Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/31/2024 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings on pages 7-8 are misnumbered. According to applicant’s specification, “Fig. 7” in page 7 should be “Fig. 6”, and Fig. 8” in page 8 should be “Fig. 7”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 20210337613 A1) in view of GAN et al. (US 20230292215 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Seok discloses “A method comprising” (See [0008] methods pertaining to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation in wireless communications): “determining a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set on a first link of an access point (AP)” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-x and BSSID-y may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 1. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 0, 1, 2 and 3 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 1 of the AP MLD), “the AP comprising a plurality of AP multiple-link devices (MLDs)” (See Fig. 3, [0035] a single physical AP MLD may have multiple virtual APs (herein interchangeably referred to as “virtual AP MLDs”) associated therewith, such as: virtual AP MLD 0, virtual AP MLD 1, virtual AP MLD 2 and virtual AP MLD 3), “and the first MBSSID set comprising a first virtual AP belonging to a first AP MLD of the plurality of AP MLDs” (See Fig. 3, The first MBSSID set on link 1 has a first virtual AP BSSID 0); “determining a second MBSSID set on a second link of the AP” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-p, BSSID-q and BSSID-r may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 2. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 4, 5, 6 and 7 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 2 of the AP MLD), “the second MBSSID set comprising a second virtual AP belonging to a second AP MLD, the second AP MLD being different from the first AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, The second MBSSID set on link 2 has a second virtual AP BSSID 5 in a different AP MLD set), “and the first MBSSID set and the second MBSSID set having virtual APs belonging to a same AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, the first and second MBSSID sets have virtual APs in the same set, BSSID 0 and BSSID 4 in AP MLD 0, and BSSID 1 and BSSID 5 in AP MLD 1).
Seok does not explicitly disclose that the first VAP and the second VAP are transmitted VAPs in different AP MLDs.
However, GAN discloses “determining the first virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the first MBSSID set; and determining the second virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the second MBSSID set” (See Fig. 13, [0273] an AP ended with a number “x” is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID, and an AP ended with another number (for example, “y” or “z”) is an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID. To be specific, a multiple BSSID set 1 on the link 1 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-1x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-1z and BSSID-1y; a multiple BSSID set 2 on the link 2 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-2x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-2z and BSSID-2y).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok with the teachings of GAN, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce redundant data of the management frame, avoid unnecessary overheads, and improve communication efficiency (GAN [0202]).
Regarding claim 12,
Seok discloses “An access point (AP) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions to cause the at least one processor to” (See Fig. 11): “determine a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set on a first link of the AP” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-x and BSSID-y may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 1. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 0, 1, 2 and 3 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 1 of the AP MLD), “the AP comprising a plurality of AP multiple-link devices (MLDs)” (See Fig. 3, [0035] a single physical AP MLD may have multiple virtual APs (herein interchangeably referred to as “virtual AP MLDs”) associated therewith, such as: virtual AP MLD 0, virtual AP MLD 1, virtual AP MLD 2 and virtual AP MLD 3), “and the first MBSSID set comprising a first virtual AP belonging to a first AP MLD of the plurality of AP MLDs” (See Fig. 3, The first MBSSID set on link 1 has a first virtual AP BSSID 0); “determine a second MBSSID set on a second link of the AP” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-p, BSSID-q and BSSID-r may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 2. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 4, 5, 6 and 7 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 2 of the AP MLD), “the second MBSSID set comprising a second virtual AP belonging to a second AP MLD, the second AP MLD being different from the first AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, The second MBSSID set on link 2 has a second virtual AP BSSID 5 in a different AP MLD set), “and the first MBSSID set and the second MBSSID set having virtual APs belonging to a same AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, the first and second MBSSID sets have virtual APs in the same set, BSSID 0 and BSSID 4 in AP MLD 0, and BSSID 1 and BSSID 5 in AP MLD 1).
Seok does not explicitly disclose that the first VAP and the second VAP are transmitted VAPs in different AP MLDs.
However, GAN discloses “determine the first virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the first MBSSID set; and determine the second virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the second MBSSID set” (See Fig. 13, [0273] an AP ended with a number “x” is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID, and an AP ended with another number (for example, “y” or “z”) is an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID. To be specific, a multiple BSSID set 1 on the link 1 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-1x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-1z and BSSID-1y; a multiple BSSID set 2 on the link 2 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-2x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-2z and BSSID-2y).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok with the teachings of GAN, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce redundant data of the management frame, avoid unnecessary overheads, and improve communication efficiency (GAN [0202]).
