DETAILED ACTION
Claim status in the amendment received on 7/2/2026:
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the specification filed on 7/2/2026 have been considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 9-12, 15-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 13-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Application (No.: CN114221790A) (“CPA” hereinafter, mappings are made to the attached translation) in view of Chandra et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230006901 A1).
As to claim 1, CPA teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining, from a plurality of data sources, data related to operation or configuration of Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) in an enterprise network (paragraph [0014], “Use an automatic data acquisition program to collect and store BGP update message data from Route Views and RIPE NCC in chronological order by region”);
extracting one or more BGP features based on at least one correlation among the data from the plurality of data sources (Paragraph [0020], “Store the 45 feature values in the order of timestamps. The data under each timestamp is treated as a sample. Add a label to each sample according to the time period of the abnormal event”);
detecting one or more network anomalies by performing a weakly supervised machine learning of the one or more BGP features based on a plurality of BGP labels (paragraph [0052], “The model prediction module uses known event datasets as training samples and untrained datasets as test samples to evaluate the model's detection performance for unknown abnormal events. This module can also be directly used in practical applications.” And paragraph [0066], “abnormal labels are automatically added according to the time period of the abnormal event to construct the experimental dataset”, teaches weakly supervised machine learning).
CPA does not explicitly teach generating labels based on fusing and embedding a subset of the data and providing information about the anomalies for performing actions.
However, in the same field of endeavor (network anomaly detection) Chandra teaches
plurality of labels is generated based on fusing and embedding a subset of data (paragraph [0022], “…aggregate network metrics from the monitored network in the historical network data database, identify incidents based on the network metrics, generate a training data set based on the network metrics and the incidents, wherein the training data set comprises time series of network metrics as training input and incidents as labels, train, with a machine learning algorithm, an incident model using the training data set…”);
providing information about the one or more network anomalies for performing one or more actions associated with the enterprise network (paragraph [0025], “…alert includes the incident type indicator, the incident severity indicator, or the indication of a network component. In some embodiments, the alert may further include a suggested action determined based on one or more of incident type, incident severity, and one or more associated network components…”).
Based on CPA in view of Chandra, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate generating labels based on fusing and embedding a subset of the data and providing information about the anomalies for performing actions (taught by Chandra) with network anomaly detection (taught by CPA) in order to enable generating training data set based on network metrics and perform various remedial actions to enable the system to continue operating and reduce downtime.
As to claim 2, Chandra further teaches performing the one or more actions to configure one or more network devices in the enterprise network based on the information about the one or more network anomalies (paragraph [0025], “…alert includes the incident type indicator, the incident severity indicator, or the indication of a network component. In some embodiments, the alert may further include a suggested action determined based on one or more of incident type, incident severity, and one or more associated network components…”). The limitations of claim 2 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 6, CPA teaches wherein the one or more BGP features include at least one statistical network feature and at least one network topology feature and detecting the one or more network anomalies includes: generating a graph attention network indicative of one or more interrelationships between the at least one statistical network feature and the at least one network topology feature (paragraph [0005], “This invention, based on sliding window and STL decomposition of event datasets, captures feature relationships and temporal dependencies through feature-based graph attention networks and time-series-based graph attention networks, respectively”); and
generating a ranking-based anomaly score by performing a long short-term memory machine learning of the graph attention network (paragraph [0005], “Finally, a basic LSTM model can be used to accurately predict unknown events from training on known events”).
As to claim 13, CPA further teaches an apparatus comprising: a memory; a network interface configured to enable network communications; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform a method (paragraph [0001]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 13 are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claim 14, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 2. Please refer to claim 2 above.
As to claim 17, CPA further teaches One or more non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method (paragraph [0001]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claim 18, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 2. Please refer to claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Application (No.: CN114221790A) in view of Chandra et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230006901 A1) and further in view of Pei et al. (Patent No.: US 7889666 B1).
As to claim 8, CPA in view of Chandra does not explicitly teaches determining root cause of network anomaly based on temporal and spatial correlation.
However, in the same field of endeavor (network anomaly detection) Pei teaches determining a root cause of the one or more network anomalies by grouping the data from the plurality of data sources based on a temporal correlation and a spatial topology correlation (fig. 2, 207-213).
Based on CPA in view of Chandra and further in view of Pei, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate determining root cause of network anomaly based on temporal and spatial correlation (taught by Pei) with generating labels based on fusing and embedding a subset of the data and providing information about the anomalies for performing actions (taught by Chandra) with network anomaly detection (taught by CPA) in order to enable generating training data set based on network metrics and perform various remedial actions to enable the system to continue operating and reduce downtime, and in order to further point out the root cause impact and mitigation analysis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 9/12/2026