Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Amendment
The amendment made dated 6/1/2026 does not contain any new matter, and therefore has been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the previous references do not disclose the newly added limitations.
Examiner would like to assert that the newly added limitations are now newly rejected with the newly cited reference of Chandrasekhar et al., as cited below.
Therefore the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chandrasekhar et al. (US 2019/0069285; hereinafter Chandrasekhar)
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a system (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 38; [0056]: ITS - intelligent transport system; [0300]: cellular V2X system), comprising:
one or more antennas to focus on one or more predetermined targets (Fig.1, Fig. 2: RSU antennas targeting various targets;
one or more transceivers coupled to the one or more antennas ([Fig. 2: GNSS antennas and DSRC Antenna); and
a processor coupled to the one or more transceivers and one or more antennas in communication with the predetermined target using 5G protocols (Fig. 2: processor coupled with said antennas and application ECU; [0078]: ITS having access layer capable of various wireless communications such as 5G cellular communication; [0300]: wherein the technology is cellular V2X communication protocol based on LTE or 5G NR).
Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim except for the limitations of
transmitting, from a 5G cell tower comprising an active antenna system having a massive MIMO antenna array, broadband data to one or more user equipment devices or client devices located within an antenna footprint region; and
steering, using a digital beamformer of the active antenna system, a plurality of transmit steerable antenna beams toward respective user equipment devices or client devices based on a location direction of each respective user equipment device or client device.
However, Chandrasekhar does disclose the limitations of
transmitting, from a 5G cell tower comprising an active antenna system having a massive MIMO antenna array, broadband data to one or more user equipment devices or client devices located within an antenna footprint region (Fig. 1; [0038]-[0039]: use of massive MIMO and beam forming in 5G networks in networks that supports V2V communications [0002]); and
steering, using a digital beamformer of the active antenna system, a plurality of transmit steerable antenna beams toward respective user equipment devices or client devices based on a location direction of each respective user equipment device or client device ([0054], [0090]: use of steering with beamforming transmit signals to users at desired directions and locations).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Chandrasekhar’s disclosure to provide massive MIMO and beamforming capability to V2V communication networks.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor performs Intersection Movement Assist (IMA) and warns drivers of a collision probability with other vehicles at intersections ([0104]: use of intersection movement assist for collision assist).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor controls an Electronic Emergency Brake Light (EEBL) to broadcast a self-generated emergency brake event to surrounding vehicles ([0104]: use of EEBL for collision warning).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor performs Forward Collision Warning (FCW) and warns drivers of an impending rear-end collision with another vehicle ahead in traffic, in the same lane and moving in the same direction ([0104]: use of FCW for collision assistance).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor performs Blind Spot Warning (BSW) and Lange Change Warning (LCW) ([0104]: use of BSW and LCW for collision warning).
Regarding 10, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein processor focuses 5G signals to the target with iterative changes in shape or orientations of the antennas (Fig. 2 depicts where the RSU has two antenna orientations to focus on particular user; [0300]: wherein the technology is cellular V2X communication protocol based on LTE or 5G NR).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, comprising a neural network coupled to a control plane, a management plane (Fig. 3: Management plane communicating with Access layer supporting Cellular protocol such as LTE and 5G), or a data plane to optimize 5G parameters.
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, comprising a drop in replacement housing to upgrade 3G or 4G components to 5G or 6G components ([0078], [0134]: compatibility usage of 2G, 3G, 4G and 5G).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor analyzes one or more locations of one or more cars and determines safety or collision conditions therefrom ([0127]-[0130]: receiving various safety information including locations and collision information).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor broadcasts location information of a car to another connected vehicle or person, wherein a connected vehicle receiving the information analyzes a potential collision with another vehicle or another person ([0127]-[0130]: receiving various safety information including locations and collision information).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor emits vehicle to vehicle (V2V) ([0059]: use of V2V)or a vehicle to person (V2P) safety message.
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses the system of claim 1, comprising a cellular device for a person crossing a street near the city light or street light, the cellular device emitting a person to vehicle (P2V) or a vehicle to person (V2P) safety message (Fig. 1; [0058]-[0059]: VRU using communication with vehicle V20).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 12, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Chandrasekhar in further view of Kerecsen (US 2020/0294401).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Chandrasekhar discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of the system of claim 1, wherein one or more street cameras capture location information from a cross-traffic vehicle and enables a vehicle attempting to cross the intersection even with a blocked view.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of wherein one or more street cameras capture location information from a cross-traffic vehicle and enables a vehicle attempting to cross the intersection even with a blocked view ([0025]: use of ADAS features such as vision/camera systems, sensor technology, V2V, V2I, Collision avoidance system, Intersection Movement Assist - IMA).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the system of claim 1, wherein the processor receives a camera output and data received from other vehicles, determines if a forward collision is imminent and warns of a rear-end vehicle collision.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of wherein the processor receives a camera output and data received from other vehicles, determines if a forward collision is imminent and warns of a rear-end vehicle collision ([0031]: impending collision alert, including rear and side sensor).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the system of claim 1, wherein the processor performs Do Not Pass Warning (DNPW) where a vehicle sends out an indication of a pass, and a camera captures data and sends advisory information that a passing zone is occupied when a vehicle is ahead and in the same lane.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of wherein the processor performs Do Not Pass Warning (DNPW) where a vehicle sends out an indication of a pass, and a camera captures data and sends advisory information that a passing zone is occupied when a vehicle is ahead and in the same lane ([0025]: the use of DNPW to improve safety).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the system of claim 1, wherein the processor performs Left Turn Assist (LTA) when it is not safe to enter an intersection or continue in the left turn attempt, due to a car approaching the same path with no intent of stopping.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of wherein the processor performs Left Turn Assist (LTA) when it is not safe to enter an intersection or continue in the left turn attempt, due to a car approaching the same path with no intent of stopping ([0025]: the use of LTA to improve safety).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the system of claim 1, comprising one or more cameras and sensors to capture security or safety information.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of one or more cameras and sensors to capture security or safety information ([0025]: use of ADAS features such as vision/camera systems, sensor technology, V2V, V2I, Collision avoidance system, Intersection Movement Assist - IMA).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 14,Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the system of claim 1, comprising a camera for car identification.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of a camera for car identification (Abstract: vehicle identification is used for locating vehicle as well; [0025]: use of ADAS features such as vision/camera systems would assist in vehicle identification and location, sensor technology, V2V, V2I, Collision avoidance system, Intersection Movement Assist - IMA).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of the system of claim 1, comprising an edge learning machine that uses pre-trained models and modifies the pre-trained models for a selected task.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of an edge learning machine that uses pre-trained models and modifies the pre-trained models for a selected task ([0014]: use of SLAM algorithms and various machine vision and neural networks within the system).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Regarding claims 20, Yang discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of the system of claim 1, comprising a cloud trained neural network whose network parameters are down-sampled and reduced before transferring to the edge neural network.
However, Kerecsen does disclose the limitation of a cloud trained neural network whose network parameters are down-sampled and reduced before transferring to the edge neural network ([0014]: use of SLAM algorithms and various machine vision and neural networks within the system).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Kerecsen’s disclosure to improve safety and avoid collisions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644