Regarding claim 20,
Seok discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which, when executed by an access point (AP), cause the AP to” (See Fig. 11, [0059] apparatus 1110 may further include a memory 1114 coupled to processor 1112 and capable of being accessed by processor 1112 and storing data therein): “determine a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set on a first link of an access point (AP)” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-x and BSSID-y may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 1. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 0, 1, 2 and 3 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 1 of the AP MLD), “the AP comprising a plurality of AP multiple-link devices (MLDs)” (See Fig. 3, [0035] a single physical AP MLD may have multiple virtual APs (herein interchangeably referred to as “virtual AP MLDs”) associated therewith, such as: virtual AP MLD 0, virtual AP MLD 1, virtual AP MLD 2 and virtual AP MLD 3), “and the first MBSSID set comprising a first virtual AP belonging to a first AP MLD of the plurality of AP MLDs” (See Fig. 3, The first MBSSID set on link 1 has a first virtual AP BSSID 0); “determine a second MBSSID set on a second link of the AP” (See Fig. 3, [0035] FIG. 3 illustrates an example scenario 300 with respect to multiple-BSSID support in multi-link operation for multiple AP MLD. [0029] In Fig. 1, BSSID-p, BSSID-q and BSSID-r may be considered a multiple-BSSID set on link 2. Note: Similarly in Fig. 3, BSSID 4, 5, 6 and 7 are a first multiple-BSSID set on link 2 of the AP MLD), “the second MBSSID set comprising a second virtual AP belonging to a second AP MLD, the second AP MLD being different from the first AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, The second MBSSID set on link 2 has a second virtual AP BSSID 5 in a different AP MLD set), “and the first MBSSID set and the second MBSSID set having virtual APs belonging to a same AP MLD” (See Fig. 3, the first and second MBSSID sets have virtual APs in the same set, BSSID 0 and BSSID 4 in AP MLD 0, and BSSID 1 and BSSID 5 in AP MLD 1).
Seok does not explicitly disclose that the first VAP and the second VAP are transmitted VAPs in different AP MLDs.
However, GAN discloses “determine the first virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the first MBSSID set; and determine the second virtual AP as a transmitted virtual AP of the second MBSSID set” (See Fig. 13, [0273] an AP ended with a number “x” is an AP corresponding to a transmitted BSSID, and an AP ended with another number (for example, “y” or “z”) is an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID. To be specific, a multiple BSSID set 1 on the link 1 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-1x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-1z and BSSID-1y; a multiple BSSID set 2 on the link 2 includes a transmitted BSSID BSSID-2x and nontransmitted BSSIDs BSSID-2z and BSSID-2y).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok with the teachings of GAN, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce redundant data of the management frame, avoid unnecessary overheads, and improve communication efficiency (GAN [0202]).
Claims 3-5, 9, 11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 20210337613 A1) in view of GAN et al. (US 20230292215 A1) and further in view of CHIRREDDY (US 20250168753 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 14,
Seok in view of GAN discloses claim 3 of “The method of claim 1” and claim 14 of “The AP of claim 12”, but does not explicitly disclose determining a number of virtual APs in the first MBSSID set, and adjusting an AP configuration based on the number being greater than a threshold.
