DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/02/2026 and 05/28/2026, are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Li et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2022/0417887 A1) hereinafter referred as Li, in view of Dwivedi et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2015/0208267 A1) hereinafter referred as Dwivedi.
For claim 1, LI teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting or providing, to at least one radio access network (RAN) node, information relating to at least one positioning integrity requirement (101 figure 1) (201 figure 2) (paragraph [0010], lines 1-5 the radio access network (RAN) is part of a mobile telecommunication system. It implements a radio access technology. Conceptually, it resides between a device such as a mobile phone, a computer, or any remotely controlled machine and provides connection with its core network (CN)). However, Li disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as recited in claim 1.
Dwivedi from the same or analogous art teaches the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid ( page 8, lines 1-6); and
receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node( page 12, lines 7-19), the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration ( page 17, lines 4-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as taught by Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li.
The request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration can be modify/implemented by combining the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li. As disclosed in Dwivedi, the motivation for the combination would be to request for expiry time associated with a positioning measurement, the expiry time indicates a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement helping the parameters to manage a resource management and accuracy retention becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, LI teaches the method, wherein the information relating to the at least one positioning integrity requirement may include an alert limit of at least one client, application, or device that requires positioning information, wherein the alert limit comprises a maximum position estimation error that is tolerable by the at least one client, application, or device ( paragraph [0121]-[0122], lines 1-8 ).
For claim 3, LI teaches the method, further comprising transmitting a request for at least one integrity metric that the at least one RAN node should report (paragraph [0190], lines 8-12).
For claim 4, LI teaches the method, wherein the report comprises measurement and/or positioning estimate reporting (paragraph [0175], lines 10-13).
For claim 5, LI teaches the method, wherein the receiving comprises receiving the expiry time or validity duration from the at least one RAN node (paragraph [0234], lines 1-3); or the transmitting comprises transmitting a request for a certain integrity metric and the receiving comprises receiving a protection level or an indication of whether there is an integrity risk with regards to a protection level (paragraphs [0221] and [0234], lines 3-7).
For claim 6, LI teaches the method, further comprising evaluating if there is an integrity risk based on the received protection level (PL) (paragraph [0113]-[0114], lines 1-5).
For claim 7, LI teaches the method, wherein the receiving comprises receiving a request or recommendation, from the at least one RAN node, to apply or adjust a measurement periodicity and/or reporting periodicity; or the receiving comprises receiving a location correction (LC) and/or measurement report from the at least one RAN node (paragraphs [0175], [0181]-[0182] and [0234], lines 1-6).
For claim 8, LI teaches the method, wherein the measurement periodicity comprises a transmission periodicity of at least one reference signal ( The QOS index is a numerical measure used to evaluate the performance and reliability of a service, such as a network, cloud computing service, or even a healthcare system. It helps quantify how well a service meets user expectations and requirements. A higher index score generally indicates better QoS. Key aspects of QoS paragraph [0011], lines 1-3) and (paragraph [0051], lines 1-3).
For claim 9, LI teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, from a location server or location management function (LMF), information relating to at least one positioning integrity requirement (101 figure 1) (201 figure 2) (paragraph [0010], lines 1-5 the radio access network (RAN) is part of a mobile telecommunication system. It implements a radio access technology. Conceptually, it resides between a device such as a mobile phone, a computer, or any remotely controlled machine and provides connection with its core network (CN)); evaluating one or more related integrity metrics based on the positioning integrity requirement provided by the location server or location management function (LMF) and/or based on factors affecting integrity of a positioning estimate (paragraph [0135] and [0139], lines 1-5). However, Li disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as recited in claim 9.
Dwivedi from the same or analogous art teaches the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid ( page 8, lines 1-6); and
receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node( page 12, lines 7-19), the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration ( page 17, lines 4-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as taught by Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li.
The request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration can be modify/implemented by combining the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li. As disclosed in Dwivedi, the motivation for the combination would be to request for expiry time associated with a positioning measurement, the expiry time indicates a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement helping the parameters to manage a resource management and accuracy retention becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 10, LI teaches the method, wherein the report further comprises measurement reporting in the case where the a position estimation is performed at the location server or location management function (LMF) (paragraph [0132]-[0135], lines 1-6).
For claim 11, LI teaches the method, wherein the evaluating comprises performing position measurement or estimation and deriving the expiry time or validity duration (paragraph [0043], lines 10-13); and the transmitting providing comprises providing the position measurement or estimation and the expiry time or validity duration to the location server or location management function (LMF) (Paragraph [0194]-[0195], lines 10-13).
For claim 12, LI teaches the method, wherein: the receiving comprises receiving a request for a certain integrity metric (paragraph [0175], lines 1-9); the evaluating comprises performing position measurement or estimation and deriving the requested integrity metric including a protection level (paragraph [0175], lines 9-11); and the transmitting providing comprises transmitting the protection level or an indication of whether there is an integrity risk with regards to a protection level to the location server or location management function (LMF) (paragraph [0176], lines 1-10).
For claim 13, LI teaches the method, wherein: the evaluating comprises evaluating whether a measurement periodicity or reporting periodicity should be updated to ensure that the protection level is below an alert limit (paragraph [0179], lines 1-6); the transmitting providing comprises transmitting a request or recommendation, to the location server or location management function (LMF), to apply or adjust at least one of the measurement and/or reporting periodicity (paragraphs [0180]-[0182], lines 1-5).
