Information Disclosure Statement
2 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/09/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
3 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-17, and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4 Claim 1-2, 4-7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Perry et al. (US 20140368233 A1) in view of CHEN et al. (CN 207459882 U).
5 Regarding to claim 1, Perry discloses an insulation inspection system comprising:
a plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include brushes 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) arranged to brush insulated portions of a part being inspected (Fig. 1-3 Item 14 discloses defects in the insulation of stator windings in an electric machine stator 14 in Paragraph [0013]);
a plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 perform voltage and current balancing in Paragraph [0016]) connected to the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-5 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester or short circuit tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) wherein each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits is configured to detect a short circuit (Fig. 1-3 Item 10 discloses the continuity tester or short circuit tester 10 is being used to detect defects in the insulation of stator windings in an electric machine stator 14 in Paragraph [0013]) between one or more bristles(Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include brushes 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) of the plurality of conductive brushes(Fig. 1-5 Item 30 discloses a brush 30 include brushes 62 & 64 in Paragraph [0013]) and an exposed conductive element of the part (Fig. 1-3 Item 14 discloses defects in the insulation of stator windings in an electric machine stator 14 in Paragraph [0013]); and
a control module (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]) configured to detect a defect in insulative material of the part in response to the detected short circuit (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses If one or more of the bristles 32 touches the conductive portion of the bar 52 as a result of the insulation being damaged, then a conductive path is formed between the positive terminal 16 and the negative terminal 34 of the battery 12. This current flow drops the voltage at the input of the A/D converter 24 low, which is detected by the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]).
Perry does not explicitly teach a plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits, each of which connected to a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes;
However, CHEN teaches a plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1 Item discloses balance circuit item 9 resistors), each of which connected to a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes, (Fig. 1 Item discloses conductive brushes 12);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an optical beam through the sensor cell to provide an insulation inspection instrument in Perry by substituting a detection using utility model claims a split type micro motor of helical stator technology by CHEN to defect a firm connection and avoid damaging micro-motor stator, an Abstract.
6 Regarding to claim 2, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, further comprising
a plurality of analog-to-digital converters (Fig. 1-3 Item 24 discloses the A/D converter 24 connected to Voltage source 12 and current limiter resistor similar to Fig.2 & 7 item 212 or 712 in applicant’s specification in Paragraph [0016]) configured to receive analog signal outputs of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 perform voltage and current balancing in Paragraph [0016]) connected
wherein the control module is configured to i) concurrently monitor digital outputs of the plurality of analog-to-digital converters (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses If one or more of the bristles 32 touches the conductive portion of the bar 52 as a result of the insulation being damaged, then a conductive path is formed between the positive terminal 16 and the negative terminal 34 of the battery 12. This current flow drops the voltage at the input of the A/D converter 24 low, which is detected by the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]). and ii) concurrently determine whether a defect exists at a part location of each of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include brushes 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]).
7 Regarding to claim 4, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, wherein the control module (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]) is configured to i) track position (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 can also monitor the position of the brush assembly 60 so that the defect can be located in Paragraph [0019]) of each of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) relative to the part as the part is moved relative to the plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) determine a location of the detected defect based on the tracked position of the corresponding one of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include brushes 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) relative to the part (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]).
8 Regarding to claim 5, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1,
wherein the control module is configured to i) track position of each of the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part as the plurality of conductive brushes are moved relative to the part (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 can also monitor the position of the brush assembly 60 so that the defect can be located. Alternately, the stator 14 can be rotated instead of the brush assembly 60in Paragraph [0019]), and
ii) determine a location of the detected defect based on the tracked position of the corresponding one of the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 can also monitor the position of the brush assembly 60 so that the defect can be located. Alternately, the stator 14 can be rotated instead of the brush assembly 60in Paragraph [0019]).
9 Regarding to claim 6, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, further comprising
a display wherein the control module is configured to indicate detection of the defect on the display (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the continuity tester 10 also includes a processing device or controller 40, such as a laptop computer in Paragraph [0016]).
10 Regarding to claim 7, Perry discloses the
insulation inspection system of claim 1, further comprising
an audible device, wherein the control module is configured to indicate detection of the defect via the audible device (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the continuity tester 10 also includes a processing device or controller 40, such as a laptop computer which has a speaker in Paragraph [0016]).
