DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed October 10th 2025 are pending in the current action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivertsen (US9,230,510) in view of Lim (US11,243,735) in view of Chang et al. (US2011/0273902)
Consider claim 1, where Sivertsen teaches a display device, comprising: a housing; a first display panel retained by the housing; (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where there is a first display panel 110A) a second display panel retained by the housing; (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where there is a second display panel 110B) and a light source, the light source configured to emit light to illuminate the first display panel and the second display panel. (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where there is a backlight module 150 that has two emitting sides to direct light to the first and second display panels)
Sivertsen teaches an open frame LCD, (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7-line 32-64 display panels may be open-frame LCDs) however Sivertsen does not explicitly teach a light source retained by the housing. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lim teaches a light source retained by the housing. (See Lim Figs. 8-11 and col 9 line 63- col 10 line 8 where the frame 66 defines a frame channel or frame cavity 83 and image display area 85 is defined by the inner frame sections 87 of the frame 66) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the open-frame LCD of Sivertsen would include a frame that is used to house the displays as taught by Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of providing structural stability to the assembly.
Sivertsen teaches a backlight module, however Sivertsen does not explicitly teach a light guide optically coupled between the light source and the first display panel, and between the light source and the second display panel. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Lim teaches a light guide optically coupled between the light source and the first display panel, and between the light source and the second display panel. (See Lim Fig. 13, col 17 line 40-58 where when the first display device 220 displays the first image 236 in the first display mode 246, the multi-state device 224 at least partially reflects the visible light from the light source 226, resulting in first reflected light 266 (FIG. 13). When the second display device 222 displays the second image 240 in the second display mode 248, the multi-state device 224 at least partially reflects the visible light from the light source 226, resulting in second reflected light 268 (FIG. 13).) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the backlight module of Sivertsen with the backlight module implementation in Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using a known method of implementing a backlight module to yield predictable results.
Lim teaches a carrier. (See Lim Fig. 20 where the multi-state assembly comprises a carrier portion) However, Lim does not explicitly teach a light guide assembly including a first light guide and a second light guide, the first light guide configured to reflect light from the light source inwardly towards the second light guide, the second light guide configured to redirect the light reflected from the first light guide toward the first and second display panels. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chang teaches a light guide assembly including a first light guide and a second light guide, the first light guide configured to reflect light from the light source inwardly towards the second light guide, the second light guide configured to redirect the light reflected from the first light guide toward the first and second display panels. (See Chang Fig. 1 and ¶24-25 where the double sided backlight module comprises a second substance Q that acts as a first light guide to direct light from the light source 14 inwardly towards the first substance P such that the light beam is scattered towards the first light-emitting surface 12a and the second light-emitting surface 12b) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the carrier of Lim to utilize the backlight module of Chang to utilize other known methods of directing light towards two surfaces. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using a known method of implementing a backlight module to yield predictable results.
Consider claim 2, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a front of the first display panel is oriented in an opposite direction from a front of the second display panel. (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where a first display panel 110A is opposite from second display panel 110B)
Consider claim 3, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel comprise liquid crystal displays. (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where a first display panel 110A and second display panel 110B may be LCDs or any other type of display panel)
Consider claim 4, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel comprise light emitting diodes. (See Lim col 1 line 58- col 2 line 14 where OLEDs are a known type of display) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the LCD of Sivertsen with the OLED as taught by Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using other known types of displays to yield a similar result.
Consider claim 7, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a first camera having a first field of view overlapping with a first viewing angle of the first display panel, and a second camera having a second field of view overlapping with a second viewing angle of the second display panel. (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where there is a first camera 190A that points in the emission direction of the first display panel 110A and a second camera 190B that points in the emission direction of the second display panel 110B )
Consider claim 8, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the housing includes a first face having a first aperture and a second face having a second aperture, the first face and the second face parallel to one another, the first display panel is configured to provide a first image viewable at a first viewing angle through the first aperture, the second display panel is configured to provide a second image viewable at a second viewing angle through the second aperture, and the second viewing angle offset from the first viewing angle. (See Sivertsen Fig. 1A, B and col 7 line 32-64 where there is a first camera 190A that points in the emission direction of the first display panel 110A and a second camera 190B that points in the emission direction of the second display panel 110B. In this configuration the viewing angle of display 110A is 180 degrees offset from the viewing angle of display 110B )
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Fukuoka (US2017/0219861)
Consider claim 5, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang teaches the display device of claim 1, however, they do not explicitly teach wherein the light source is configured to modulate the emitted light to illuminate the first display panel at a first timing and the second display panel at a second timing. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Fukuoka teaches wherein the light source is configured to modulate the emitted light to illuminate the first display panel at a first timing and the second display panel at a second timing. (See Fukuoka ¶236 where the light source 31 is driven in a time division manner where the drive frequency of the second liquid-crystal panel 102 may be set to 60 Hz, and the drive frequency of the first liquid-crystal panel 101 may be set to 180 Hz) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the light source of Sivertsen could be driven in the manner described in Fukuoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known techniques to yield a predictable result.
Consider claim 6, where Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang in view of Fukuoka teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the first timing and the second timing are each at a frequency greater than a flicker fusion frequency. See Fukuoka ¶236 where the light source 31 is driven in a time division manner where the drive frequency of the second liquid-crystal panel 102 may be set to 60 Hz, and the drive frequency of the first liquid-crystal panel 101 may be set to 180 Hz) See Applicant’s specification ¶29 where the flicker fusion frequency is about 33 Hertz (Hz) or an image repetition rate faster than or equal to one image ever approximately 30 milliseconds (ms).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed April 17th 2025 pertaining to claim 9 are persuasive. Further searching has revealed Tang (US2016/0377917) shows a double-sided display panel that reflects light back towards a first direction in Fig. 1 and a second direction in Fig. 2. However, it would have been non-obvious to implement the teachings of Tang into the prior art combination of Sivertsen (US9,230,510) in view of Lim (US11,243,735) in view of Fukuoka (US2017/0219861) to arrive at the claimed invention. Other references found reflect similar teachings. Thus, the 103 rejection is withdrawn claim 9 is allowed. Claims 10-13 are allowed based upon their dependence of claim 9.
With regards towards claim 14, while Chang et al. (US2011/0273902) teaches the light source is directed to a first surface of the light guide and reflected by the first surface to illuminate the first display panel, and the second light produced by the light source is directed to a second surface of the light guide and reflected by the second surface to illuminate the second display panel, the first surface and second surface being nonparallel. (See Chang Fig. 1 and ¶24-25) However, it would not have been obvious to control the production of the first and second lights by the light source as taught by Sivertsen in view of Lim in view of Chang et al. (US2017/0153379) in view of Ono et al. (US2018/0275943) to arrive at the claimed limitation. Thus, the 103 rejection is withdrawn and claim 14 is allowed. Claims 15-20 are allowed based upon their dependency from claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624