or multiple long term keys may be generated and provided to different groups of devices or different groups of RAN nodes to avoid updating each of the devices and RAN nodes with new keys in the instance of key compromise of one of the keys…”)..
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1, and an access point device comprising a radio transceiver (Lee paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses access point device of claim 14, configured to broadcast a plurality of encrypted broadcast messages, wherein each of the broadcast messages comprises respective synchronization information specific to a respective group of a plurality of groups of client devices (Lee paragraph 101, “…Multiple broadcast root keys and/or multiple long term keys may be generated and provided to different groups of devices or different groups of RAN nodes to avoid updating each of the devices and RAN nodes with new keys in the instance of key compromise of one of the keys…”).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1, and a client device comprising a radio transceiver (Lee paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20210297853_A1_Lee in view of US_20240236887_A1_Liu.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the client devices are Bluetooth™ Low Energy (BLE) electronic shelf label devices.
Liu discloses wherein the client devices are Bluetooth™ Low Energy (BLE) electronic shelf label devices (Liu paragraph 3, paragraph 31, “A system may include one or more wireless communication devices… each ESL may have a wireless connection (e.g., a BLUETOOTH® Low Energy (BLE) connection or other connection) to an access point (AP)…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu’s the wireless communication devices can be BLE devices in Lee’s system to allow communication with devices running on low power. (Liu paragraph 3). This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Liu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Liu disclose the method of claim 7, and Liu further discloses wherein the access point device is configured to communicate with the client devices using a Periodic Advertising with Responses (PAwR) protocol (Liu paragraphs 33, 35, 79, 84, PAwR).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the access point device of claim 14, but does not disclose configured to broadcast the broadcast message using a Bluetooth™ Low Energy (BLE) protocol.
Liu discloses configured to broadcast the broadcast message using a Bluetooth™ Low Energy (BLE) protocol (Liu paragraph 31, “A system may include one or more wireless communication devices that are controlled by a network entity. The network entity may communicate with the one or more wireless communication devices via one or more network devices. For example, an electronic shelf label (ESL) system may include one or more ESLs that are controlled by a management entity (ME). To facilitate control by the management entity, each ESL may have a wireless connection (e.g., a BLUETOOTH® Low Energy (BLE) connection or other connection) to an access point (AP)…”, paragraph 40, “…The access point 110 may be configured to transmit beacons (e.g., BLE beacons)…”, paragraph 63, “…the access points and/or the management entity may be included in a wireless communication system, such as an ESL system. The wireless communication system may use a wireless communication technology, such as BLE.” Therefore, the AP can use BLE for broadcasting).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu’s the wireless communication devices can be BLE devices in Lee’s system to allow communication with devices running on low power. (Liu paragraph 3). This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Liu. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, Lee and Liu disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20210297853_A1_Lee in view of WO_2022246838_A1_Gao (with English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the method of claim 7, but does not discloses wherein the encrypted broadcast message comprising the synchronization information is sent in the ACAD field of an AUX_ADV_IND packet broadcast by the access point device.
Gao discloses wherein the encrypted broadcast message comprising the synchronization information is sent in the ACAD field of an AUX_ADV_IND packet broadcast by the access point device (Gao, translation, page 11, 6th paragraph, “In one example, the payload (Payload) of the additional broadcast indication information (AUX_ADV_IND) includes at least one of the following fields: an extended header length (Extended Header Length) field, an broadcast mode (AdvMode) field, an extended header (Extended Header) field…”, 7th paragraph, “It can be seen from the above description that the additional broadcast indication information includes CTE access information, and optionally, the CTE access information is carried in the broadcast data field shown in Table 5 above; or, the CTE access information is carried in the above-mentioned In the additional control advertising data (Additional Control Advertising Data, ACAD) field in the extended header field shown in Table 6”, 8th paragraph, “In an example, the above CTE access information includes at least one of the following fields: a CTE access delay unit (Delay Unit) field, a CTE access delay (Delay) field, and a synchronization pointer (SyncPtr) field…”, also see page 15, 7th paragraph, “In an example, the CTE access information is carried in the broadcast data field; or, the CTE access information is carried in the ACAD field in the extended header field”, 8th paragraph, “In an example, the CTE access information includes at least one of the following fields: CTE access delay unit field, used to indicate the time unit used by the CTE access delay field; CTE access delay field, used to indicate CTE access delay; a synchronization pointer field, used to instruct the second positioning device to broadcast content related to the additional synchronization indication information”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Gao’s broadcasting synchronization information in ACAD filed of AUX_ADV_IND packet in Lee’s system to reduce power consumption. This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Gao. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Gao to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the access point device of claim 14, but does not disclose configured to broadcast the synchronization information in the ACAD field of an AUX_ADV_IND packet.
