DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0041187 to Norton (hereinafter “Norton”).
-From Claim 1: Norton discloses:
Reproduced from Norton (Examiner Annotated)
a connection device 10 comprising:
an active connecting part 30 comprising
a contact surface (shown above) and a coupling element 40, 38, 34 projecting from the contact surface (at least 40 and 38 project from contact surface),
wherein the coupling element can be displaced relative to the contact surface between an extended release position (Fig. 5b) and a retracted connection position (Fig. 5f) by means of an actuating mechanism 44 in a connection direction (shown above) extending substantially orthogonally to the contact surface;
a passive connecting part 12 comprising
a mating contact surface (shown above) intended to cooperate with the contact surface,
wherein the mating contact surface comprises a lateral recess 16 configured to receive the coupling element when the passive connecting part and the active connecting part approach each other in an approach direction (shown above) which is substantially orthogonal to the connection direction;
wherein at least one male connecting element 46 is provided on one of the active connecting part or the passive connecting part, and at least one associated female connecting element 22 is provided on the other of the active connecting part or the passive connecting part;
wherein the at least one male connecting element and the at least one associated female connecting element are arranged in such a way that they can be coupled to one another in a media-conducting manner in the approach direction when the active connecting part and the passive connecting part approach each other (¶22);
wherein at least one of the active connecting part or the passive connecting part comprises a base element 14 and a holder 20 arranged on the base element so as to be displaceable in the connection direction; and
wherein the at least one male connecting element or the at least one associated female connecting element is attached to the holder.
-From Claim 2: Norton discloses wherein the actuating mechanism 44 is a manually operable actuating mechanism.
-From Claim 3: Norton discloses wherein the coupling element is biased into the release position by means of a spring unit.
Reproduced from Norton (Examiner Annotated)
-From Claim 4: Norton discloses wherein at least one guide pin 46 is provided on the active connecting part or the passive connecting part, and at least one associated guide hole 22 is provided on the other of the passive connecting part or the active connecting part, wherein the at least one guide pin projects further from the one connecting part than the or the longest male connecting element.
-From Claim 5: Norton discloses wherein the at least one male connecting element 46 and the at least one female connecting element 22 are non-fluidically conductive; and wherein coupling the at least one male connecting element and the at least one associated female connecting element forms a non-fluidic media line.
-From Claim 6: Norton discloses wherein the non-fluidic media line comprises a power supply line (¶2).
-From Claim 7: Norton discloses wherein the non-fluidic media line comprises a signal transmission line (¶2).
-From Claim 8: Norton discloses wherein the at least one male connecting element and the at least one female connecting element are fluid conducting; and wherein coupling the at least one male connecting element and the at least one associated female connecting element forms a fluidic media line (¶2).
-From Claim 9: Norton discloses wherein the fluidic media line comprises a compressed-air line (¶2).
-From Claim 10: Norton discloses wherein the fluidic media line comprises a vacuum line (¶2).
-From Claim 11: Norton discloses wherein the fluidic media line comprises a hydraulic line (¶2).
-From Claim 13: Norton discloses wherein the at least one male connecting element and the at least one associated female connecting element are part of a commercially available industrial male connector, one half of which is integrated into the active connecting part and the other half of which is integrated into the passive connecting part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norton in view of US 3625548 to Boehm (hereinafter “Boehm”).
-From Claim 12: Boehm teaches a connection device wherein at least one female connecting element comprises a sealing ring 42.
Boehm further teaches that such seals are “important in preventing accumulation of foreign material” (Col. 2, ll.4-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Norton by adding sealing rings as taught by Boehm in order to prevent the accumulation of foreign material within the connection device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as the cited references include structure similar to that of the presently claimed invention.
/DANIEL J WILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678 12/10/2025