DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 2013/03/16, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2024/01/31 and 2024/06/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: " HEARING DEVICE CHARGING UNIT WITH DATA COMMUNICATION VIA VOLTAGE MODULATION".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 2013/0300206A1).
In re claims 1, 4, 11, KIM discloses the following limitations:
a hearing device (FIG. 6B; ¶[0106]: hearing aids 650/660) having
an inductive charger (FIG. 4; ¶s [0079, 0080]: receiving unit 410 – wirelessly receives power through mutual resonance) with a receiving coil (¶[0080]: target resonator of receiving unit 410),
a communication unit (FIG. 4; ¶s [0006-0007, 0084]: modulator 460 – configured to perform load-modulation-based communication of data to the wireless power transmitter) and
a battery (FIG. 4; ¶[0082]: load 450 – chargeable component that receives DC power, voltage is monitored for charge completion) electrically connected via the communication unit with the inductive charger (FIG. 4),
a method for operating a hearing device which comprises the steps of:
changing an electric voltage applied at the receiving coil by means of the communication unit in dependence on data to be transferred (¶s [0006, 0007, 0084]: modulator 460 changing an impedance (and therefore voltage) of the wireless power receiver based on the length of a clock signal).
As to claim 11, KIM further discloses the following limitations:
a hearing device system (FIG. 6B; ¶[0106]: pads 630/640, together with hearing aids 650/660, forming a wireless power transmitting/receiving hearing device system), comprising:
a charger communicating with said hearing device (FIG. 1; ¶s [0035 – 0035, 0045, 0049, 106]: source device 110, including communication unit 115, supplying wireless power and transmitting/receiving data to/from wireless power receiver mounted in hearing aids 650/660).
In re claim 2, KIM discloses the following limitations:
setting an electric resistance of the communication unit in dependence on the data to be transferred (¶s [0006, 0007, 0084]: modulator 460 changing an impedance based on the length of a clock signal).
In re claims 3, 10, KIM discloses the following limitations:
the hearing device is a hearing aid device (FIG. 6B; ¶[0106]: hearing aids 650/660).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2013/0300206A1), in view of YAU et al. (US 2003/0160593 A1).
In re claim 5, KIM discloses the following limitations:
an inductive charger (receiving unit 410);
a battery (load 450).
KIM does not expressly disclose said communication unit has a switching element and a diode, by means of said diode said inductive charger and said battery are electrically connected, and said diode is bypassed by means of said switching element.
YAU teaches the following limitations:
a switching element (FIG. 2: bypassing switches 413/423/433/443);
a diode (FIG. 2: one-way electronic devices 411/421/431/441);
said diode electrically connected a battery (FIG. 2: one-way electronic devices 411/421/431/441 in series with batteries 412/422/432/442);
said diode is bypassed by means of said switching element (FIG. 2; ¶[0056]: bypassing switches 413/423/433/443 turning on leads to drain-source voltage drop, causing one-way electronic devices 411/421/431/441 to become non-conducting).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date (EFD) to combine YAU's diode and bypassing switch arrangement to KIM's communication unit, in order to obtain a switching element having a relatively high switching bandwidth so that the switching element can be turned on and off many times within a short period of time.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2013/0300206A1), in view of YAU et al. (US 2003/0160593 A1), and further in view of CLARK et al. (US 5,362,576).
In re claim 6, KIM discloses a communication unit (modulator 460).
KIM does not expressly disclose said communication unit has a further diode, which is connected in series to said diode and is also bypassed by means of said switching element.
CLARK teaches the following limitations:
series-connected diodes (FIGS. 1–2; col. 3, ll. 40–42: charging diodes 20),
bypassed by means of a switching element (col. 3, ll. 56–60: charging diodes 20 bypassed when bypass switch 10 is tripped).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA, before the EFD, to combine CLARK's plural series-connected charging diodes into KIM's communication unit, in order to ensure that the diodes' combined forward-bias voltage exceeds the battery's voltage so that the diodes do not conduct during normal operation.
