Information Disclosure Statement
IDS(es) submitted on 12/23/2024 and 1/14/2025 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration has not been filed.
Drawings
Drawing(s) submitted on 1/31/2024 have been acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 16-20, and 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Said claims are also allowed because Deng et al. cannot encompass all the features and limitations of said claims, nor can said reference be combined with any references to render said features and limitations obvious in combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-15, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (US 2023/0232357; hereinafter Deng).
The applied reference has a common assignee, Huawei Technologies with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 21, Deng discloses a security context update method, performed by a terminal, and comprising:
in a condition that the terminal has first access and second access (Fig. 1: terminal device having 3GPP access and non-3GPP access),
storing a security context of the first access and a security context of the second access only in response to both the first access of the terminal and the second access of the terminal entering a deregistered state ([0019]: storing NAS security context when deregistering from the first PLMN over access networks, including deregistering from the first PLMN over the first access network and deregistering from the first PLMN over the second access network), wherein
the first access is that the terminal accesses a network by using a 3rd generation partnership project 3GPP access network, and the second access is that the terminal accesses a network by using a non-3GPP access network; or the first access is that the terminal accesses a network by using a non- 3GPP access network, and the second access is that the terminal accesses a network by using a 3GPP access network (Fig. 1, wherein the first and second network access can be 3GPP and/or non-3GPP).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 22, Deng discloses wherein the storing the security context of the first access and the security context of the second access further includes:
storing the security context of the first access and the security context of the second access in a storage unit, wherein the storage unit is a universal subscriber identity module USIM or a non- volatile memory ([0006]: the storage medium is a USIM or non-volatile memory).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23, Deng discloses wherein the storing the security context of the first access includes storing a first file of the terminal is usable to store the security context of the first access, the storing the securing context of the second access includes storing a second file of the terminal usable to store the security context of the second access, the first file includes a first record and a second record, and the second file includes a third record and a fourth record ([0039]: the storing of a file for a first access and a second file for a second access, 3GPP or non-3GPP; wherein each file includes a first record--NAS security context, and a second record-- PLMN identifier).
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 24, Deng discloses wherein the storing the first security context of the first access includes storing a first security context in the first record corresponding to a first public land mobile network PLMN, the storing the second security context of the second access includes storing a fourth security context in the fourth record corresponding to the first PLMN, and the first access being registered with the first PLMN ([0039]: the storing of a file for a first access and a second file for a second access, 3GPP or non-3GPP; wherein each file includes a first record--NAS security context, and a second record-- PLMN identifier).
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 25 Deng discloses wherein the storing the first security context of the first access includes storing a second security context in the second record corresponding to a second PLMN, the storing the securing context of the second access includes storing a second file of the terminal includes storing a third security context in the third record corresponds to the second PLMN, and the second access being registered with the second PLMN ([0039], [0045], [0064]: for each PLMN the terminal device can store a file for a first access and a second file for a second access, 3GPP or non-3GPP; wherein each file includes a first record--NAS security context, and a second record-- PLMN identifier).
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644