DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/20/2026.
EXAMINER’S NOTE
This Office Action is being issued as a second non-final Office Action due to the identification of additional prior art responsive to Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (US 20140213080) in view of Matsumura (US 20050181651).
Regarding claim 1, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a press-fit pin (10), comprising:
a tip part (i.e. figure 1; annotation) configured to guide the press-fit pin (10) into an opening of a circuit board (5; see figure 2);
a deformable part (i.e. part where L1 is located in figure 1) adjoining the tip part (i.e. figure 1; annotation) and configured to deform upon insertion into the opening of the circuit board (5; part where L1 is located in figure 1 is capable of deforming upon insertion into the opening of a circuit board);
an elongate part (14) adjoining the deformable part (i.e. part where L1 is located in figure 1);
wherein the tip part (i.e. figure 1) has a proximal region (13a) adjoining the deformable part (i.e. part where L1 is located in figure 1) and a distal region (i.e. see annotation) that is narrower than the proximal region (i.e. see annotation),
wherein a first sidewall (sidewall along 21 in figure 1) of the press-fit pin (10) is sloped (i.e. see figure 1), with respect to a longitudinal axis (Y1) of the press-fit pin (10), at a first acute angle (angle at distal region in annotation) in the distal region (i.e. see annotation) and at a second acute angle (angle at proximal region in annotation) in the proximal region (i.e. see annotation),
wherein the first acute angle is greater than the second acute angle (i.e. see figure 1).
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose a base part adjoining the elongate part; and an anchoring part adjoining the base part and configured for insertion into a sleeve when a force is applied to the base part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector comprising a base part (14, 14a) adjoining the elongate part (13); and an anchoring part (12) adjoining the base part (14, 14a) and configured for insertion into a sleeve when a force is applied to the base part (12 is capable of being inserted into a sleeve when a force is applied on 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide a base part adjoining the elongate part; and an anchoring part adjoining the base part and configured for insertion into a sleeve when a force is applied to the base part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector and to restrict the strain caused in the press fit terminal when inserted (¶0008 in Matsumura).
~Please see annotation of figure 1 in the Miyake reference, where the distal region, proximal region, the tip part, the deformable part, and the elongate part can be seen.
Regarding claim 2, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1, wherein the first acute angle (angle at distal region in annotation) is in a range of 22.5° to 27.5°.
Although Miyake does not explicitly quantify the first acute angle, it teaches a press-fit pin having a tapered sidewall. The taper angle of such sidewall affects insertion force and retention force of the press fit connection, and therefore constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an appropriate acute angle through routine experimentation to obtain the desired balance of insertion and retention forces. Discovering an optimal value within the range of possible acute angles, including 22.5° to 27.5°, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1, wherein the second acute angle (angle at proximal region in annotation) is in a range of 3.5° to 10°.
Although Miyake does not explicitly quantify the second acute angle, it teaches a press-fit pin having a tapered sidewall. The taper angle of such sidewall affects insertion force and retention force of the press fit connection, and therefore constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an appropriate acute angle through routine experimentation to obtain the desired balance of insertion and retention forces. Discovering an optimal value within the range of possible acute angles, including 3.5° to 10°, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1, wherein the first acute angle (angle at distal region in annotation) is in a range of 22.5° to 27.5°, and wherein the second acute angle (angle at proximal region in annotation) is in a range of 3.5° to 10°.
Although Miyake does not explicitly quantify the second acute angle, it teaches a press-fit pin having a tapered sidewall. The taper angle of such sidewall affects insertion force and retention force of the press fit connection, and therefore constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an appropriate acute angle through routine experimentation to obtain the desired balance of insertion and retention forces. Discovering an optimal value within the range of possible acute angles, including 3.5° to 10° and 22.5° to 27.5°, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sidewall of the press-fit pin is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin along a region of the deformable part that adjoins the proximal region of the tip part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the first sidewall (sidewall of 15) of the press-fit pin (10) is parallel (in 15, 22 is parallel to the longitudinal axis) to the longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 10 in figure 2) of the press-fit pin (10) along a region of the deformable part (15) that adjoins the proximal region (portion between 17a and 19 in figure 1) of the tip part (17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the elongate part has a first region that adjoins the deformable part and a second region that adjoins the base part, and wherein the second region of the elongate part is wider than the first region of the elongate part but narrower than the base part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration, as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 6, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1, wherein a second sidewall (sidewall along 22 in figure 1) of the press-fit pin (10) opposite the first sidewall (sidewall along 21 in figure 1) is sloped (i.e. see figure 1), with respect to the longitudinal axis (Y1) of the press-fit pin (10), at the first acute angle (angle at distal region in annotation) in the distal region (i.e. see annotation) and at the second acute angle (angle at proximal region in annotation) in the proximal region (i.e. see annotation).