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2013/0300206A1), in view of YAU et al. (US 2003/0160593 A1), and further in view of MOSENEDER et al. (US 2003/0164694 A1).
In re claim 7, KIM discloses a communication unit (modulator 460).
KIM does not expressly disclose said communication unit has a voltage source and a further switching element; and said switching element is a field-effect transistor having a source and a gate connected via said voltage source to said source, wherein said voltage source is bypassed by means of said further switching element.
YAU teaches said switching element is a field-effect transistor (FIG. 2; ¶[0056]: MOSFET bypassing switches 413/423/433/443);
A PHOSITA would have been motivated before the EFD to use YAU’s bypassing switch in KIM's communication unit in order to obtain a switching element having a relatively high switching bandwidth.
YAU does not expressly teach a voltage source and a further switching element; and said switching element has a source and a gate connected via said voltage source to said source, wherein said voltage source is bypassed by means of said further switching element.
MOSENEDER teaches the following limitations:
a voltage source (FIG. 1; ¶[0019]: positive supply voltage 16);
a further switching element (FIG. 1; ¶[0020]: switching element 18);
a MOSFET (FIG. 1: switching element 10) having a source (FIG. 1: terminal 13) and a gate (FIG. 1: control terminal 14) connected via said voltage source to said source (FIG. 1; ¶s [0018, 0019]: control terminal 14 connected via resistor 15 to positive supply voltage 16; terminal 13 connected to the same negative-potential rail positive supply voltage 16 is referenced against).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to combine MOSENEDER's voltage source and further switching element bypass arrangement to KIM's communication unit's switching element, in order to enable the further switching element to periodically switch the switching element on and off.
In re claim 8, KIM discloses a communication unit (modulator 460).
KIM does not expressly disclose said communication unit has a further voltage source and a data input; and said further switching element is a field-effect transistor having a source and a gate which is connected via said further voltage source to said source, wherein said further voltage source is led toward said data input.
MOSENEDER teaches the following limitations:
a further voltage source (FIG. 1; ¶[0032]: control device 11 – applies a biasing voltage signal to switching element 18's control terminal) and
a data input (FIG. 1; ¶[0031]: control input 22 – connected to control terminal 14 / terminal 17, reading switching elements' 10/18 high/low state as data); and
said further switching element is a transistor (switching element 18) having a source (FIG. 1: terminal 19) and
a gate (FIG. 1: control terminal 21) which is connected via said further voltage source to said source (FIG. 1; ¶[0021]: control terminal 21 connected to control device 11's output, with terminal 19 connected to the same negative-potential rail),
wherein said further voltage source is led toward said data input (FIG. 1; ¶s [0032, 0039]: control output 24 drives switching element 18, control input 22 reads switching element 18's resulting state, closing the loop on control device 11).
MOSENEDER does not expressly teach said further switching element is a field-effect transistor.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the EFD to combine MOSENEDER's further voltage source and data input arrangement to KIM's communication unit, substituting a known field-effect transistor for the further switching element, in order to obtain a further switching element having the same well-defined, voltage-controlled gate switching characteristics as the said switching element.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2013/0300206A1), in view of KAMINSKY et al. (US 2013/0264875 A1).
In re claim 9, KIM discloses a battery (load 450).
KIM does not expressly disclose a capacitance and said battery is bypassed using said capacitance.
KAMINSKY teaches the following limitations:
a capacitance (FIG. 8: capacitor 20) and
a battery (FIG. 8: battery 30) is bypassed using said capacitance (FIGS. 8; ¶[0087]: capacitor 20, connected in parallel with battery 30, absorbing power requirements otherwise be performed by the battery).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the EFD to connect KAMINSKY's capacitor in parallel to KIM's battery, in order to absorb power requirements that would otherwise be performed by the battery, buffering the battery from transient power demands.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859