DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunderson (2012/0281361) in further view of Kong (2023/0120513).
Regarding Claim 1: Gunderson teaches a holder for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (fig. 5), the holder comprising: a CAMM carrier (14a) having a first recessed area (recessed section holding 20b) for receiving a bottom CAMM connector (shown on the CAMM 20b in fig. 5) and a bottom one of the CAMMs (fig. 5), and a second recessed area (recessed section holding 20a) for receiving a top CAMM connector (shown on the CAMM 20a in fig. 5) and a top one of the CAMMs (fig. 5); and a retention plate (56, 72) affixed to the CAMM carrier (figs. 5-6), the retention plate configured to couple the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (figs. 5-6), but lacks a specific teaching of the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard.
Kong teaches the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard (paragraphs [0036], [0050], and [0044] through contact pads 434 which are similar to 234 connecting to the ground plane).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 2: Gunderson teaches the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole (66).
Regarding Claim 3: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane (through 440).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 4: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring.
Kong teaches the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring (paragraphs [0044] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 5: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane (figs. 4a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 6: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring.
Kong teaches the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring (paragraphs [0044] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 7: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane (figs. 4a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 11: Gunderson teaches a method for grounding compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (fig. 5), the method comprising: installing a bottom CAMM connector (shown on CAMM 20b in fig. 5) and a bottom of the CAMMs (20b); placing a CAMM carrier (14a) atop the bottom CAMM (fig. 5), the bottom CAMM fitting into a first recessed area (recessed area holding 20b) for receiving the bottom CAMM (fig. 5); affixing a retention plate (56, 72) to the CAMM carrier (fig. 5); securing a top CAMM connector (shown on CAMM 20a in fig. 5) and a top one of the CAMMS (20a) to the CAMM carrier (fig. 5), the top CAMM fitting into a second recessed area (recessed area holding 20a) for receiving the top CAMM (fig. 5); and coupling, by the retention plate, the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (fig. 5), but lacks a specific teaching of the motherboard or the connection to a ground plane of the motherboard.
Kong teaches the motherboard (404) or the connection to a ground plane of the motherboard (paragraphs [0036], [0050], and [0044] through contact pads 434 which are similar to 234 connecting to the ground plane)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 12: Gunderson teaches the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole (66).
Regarding Claim 13: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane (through 440).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the bottom CAMM retention screw hole is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 14: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring.
Kong teaches the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring (paragraphs [0044] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM contact spring as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 15: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane (figs. 4a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the bottom CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the bottom CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 16: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring.
Kong teaches the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring (paragraphs [0044] and [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate further includes a top CAMM contact spring as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 17: Gunderson lacks a teaching of the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane.
Kong teaches the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane (figs. 4a-5b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the top CAMM contact spring is configured to couple the top CAMM to the ground plane as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 20: Gunderson teaches an information handling system comprising: a bottom compression attached memory module (CAMM) (20b); a top CAMM (20a); and a holder (fig. 5) to stack the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (fig. 5), the holder including: a CAMM carrier (14a) having a first recessed area (recessed section holding 20b) for receiving the bottom CAMM connector (shown on CAMM 20b in fig. 5) and the bottom CAMM (fig. 5), and a second recessed area (recessed section holding 20a) for receiving a top CAMM connector (shown on CAMM 20a in fig. 5) and the top CAMM (fig. 5); and a retention plate (14a) affixed to the CAMM carrier (figs. 5-6), the retention plate configured to couple the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM (figs. 5-6), but lacks a specific teaching of the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard.
Kong teaches a motherboard (404) and a connection to a ground plane of a motherboard (paragraphs [0036], [0050], and [0044] through contact pads 434 which are similar to 234 connecting to the ground plane).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the connection to a ground plane of a motherboard as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Claim(s) 8-10, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunderson (2012/0281361) in view of Kong (2023/0120513) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Lim (2023/0006374).
Regarding Claim 8: Gunderson lacks a specific teaching of the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane.
Lim teaches the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane (paragraphs [0027], [0062], [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane as disclosed by Lim in order to allow for a more secure and safe connection between the memory components and the grounding plane of the mother board which in turn decreases the chances of the circuits from voltage spikes or power surges which could damage the device and in turn require repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 9: Gunderson lacks a specific teaching of the retention plate further includes a shield can spring.
Kong teaches the retention plate further includes a shield can spring (any of the other spring components connected to the ground plane shown in figs. 5a-5c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate further includes a shield can spring as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 10: Gunderson lacks a specific teaching of the shield can spring is configured to couple the shield canto the common ground.
Kong teaches the shield can spring is configured to couple the shield canto the common ground (any of the other spring components connected to the ground plane shown in figs. 5a-5c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the shield can spring is configured to couple the shield canto the common ground as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Regarding Claim 18: Gunderson lacks a specific teaching of the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane.
Lim teaches the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane (paragraphs [0027], [0062], [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate is further configured to couple a shield can to the ground plane as disclosed by Lim in order to allow for a more secure and safe connection between the memory components and the grounding plane of the mother board which in turn decreases the chances of the circuits from voltage spikes or power surges which could damage the device and in turn require repair or replacement of the damaged components.
Regarding Claim 19: Gunderson lacks a specific teaching of the retention plate further includes a shield can spring configured to couple the shield canto the common ground.
Kong teaches the retention plate further includes a shield can spring (any of the other spring components connected to the ground plane shown in figs. 5a-5c) configured to couple the shield canto the common ground (any of the other spring components connected to the ground plane shown in figs. 5a-5c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gunderson by having the retention plate further includes a shield can spring configured to couple the shield canto the common ground as disclosed by Kong in order to allow for a safe connection between the memory components and the motherboard wherein the grounding decreases the chances of electrical shock to the internal components or user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art not relied upon and cited in the notice of references PTO-892 is pertinent as it relates to multiple memory modules and their connections to computer boards.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841