DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species C in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the plurality of rows" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this should read “the plurality of arrangements”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haimoff (2008/0201873).
Regarding claim 1, Haimoff discloses a monolithic, polymer ramp for elevating a tire of a vehicle from ground level to an elevated position, the ramp comprising: a slanted portion (102) having a slanted surface extending from a front end (102a, 110), the slanted surface configured to engage the tire and elevate the tire to the elevated position; and a wheel supporting portion (104) having a substantially flat surface extending from the slanted surface and a first chock (120) molded therein proximate a back end, wherein the slanted surface and the substantially flat surface comprise a plurality of spaced apart rows of spaced apart columns (142, 144, 146) wherein the spaced apart columns extend from apertures in the slanted surface and the substantially flat surface and terminate at a distal end that is proximately even with the front end.
Regarding claim 2, Haimoff discloses wherein each of the columns of the plurality of arrangements decreases in cross section (tapered cross-sections, see Fig. 5 above) from the opening to the distal end.
Regarding claim 8, Haimoff discloses a plurality of monolithic, polymer ramps for elevating a tire of a vehicle from ground level to an elevated position, each ramp comprising: a slanted portion (102) having a slanted surface extending from a front end (102a, 110), the slanted surface configured to engage the tire and elevate the tire to the elevated position; and a wheel supporting portion (104) having a substantially flat surface extending from the slanted surface and a first chock (120) molded therein proximate a back end, wherein the slanted surface and the substantially flat surface comprise a plurality of spaced apart arrangements of spaced apart columns (142, 144, 146) wherein the spaced apart columns extend from apertures in the slanted surface and the substantially flat surface and terminate at a distal end that is proximately even with the front end wherein the plurality of ramps are configured to nest one on top of the other (see Figs. 6-9).
Regarding claim 9, Haimoff discloses wherein each of the columns of the plurality of rows decreases in cross section (tapered cross-sections, see Fig. 5 above) from the opening to the distal end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haimoff (2008/0201873) in view of Zhang (D923,280).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Haimoff teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach three columns. Zhang teaches a ramp having a slanted portion and a wheel portion with a plurality of arrangements wherein the plurality of arrangements comprises three arrangements of columns (Figure 1), wherein the left arrangement comprises an arrangement of staggered columns in a zigzag shape, the middle arrangement comprises a row of columns, and the right arrangement comprises an arrangement of staggered columns in a zigzag shape mirroring that of the left arrangement, wherein the columns are spaced across a width of both the slanted surface and the substantially flat surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Haimoff with an arrangement of columns as taught by Zhang as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and to give more support to the structure to improve its’ overall strength.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Forbis teaches nestable ramps with a slanted portion and a wheel portion.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 May 1, 2026