11 Regarding to claim 16, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, further comprising:
a frame (Fig. 1-3 Item 50disposed stator slots 50 around the internal bore 48 in Paragraph [0013]); and
a support (Fig. 1-3 Item 48 disposed stator slots 50 around the internal bore 48 in Paragraph [0013]) mounted on the frame and configured to hold the part relative to the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]),
wherein the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) are mounted on the frame relative to the part.
12 Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Perry et al. (US 20140368233 A1) in view of CHEN et al. (CN 207459882 U) in further view of Leonov et al. (US 20120206162 A1).
13 Regarding to claim 8, Perry discloses an insulation inspection system comprising:
Perry does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits comprise a pair of resistors and a capacitor.
However, Leonov teaches wherein each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits comprise a pair of resistors and a capacitor (Fig. 7 Item discloses the FIG. 7, a reference element 68' with a capacitor 92 and a resistor 94 in Paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an optical beam through the sensor cell to provide an insulation inspection instrument in Perry by substituting a detection using balance in the bridge circuit by Leonov to obtain an accurate position of the defect in Paragraph [0040]).
14 Regarding to claim 9, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, further comprising
each of a plurality of analog-to-digital converters (Fig. 1-3 Item 24 discloses the A/D converter 24 connected to Voltage source 12 and current limiter resistor similar to Fig.2 item 212 in applicant’s specification in Paragraph [0016]), wherein:
each the plurality of analog-to-digital converters comprises a set of input terminals (Fig. 1-3 Item 24 discloses the A/D converter 24 connected a set of input terminals); and
each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22) comprises in series between two terminals of the set of input terminals of the corresponding one of the plurality of analog-to-digital converters (Fig. 1-3 Item 24).
Perry does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits comprises a pair of resistors and a respective capacitor.
However, Leonov teaches each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits comprise a pair of resistors and a capacitor (Fig. 7 Item discloses the FIG. 7, a reference element 68' with a capacitor 92 and a resistor 94 in Paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an optical beam through the sensor cell to provide an insulation inspection instrument in Perry by substituting a detection using balance in the bridge circuit by Leonov to obtain an accurate position of the defect in Paragraph [0040]).
15 Claim 15 and 17, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Perry et al. (US 20140368233 A1) in view of CHEN et al. (CN 207459882 U) in view of Dang et al. (US 20180088168 A1).
16 Regarding to claim 15, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1.
Perry does not explicitly teach further comprising at least one motor configured to at least one of move the part relative to the plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) one or more of the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part,
wherein the control module is configured to i) control the at least one motor to follow a movement profile, and ii) during movement of at least one of the part and the one or more of the plurality of conductive brushes, detect the defect in the insulative material of the part due to a short circuit between one or more conductive bristles of the plurality of conductive brushes and the exposed conductive element of the part in a location of the defect.
However, Dang teaches further comprising at least one motor configured to at least one of i) move the part relative to the plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) one or more of the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses the windings 410 can be positioned within the slots. In some embodiments of the electric motor, the windings 410 can be continuous windings inserted into the stator slots in Paragraph [0064]),
wherein the control module (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system in Paragraph [0070]). is configured to i) control the at least one motor to follow a movement profile, and ii) during movement of at least one of the part and the one or more of the plurality of conductive brushes, detect the defect in the insulative material of the part due to a short circuit between one or more conductive bristles of the plurality of conductive brushes and the exposed conductive element (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses the windings 410 can be positioned within the slots. In some embodiments of the electric motor, the windings 410 can be continuous windings inserted into the stator slots in Paragraph [0064]) of the part in a location of the defect (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses the system is configured to evaluate bends between the crown and the straight or substantially straight segments to detect defects in the electrically insulating coating in the bends. In some embodiments, the system is configured to evaluate all bends in the formed wire or wires in Paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system in Perry by substituting a system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system by Dang to obtain an accurate position of the defect in Paragraph [0068]).