However, CHIRREDDY discloses “determining a first virtual AP number of virtual APs in the first MBSSID set; and in response to the first virtual AP number being greater than a first threshold, performing operations for adjusting a AP configuration” (See [0033] AP 102-1 includes an assignment tool, which is configured to dynamically (re) assign a VAP to a MBSSID set, based on a PHY mode associated with the VAP, the assignment tool may obtain one or more VAP configurations. Each VAP configuration may indicate a PHY mode for a VAP corresponding to the VAP configuration. The assignment tool may assign VAPs to different MBSSID sets such that the maximum number of VAPs (allowed by a wireless communication standard) can be supported without the need for reserving any MBSSID sets for reconfigured VAPs. [0048] assuming the AP receives a VAP configuration with an 802.11be PHY mode after assigning 8 VAPs (e.g., threshold=8) with 802.11be PHY mode to 2 MBSSID sets (each with 4 VAPs), the AP may reject the VAP configuration with 802.11be PHY mode or reconfigure the VAP configuration to an 802.11ax PHY mode. [0061] the assignment tool may further: receive an indication of a change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration; and in response to the indication of the change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration: disable the first VAP in the first MBSSID set; and reassign the first VAP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change in the PHY mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok and GAN with the teachings of CHIRREDDY, and the motivation to do so would have been to allow for a more efficient use of resources (CHIRREDDY [0018]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15,
Seok is view of GAN and CHIRREDDY discloses “The method of claim 3, further comprising: determining a second virtual AP number of virtual APs belonging to the first AP MLD; and in response to the second virtual AP number being greater than a second threshold, performing the operations for adjusting the AP configuration” (See CHIRREDDY [0033] AP 102-1 includes an assignment tool, which is configured to dynamically (re) assign a VAP to a MBSSID set, based on a PHY mode associated with the VAP, the assignment tool may obtain one or more VAP configurations. Each VAP configuration may indicate a PHY mode for a VAP corresponding to the VAP configuration. The assignment tool may assign VAPs to different MBSSID sets such that the maximum number of VAPs (allowed by a wireless communication standard) can be supported without the need for reserving any MBSSID sets for reconfigured VAPs. [0048] assuming the AP receives a VAP configuration with an 802.11be PHY mode after assigning 8 VAPs (e.g., threshold=8) with 802.11be PHY mode to 2 MBSSID sets (each with 4 VAPs), the AP may reject the VAP configuration with 802.11be PHY mode or reconfigure the VAP configuration to an 802.11ax PHY mode. [0061] the assignment tool may further: receive an indication of a change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration; and in response to the indication of the change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration: disable the first VAP in the first MBSSID set; and reassign the first VAP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change in the PHY mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok and GAN with the teachings of CHIRREDDY, and the motivation to do so would have been to allow for a more efficient use of resources (CHIRREDDY [0018]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16,
Seok is view of GAN and CHIRREDDY discloses “The method of claim 4, further comprising: determining a third virtual AP number of virtual APs belonging to the first AP MLD and the first MBSSID set; and in response to the third virtual AP number being greater than a third threshold, performing the operations for adjusting the AP configuration” (See CHIRREDDY [0033] AP 102-1 includes an assignment tool, which is configured to dynamically (re) assign a VAP to a MBSSID set, based on a PHY mode associated with the VAP, the assignment tool may obtain one or more VAP configurations. Each VAP configuration may indicate a PHY mode for a VAP corresponding to the VAP configuration. The assignment tool may assign VAPs to different MBSSID sets such that the maximum number of VAPs (allowed by a wireless communication standard) can be supported without the need for reserving any MBSSID sets for reconfigured VAPs. [0048] assuming the AP receives a VAP configuration with an 802.11be PHY mode after assigning 8 VAPs (e.g., threshold=8) with 802.11be PHY mode to 2 MBSSID sets (each with 4 VAPs), the AP may reject the VAP configuration with 802.11be PHY mode or reconfigure the VAP configuration to an 802.11ax PHY mode. [0061] the assignment tool may further: receive an indication of a change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration; and in response to the indication of the change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration: disable the first VAP in the first MBSSID set; and reassign the first VAP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change in the PHY mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok and GAN with the teachings of CHIRREDDY, and the motivation to do so would have been to allow for a more efficient use of resources (CHIRREDDY [0018]).
Regarding claim 9,
Seok is view of GAN and CHIRREDDY discloses “The method of claim 3, wherein the operations for adjusting the AP configuration comprising: moving a third virtual AP in the first MBSSID set to a third MBSSID set on the first link of the AP” (See CHIRREDDY [0061] the assignment tool may further: receive an indication of a change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration; and in response to the indication of the change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration: disable the first VAP in the first MBSSID set; and reassign the first VAP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change in the PHY mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok and GAN with the teachings of CHIRREDDY, and the motivation to do so would have been to allow for a more efficient use of resources (CHIRREDDY [0018]).
Regarding claim 11,
Seok is view of GAN and CHIRREDDY discloses “The method of claim 3, wherein the operations for adjusting the AP configuration further comprising: disabling a MBSSID feature on the first link” (See CHIRREDDY [0061] the assignment tool may further: receive an indication of a change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration; and in response to the indication of the change in the PHY mode associated with the first VAP configuration: disable the first VAP in the first MBSSID set; and reassign the first VAP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change in the PHY mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Seok and GAN with the teachings of CHIRREDDY, and the motivation to do so would have been to allow for a more efficient use of resources (CHIRREDDY [0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-8, 10, 13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462