DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on August 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mazzoccoli et al. (US 2022/0062855).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 6, Mazzoccoli et al. (US 2022/0062855) teaches a sorbent composition comprising activated carbon material ([0005]), nitrogen in an amount ranging from 1.5-20 wt% ([0083]), and iron in an amount ranging from 0.1-about 4.5 wt% ([0083]). The reference further teaches that the carbon material may be activated by treatment with a strong acid or strong base ([0068], [0070]).
Regarding claims 2, 5, and 8, it is the position of the examiner that the composition taught by Mazzoccoli et al. would inherently possess the claimed modified contact pH as it contains the same components, in the same amounts, and is treated in the same manner.
Regarding claim 9, Mazzoccoli et al. teaches that the metal may be iron ([0083]).
Regarding claim 10, the reference teaches that the carbonaceous material includes coconut shell, sub-bituminous coal, lignite coal, and anthracite coal ([0068]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Mazzoccoli et al. teaches a CDN ranging from 35-75 ([0099]).
Regarding claims 13-14, Mazzoccoli et al. teaches a peroxide number ranging from 2.5-3.5 minutes ([0114]).
Regarding claim 15, Mazzoccoli et al. teaches an example sorbent which yields an oxygen content of about 9% (Table 8, Ex. 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzoccoli et al. (US 2022/0062855) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-15 above, and further in view of Distefano et al. (US 2020/0316560.
The teachings of Mazzoccoli et al. are applied as above for claims 1, 3, and 6.
Mazzoccoli et al. teaches that the sorbents may be treated with a strong acid or base but does not specifically disclose the acid or base used.
However, Distefano et al. (US 2020/0316560) teaches that carbonaceous materials are conventionally treated with acids and bases, including phosphoric acid, sulfuric acid, sodium hydroxide, and potassium hydroxide, to form an activated carbon material suitable for use as a sorbent ([0033], [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method taught by Mazzoccoli et al. to include the use of the specific acids and bases taught by Distefano et al. to form an activated carbon material suitable for use as a sorbent material. The secondary method merely provides a suitable material for accomplishing the directive of the primary reference. Because both references are concerned with the formation of a sorbent based upon an activated carbon material, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742