Regarding claim 7, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the elongate part has a first region that adjoins the deformable part and a second region that adjoins the base part, and wherein the second region of the elongate part is wider than the first region of the elongate part but narrower than the base part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the elongate part (13) has a first region (region between 13 and 20) that adjoins the deformable part (15) and a second region (region between 13 and 14) that adjoins the base part (14), and wherein the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) is wider than the first region (region between 13 and 20) of the elongate part (13) but narrower than the base part (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the elongate part has a first region that adjoins the deformable part and a second region that adjoins the base part, and wherein the second region of the elongate part is wider than the first region of the elongate part but narrower than the base part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 8, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 7.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sidewall of the press-fit pin has a stepped profile where the first sidewall transitions from the second region of the elongate part to the base part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the first sidewall (19, 22) of the press-fit pin (10) has a stepped profile (see stepped profile between 13a and 14) where the first sidewall (19, 22) transitions from the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) to the base part (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the first sidewall of the press-fit pin has a stepped profile where the first sidewall transitions from the second region of the elongate part to the base part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 9, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 7.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sidewall of the press-fit pin has a slanted profile where the first sidewall transitions from the first region of the elongate part to the second region of the elongate part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the first sidewall (19, 22) of the press-fit pin (10) has a slanted profile (see slanted profile under 13 and above 20 in figure 2) where the first sidewall (19, 22) transitions from the first region (region between 13 and 20) of the elongate part (13) to the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the first sidewall of the press-fit pin has a slanted profile where the first sidewall transitions from the first region of the elongate part to the second region of the elongate part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 10, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 7.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the second region of the elongate part has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) has a rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 2) in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the second region of the elongate part has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 11, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 10.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of a first pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile is in a range of 1 to 1.5 times a length of a second pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein a length of a first pair (i.e. see annotation) of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile (figure 1) is in a range of 1 to 1.5 times a length of a second pair (i.e. see annotation) of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile (figure 1).
Although Matsumura does not explicitly disclose that the length of the first pair of opposing equal length sides is in a range of 1 to 1.5 times the length of the second pair of opposing equal length sides, the relative proportions of the sides of a rectangular cross-section constitutes dimensional variables that affect predictable characteristics of the structure, such as strength, stiffness, and fit within an associated assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the relative side lengths of the rectangular profile of Matsumura through routine optimization to achieve suitable structural and functional performance. Discovering an optimal ratio, including a ratio within the claimed range of 1 to 1.5, would have involved only routine experimentation and therefore considered an obvious matter of design choice. (See MPEP § 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
~ Please see annotation of figure 1 in the Matsumura reference, where the first pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile and the second pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile can be seen.
Regarding claim 12, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 10.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile has rounded corners.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 2) has rounded corners (see rounded corners of 14 at the bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile has rounded corners, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 13, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 1.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the anchoring part has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein the anchoring part (12) has a rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 1) in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the anchoring part has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 14, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 13.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of a first pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile is in a range of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length of a second pair of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein a length of a first pair (i.e. see annotation) of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile (figure 1) is in a range of 1.5 to 2.5 times a length of a second pair (i.e. see annotation) of opposing equal length sides of the rectangular cross-sectional profile (figure 1).
Although Matsumura does not explicitly disclose that the length of the first pair of opposing equal length sides is in a range of 1.5 to 2.5 times the length of the second pair of opposing equal length sides, the relative proportions of the sides of a rectangular cross-section constitutes dimensional variables that affect predictable characteristics of the structure, such as strength, stiffness, and fit within an associated assembly. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the relative side lengths of the rectangular profile of Matsumura through routine optimization to achieve suitable structural and functional performance. Discovering an optimal ratio, including a ratio within the claimed range of 1.5 to 2.5, would have involved only routine experimentation and therefore considered an obvious matter of design choice. (See MPEP § 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3) the press-fit pin of claim 13.
But Miyake does not explicitly disclose wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile has rounded corners.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 2) has rounded corners (see rounded corners of 14 at the bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the rectangular cross-sectional profile has rounded corners, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Claim(s) 16 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (US 5094633) in view of Miyake (US 20140213080) and further in view of Matsumura (US 20050181651).
Regarding claim 16, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) a method of manufacturing press-fit pins, the method comprising: stamping sheet metal (column 5, lines 12 – 16) to form a plurality of press-fit pins (see figure 8), each press-fit pin (1) comprising a
tip part (tip of 2) configured to guide the press-fit pin (1) into an opening of a circuit board (tip of 2 is capable of guiding the press-fit pin into an opening of a circuit), a deformable part (4) adjoining the tip part (tip of 2) and configured to deform upon insertion into the opening of the circuit board (4 is capable of deforming upon insertion into the opening of the circuit board), a base part (3) adjoining the elongate part, and an anchoring part (1) adjoining the base part (3) and configured for insertion into a sleeve when a force is applied to the base part (1 is capable of being inserted into a sleeve when a force is applied to 3), wherein the tip part (tip of 2) has a proximal region (region where 2 is located in) adjoining the deformable part (4) and a distal region (region at the tip of 2 at the bottom in figure 1) that is narrower than the proximal region (see figure 1); and
after stamping the sheet metal (see stamping process in figure 8), shaping edges of the tip part (tip of 2), the deformable part (4), and the anchoring part (1) of each press-fit pin (see figure 1).