17 Regarding to claim 17, Perry discloses an insulation inspection method comprising:
detecting at least one short circuit (Fig. 1-3 Item 10 discloses the continuity tester 10 is being used to detect defects in the insulation of stator windings in an electric machine stator 14 in Paragraph [0013]) between one or more bristles of the plurality of conductive brushes brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]) and an exposed conductive element of the part via a plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 in Paragraph [0016]), wherein the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 in Paragraph [0016]) are connected to the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30 discloses a continuity tester 10 further includes a brush 30 include 62 & 64 having conductive bristles 32 in Paragraph [0013]); and
detecting at least one defect in insulative material of the part in response to the detected at least one short circuit Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses If one or more of the bristles 32 touches the conductive portion of the bar 52 as a result of the insulation being damaged, then a conductive path is formed between the positive terminal 16 and the negative terminal 34 of the battery 12. This current flow drops the voltage at the input of the A/D converter 24 low, which is detected by the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]).
Perry does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits is connected to a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes;
However, CHEN teaches wherein each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1 Item discloses balance circuit item 9 resistors) is connected to a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1 Item discloses conductive brushes 12);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an optical beam through the sensor cell to provide an insulation inspection instrument in Perry by substituting a detection using utility model claims a split type micro motor of helical stator technology by CHEN to defect a firm connection and avoid damaging micro-motor stator, n Abstract.
Perry does not explicitly teach connecting a lead to a part being inspected;
at least one of i) moving the part relative to a plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) moving the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part;
brushing insulative material of the part via the plurality of conductive brushes while performing the at least one of i) moving the part relative to the plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) moving the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part;
However, Dang teaches connecting a lead to a part being inspected;
at least one of i) moving the part relative to a plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses the windings 410 can be positioned within the slots. In some embodiments of the electric motor, the windings 410 can be continuous windings inserted into the stator slots in Paragraph [0064]), and ii) moving the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part; brushing insulative material of the part via the plurality of conductive brushes while performing the at least one of i) moving the part relative to the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-5 Item discloses system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system in Paragraph [0070]), and ii) moving the plurality of conductive brushes relative to the part;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system in Perry by substituting a system for testing the plurality of formed wires can be optimized to vary certain parameters such as the speed of a motor that controls movement of components in the system by Dang to obtain an accurate position of the defect in Paragraph [0068]).
18 Regarding to claim 20, Perry discloses the insulation inspection method of claim 17, further comprising removing at least one of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30) used to detect the defect from the part subsequent to detection of the defect to return the at least one of the plurality of conductive brushes to a nominal voltage prior to using the at least one of the plurality of conductive brushes again to detect another defect. (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses If one or more of the bristles 32 touches the conductive portion of the bar 52 as a result of the insulation being damaged, then a conductive path is formed between the positive terminal 16 and the negative terminal 34 of the battery 12. This current flow drops the voltage at the input of the A/D converter 24 low, which is detected by the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]).
19 Regarding to claim 21, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 perform voltage and current balancing in Paragraph [0016]) are each connected between a power source (Fig. 1-3 Item 10 disclose continuity tester 10 to have a lower power supply voltage in Paragraph [0018]) and a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes (Fig. 1-3 Item 30).
20 Regarding to claim 22, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 21, further comprising the power source (Fig. 1-3 Item 10 disclose continuity tester 10 to have a lower power supply voltage in Paragraph [0018]).
21 Regarding to claim 23, Perry discloses the insulation inspection system of claim 21, wherein the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits (Fig. 1-3 Item 12 & 22 discloses the battery 12 and current limiting resistor 22 perform voltage and current balancing in Paragraph [0016]) are each connected between the power source (Fig. 1-3 Item 10 disclose continuity tester 10 to have a lower power supply voltage in Paragraph [0018]) and the control module (Fig. 1-3 Item 40 discloses the controller 40 in Paragraph [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10 the prior art or record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest the insulation inspection system of claim 9 “wherein:
the pair of resistors of each of the plurality of voltage and current balancing circuits comprises a first resistor and a second resistor;
the set of input terminals of each of the plurality of analog-to-digital converters comprises a positive terminal, a negative terminal and a common terminal;
the first resistor of each pair of resistors comprises i) a first end connected to a respective one of the positive terminals and to a respective one of the plurality of conductive brushes, and ii) a second end connected to a first end of the respective capacitor; and
the second resistor comprises i) a first end connected to a respective one of the common terminals, and ii) a second end connected to a second end of the respective capacitor and to the part”.in combination with all the other elements of claim 10.
Claim 11-14 are objected as they further limit claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858