Gao discloses configured to broadcast the synchronization information in the ACAD field of an AUX_ADV_IND packet (Gao, translation, page 11, 6th paragraph, “In one example, the payload (Payload) of the additional broadcast indication information (AUX_ADV_IND) includes at least one of the following fields: an extended header length (Extended Header Length) field, an broadcast mode (AdvMode) field, an extended header (Extended Header) field…”, 7th paragraph, “It can be seen from the above description that the additional broadcast indication information includes CTE access information, and optionally, the CTE access information is carried in the broadcast data field shown in Table 5 above; or, the CTE access information is carried in the above-mentioned In the additional control advertising data (Additional Control Advertising Data, ACAD) field in the extended header field shown in Table 6”, 8th paragraph, “In an example, the above CTE access information includes at least one of the following fields: a CTE access delay unit (Delay Unit) field, a CTE access delay (Delay) field, and a synchronization pointer (SyncPtr) field…”, also see page 15, 7th paragraph, “In an example, the CTE access information is carried in the broadcast data field; or, the CTE access information is carried in the ACAD field in the extended header field”, 8th paragraph, “In an example, the CTE access information includes at least one of the following fields: CTE access delay unit field, used to indicate the time unit used by the CTE access delay field; CTE access delay field, used to indicate CTE access delay; a synchronization pointer field, used to instruct the second positioning device to broadcast content related to the additional synchronization indication information”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Gao’s broadcasting synchronization information in ACAD filed of AUX_ADV_IND packet in Lee’s system to reduce power consumption. This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Gao. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Gao to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20210297853_A1_Lee in view of US_20080151868_A1_Kezys.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising performing a respective initial configuration process for each client device, before the client device first synchronizes with the access point device, in which the client device receives respective configuration data from the access point device, by radio, wherein the respective configuration data includes a respective response address for the client device to include in one or more messages sent subsequently by the respective client device to the access point device.
Kezys discloses comprising performing a respective initial configuration process for each client device, before the client device first synchronizes with the access point device, in which the client device receives respective configuration data from the access point device, by radio, wherein the respective configuration data includes a respective response address for the client device to include in one or more messages sent subsequently by the respective client device to the access point device (Kezys figure 4, and paragraph 34, “When the VoIP session is terminated, the mobile device reassociates with the current wireless access point using the local ESSID corresponding to the current subnet segment. Since mobile device 202 has associated with a wireless access point of a new subnet (i.e. second subnet segment 310), a new IP address will then be dynamically assigned to mobile device 202 by DHCP server 340 and used for subsequent communications with mobile device 202. Communication and servers may he utilized via the local subnet as was prior to the VoIP session”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Kezys’s the access point assigns new IP address for newly associated mobile deice and uses the IP address for subsequent communications with mobile device in Lee’s system to uniquely identify the mobile device and the its communication. This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kezys. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Kezys to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20210297853_A1_Lee in view of US_20070223431_A1_Jaakkola.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising performing a respective initial configuration process for each client device, before the client device first synchronizes with the access point device, in which the client device receives respective configuration data from the access point device, by radio, wherein the respective configuration data specifies a time interval for the client device to wait before synchronizing with the access point device.
Jaakkola discloses further comprising performing a respective initial configuration process for each client device, before the client device first synchronizes with the access point device, in which the client device receives respective configuration data from the access point device, by radio, wherein the respective configuration data specifies a time interval for the client device to wait before synchronizing with the access point device (Jaakkola figure 6).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Jaakkola’s synchronizing the wireless communications device's internal clock with the WLAN reference timing in Lee’s system to synchronize itself with an access point network efficiently. This method for improving the system of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Jaakkola. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee and Jaakkola to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471