But Arai does not explicitly disclose wherein a first sidewall of the press-fit pin is sloped, with respect to a longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin, at a first acute angle in the distal region and at a second acute angle in the proximal region, wherein the first acute angle is greater than the second acute angle; and an elongate part adjoining the deformable part, a base part adjoining the elongate part.
Miyake teaches (figures 1 – 3, annotation) a connector wherein a first sidewall (sidewall along 21 in figure 1) of the press-fit pin (10) is sloped (see figure 1), with respect to a longitudinal axis (Y1) of the press-fit pin (10), at a first acute angle (angle at distal region in annotation) in the distal region (see annotation) and at a second acute angle (angle at proximal region in annotation) in the proximal region (see annotation), wherein the first acute angle is greater than the second acute angle (see figure 1); and an elongate part (14) adjoining the deformable part (part where L1 is located in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Arai with the connector as disclosed by Miyake to provide wherein a first sidewall of the press-fit pin is sloped, with respect to a longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin, at a first acute angle in the distal region and at a second acute angle in the proximal region, wherein the first acute angle is greater than the second acute angle; and an elongate part adjoining the deformable part, because the configuration provides control over the width and deformation profile of the press fit pin during insertion. The modification would therefore allow the terminal to maintain sufficient outward contact force against the circuit board opening while reducing the strain over the terminal (¶0008 in Miyake).
However, Arai and Mirake do not explicitly disclose a base part adjoining the elongate part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector comprising an elongate part (13) adjoining the deformable part (15), a base part (14, 14a) adjoining the elongate part (13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide a base part adjoining the elongate part, as this configuration facilitates controlled positioning during insertion into the sleeve (¶0044 in Matsumura).
Regarding claim 17, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the stamping (see stamping process in figure 8) in the method of claim 16.
But Arai and Miyake do not explicitly disclose wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the elongate part of each press-fit pin has a first region that adjoins the deformable part and a second region that adjoins the base part, and the second region of the elongate part is wider than the first region of the elongate part but narrower than the base part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the elongate part (13) of each press-fit pin (10) has a first region (region between 13 and 20) that adjoins the deformable part (15) and a second region (region between 13 and 14) that adjoins the base part (14), and the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) is wider than the first region (region between 13 and 20) of the elongate part (13) but narrower than the base part (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Arai and Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the elongate part of each press-fit pin has a first region that adjoins the deformable part and a second region that adjoins the base part, and the second region of the elongate part is wider than the first region of the elongate part but narrower than the base part, to provide the positioning and anchoring configuration as taught by Matsumura, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Regarding claim 18, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the stamping (see stamping process in figure 8) in the method of claim 17.
But Arai and Miyake do not explicitly disclose wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the first sidewall of each press-fit pin has a stepped profile where the first sidewall transitions from the second region of the elongate part to the base part.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the first sidewall (19, 22) of each press-fit pin (10) has a stepped profile (see stepped profile between 13a and 14) where the first sidewall (19, 22) transitions from the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) to the base part (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Arai and Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the first sidewall of each press-fit pin has a stepped profile where the first sidewall transitions from the second region of the elongate part to the base part, to prove the mechanical stability of the press-fit pin.
Regarding claim 19, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the stamping (see stamping process in figure 8) in the method of claim 17.
But Arai and Miyake do not explicitly disclose wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the second region of the elongate part of each press-fit pin has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin.
Matsumura teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the second region (region between 13 and 14) of the elongate part (13) of each press-fit pin (10) has a rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 2) in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Arai and Miyake with the connector as disclosed by Matsumura to provide wherein the sheet metal is stamped such that the second region of the elongate part of each press-fit pin has a rectangular cross-sectional profile in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin, to increase the mechanical stability of the press-fit pin.
Regarding claim 20, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the method of claim 19, wherein the shaping comprises: embossing each press-fit pin (see figure 1) such that the rectangular cross-sectional profile (see figure 1) has rounded corners (see rounded corners at the bottom of 3).
Regarding claim 21, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the method of claim 16, wherein the sheet metal is stamped (column 5, lines 12 – 16) such that the anchoring part (1) of each press-fit pin (see figure 1) has a rectangular cross-sectional profile (see rectangular profile of 1 in figures 1 and 2) in a plane that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the press-fit pin (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Arai teaches (figures 1 – 8) the method of claim 21, wherein the shaping comprises: embossing each press-fit pin (see figure 1) such that the rectangular cross-sectional profile (see rectangular profile of 1 in figures 1 and 2) has rounded corners (see figures 3 and 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1 – 22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 – 13, filed on 5/20/2026, with respect to the drawing objections and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834