For claim 14, LI teaches the method, wherein: the receiving comprises receiving a message containing at least a maximum error tolerance (paragraph [0122], lines 1-3); the evaluating comprises using the error tolerance to compute a timing limit and to perform a check against a reporting periodicity (paragraph [0122], lines 3-8); and when the reporting periodicity is larger than the timing limit, the evaluating further comprises computing a location correction (LC) (paragraph [0127], lines 4-7); and the transmitting providing comprises transmitting at least one of the location correction (LC) and/or measurement report to the location server or location management function(LMF) (paragraph [0161], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0217], lines 1-6).
For claim 15, LI teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory comprising computer program code,
the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to perform:
transmitting or providing, to at least one radio access network (RAN) node, information relating to at least one positioning integrity requirement (101 figure 1) (201 figure 2) (paragraph [0010], lines 1-5 the radio access network (RAN) is part of a mobile telecommunication system. It implements a radio access technology. Conceptually, it resides between a device such as a mobile phone, a computer, or any remotely controlled machine and provides connection with its core network (CN)). However, Li disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as recited in claim 15.
Dwivedi from the same or analogous art teaches the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid ( page 8, lines 1-6); and
receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node( page 12, lines 7-19), the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration ( page 17, lines 4-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as taught by Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li.
The request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration can be modify/implemented by combining the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li. As disclosed in Dwivedi, the motivation for the combination would be to request for expiry time associated with a positioning measurement, the expiry time indicates a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement helping the parameters to manage a resource management and accuracy retention becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 16, LI teaches the apparatus, wherein the information relating to the at least one positioning integrity requirement may include an alert limit of at least one client, application, or device that requires positioning information, wherein the alert limit comprises a maximum position estimation error that is tolerable by the at least one client, application, or device ( paragraph [0121]-[0122], lines 1-8 ).
For claim 17, LI teaches the apparatus, wherein the receiving comprises receiving the expiry time or validity duration from the at least one RAN node; or the transmitting comprises transmitting a request for a certain integrity metric and the receiving comprises receiving a protection level or an indication of whether there is an integrity risk with regards to a protection level (paragraphs [0221] and [0234], lines 3-7).
For claim 18, LI teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory comprising computer program code,
the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving, from a location server or location management function (LMF), information relating to at least one positioning integrity requirement (101 figure 1) (201 figure 2) (paragraph [0010], lines 1-5 the radio access network (RAN) is part of a mobile telecommunication system. It implements a radio access technology. Conceptually, it resides between a device such as a mobile phone, a computer, or any remotely controlled machine and provides connection with its core network (CN));
evaluating one or more related integrity metrics based on the positioning integrity requirement provided by the location server or location management function (LMF) and/or based on factors affecting integrity of a positioning estimate (paragraph [0135] and [0139], lines 1-5). However, Li disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as recited in claim 18.
Dwivedi from the same or analogous art teaches the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid ( page 8, lines 1-6); and
receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node( page 12, lines 7-19), the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration ( page 17, lines 4-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration as taught by Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li.
The request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration can be modify/implemented by combining the request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Dwivedi into the location service processing and medium of Li. As disclosed in Dwivedi, the motivation for the combination would be to request for expiry time associated with a positioning measurement, the expiry time indicates a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement helping the parameters to manage a resource management and accuracy retention becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 19, LI teaches the method, 19. (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the evaluating comprises performing position measurement or estimation and deriving the expiry time or validity duration (paragraph [0043], lines 10-13); and the transmitting providing comprises providing the position measurement or estimation and the expiry time or validity duration to the location server or location management function (LMF) (Paragraph [0194]-[0195], lines 10-13).
For claim 20, LI teaches the method, 20. (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein: the receiving comprises receiving a request for a certain integrity metric (paragraph [0175], lines 1-9); the evaluating comprises performing position measurement or estimation and deriving the requested integrity metric including a protection level (paragraph [0175], lines 9-11); and the transmitting providing comprises transmitting the protection level or an indication of whether there is an integrity risk with regards to a protection level to the location server or location management function (LMF) (paragraph [0176], lines 1-10).
For claim 21, LI teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out (Claims 21 has been analyzed and rejected with the same rationale as claim 1 applied above).
For claim 22, LI teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon which, when executed on at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to carry out (Claims 22 has been analyzed and rejected with the same rationale as claim 9 applied above).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S Patent No. (US 11,933,908 B2). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
For claim 1, the claim 1 of the U.S Patent No. (US 11,933,908 B2) discloses:
Current Application
1. A method, comprising: transmitting or providing, to at least one radio access network (RAN) node, information relating to at least one positioning integrity requirement and a request for expiry time or validity duration associated with a positioning measurement or estimate, the expiry time or validity duration indicating a time period during which a reported information associated with the positioning measurement or estimate is valid; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one RAN node, the report comprising information relating to the expiry time or validity duration.
11,933,908
1. A method, comprising: transmitting at least one positioning integrity requirement to at least one radio access network node; and receiving a report of one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics from the at least one radio access network node, the report comprising information relating to an expiry time for the one or more evaluated integrity-related metrics.
Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from the claim 1 of the present application made claim 1 a broader version or same version of claim 1. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184( 1963), claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1. Same rejection applied above is applied to claims 9, 15 and 18.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642